check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Lakefront On Lake Harmony

Sleeps13
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Half Baths2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview


Details
Property
house
Sleeps
13
Bedrooms
4
Bathrooms
2
Half Baths
2
Minimum Stay
2 - 7 nights

Description

Lake Harmony House Rental Photos and Description

4 Bedroom, 4 Bathroom Home. Sleeps 13. Wifi

NOTE: VRBO's nightly rates are NOT CORRECT. You must scroll down to "Rates" (or click on the "Rates" tab) to see the correct weekly and weekend rates by season! Please see our listed rates as well as our notes for all information needed for rates and holidays. We only accept dogs 40 lbs. and under for an additional fee and security deposit.

Welcome to The Bears' Den! Located right on Lake Harmony, one of only two motorboat lakes located in the Pocono Mountains in Pennsylvania. Lake Harmony sits right in the middle of Jack Frost Mountain and Big Boulder Mountain, so both are just a five minute ride away.

The Bears' Den is a large, beautiful home that sits right on the lake with fifty feet of lakefront. It has its own large dock and private beach area, so go ahead and bring your own boat or jet skis right up to the back yard! There is now a six person hot tub overlooking the lake!

With three large levels of living area, there is enough room for everyone. The Bears' Den sleeps 13 comfortably. The basement level is a game room with two sets of sliders that open to the lakefront area and a covered patio WITH A SIX PERSON HOT TUB! The game room is complete with a top of the line pool table, a dry bar, a full-size refrigerator, an air hockey table, a sitting area, and a half bath.

Move on up to the main level, where you enter the house, and this is the main living area. Here you will find one bedroom with a king size bed; a huge eat-in kitchen with new flooring, complete with new granite countertops, a brand new large refrigerator with ice maker, new dishwasher, new electric stove, new microwave, and everything else you need to feel right at home; formal living room with new flooring; family room with new flooring, complete with gas fireplace, cathedral ceiling, large-screen television, and another two sets of sliders that open onto a wrap-around deck overlooking the lake. Lastly there is a half bath on this floor as well.

Go upstairs and you will find three bedrooms and two newly tiled full baths. The large master bedroom has a king size bed, walk-in closet, and a master bathroom with a soaking tub. The second bedroom has a queen size bed, and the third bedroom has bunk beds with a full on the bottom and a twin on top. There are two pull-out sofas in the house (one full and one queen). The deck is furnished with deck furniture and a gas grill, and there are chairs for the beach/dock area, as well as a fire pit.

Every room in the house has ceiling fans and there is a full-size washer and dryer on the first floor as well. There are five televisions in the home with cable and DVD players, and free WiFi is also available.

MINIMUM RENTAL AGE IS 25 - NO PROM GROUPS-NO HS OR COLLEGE GRADUATION GROUPS

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Owner
Tim Conte
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
November 28, 2016
Call Owner

About Tim Conte

We are a family of four living in South Jersey and were looking for a year-round vacation home. We fell in love with Lake Harmony and immediately knew we wanted our vacation home to be there. When the opportunity arose to purchase this property it was a dream come true.

Tim Conte purchased this house in 2011

Why Tim Conte chose Lake Harmony Area

We wanted a location that would be something we would want to go to in both the winter and the summer. We also wanted some place that was within a few hours of us so we could easily just get up and go to it. Lake Harmony fit that perfectly. With two teenage boys, we knew they would love being lakefront in the summer, and so close to the mountains for snowboarding in the winter.

What makes this house unique

As soon as we saw the back yard of this home, we knew we had to have it. We never dreamed we would be buying a house that was literally lake front! It was just one of those things...we pulled over, looked at it, and knew we would never again see a house that would compare to it. The back deck and back yard are to die for! Also, since the home was only 10 years old, there really wasn't anything we would have to do to it. It was in perfect shape. The rest, as they say, is now history. Shortly after we purchased the home, we named it The Bears' Den and started decorating it accordingly.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(23 traveler reviews)

Lakefront On Lake Harmony
average rating of 4.652174 based on 23 reviews
5

Very enjoyable stay at the Bear's Den

  • 5 of 5

We had a great week at the Bears Den. The house was very comfortable and inviting. We felt at home the minute we got there. There were 4 of us for the week but the home easily will accommodate larger groups with no problem. The downstairs game room is well stocked with any and all types of games, pool table and air hockey. We loved being able to walk right out to the dock and the water. The little beach area was great for an evening bonfire. The weather held for most of the week and we were able to watch the leaves changing throughout the week right from the dock. The scenery from the deck was absolutely beautiful. We loved our stay and would highly recommend this home as a great vacation spot. You won't be disappointed. We had no issues with getting our deposit back in a timely manner.

  • Submitted: Oct 15, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much for your kind words, we enjoyed hosting you and your family and friends. Please come back and visit us when you can, you're always welcome.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Renters be warned

  • 1 of 5

The property itself was beautiful, clean, well maintained and spacious. I post this update to caution future renters that it took 32 days, several unpleasant emails and the threat of legal action to return our sizeable security deposit. The security deposit amount was unusually high but we liked the property. In our two decades of renting vacation homes, all owners have held onto the deposit check without cashing it. These owners cashed the check promptly. The house was left absolutely spotless so we expected the security deposit to be returned within two weeks but not so. The lease states "said deposit will be refunded within thirty (30) days after termination of this Agreement provided premises are left in the same condition as at the commencement there including: all bathrooms, fireplaces, kitchen, kitchen sinks, refrigerators, stove, oven, dishwasher, and exterior grounds". Owners stated they would "normally have returned the security deposit within two weeks" and said there were reasons why they could not but did not convey them (because we "wouldn't care anyway"). Then stated "things happen on occasion and plans don't follow through as we expect" followed by "given our attitudes I don't feel the need to explain to you the agony of the last month and to be honest it's none of your business". All comments that came across as stalling. On the 32nd day, after many requests, the check arrived. Just a heads up to future renters. We enjoyed our stay but we were disappointed at stalling and the lack of professionalism and would never rent from these owners again.

  • Submitted: Sep 30, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I’ll admit there are bits of truth to this review and it is unfortunate that things unraveled the way they did. Unfortunately I experienced a personal tragedy about a week after their rental ended and as a result I was distracted and didn’t realize that I’d failed to return their security deposit within our customary 7 – 10 days. While it was indeed my fault for not being on top of things, the reality is that the first time they contacted me about the security deposit was this e-mail in the evening of day 27 … “As September 20th fast approaches we have yet to receive our security deposit check for the week 8/13 – 8/20. The property was left in the exact condition we found it and we would expect a full refund of said deposit by September 20th or legal action will commence.” It’s unfortunate that these renters chose to turn our relationship around … things were very cordial and professional up until that time. If they’d just sent an inquiry to check on the security deposit I would have apologized and made arrangements immediately. As it was, I made arrangements that night to have my bank send them a check. That wasn’t good enough for them as the threats of legal action continued until the day they received the check. Day 32 as they said, hardly worth the threats of legal action to recoup the deposit plus interest and legal fees … but maybe that’s just the way they do business, it’s just not the way I handle things.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great house with outdoor space!

  • 5 of 5

This was our second year staying at the Bear's Den and we couldn't have asked for a better weekend. The house was plenty big enough to accommodate our large group for the weekend and everything was as expected. Our favorite part (besides being on the water) was definitely the yard space between the house and the dock. We practically spent all day Saturday outside playing different games, hanging out on the dock, and enjoying the water. Can't wait to start planning next year's trip!

  • Submitted: Sep 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Tony, we are very happy you enjoyed your stay and are happy to have you return at any time.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Flourtown, PA
5

Debbie M

  • 5 of 5

This was our third summer vacation at Lake Harmony but our first stay at The Bear's Den. We will never stay anywhere else ever again. The house was perfect....clean, updated, cozy, spacious and beautiful. We used the fire pit down by the dock every night making s'mores and we spent all our free time fishing off the dock or paddleboating and kayaking with the equipment that came with the house. The owner Tim was pleasant to deal with and provided prompt and detailed information regarding everything we needed to know. We were a family of 7 on this vacation and the house was perfect size wise. We will literally never stay anywhere else ever again and plan to make The Bear's Den a yearly tradition.

  • Submitted: Sep 7, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your kind words. Pam and I are happy that you had such a great trip and look forward to having you back in the coming years.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Winter getaway

  • 5 of 5

We loved the home. Very clean very nice. Plan on more tripso and using this home.

  • Submitted: Feb 15, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

THE HOUSE IS JUST AS APPEARS ONLINE NICE CLEAN AND PRETTY SPACIOUS.

  • 4 of 5

WE HAD THREE FAMILIES AND EVERYONE ENJOYED THIS HAS WE HAD A GREAT THANKSGIVING WEEKEND AND THEY HAD ALL THE KITCHEN UNTESILS WHICH MAKES COOKING AWAY ON A HOLIDAY MUCH NICER. IT WAS NICE BEING ON THE LAKE.

  • Submitted: Dec 7, 2015
  • Stayed: Nov 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Just 5 minutes from Big Boulder and Jack Frost Ski Areas. The H2Ooooooh indoor water park is a 2 minute drive. Other ski mountains and water parks are within 20 minutes. Casinos and outlet shopping are 20 minutes away. You can walk to the local restaurants/bars. Truthfully, you may not ever want to leave the house...it's right on the lake and has the most beautiful views you could imagine.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Lake Harmony House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Winter
Dec 1 2016 - Mar 30 2017
2 night minimum stay
From
$750
Fri,Sat
$1,800
$6,500
 
 
Spring
Mar 31 2017 - May 25 2017
2 night minimum stay
From
$650
Fri,Sat
$1,600
$5,700
 
 
Early Summer
May 26 2017 - Jun 16 2017
2 night minimum stay
From
$900
Fri,Sat
$2,100
 
 
Summer 2017
Jun 17 2017 - Sep 7 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$2,500
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $600
Tax Rate 9.0%

The VRBO/HomeAway "Nightly Calculator" is rarely accurate. Weekly and Weekend rates are as posted. Please inquire for anything else. Two night minimum for all but summer, which is weekly rentals only.

HOLIDAYS: New Year's Eve: $2050; MLK Weekend: $1900; President's Weekend: $1900; Memorial Day Weekend: $2000; July 4th week; $2800; Labor Day Weekend: $1800; Thanksgiving (Wed. to Sun.): $1900; Christmas: $2000.

Extra Night: $200

Cleaning is included in rate. There is a fee for small dogs (under 40 pounds). Please inquire about that.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Lake Harmony House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Lakefront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Gas Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 2 Half Baths
  • Master Bathroom - toilet , tub , shower
    Hall Bathroom - toilet , tub , shower
    Main Powder Room - toilet , Off kitchen on first floor
    Game Room Powder Room - toilet , Off game room in basement
  • 2 full and 2 half
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 13
  • Master Bedroom - 1 king , Attached master bathroom, walk-in closet
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 bunk bed , Bunk has a full bed on the bottom and a twin on top
    Bedroom 4 - 1 king , On main level
  • King size beds (2), Queen size Beds (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (2) one full and one queen, Bunk Beds (1) Full on bottom, twin on top
Entertainment:
  • Air Hockey
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room
  • Games
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • health/beauty spa
  • restaurants
  • water parks
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • pier fishing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
Notes:
PLEASE CHECK THE RATES AS LISTED BELOW ...

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties