Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Ski In/out For Both Downhill And Cross-country

Sleeps12
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Space 1,300 sq. ft.
Property type chalet
Minimum Stay 2 - 5 nights

Overview

About the property

4 bdrm, 2 baths with fantastic views. Sleeps 10

Great family or multi family vacation home which sleeps 10 comfortably. Two livingrooms, both with flat screens and PVRs provide opportunity for adults and kids to have their own space.

The kitchen is well equipped with a variety of pots, pans, casserole and serving dishes. A coffee grinder and programmable coffee maker makes sure that you have some good java before heading to the slopes.

All the beds are comfortable and in great condition including the 2 sofa beds which have high end mattresses.

Enjoy the elevated views of the mountains and the Silver Queen recreation area. You really feel that you are experiencing a winter playground.

More Details

Owner
Rick and Coreen Smith
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
April 14, 2017

About Rick and Coreen Smith

We are both teachers with 3 grown children and have enjoyed Vernon and the surrounding area since 1992. We love the opportunity to enjoy all that Silver Star Mountain has to offer. There is nothing like skiing, skating or snowshoeing in the winter and biking and hiking in the summer and it's just a few steps away.

Rick and Coreen Smith purchased this chalet in 2001

Why Rick and Coreen Smith chose Okanagan Valley

Vernon and the surrounding area is a recreation mecca. Silver Star provides adventure in both summer and winter and one can enjoy the lakes, golf, and wine touring in the summertime.

What makes this chalet unique

Our chalet is perfect for a couple of families or a group of friends to spend their vacation. The 8 bed configuration (2 qn,1dbl, 3sgl, 1qn sofa,1dbl sofa )offers a variety of sleeping arrangements.

Amenities

Vernon Chalet Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • chalet
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1300 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 12
  • non smoking only
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • Ski-In
  • Ski-Out
Theme:
  • Family
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , located on second level
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 4 - 1 twin/ single
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double
    Bedroom 5 - 2 twin/ single , 1 sleep sofa /futon , sofa bed is a dbl with top grade mattress
    Bedroom 6 - 1 sleep sofa /futon , queen sofa bed in the main livingroom
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
Attractions:
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • mountain biking
  • ski lift privileges
  • ski privileges optional
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
Notes:
Close walking access to the village and to skating and TubeTown.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(14 traveler reviews)

Ski In/out For Both Downhill And Cross-country
average rating of 4.928571 based on 14 reviews
Vernon,BC
5

Family weekend

  • 5 of 5

Finally had a chance to book our own cabin and have our kids and the grandchildren up at the chalet. What a fantastic family weekend up at the Star. The dump of fresh powder was an added bonus!

  • Submitted: Mar 5, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great Place

  • 5 of 5

Stayed there with 3 families, 4 children. Great location for skiing in and out. Good separation of space for kids and adults. Has everything you need. The owners are very nice, friendly, and helpful.

  • Submitted: Feb 13, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Glad to hear that you were able to have a great family weekend. We appreciate that you left our vacation home so tidy. You are welcome back anytime.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great Family Chalet

  • 5 of 5

Good location for ski in/out, a little walk into the pleasant unique ski village. Lovely ski area, with some challenging double diamond runs to keep the best skiers entertained, although it could do with upgrading and linking up the ski lifts.

Excellent owner customer service, was able to chat to owners easily via email which was great as we came from England. They were really friendly and welcoming.

Chalet as described, clean, well maintained with lovely hot tub. Good undercover parking and areas for skis and boots. Great view from the living room windows.

We had a lovely few days in Silver Star, bring your food up as the market was very expensive, but we had been warned by owners and shopped in Kelowna.

  • Submitted: Jan 4, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so happy that you enjoyed our chalet and the mountain. You are most welcome as guests anytime.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great location

  • 4 of 5

Nice property with lots of room. Out back door and onto a run to a lift. You're located walking distance to village or ice rink. Covered Parking spot is bonus. Beautiful views from kitchen/living room windows. Hot tub was clean and functioned well. Wifi is fast enough to stream Netflix (bring a Chromecast). Satellite has a great selection of channels including Sportsnet.

Laundry machine is big, works well. Beds comfortable, house warm, no complaints.

Cons: kitchen is beginning to show its age. Not dirty, just outdated. Could also use more pots and some better steak knives. Dishwasher could also be updated.

These aren't complaints, just full disclosure.

Rick was very quick responding to my emails. Informed me of particulars, directions, shopping etc...

We had a great time staying there and would love to return someday.

Best,

Kenny and Justin

  • Submitted: Dec 27, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your comments Kenny. We appreciate what you have shared.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Fantastic!

  • 5 of 5

Came up with a large group. Place was beautiful, clean, and not too far from where we were going. I'd recommend this place to anyone going to Silverstar or Vernon! Perfect long weekend!!

  • Submitted: Jul 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Kamloops BC
5

Great vacation!

  • 5 of 5

Great house for skiers! Sleeping spaces are excellent for a large group of adults, as there are real beds, as opposed to bunks, in every room. Beds are very comfortable, as are public spaces. As noted elsewhere, kitchen is very well equipped, with blender, griddle, and many good quality pots, pans, and baking dishes. Rick was prompt and friendly in responding to my enquiries, and we didn't require any assistance once we were there. Would stay here again!

  • Submitted: Feb 7, 2016
  • Stayed: Jan 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the kind words. Thank you for leaving the place so tidy. We appreciate it when guests treat it like their own. You and your group are welcome back anytime.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
80 Kilometres
Kelowna
Nearest Barpub
1 Kilometres
Silver Star Saloon
Nearest Golf
40 Kilometres
Predator Ridge
Nearest Motorway
30 Kilometres
Highway 97
Nearest Restaurant
1 Kilometres
Long John's
Nearest Ski
Right out your door
Nearest Beach
30 Kilometres
Kin Beach and Kal Beach

Located in the beautiful Okanagan Valley. It is a recreation playground for both summer and winter activities. Golf and wine tours are also close by.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Vernon Chalet Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
CAD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
off season
Apr 11 2017 - Jun 11 2017
2 night minimum stay
$146
 
 
Hike and Bike
Jun 12 2017 - Sep 17 2017
2 night minimum stay
$146
From
$183
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
$1,006
 
 
Autumn Leaves
Sep 18 2017 - Nov 2 2017
2 night minimum stay
$146
$512
$2,195
 
 
Early Bird
Nov 3 2017 - Nov 9 2017
2 night minimum stay
$183
 
 
Early Season
Nov 10 2017 - Nov 30 2017
2 night minimum stay
$256
 
 
Regular Rental
Dec 1 2017 - Dec 21 2017
2 night minimum stay
$256
From
$289
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
$1,669
 
 
Holiday Season
Dec 22 2017 - Jan 1 2018
5 night minimum stay
$366
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$256
From
$289
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $292.72
Pet Fee $47.57
Cleaning fee $91.48
Tax Rate 5.0%

These are a guideline for rates during specific periods. We are always able to negotiate long term stays and Last Minute bookings. "Make me an offer I can't refuse!"

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.

Enter dates for accurate pricing

Available
Unavailable

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties