check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand

Trista Houle

Member since: 2012
Speaks: english

Cabin great for large groups on a lake, boating, fishing,close to Marquette, NMU

11 Reviews
Sleeps20
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms2
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 5 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Upper Peninsula Michigan Cabin Rental Photos and Description

A Perfect Getaway For Your Entire Group/family - Tons Of Room And So Much Fun!

This cabin is a wonderful place for families and friends to gather. We are about 25 minutes from Marquette and situated in Gwinn Michigan on a perfect inland lake. This is two story cottage with five bedrooms

Bedroom 1 (downstairs) two twin beds

Bedroom 2 - (upstairs) queen bed

Bedroom 3- (upstairs) two full beds

Bedroom 4 - (upstairs) full bed

Bedroom 5 - (upstairs) four twin beds (one is bunked)

Also one sleeper sofa in the downstairs living room.

We do have two rollaway beds available. We also have a pack and play for your younger child so you don't have to bring your own.

Enjoy complimentary use of our 14 foot aluminum fishing boat, two kayaks, paddle boat and lifejackets during the summer months.

We have a six person sauna as well as a fire pit with complimentary firewood in the yard for campfires.

Inside we have cribbage boards and cards, a wood burning fireplace, microwave and cable tv, wifi along with a variety of books and games for both adults and children.

This is a great winter or summer getaway and close enough to drive to area events and landmarks including the gorgeous Pictured Rocks National Lakeshore, we are close to NMU and Marquette on a beautiful inland lake.

In the winter - Access to snowmobile trails right from the cabin in the winter as well as downhill skiing at Marquette Mountain, sledding, cross country skiing nearby and ice fishing right on the lake. We can accommodate large snowmobile trailers.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Trista Houle (Owner)
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english

About Trista Houle

We have been enjoying our cottage four doors down for fifteen years now and put it on VRBO (#422453). We found that we missed being there and purchased this property. With our three children growing and involved in activities we do not always have time to get out to the cottage so we have decided to share this wonderful place with YOU! We promise you will be pleased with the location, space and amenities. You will create memories to last a lifetime!

Trista Houle purchased this cabin in 2012

Why Trista Houle chose Upper Peninsula Michigan

We are both from Marquette and have always enjoyed the outdoors, camping, fishing, watersports and winter sports. Gwinn offers all of the necessities you need while you are visiting, including a local grocery store, bait shop and the wonderful UP North Lodge restaurant. You can just 'show up' and get what you need while you are here.

What makes this cabin unique

We enjoy every aspect of this cottage from the beautiful sunrise, water fun, sauna, ice skating/pond hockey on the ice, snowmobiling, campfires, fireplace and so much space to have large gatherings.

Reviews

4.5
based on 11 traveler reviews

Cabin great for large groups on a lake, boating, fishing,close to Marquette, NMU
average rating of 4.4545455 based on 11 reviews
4

A Great Family Gathering Space

  • 4 of 5

We booked the cabin to serve as a base of operations for family attending our granddaughter's wedding in Marquette. It was perfect for our needs. It was clean and well stocked and provided a place to meet, relax, and socialize which would have been cumbersome at a hotel. Unfortunately the days were cloudy with sprinkles of rain so we could not take full advantage of the many water activities but the view from the cabin was spectacular. The fire ring and ample supply of firewood was a definite plus as it provided the perfect place for unwinding at the end of the day. Many in our party also enjoyed the sauna.

We highly recommend the Up North Lodge for family dining and Rodney's Pizza was excellent.

There was one surprise, however, which we believe future guests would want to know. We originally estimated our party would be 13 and advised the owner we would call with a final number of guests as the day drew closer so the appropriate number of towels and bed linens would be available. The week before we submitted the final count of 19 and were surprised when we received an invoice for an additional $500. So be aware there is a $25 per person/per night charge for each guest over 15 which was not mentioned in the listing. We paid the $500 so as not to lose the reservation and since our number of guests fluctuated throughout our stay we contacted the owner with a revised count by night and were given a hassle-free refund for those nights when our count did not exceed 15. Thus our 4 star rating rather than 5.

  • Submitted: Jul 14, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Ypsilanti, MI
2

Had a great time, but..(

  • 2 of 5

We were planning to get married in Marquette and were looking for a place to stay for us and our family. I (wife) called and talked to Trista about the house and said we’d planned to stay 3 nights. We were still figuring out between 2 weekends and I said I’d get in touch with her in a couple of days. Tried calling her a couple of times, leaving a message that we were excited to stay at the house and ready to book and didn’t hear back. At this point, we really needed a place large enough for our families and this was the only option in the area, so I wasn’t ready to give up on this place. My husband called and got in touch with her. He didn’t mention I’d tried to call and she actually told him about me…saying “some gal” was interested in the house that weekend but was only going to stay 3 nights and she’d really prefer 5. (Something she never said to me.) We ended up getting the house through my husband for 5 days, her not ever knowing we were the same group and she never ended up calling me back. I was a little irritated by the whole thing and wasn’t sure I wanted to go through with it but like I said, we didn’t have another option and I just let it go.

The actual house was okay. A little more dumpy than it looks in the pictures. Duct tape holding one of the screen doors together, dirty carpet and what not. In the master bedroom there was a big telescope in the middle of the room looking out at the lake which had no eyepiece. Another thing is there was only enough toilet paper, paper towel, dishwasher detergent, etc. for maybe 2 days. We were quickly out of everything and had to go to the store to restock. Those were things I’d assume should be included and at least have more than enough to get you through your stay.

We cleaned the house really well before leaving because we had our dog with us and were hoping to get our security deposit back. The day after we left, my husband realized he forgot his camera charger there. He called and Trista said she hadn’t been there yet but would let him know after she checked and would mail it back. A couple weeks later, we hadn’t heard back about the camera charger or security deposit. Tried getting a hold of Trista, leaving a couple messages and she just never called back.

Despite all this, we had a great time and absolutely loved the property and location. But there were just too many strange/unprofessional situations when it came to dealing with Trista for me to give it more than 2 stars.

  • Submitted: Apr 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am so very sorry that you were disappointed with your stay. The pictures are as is on the website. Dumpy? I don't think so. I shampooed the carpets myself so they certainly were not dirty. Regarding the 3 night vs 5 night stay. I do have a 5 night stay minimum, that is displayed on the website and has always been so. I am concerned that you may have misunderstood me contemplating a 3 night stay. I would not do that in August unless it somehow fell between other reservations. The telescope had an eye piece... I missed at the time that it was not there. I apologize and was not very happy that it was gone. Thank you for letting me know about needing more TP and such. It is hard to tell sometimes just how much people will use and so I will definitely take your comments into consideration. Some groups use a lot, some not. Thank you also for cleaning up so well. Your refund was returned in full. Your last email to me said you had a really great time and that you would be interested in staying again. Again, I am glad you had a good time despite being disappointed in me. Thank you for your review and thanks again for staying, Trista
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great place for a group to stay

  • 4 of 5

Your place on Bass Lake was just perfect for our group. We were there to watch the sled dog races. Which was a lot of fun but left us with a lot of time to lounge and visit. The house was plenty big enough for everyone to be comfortable . The heat worked well keeping us warm even at -24 degrees! There was always enough hot water . The kitchen and bathrooms were very clean and functional . The only issues were the can opener has worn out and the dish washer is not cleaning the upper racks dishes very well. The sauna was wonderful with the super cold weather we had .We enjoyed the fire place but it was difficult to start the fire because of a shortage of matches and kindling . We would have packed this stuff had we known we needed to. The setting is beautiful. We were close to Marquette and a short drive to the Eben Ice caves. We had a great dinner at Up North Lodge which was just 15 min away. Everyone in our group just loved the house ! Thank you for sharing. Like others have said don't follow your GPS in the winter, use written directions as there are roads that are not plowed.

  • Submitted: Feb 15, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Deb and group, Thank you so much for the nice review. I am so glad you all enjoyed yourselves and stayed warm despite the cold front that came through. Sounds like you were able to make the most of the few days you were in the area! What fun! I am very sorry about the dishwasher not cleaning well- I will certainly make sure to get it fixed and replace the can opener as well. As far as the kindling and matches, we do have a bin of newspaper in the hot water room and long bic lighters in the kitchen drawer by the window. I do not normally stock kindling but we usually have a few "fire starter" logs in the buffet in the dining room. Again, thank you so much for staying at the cabin and we sincerely appreciate your kind words and look forward to having you stay again in the future. Kind Regards, Trista
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

house on east bass lake

  • 5 of 5

The house was beautiful. Right on the lake and a big beautiful yard. Adults and children had a wonderful time. We swam and kayaker and fished.the kids loved the trampoline. We will be back next year.

  • Submitted: Jun 19, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your time and reviewing the cabin. We are thrilled you all enjoyed yourselves at our property. We look forward to seeing you all again next year! Kind Regards, Trista
Did you find this review helpful?
0 2
5

Gwinn cabin

  • 5 of 5

Great house, fun lake, great owner. We made the trip from Chicago and had a wonderful time.

  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Augusta, MI
5

Great Place!

  • 5 of 5

We really enjoyed our stay at East Bass Lake! We had a family vacation with 4 adults and 7 kids and grandkids. The house was clean, well maintained, lovely and HUGE! The short drive to Marquette was lovely, as were all the nearby waterfalls. We all liked the beautiful view of the lake. The trampoline was a big hit with the younger ones. Excellent fishing, although there are a few large fish still out there with some of our lures! Up North Lodge just west of Gwinn was awesome. A check list of duties to perform before leaving would have been helpful.

  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
10 Miles
Sawyer International Airport
Nearest Barpub
5 Kilometres
Full Throttle
Nearest Golf
23 Miles
Greywalls, Heritage Marquette, Red Fox (KI Sawyer)
Nearest Motorway
2 Miles
M-35, M553
Nearest Restaurant
2 Miles
UP North Lodge, Rodneys Pizza
Nearest Ski
20 Miles
Marquette Mountain Ski Hill
Nearest Beach
22 Miles
McCartys Cove Marquette
Car: necessary

Gwinn is perfectly situated in a small town with everything you need for your vacation including, a reasonable grocery store with beer and liquor, bait and tackle shop, gas station and even 'brown's' a small tavern adjacent to a convenience store with the best butcher in town - the fresh tenderloin are wonderful!

Photos

Rates & Availability

Gwinn Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Summer
Jun 11 2016 - Sep 11 2016
5 night minimum stay
$510
 
Notes: Rates are based on 15 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
5 night minimum stay
$500
 
Notes: Rates are based on 12 guests; add $10 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

payment fee $100
cleaning fee $150
Pet Fee $25
Refundable damage deposit $150

1) Pet fee is $10.00 per pet, per day.
2) No access to the garage.
3) No RV parking available.

SMOKING PROHIBITED INSIDE

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates to see total
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Upper Peninsula Michigan Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3100 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Lake View
  • Lakefront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 11 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , first floor
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , second floor
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 20
  • Bedroom 1 - 2 twin/ single , first floor
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , second floor, lake view
    Bedroom 4 - 2 twin/ single , 1 bunk bed , one bunk, two twin (sleeps 4)
    Bedroom 5 - 1 double
    Bedroom 3 - 2 double , second floor, lake view
  • 1 pull out couch in living room - queen size two roll away beds - one upstairs and one downstairs
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room ...
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
  • Toys
  • Video Games ...
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Boat ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Sauna ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • kayaking
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing

Partner Offers

Other Vacation Properties