check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Vacasa, OR - Mt Hood / Hood River

Member since: 2001
Call Manager
Speaks: english

Quintessential dog-friendly cabin in the woods, within short walk of the river!

39 Reviews
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Zigzag House Rental Photos and Description

House, 3 Bedrooms, 1 Baths, (Sleeps 8)

What a cozy retreat!

Enjoy a stroll along the ZigZag River, romp in the woody neighborhood or take a moment to relax next to the warming fireplace. For the adventurous, your options are endless. A short distance from the cabin you can hit the slopes, hike, mountain bike or enjoy a nice slice of pizza at the ZigZag Restaurant.

This 1920's era vacation rental home is set quietly among the cedars. The yard is fenced allowing your dog freedom while you are inside making a meal in the cooks kitchen. On the main floor of this cabin you will find an open living room that has a fireplace and a propane stove giving you optimal heat. The kitchen, dining space, bathroom and two bedrooms are also on the main level. Both bedrooms have queen beds and space to tuck away your luggage.

This charming vacation rental home has two modest televisions. You can kick back while watching your favorite show or select a movie out of the home's movie cabinet. On the upper level loft you will find a sitting area. A perfect place for the kids to play a game, color a picture and watch a movie. There is an open walkway that leads to another bedroom where you'll find a twin bed as well as a queen bed.

Whether you stay in or go on an outing, this is a perfect place to call home on your vacation.

Please use the link below to check real time availability, view more pictures, and book securely online!

Vacasa - Vacation Rentals Made Easy:

Professionally managed and cleaned homes

Local assistance 24/7 for emergencies

Secure INSTANT booking

www.vacasa.com/unit.php?UnitID=503&HALI=1

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Vacasa, OR - Mt Hood / Hood River (Property Manager)
Member since: 2001
Call Manager
Speaks: english

Guestbook comments from the manager

This house was enjoyed by all. It has so much character, and lent itself perfectly to our needs. Well equipped and comfortable (beds were comfortable with plenty of extra blankets on chilly days and nights too), I would recommend this spot to anyone and everyone. I'm even thinking of bringing my family back during the summer, I enjoyed it so much!

Recommended for: Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Apr 2013
  • 1 of 1

Reviews

4.4
based on 39 traveler reviews

Quintessential dog-friendly cabin in the woods, within short walk of the river!
average rating of 4.3589745 based on 40 reviews
5

Quaint, cozy cabin

  • 5 of 5

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the Old Smokey Cabin! It was the PERFECT location for traveling with our dogs because of the fenced back yard. We used the grill each night and built a fire in the fireplace. Rain and mud didn't stop us from walking along the nearby river. Other guests were close by but quiet. It was very peaceful. The cabin's decor reminded us of Christmas from the past. We would stay here any time of year!

  • Submitted: Sep 4, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

rustic cabin--beautiful wooded setting--helpful staff--hard bed

  • 4 of 5

rustic cabin--beautiful wooded setting--helpful staff--hard bed

  • Submitted: Jul 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
2

Neat old cabin, mouse problems

  • 2 of 5

Neat and unique property, good location, bigger than it looks. Unfortunately, a dead mouse on the couch and mouse droppings under the bed sheets upstairs pretty much wrecked all the positives for us. Get a real cleaning crew on the job and it would be great.

As others have said, was supposed to be a load of firewood, but there wasn't. Not a big deal to me, but will be to some.

  • Submitted: May 26, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We apologize that mice were a problem for this stay. Since the home is surrounded by nature the mice do tend to sneak in, but we will do our best to keep them out.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
3

Mostly great but with a couple unacceptables

  • 3 of 5

Mostly this place was perfect. Rustic, way off the beaten path, could sleep 8, just felt old cabin in the woods. Near tons of great stuff, and we weren't even skiing. Covered area in the back with grill and place to just sit and listen to it rain. That was all great. From that aspect it was 5 stars.

Here's the problem - whoever maintains this place, Vacasa or it's subcontractor. It's not getting done right. Cleanliness was a 1 star rating.

1) There was a dead mouse under a pillow on the living room couch. Just sitting there, apparently poisoned from the bait in the corner of the kitchen.

2) Mouse droppings under the covers in the upstairs double bed. We went to sleep up there, wife pulled back covers, and NOPE WE ARE NOT SLEEPING IN THIS BED.

3) Firewood. The book says there is a complimentary pile of firewood but there was not. That was OK with me, since I didn't want to mess with a fire. But if you say you are going to do it, then do it.

4) Small garbage can on front porch was not emptied prior to arrival.

So if they could get that sorted, it would be perfect. I gave it 3 stars based on 5 for the property, but 1 for maintenance/cleanliness.

  • Submitted: May 25, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

You won't be disappointed.

  • 5 of 5

You won't be disappointed.

  • Submitted: Apr 23, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: Vacasa
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Cozy Cabin Weekend Getaway

  • 5 of 5

We got there on a quiet Thursday afternoon, and very much enjoyed the solace this cabin and the surrounding woods provided. We had lovely wood fires every night in the fireplace, and it's far enough out of town to feel like you're away, but close enough that you needn't spend all your time traveling to get there. We loved walking the community, looking at the other cabins, and taking long walks through the woods along the river.

Friday night the renters behind us showed up, they were loud and obnoxious, drinking and smoking outside until early hours of the morning - but we played music on our computer and tried to ignore them. Overall, it was nice to have the fenced backyard for our dog, but she did not appreciate the renters behind us, so we ended up keeping her inside more than she is used to. In general though, it was incredibly convenient to be able to put her out back and have her potty without worrying if she was able to get out. I wish more places had fenced yards!

The cabin itself was quaint, the wood windows were AMAZING, I fell in love with them immediately. The kitchen had most everything we needed for cooking meals and enjoyed cooking meals together. *Prepare to wash the dishes first before using them, as whomever cleaned them before us did an ok job, but not what I would consider clean.* The bathroom door is made up of thin pieces of wood, with knot holes in it, and spaces between the boards. Not ideal for us, but it didn't bother us as much - however both my hubby and I agreed that it would be much more difficult to use if the cabin were full of people and not just the two of us!

The internet worked well, once we figured out the correct password for the network, as it was written down incorrectly in the book. Which was great because as a Graduate Student, even getting away still means I had homework to attend to, and was able to do so without any problem.

Ultimately, we had a wonderful time, and really enjoyed ourselves. It was ever so nice to be in the woods away from the busy world we are used to; and MUCH better than our usual rainy spring camping trips. I think we will definitely come back in the spring again, and trade our tarps and tents for this cozy treasure!!!

  • Submitted: Apr 23, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: Vacasa
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Notes

  • Major Credit Cards Accepted. Taxes and fees are not included. Rates and availability calendars may change until time of booking. For a full rate quote and live availability, please contact us or visit the Vacasa.com website!
  • .
  • US Dollars
  • .
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Zigzag House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
General:
  • Fireplace
  • Internet
  • Parking
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable
Outside:
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties