check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand

Julie Ash

Member since: 2012
Speaks: english

OCEANFRONT WITH GREAT VIEWS, MULTI-LEVEL DECKS,HOT TUB & PET FRIENDLY

11 Reviews
Sleeps16
Bedrooms 6
Bathrooms3
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Overview

Coastal North Carolina House Rental Photos and Description

6 Bedroom 3 1/2 Bath Just Steps To The Beach & Awesome Water Views Throughout!

************************************************************************************

LAST MINUTE SPECAL

AUG 13, 2016 - AUG 20, 2016

NOW ONLY $4,480.00 + TAX!!!

*************************************************************************************

We've named this property 'A SEA DREAM' come see why! Its a Beautiful 3-Level Oceanfront Home with a Private Outdoor Hot Tub on a Multi-Level Deck. There are Two Oceanfront Sitting Rooms, Beautiful Sound and Ocean Views from Every Room and the Master Suite has a Private Open Deck.

Ground level: Large, Open Foyer has an Open Stairwell. Bedroom #1 is Oceanfront and has a Queen Bed. Bedroom #2 has a Queen Bed. Bedroom #3/game room has a 2 Twin Bunk Sets, 2 Daybeds, a Color TV, and a Foosball/Soccer Table. There is one bath on this level. Laundry area has a Washer/Dryer.

Level one: Large, Open Living, Dining, and Kitchen Area Spans the Entire Ocean Side of the Home. Large Floor-to-Ceiling Windows on all sides give Breathtaking Ocean Views! The living Area has a Wood-Burning Fireplace. Large Dining Table Seats 10 and a High Chair is included, as well. Additional Bar Seating for 6 is available. The Oceanfront Sitting Room Offers Additional Entertaining Space. The Large, Open Kitchen has Granite Countertops, a Dishwasher, a Microwave, a Self-Cleaning Oven, 2 Refrigerators and Pullout Pantry Cabinet. There is a Half Bath on this Level, and a Large, Open & Covered Wrap-Around Deck with Furniture and a Gas Grill. Access to Multi-Level Deck and Hot Tub on this Level.

Level two: Sitting Area has Access to an Open Oceanfront Deck. The Oceanfront Master Bedroom Suite has a King Bed, Spacious Bathroom with a Whirlpool Bath, a Separate Shower Stall and a Private, Open Deck. Bedroom #5 is Oceanfront and has a Queen Bed. Bedroom #6 has a Queen Bed. Bedrooms #5 & #6 share a Full-Bath. Master Bedroom Suite has a King Bed and Private Huge Bathroom with Whirlpool Tub.

Amenities Include: Master Suite with Private Open Deck, a Private Hot Tub on Multi-Level Deck with Bench Seating, 3 Color Cable TVS, a DVD Player, Wireless Internet Access, a Washer/Dryer, a Dishwasher, a Microwave, 2 Refrigerators, Water Softener, an Open & Covered Wrap-Around Deck with Deck Chaise Lounge, Deck Adirondack Chairs, Picnic Table, additional Table with chairs, an Enclosed Hot/Cold Outdoor Shower, a Gas Grill with one full gas tank provided, a Foosball/Soccer Table, Multi-Level Deck, a Wood-Burning Fireplace, a Whirlpool Bath, and 2 Oceanfront Sitting Rooms.

Linens & Towels Provided with Beds Made!

Pet Friendly $250.00/Per Pet Non-Refundable Pet Fee. We do offer multi-Pet Discount

No smoking.

Rents Weekly Only, Saturday to Saturday. Email owner for shorter stays, will consider in the off season only.

------------------------------------------------------

#19. Hot tub lease addendum terms:

Hot tub: Owner will maintain Hot Tub on turnover day please note that fresh water is filled and it may take up to 24 hours for water to re-heat. Tenant is responsible for proper care of hot tub by rinsing suntan oils in shower prior to entering Hot Tub. Do not use soap when showering as it will cause water to get cloudy. Suggested hot tub occupancy listed in instruction manual must not be exceeded is (7). Hot tub should be covered when not in use to retain heat. Do not sit on hot tub cover or use it to sit on. Damage to cover or hot tub due to misuse will result in additional charges to the tenant. Please do not set hot tub thermostat higher than 104 degrees. Due to high temperatures, hot tubs are not suitable for small children or pregnant women. Children under the legal age should not be left unattended. It is not wise to sit in the hot tub longer than 15 minutes at a time.

It is imperative that everyone (adults and children) shower before entering the hot tub to remove sand and suntan lotion from their feet, hands and body. Hot tub is maintained by owner. An instruction manual is provided for the hot tub. Any questions regarding the safe use and operation of the hot tub should be referred to owner ken's cell # (252) 342-8700.

Tenant does hereby covenant and agree to defend, indemnify, and hold harmless, both the owners of subject property and vrbo, from, and against, all liability, loss, damage, claims, or actions (including costs and attorney fees) for bodily injury, paralysis, or death, and/or property damage, to the extent permissible by law, arising out of, or in connection with, the misuse of hot tub.

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Julie Ash (Owner)
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english

About Julie Ash

We are a fun loving couple currently living in Morehead City just a short drive from Emerald Isle! We are both animal lovers involved in animal rescue. We welcome families to come and enjoy their vacation with the family pet! We enjoy dining out and being active in all that the Crystal Coast has to offer. We would love for you to come stay with us at 'A Sea Dream' and start dreaming at the beach!

Julie Ash purchased this house in 1999

Why Julie Ash chose Coastal North Carolina

We feel blessed to own a piece of Oceanfront property and would love to share it with you!

What makes this house unique

Truly 'A Sea Dream'! Location! Location! Location! Can't Beat the Oceanfront & Sound Views from Every Room in this Lovely 3 story Beach Cottage. Great Family Open Layout helps you enjoy Sunrises & Sunsets from the Wall of Windows on the Main Floor & Top Floor Bedrooms!

Guestbook comments from the owner

We really enjoyed your Beach house! The weather was amazing & we also got to watch sea turtles hatch & make it to the ocean! Very Cool!! We'll be contacting you about renting next year. Our family really enjoyed our stay. Thank you. 5*
Aug 2015
  • 1 of 1

Reviews

4.5
based on 11 traveler reviews

OCEANFRONT WITH GREAT VIEWS, MULTI-LEVEL DECKS,HOT TUB & PET FRIENDLY
average rating of 4.5454545 based on 12 reviews
2

A Sea Nightmare

  • 2 of 5

Emerald Isle is fantastic. The beach and water were fantastic. But be warned, the pictures of "A Sea Dream" do not accurately portray the condition of this home. This rental home has been neglected and you will be disappointed. I could write multiple pages of complaints and supply lots of details but I’ll get straight to the point with a concise list of problems with the place:

- Deck needs major repairs. Rusty nails sticking up, loose/rotten boards, and loose railings

- Rodent problem (rat traps in the house, and we found a rat in the gas grill)

- Water damage in many spots in the house. Excess moisture on the bottom floor

- Roof leaked water into upstairs bedroom while we were there

- Dryer does not work, most likely due to obstruction of vent

- Loose stair railings inside

- Mold in the showers and sewer odor in downstairs bathroom

- Outside shower has rotten boards and exposed electrical switch with no face plate

- Mildew and rotten animal odors in the bottom floor. Air fresheners used in a pathetic attempt to conceal odor.

- Dog gate that was advertised is in tatters and not functioning

- Hot tub worked but the cover was all busted up and needs to be replaced

- Carpets and floors were disgusting and in need of cleaning

- Insufficient smoke detectors. No carbon monoxide detectors

- Cannot see the beach from the hot tub as advertised

- Ant infestation

- Screen door in bunk room was missing handle and could not be opened

- In general the house is just beat up

This house could be nice but the owners have evidently neglected the place for many, many years and they don’t seem to care. In my opinion, as someone who owns rental properties, this house should not be rented to guests in the current condition as it has considerable potential health and safety hazards. I strongly advise you to find another place to stay.

The only reason I gave two stars for Overall and Experience were because Emerald Isle itself is very nice and the beach is nice. If the review system would have let me, the place would have got zero stars.

