We have 4 Cabins on the property that are all tastefully decorated and newly remodeled, each cabin has 3 bedrooms and 1 full bath and can accommodate 6 people comfortably, eat in kitchen that is fully equipped with Keurig coffee maker, microwave, pots, pans, dishes, glasses and all utensils for eating and cooking. All linens and towels provided as well as free WIFI, cable TV, flat panel smart TV in living room. We are only an 8 minute walk to public boat launch and you can snowmobile right from our door steps to the nearby ITS trails only 1/2 mile away. There is also a gas station, country store and bar / restaurant right across the street from our cabins.
- Cabin700 sq. ft.
- Half Baths0
- Min Stay3 nights
3 bedroom 1 bath walking distance to Moosehead Lake
The Black Bear Cabins
- Calendar last updated:
- Nov 16, 2018
Check-in: 4:00 PM
Check-out: 11:00 AM
100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date. 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Storm door broken, horrible sulfur smell from water
Home away is way to pushy promoting these cabins and other properties they manage not happy
Homeaway does not promote the property...we do that ourselves. This review is from a neighbor down the road who has the same well water we have. So for you to complain about the sulfur smell is a little ridiculous and we will be installing new on demand water heaters to try and cut down on the sulfur smell. This review is also coming from the guy who forgot his entire overnight travel bag in the cabin and we shipped it to you in at no charge all the way to CT. I'll make sure we remember this review when renters ask if there are any good hunting guides in the area.
We loved Moosehead Lake. Brought our boat, Mt Kineo boat landing is easy access.
We were greeted by Sheri and she is a sweetheart of a person. The cabin we stayed in needs maintenance and attention to the water(very smelly).
Overall a great experience on Moosehead Lake.
the smell is from sulfur in the well water. Its harmless and the smell dissipates the more you use the water , unfortunately this is very common in the wells of Maine.
Spent a few days with to ride the ATV trails. Cabin was perfect for us. Cabin 1 has four beds in three bedrooms.
Easy access to fuel and ATV trails. Locals were very friendly and helpful.
I did not have a good experience. I arrived late Monday night. There were no lights on and I was unable to access the code. There were no other vehicles there and I was scared . I ended up going back to Greenville and staying at a hotel . I went back the following day and a company building docks had the whole road blocked and was unable to gain access. I left and went back to the hotel I stayed at the night before. I did not stay at the cabin at all. I felt very unsafe with no other cars and you really are in the middle of nowhere. So if you want no company and no interaction with people this is the place to stay.
we are sorry you had a bad experience staying at our cabins, but unfortunately I think some of what you are complaining about is out of our control. We emailed you on June 4th to let you know that if you had an issue with the wifi lock that you could access the keys via the lock box (which we provided code for it) on front of cabin, which obviously you never did. We also have motion lights on the front of each cabin so our guests will not be in the dark. As far as the road being blocked by dock company...I'm sure it was for a short few minutes while they loaded up and was a non-issue. Lastly is you feeling alone up there.... well most people when they rent a cabin in upstate Maine would expect a little solitude and actually appreciate it. I think your review of our cabins is unfair and one sided. We have rented to hundreds of people in the past 3 years of owning these cabins and we have not had one bad review until yours. We would appreciate it if you changed your review or removed completely as it is not a fair or accurate assessment of our cabins.
Clean and great location
Had a great time for the 2nd year in a row. Clean place with easy access to trailea and the lake. Already looking forward to next year.
Perfect for snowmobile trip
Gas and food right across the street easy access to lake and trails have stayed more than once and will be back next year