Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

The Pinhoti Farmhouse

Sleeps7
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms1
Property type farmhouse
Minimum Stay 30 nights

Overview

About the property

4 Bedroom/1 Bath-Beautiful Farm Setting (Sleeps 7)

The Pinhoti farmhouse is a little house that used to belong to a big farm a long time ago. It's about fifteen minutes from Dalton, Ga, and thirty-five minutes from Chattanooga, TN. The farmland still surrounds it, so you get to kick back on our broad, back deck with the refreshing breezes blowing over you, and look out over the beauty of the fields...blissful in the knowledge that you will never have to mow them, unlike the yard you left at home. Our neighbor who owns the fields kindly maintains them for our viewing pleasure (and possibly his own reasons). ;-) We have some great big, old trees on our lot, the kind with lots of character and a sense of history about them, and a whole lot of birds flapping around in spring and summer. The house has quirky charm that couldn't be tamed by recent renovations...everything that can be crooked in it, is...but that's all part of the cuteness. It has a front 'settin'' porch with rockers, in addition to the side and back decks. There are four bedrooms in it, two of which are snug little upstairs rooms that seem like kid hideouts. The area is low-traffic, quiet...though you may witness an action scene of the neighbor playing with his grandkids in the field now and then. We call it the Pinhoti farmhouse (when we aren't calling it the crooked little farmhouse) because it's only about eight miles from the biggest trailhead, Snake Creek Gap, of the Pinhoti trail (which is many, many miles long). This trailhead has a large gravel parking area, with plenty of room for horse trailers, should you happen to have one. You can hike, camp, bike and ride horses on this trail, and there's a big mountain bike race held there every year.

If you don't receive a response to your inquiry, please check your spam folder. Some of my replies to folks are ending up there.

More Details

Owner
Mel Key
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
July 24, 2017

Guestbook comments from the owner

Our family would like to thank you for opening up your beautiful farmhouse to us. We truly enjoyed the comfort and relaxation we found here! Our only complaint is we needed more time to spend in this loving home. With that said we would love to return and hope you will have us once again. The pics of the home did not show the true beauty of the farmhouse so very glad we got to see in person.
May 2013
  • 1 of 7

Amenities

Rocky Face Farmhouse Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • farmhouse
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 7
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double
    Bedroom 4 - 1 twin/ single
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Porch / Veranda
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • golf

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(26 traveler reviews)

96% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
3% Complete
The Pinhoti Farmhouse
average rating of 4.8461537 based on 33 reviews
5

Quiet Country setting but close to Dalton & Chattanooga

  • 5 of 5

We stayed a here for a full month and loved every day at the farmhouse! The setting is amazing with beautiful views of rolling pastures and wonderful sunsets! We found it very easy getting to Dalton and Chattanooga from the farmhouse. I was working in Dalton and my wife, three children and our dog enjoyed setting out on dozens of great site seeing adventures all less than a hour from the farmhouse.

The farmhouse was very comfortable for our large family and is very well equipped.

  • Submitted: May 28, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Oceanside, CA
5

great stay at the Pinhoti farmhouse

  • 5 of 5

we were in the area for a conference and stayed at the Pinhoti farmhouse for a week. This is the 2nd time we have stayed here and thoroughly enjoyed the country atmosphere each time. Especially with restaurants and entertainment being located only 10 to 20 minutes away.

  • Submitted: May 18, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
1

Rent with caution

  • 1 of 5

the property was lovely, and sits on a quiet road, but the owner does not communicate well and is very likely to keep your security deposit. when my family left after a 6 week stay, we had not seen nor heard from the renter the entire time, until they cashed my security deposit without notification or explanation. when I contacted them to find out what was left amiss, they gave me a list of things that were already broken or falling apart when I had arrived. they also claimed that some items were missing, which was not at all the case. I feel they were vary unfair and just wanted extra funds to fix up the house. also the house does have ants and cockroaches (which didn't bother me, as I am use to living in the country). this place is set up for couples on a weekend getaway, not for families with children or longer stays.

  • Submitted: Apr 4, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: In over four years of renting out our farmhouse, we have only kept a guest's deposit twice (this being the second time). I deposited the guest's damage deposit check before informing her, in order to allow it to clear my bank. We don't sweat small stuff. There were just too many stained, broken, and damaged items to overlook, this time. We have families with children stay on a regular basis, and children are very welcome and enjoy our farmhouse. We have had other longer-term rentals with no problems. As stated in our rental agreement, the farmhouse is out in the country, surrounded by forty acres, so we do have outdoor bugs get in from time to time. However, we have never had an infestation. Please note our other reviews for other perspectives. We work hard to make the farmhouse a welcoming place, and we feel we can honestly say that that will be your experience.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
5

Nice country home

  • 5 of 5

We enjoyed our stay. Kids loved the 2nd floor and the blocks! A/c worked great as did the heaters at night. Used the kitchen to cook breakfast one morning and it was like we were at home. Everything you can imagine is already there. Mattresses could be updated, but were ok. Thanks!

  • Submitted: Apr 4, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Pensacola, FL
5

Relaxing Quiet Beautiful Peaceful

  • 5 of 5

We had the perfect country vacation at the farm house. The mountains were brilliant in fall colors. The weather was ideal for the season. The house has everything you need. Mr. Key is a great host.

  • Submitted: Nov 29, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

THE perfect Farmhouse getaway

  • 5 of 5

This place is awesome , its quiet spacious , perfectly decorated and close to Chattanooga and other beautiful state parks and forests . We hiked the Pinohoti trail and enjoyed the fall foliage . We were in town for a wedding for our niece ,my husbands family lives in the Dalton area and we would defiantly stay there again . It was wonderful .

  • Submitted: Nov 18, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Airport
30 Miles
Chattanooga Metropolitan Airport
Nearest Barpub
5 Miles
Chili's
Nearest Golf
4.1 Miles
The Farm
Nearest Restaurant
5.1 Miles
Outback Steakhouse
Car: necessary

40 minutes to Chattanooga; Tennessee Aquarium, Riverpark, Hunter Museum, Chattanooga Zoo, Creative Discovery Museum, Chattanooga Choo-Choo, Southern Belle Riverboat, Tivoli Theater, Ruby Falls, Chattanooga Convention Center, IMAX 3D Theater, Lookout Mountain Incline Railway, Bessie Smith Cultural Center, Etc.

15 minutes to Dalton; Dalton State College, Northwest Georgia Trade & Convention Center, Walmart, Food Lion, loads of restaurants with everything from Mexican to Subway to fine dining.

Chickamauga Battlefield Park - 28.1 miles

Fort Mountain State Park - 34.4 miles

J. H. 'Sloppy' Floyd State Park - 35.5 miles

Hamilton County Riverpark - 37.2 miles

Cloudland Canyon State Park - 41 miles

Snake Creek Gap/Pinhoti Trailhead

Harrison Bay State Park - 44.2 miles

Little River Canyon National Preserve - 56.7 miles

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $70
Pet Fee $50
Damage Deposit $200

$50 Cleaning Fee
$200 Refundable Security Deposit

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.

You might like these similar properties