  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We take great offense to her insinuating that we are misleading, that we have neglected our property and that we don't care is ridiculous! Yet the very next guests loved the house so much they are going to return in 2016 doesn't make any sense! For This guest to be able to state that my house is a health & safety hazard and to tell people to book another property is slanderous to our reputation and our business which we take very personally. You only contacted us about a roof leak which turned out to be condensation drip from a/c in attic. I'm sorry we can't say it was a pleasure meeting you since you yelled at my husband that you didn't want to be disturbed during your vacation yet wanted us to fix leak? You demanded a refund & threatened to leave a bad review & we NEVER heard from you again until this bad review as promised -You mention 3 times in 3 different comments about bottom floor odor downstairs bath, bottom floor again it's all the same. Apparently there was a leaky pipe to the right of the dryer next to the bath you mention unbeknown to us until after you checked out. It was a very easy fix had you told us. The faint odor in laundry room was the wet sheetrock which has now been repaired -We do not advertise dog gates a previous guest must have left it behind. We do have Fabulous ocean views throughout the house and on hot tub deck but do not advertise view from sunken hot tub as you mention -We have installed new smoke detectors and carbon monoxide detectors at the beginning of the season sorry I don't understand your comment? -We began replacing 1/4 of the main deck with new deck boards and plan to finish as soon as time allows with our busy rental season. We are constantly upgrading the property for our guests to enjoy! -We purchased & installed new LG washer & dryer 2 weeks prior to your arrival. You had removed the dryer lint tray & had so much sand in the dryer, it's a miracle it didn't break or cause a fire! -Hot Tub cover has been ordered, door handle repaired & outside shower electrical plate replaced. I wish you would have told us about these minor issues that we could have addressed immediately during your stay! -We deliver the house very clean for your check in and I'm sorry to say that you were the dirtiest guests we've ever seen! You left all windows open, dirty dishes, garbage/food everywhere, sticky countertops, spills on carpet, moved furniture, soiled towels & ripped arm of sofa.You need to be on Guest Blackball list!
Did you find this review helpful?
13 2
4

Wonderful week at the beach!

  • 4 of 5

Our family had a great time here, four families with kids between the ages of 2 to 19. We loved being so close to the beach and having all the comforts of home. The short walk to the water made it easy to come and go without it being a project, we'd set up chairs and umbrellas in the morning and leave them up til the end of the day. We did have a set of walkie talkies that worked out really well for calling people for dinner etc, plus we had almost constant funny conversations with them so they were well worth it. The house is very well kept and accommodated our large family gathering. Loved (needed) two full sized refrigerators and the huge dinning table. The views are amazing from the living areas, decks and most of the bedrooms. The only issues we had were with the deck needing some work, had to make sure the little ones wore shoes up there and we could have used more hot water. I wasn't surprised we kept running out with so many people but I would recommend those tankless hot water heaters for a future upgrade. The owners were very helpful and responsive when we had questions.

  • Submitted: Jun 23, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay at "A Sea Dream" property! The view are really amazing! We appreciate your suggestions and we've already started replacing the main deck as you could see from the new deck boards 1/4 of the way done. We plan to finish most of the deck as soon as possible and finish by end of this season. We've already begun to look into Tank less water heaters as we strive to keep up with the latest technology. We hope to see you again! Julie & Kenny Owners
Did you find this review helpful?
2 8
Nashville, NC
5

Best vacation ever!!!

  • 5 of 5

My family and I had an amazing time at A Sea Dream! The owner stopped by to check the hot tub and he was very nice! All three floors were beautiful! The deck space and deck furniture was perfect! Even my 95 year old grandmother had a wonderful time! We had 5 generations there and made some wonderful memories! God is good!

  • Submitted: Oct 20, 2014
  • Stayed: Oct 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: It was wonderful having your lovely family as guests of "A Sea Dream" property & we're delighted that you created beautiful memories! The property does offer amazing ocean & sound views from the multi level decks, we're so happy that you enjoyed the deck chairs, chaise loungers, picnic table and built in seating around the hot tub deck! God truly is good and the ocean helps us revive our spirits! We hope to see you again soon. Take care, Ken & Julie Ash
Did you find this review helpful?
1 7
Kingston, NY
5

Lovely property

  • 5 of 5

The house was lovely, well kept up, and very comfortable. Idyllic setting with a large porch looking out onto the surf. The kitchen is very well supplied for anyone wishing to cook. The home owners are very responsive to any questions or problems. A hot tub on a separate deck was an added benefit. We would highly recommend this property to anyone looking for a lovely beach week!

  • Submitted: Sep 23, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for staying at "A Sea Dream" property! We're so happy that you enjoyed your stay and all the amenities the house has to offer. We look forward to having you stay again in the future. Take care, Ken & Julie Ash
Did you find this review helpful?
1 7
4

Wonderful family reunion

  • 4 of 5

We had a fantastic week here. There was plenty of room to spread out and the views from the kitchen/dining room/living room were tremendous. Direct access to the beach meant the kids could come and go without worry and no long schleps to the beach. We literally set up beach camp at 8am and didn't break it down til dinner time. We had quite a few water toys (boards, kayaks etc) and the under deck storage was secure and out of the elements. We had one small dog with us and he was easily contained on the large 2nd floor deck when he wasn't on the beach with us. All in all, a great place for all our needs.

  • Submitted: Aug 21, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay! "A Sea Dream" is a wonderful house and it does offer amazing views and an open layout for all to enjoy. It was a real pleasure meeting you and your lovely family and we hope you've made great memories to last a lifetime! Hope to see you again in the future! Ken & Julie Ash
Did you find this review helpful?
1 6
5

Our 7th Beach house rental, and this one is in our top two favorites!

  • 5 of 5

We rented this property for a family gathering after our youngest son's college graduation. There were four married couples, our recent grad, my mother-in-law, and two babies (newborn and one crawling/beginning to walk): ten adults and two children. This was a wonderful house for making memories with our family! As I began looking through VRBO beachfront houses in the size needed, this one caught my eye because of its bright colors, beach decor, good-sized deck, open floor plan, large DR table, and easy access to the beach. The LR had plenty of seating, and the kitchen was well-equipped and even had two refrigerators. There was a problem with the stove, but the owners responded quickly and had a new one delivered promptly. Speaking of the owners, all of our interaction with them by email and phone was pleasant and helpful. If we're ever renting a beach house in this area again, we will definitely see if this one's available! We do have a few suggestions, but they in no way keep us from wanting to return to this house. The salt air quickly builds up on the windows, hindering the view. My husband used the hose on the beachside windows, but not on the front. There's a large, beautiful window there that we passed each time we came downstairs from the upper level, but a clearer view would have made that even more enjoyable. The buildup comes off pretty easily with a hose, so would be nice to have this done before each rental. The upper level bedrooms have a definite advantage as far as view and brightness. Because of the dunes, etc., the lower level bedrooms tend to be dark. Only in that part of the house did we notice any damp feel, so a dehumidifier down there would be a plus. One night when we attempted to use the jacuzzi in the master bathroom, it ran out of hot water before the water covered the jets; this may have been due to showers taken earlier. If you're looking for a house that's near stores, activities, etc., this one is a bit of a drive. We were looking for a beach house where we could largely relax, enjoy the family, and have fun on the beach and in the ocean, so this one was perfect for us. We did do some sightseeing. The guys went golfing one morning and the girls went to the picturesque town of Beaufort for shopping and lunch. Later in the day, some of us took a boat ride out to Shackleford Island to see the wild horses that live there--definitely something we'd love to do again. We had a WONDERFUL time at this rental!

  • Submitted: Jul 16, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 6

Map

Nearest Airport
44.03 Miles
COASTAL CAROLINA REGIONAL AIRPORT(EWN)New Bern,NC
Nearest Barpub
1.48 Miles
FRANK & CLARA'S RESTAURANT & BAR
Nearest Ferry
53.67 Miles
CEDAR ISLAND/OCRACOKE STATE FERRY
Nearest Golf
6.84 Miles
COUNTRY CLUB OF THE CRYSTAL COAST, PineKnollShores
Nearest Train
81 Miles
WILSON, NC
Nearest Motorway
HWY 58
Nearest Restaurant
1.48 Miles
FRANK & CLARA'S RESTAURANT & BAR
Nearest Beach
THIS IS OCEANFRONT PROPERTY RIGHT ON THE BEACH!
Car: recommended

We named our house 'A Sea Dream' because you will feel like you're dreaming when you come to the Crystal Coast! We are centrally located just minutes from Ocean Club Spa for a wonderful day of pampering, or a day of fun jet skiing, parasailing or riding banana boats. Mini Golf at Lost Treasure Mini Gold & Raceway about 3 miles away or visit the NC Aquarium at Pine Knoll Shores only 5.06 miles away. Mac Daddy's in Cape Carteret offers a family fun day of bowling, arcade and karaoke. Make sure to visit Fort Macon State Park just 12.5 miles in Atlantic Beach, admission is free! Visit historic Beaufort, take the Trolley Bus Tour, Ghost Walk or Cemetary Tour. Just minutes away from the Beaufort Historic area is nearby Seagrave Aviation on Airport Road offering private 4 seater narrated plane rides over the beautiful crystal clear waters. Can even request to fly over 'A Sea Dream' for a picture opportunity. Head over to Swansboro and enjoy antique shopping and meandering through the lovely town. While visiting make sure to try some tasty cusine at some of our favorite restaurants.....owner pics ..... +Crab's Claw in Atlantic Beach delicious & oceanfront dining. +Rucker John's at Emerald Plantation Shopping Center kids feed the turtles, bring quarters, food is always great! +El Zarape on Atlantic Beach Causeway reasonable prices, good food and family friendly. Must try +Amos Mosquito's Restaurant & Bar in Atlantic Beach delicious food ..Karaoke Fun on Thursday nights +Watermark Restaurant in Atlantic Beach, pricey but good food and live bands for dancing separate cover charge +Stillwater Cafe Beaufort pretty water views & sunsets +Aua in Beaufort order the large portions because the tapas or apps will leave you hungry even though really tasty. +Beaufort Grocery and +Beaufort Grocery II in Morehead City both offer delicious Lunch/Dinner/Brunch...say hello to Chef Charles! +Chef's 105 downtown Morehead, great food, live outdoor bands and large inside bar. +Ruddy Duck Tavern can't miss this place it's downtown Morehead, great food (large portions), price, bar & waterfront location! +Bistro by the Sea Morehead offers great ambiance and food. +Musachi Japanese & Sushi in Morehead fresh cooked to order delicious & very reasonable prices! +Circa 81 Morehead great tapas, Lunch or Dinner and wonderful Champagne Sangria by the pitcher!

Photos

Rates & Availability

Emerald Isle House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Sunny Peak $6,825.00/WEEK
Jun 18 2016 - Aug 12 2016
7 night minimum stay
$6,825
 
 
Sunny PeakValue $5,404.00/WEEK
Aug 13 2016 - Aug 19 2016
7 night minimum stay
$5,404
 
 
Sunny Discount $2,940.00/WEEK
Aug 20 2016 - Aug 26 2016
7 night minimum stay
$2,940
 
 
Fall Islander $2,450.00/WEEK
Aug 27 2016 - Jan 6 2017
7 night minimum stay
$2,450
 
 
SPRING ISLANDER $1,995.00/WEEK
Mar 18 2017 - Apr 28 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,995
 
 
Spring Time $2,940.00/WEEK
Apr 29 2017 - May 26 2017
7 night minimum stay
$2,940
 
 
Sunny Discount $4,480.00/WEEK
May 27 2017 - Jun 2 2017
7 night minimum stay
$4,480
 
 
SunnyPeak Value $5,838.00/WEEK
Jun 3 2017 - Jun 16 2017
7 night minimum stay
$5,838
 
 
Sunny Peak $6,825.00/WEEK
Jun 17 2017 - Aug 11 2017
7 night minimum stay
$6,825
 
 
Sunny Value $5,404.00/WEEK
Aug 12 2017 - Aug 18 2017
7 night minimum stay
$5,404
 
 
Sunny Discount $2,940.00/WEEK
Aug 19 2017 - Aug 25 2017
7 night minimum stay
$2,940
 
 
Fall Islander $2,450.00/WEEK
Aug 26 2017 - Jan 5 2018
7 night minimum stay
$2,450
 
 
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
$1,988
 

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $250 + Tax
Tax Rate 12.75%

Weekly Rate includes:
-Check-in/out Cleaning
-Towels & Linens w/Beds Made upon arrival

ADDITIONAL FEES:
-Tax is not included in weekly rates
-Mid Week Touch Up Clean $150.00 Req in advance/pay cash
-Pet Fees $250.00 per pet
-Additional $500.00 Fee for all Weddings

MIN 3 NIGHT STAY $632.00/NIGHT $1,896/WKND JAN-MAR
CONTACT OWNER FOR PAYMENTS:
Accept ALL MAJOR CREDIT CARDS, PAYPAL OR CHECK

50% deposit is required with reservation. Balance is due no later than 45 days prior to arrival.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Coastal North Carolina House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
  • Oceanfront ...
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Computer Available
  • Free Long Distance
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace
Kitchen:
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator ...
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
  • 3.5
Bedrooms:
  • 6 Bedrooms, Sleeps 16
  • King size beds (1) Top Level Master Bedroom, Queen size Beds (4) 2 on Ground Level & 2 on Top Level, Bunk Beds (2) On Ground Level, 2 sets of Bunk Beds and 2 daybeds, this bedroom sleeps total of 6
Entertainment:
  • Air Hockey
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Foosball
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • jetted tub ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • racquetball
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • skiing
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing

Partner Offers

Other Vacation Properties