check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Margaret

Member since: 2013
Speaks: english

Penn Valley Cottage

13 Reviews
Sleeps5
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 4 nights

Overview

Roxborough Cottage Rental Photos and Description

In the heart of Philadelphia's Main Line

THE PENN VALLEY COTTAGE IS PERMANENTLY CLOSED! *No new reservations will be accepted.* THE PENN VALLEY COTTAGE IS CLOSED!

Nestled on 18th Century farmland in the heart of Philadelphia's famous Main Line, the Penn Valley Cottage is convenient to all major universities and cultural sites in the Greater Philadelphia region.

Completely private, amid an acre of stunning gardens, the Cottage has a cathedral ceiling, king-sized bed in the second floor bedroom, washer-dryer, bathroom with shower, fully-equipped kitchen, dining room, and large living room with extra-long trundle twin beds and comfortable 7' sofa suitable for sleeping. The highest rated air conditioner, plus a hefty, state-of-the-art dehumidifier have been recently installed to assure guests of a natural, safe, odor-free environment.

Year-round views of surrounding 100% organic working gardens (blackberries, peaches, apples, blueberries, persimmons and plentiful herbs); summer pool privileges; and off-street parking are included in this rental package. Excellent restaurants, shops and markets nearby.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Margaret (Owner)
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english

Why Margaret chose Philadelphia

Location, location, location! Plus comfort, privacy, security, and your own pool located in a magical neighborhood just 15 minutes outside of Center City Philadelphia.

What makes this cottage unique

Easy access to all the best that Philadelphia has to offer, yet complete privacy, serenity, and freedom during your stay! FOUR NIGHT MINIMUM.

Reviews

4.8
based on 13 traveler reviews

Penn Valley Cottage
average rating of 4.769231 based on 13 reviews
5

Excellent!

  • 5 of 5

We absolutely loved it there. The cottage is delightful. It is like a second house, everything is there, everything is cozy, homey, really nice. It's spacious too, with large, deep sofas, generous room sizes, and lots of room/storage for your stuff. There's a new top-of-the-line Freidrich air conditioner indicating that Margaret does not stint on her guests' comfort. She could easily have bought one for $600 less. Wifi is perfect. The house is full of things to keep you occupied, and info about the area. The garden is impressively gorgeous and the pool is great. Margaret is very kind and we liked her very much. I want to return, but it's all booked up for the rest of August. Sigh.

To address the earlier comment on the smell, I am a smell-phobe with an excellent nose (unfortunately for me) and there is a very mild odor. It isn't mold or anything gross/stagnant/body related. My husband says it's 'cottage odor' (he hails from the country, and knows these things). As an major smell-phobe, I can tell you it isn't bad, it goes away quickly, and it did not exacerbate asthma. If it did not bother me, you probably won't even notice it. The bed is very, very, very firm, fyi. My child, who is super allergic to animals, had no problems in the cottage, so it's safe for the pet allergic people too. All in all, it's the best house we have ever rented. I am homesick for it!

  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks, Sherill. Your intelligent, enthusiastic Review helps explain a lot to future guests. Hope to see you and your lovely family here again soon!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Cozy Penn Valley Cottage

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I stayed at Penn Valley cottage for 5 weeks to visit family through the holidays. We were very comfortable and Margaret was readily available by phone if we had questions or needs.

The location is tucked away in a wooded neighborhood and the cottage is tucked away behind the main house. Large windows make for a very private and peaceful view of wooded areas. The location is convenient to stores, trails and parks but you must have a car. Philadelphia is easy to access by car or train. Being winter, we didn't get to use the pool. Having a washer and dryer was a huge plus for our extended stay. The kitchen and bath are cozy but very workable. We hope to stay again in the future.

  • Submitted: Jan 4, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks, Paula... Love the idea of Adventure Seeking Seniors. All are welcomed here anytime! Congratulations again on the birth of your first grandchild. Looking forward to your return someday! Margaret
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect for us

  • 5 of 5

Our trip to Philadelphia to see our son and family was greatly enhanced by staying at Penn Valley Cottage. It gave us our own space for part of our visit and was a fun place for our grandsons to visit and run through all the paths in the beautiful gardens. We love the Cottage which is less than a mile from our son's family, very pleasant and cosy, a well stocked kitchen and bathroom, and Margaret was lovely!! We especially appreciated the maps provided for safe walks from the Cottage. We have reservations to stay there again soon and hope to stay there every time we visit our grandchildren!!!

  • Submitted: Nov 27, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
South Bend, IN
5

Lovely stay during the Papal visit.

  • 5 of 5

The house was everything that we had expected. Margaret was very gracious and was very helpful as we made plans for our visit. The house was in a very quiet neighborhood, a very much needed retreat after our long days of attending conference and the Papal events in Philadelphia. The SEPTA station was only a 5 minute drive, the train into center city was 20 minutes. The house had plenty of room for the two of us, having access to a washer and dryer was a plus. The house was nicely made up and ready for us when we had arrived. I would highly recommend Penn Valley and hope to come back soon with our kids.

  • Submitted: Oct 12, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: It was a joy to have you here during such a special moment in your lives!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Enjoyable Stay

  • 3 of 5

The cottage was the perfect size for two people. It was very clean, and appeared just as portrayed in the photos. We liked having two "couches" in the living room (one was actually a daybed), because we had plenty of room to spread out. The bed was comfortable, but we were surprised that it had flannel sheets since it was in the middle of the summer! The air conditioner was quite loud, and we couldn't really hear the TV very well when it was on. (We hooked up our Apple TV so we could stream movies in the evenings.) The kitchen was on the small size, hardly any counter space and not much to choose from in the way of pots and pans, knives, cooking utensils, etc., so it wouldn't have been very convenient if we had wanted to actually prepare any dinners in the house. Since we didn't, we were able to get by. Oh, my wife was bothered that there weren't any teaspoons - she didn't like using larger spoons for her yogurt.

The use of the pool was a nice bennie and the primary reason why we booked the place. We used the pool several times. The neighborhood was also a nice area for our daily walks. The grounds were rather overgrown and would have been nicer has they been better taken care of. The owner said the gardeners were supposed to have come one day we were there, but they "forgot." Would have been nice to have arrived to a well-trimmed walkway, and not sure we would have liked our privacy impinged upon by having gardeners there. Also, the phone wasn't working and one morning Comcat just showed up out of the blue at about 9am. Would have been nice if the owner had given us a heads up.

Finally, the location was very convenient to Philly. Also not far from Wilmington if you like day trips, which we do. All in all a good vacation, but I doubt I'd recommend the place to anyone.

  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: There is a Suggestion Box in the Penn Valley Cottage and comments are always welcomed. By way of further explanation: The air conditioner died a day later, and was immediately replaced by one that is highly efficient and almost silent. The gardens are 100% organic, and not intended to be formal; in fact, they have received rave reviews from internationally-known horticulturalists. The gardeners arrived, as they always do, after torrential rains. Although admittedly small, the kitchen in the Cottage has been used (with great gusto and without complaint) to cook Thanksgiving dinners for ten people. A dozen teaspoons were purchased for our next guests. The sheets have never been flannel, but are made of expensive organic silky bamboo. It was important that the complimentary land line that was installed for the convenience of our guests be fixed as soon as possible, although Comcast visits in this area are not always predictable.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Toronto
5

A Home Away From Home

  • 5 of 5

We enjoy staying at this small cottage so much that I'm reluctant to even offer the review, for fear it will become less available! Truth is, this small cottage, surrounded by the city, is a real sanctuary. It is wonderfully quiet and fully surrounded by trees and an abundance of flowers and plants. The summer birdsong will lull you into believing you're in Costa Rica. The house is fully equipped for daily living. It is very clean and well maintained. Margaret also happens to be the finest host and owner. We're here regularly from Toronto due to work and feel very much at home every time.

  • Submitted: Jul 6, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
17 Miles
Philadelphia International Airport
Nearest Barpub
2 Miles
Great bars + restaurants nearby
Nearest Ferry
3 Miles
MERION GOLF CLUB
Nearest Golf
5 Miles
Merion Golf Club
Nearest Train
2 Miles
SEPTA R5
Nearest Motorway
2 Miles
PA #76
Nearest Restaurant
8 Miles
Unlimited number of restaurants nearby
Nearest Beach
70 Miles
Atlantic City

Access to all major sports, cultural, and historic sites throughout the Greater Philadelphia region, including center city Philadelphia, Chestnut Hill, and the Main Line.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Roxborough Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
My Standard Rate
4 night minimum stay
$185
$1,295
$2,500
 

Additional information about rental rates

Tax Rate 8.0%

FIND OUT MORE at www.PENNVALLEYCOTTAGE.com. Rates subject to change. Book now to receive listed rates!

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Roxborough Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 900 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Rural ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • BATHROOM - toilet , shower , Shower stall, sink, toilet, vanity, storage shelves.
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 5
  • BEDROOM - 1 king , Bedroom on second floor overlooks livingroom
    LIVING ROOM - 2 twin/ single , 1 sleep sofa /futon , Trundle twin beds and comfortable 7' sleeping sofa
  • Bedroom with king-sized bed on second floor overlooks livingroom. (Sliding doors allow privacy.) Twin trundle bed and extra long sofa allow three guests on first floor. All linens are provided.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Porch / Veranda ...
  • 6 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool ...
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • synagogues
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • mountaineering
  • racquetball
  • rock climbing
  • roller blading
  • skiing
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
Find more information and photos at www.PennValley Cottage.com.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties