check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand


Member since: 2011
Speaks: german

3 Bedroom. Stream right out your front door!

10 Reviews
Bedrooms 3
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more


Black Hills Cabin Rental Photos and Description

Cabin, 3 Bedrooms + Convertible Bed(s), 2 Baths (Sleeps 8)

A great retreat for your family or group of friends. There are two loft bedrooms with a shared bath, as well as the master bedroom on the main level. The kitchen is fully stocked, and the open floor plan makes a great gathering space.

Enjoy the mountain views from the front deck.

Talk about scenery - hike the mountain out back of the cabin or stroll along the stream out front.

The cabin is a great place to spend your whole vacation, or you can use it as a home base for your day trips to see the sights.

  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Jarrod (Owner)
Member since: 2011
Speaks: german


based on 10 traveler reviews

3 Bedroom. Stream right out your front door!
average rating of 4.3 based on 10 reviews

Excellent home in beautiful location

  • 5 of 5

Stayed 4 nights in Spearfish Canyon. Cabin was in excellent shape & made us feel like home. Access to garage parking was very convenient. Location was exactly what we were looking for! Highly recommended!!

  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great cabin and a great location.

  • 5 of 5

We had a great time in the Black Hills of South Dakota. The cabin was in a great location and easily accessible. Cabin was clean and well maintained. We will be staying there again.

  • Submitted: Jun 30, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Beautiful oasis in the Hills!

  • 5 of 5

We have stayed at this property twice. The cabin (really a home) is so clean and what an amazing view! Such a quiet hideaway. If you can't relax here, you can't relax anywhere! We aren't the best navigators, so it was easier for us to find it in the daylight. The upstairs has 2 beautiful lofted bedrooms and a nice bathroom. The master is on the main floor with it's own bedroom. The kitchen was wonderful as we cooked several meals in. Our kids loved the nearby creek. The view, sounds and smells of the Hills really can't be beat. We thought fall would be our favorite, but we've also stayed here in the winter and loved it. We look forward to staying here again!

  • Submitted: May 17, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

A Little Peace of Heaven in the Black Hills

  • 5 of 5

This cabin was amazing. Great location and very homey. The view was incredible and the sound of the Spearfish Creek in the background at night was very peaceful. We couldn't have picked a better place to stay. Convenient to everything in the area. i would definitely stay there again.

  • Submitted: Aug 10, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Pre-Sturgis Week

  • 5 of 5

6 of us spent 5 days at this property the week before the Sturgis Rally and totally enjoyed our stay. Very nice bedrooms, nice kitchen, spacious living room. With the grill, we had lots of cooking options. The garage is big enough for our 4 bikes and 2 trailers. The driveway was a little challenging for the novice biker but we were able to master it. Overall we had an excellent stay.

  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Disappointing VRBO

  • 1 of 5

Upon our arrival we were looking forward to enjoying the "relaxing hot tub" as described on your site for the property. We immediately discovered the hot tub was not functional as it was boarded up. Well, at least we could take a hot shower after our 16 hour drive, WRONG! There was no running water. We immediately called the property owner who walked us through steps (several attempts) to get the water running. Then had to wait about an hour or so to get warm water. We asked the owner about the hot tub (which was a deciding factor in choosing this property) and he said the description doesn't have a hot tub in it because he had it removed. I then text messaged him a picture of the current description from the website to his reply. " I'm sorry that didn't get taken off. That is my mistake". But offered no compensation. Oh well, The water shut off again that night . Luckily were we able to go through the process again and get it going again. After all of this, the uncomfortable beds, dirty sock found under a bed, dead bug left in the sink, only 3 TV stations, muddy dog prints on the back door (yet described as "no pets"; my wife has allergies, also a deciding factor). May seem a bit nit picky. This experience has killed VRBO's credibility with my family and friends. This isn't the first time we've rented a cabin when vacationing, but will be the last time we do so from VRBO. Otherwise, the scenery was nice and location was good, the creek is beautiful. Just don't expect all that is described.

  • Submitted: Jul 21, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are sorry you had a disappointing stay. We had to have the hot tub taken out of service due to the lack of available service to keep it clean and it apparently did not get taken off the website. It was more important to have it clean then to have it and have it dirty. It is not included today. The water problem was a loose cable on the water pump. Having a cabin that is not visited very frequently occasionally has those issues. That has been addressed by a plumber and should not happen again. While those things you mentioned did happen, we tried everything we could to make it right with you. I'm sorry you feel that way about our cabin and vrbo as we have had so many renters that have had wonderful experiences and love returning to our place. Staying in a place as beautiful as this with a stream right out your front door should not have any issues, i agree. We do our best to keep the cabin in perfect condition, but occasionally things out of our control happen. If ever an issue were to arise, we will continue to do our best to give our guests a wonderful experience. Owner Jarrod
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0


Nearest Airport
65 Miles
Rapid City Regional
Nearest Barpub
2 Miles
Cheyenne Crossing
Nearest Golf
3.5 Miles
Lead Country Club
Nearest Motorway
2 Miles
US Hwy 85
Nearest Restaurant
2 Miles
Cheyenne Crossing
Nearest Ski
6 Miles
Mystic Miner Ski Resort,
Nearest Beach
33 Miles
Pactola Reservoir
Car: necessary

The most beautiful drive through the Black Hills is right down the road. We love to take drives through Spearfish Canyon in any season - especially to watch the fall colors. The skiing at Terry Peak and Mystic Miner (formerly Deer Mountain) is right down the road. We feel secluded and nestled in the mountains, but the fun and history of Lead/Deadwood is right around the corner. There is so much to do!


Rates & Availability

Lead Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $125 + Tax
Renter's Insurance $50 + Tax
Tax Rate 6.0%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Cancelled bookings will not receive a refund
Enter dates to see total
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Black Hills Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking
  • Garage
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street
  • Washing Machine
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Dining Area
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 2
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (2), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1)
  • DVD Player
  • Television
  • Video Library
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • churches
  • library
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • gambling casinos
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rock climbing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling

Partner Offers

Other Vacation Properties