Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Honua Kai Resort*4th Floor*Great Mountain view Condo*Reduced Rates 2017 openings

Bedrooms 1
Space 620 sq. ft.
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 3 - 14 nights


About the property

Condo, 1 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2-4)

Aloha and welcome!


**We do not advertise on Craigslist, if you see any of our properties on Craigslist, please call us at the number listed on VRBO**

***Hawaii Transient tax will be increased by 1% effective 1/1/18. This bill was signed in to law 9/5/17 and goes to affect on 1/1/2018***

We have a collection of beautiful Honua Kai condos in both towers. We have several one bedroom, 2 bedroom and 3 bedroom condos as well as a one bedroom with a den.

2 bedroom condos :VRBO 849826, VRBO 514711, VRBO 500661, VRBO 685468

3 bedoom condo: VRBO 631867

1 bedroom condos: VRBO 362158,, VRBO 440536, VRBO 471634, VRBO 204327, VRBO 471636

1 bedroom with den, VRBO 596432

Studios VRBO 810323, VRBO 75183

The Honua Kai (HK) resort is located at the northern end of golden Ka'anapali Beach, considered one of the world's best, warmed by the beautiful Maui sun and overlooking the islands of Lanai and Molokai.

Honua Kai is Maui's newest beachfront ultra-luxury resort with dining, shops, activities desk and beautiful grounds spanning three swimming pools, waterfalls, exotic flower gardens and rolling greens.

Our unit is in the Hokulani Tower. Unit #432

Some of the resort glorious highlights are noted below -

* Stunning oceanfront resort with spectacular breathtaking ocean & Maui hillside views! GORGEOUS sunset views with the sun setting between Lanai and Molokai! Beautiful Sunrise!

* Mountain view condo.

* Just a few steps from the ocean, hot tubs & numerous oceanfront pools!

* On-site access to upscale Duke's Restaurant

* Gleaming new kitchen with Bosch stainless steel appliances & granite countertops!

* Living room with plasma TV, and DVD player!


* Spacious 620 square feet interior plus 165-sq.ft. lanai for al fresco dining, w/wall of folding glass doors opening up to the living room! True indoor-outdoor living

* Best accommodations for 2 to 4 people. Ideal for couples or families

* Pack and Play

*State of the art fitness center with new equipment.

This luxury condo is in one of the best locations in Maui! It is beautifully and professionally designed to help you relax and enjoy your Maui vacation. It is the perfect choice for a romantic escape - or for the family trip of a lifetime.Tropical Ocean Front Setting

• Luxurious Open Air Lobby with Ocean Views

• Courtyard with Infinity Koi Pond

• Aina Gourmet Market

• Infinity-Edge Formal Pool with Cabanas, Aqua Loungers, and Hot Tubs

• Ocean Front Lazy River Pool

• Spacious Open Floor Plans

• Central A/C

• Private Phones & Internet Access, Free calls to US Mainland and Canada

• Poolside Gas/Electric BBQ's

• $15/Day Parking/Amenity Fee

• Miles of walkway allows you to enjoy the length of Ka'anapali Beach

• Smoking Prohibited on Property

~Resort policies/fees and Hawaii Tax subject to change without notice.

**Please read our cancellation policy in our attached terms and conditions. VRBO does not have the option we have chosen, and they show no refunds. That is not accurate**

Gracefully and attractively furnished - new kitchen, large living room with sofa-bed, dining for 4 and a large private lanai featuring new patio furniture. Amenities include central air conditioning,and natural stone counters.

Across the street is a shopping center including:

Time supermarket

Java Jazz, the 'Best Coffee in Maui' cafe

Pizza Paradiso

Large variety of food stores and shops

walking distance to the farmer's market

The view from the condo and Lanai is beautiful West Maui Mountains and gorgeous rainbows.

The sights from the resort are ever-changing - with sailboats, cruise ships, snorkelers, turtles, and sunbathers.

Maui No Ka Oi means 'Maui is the best' - quite literally - for the best and most beautiful vacation you will have in your Kaanapali 'home away from home'. Aloha!

Keywords: Ocean Front, Resort, Mountain View, Kaanapali, Black Rock, Whalers Village, Honua Kai

More Details

Fereshteh Tali
Member since: 2005
Premier Partner

This HomeAway partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great traveler experience.

Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
December 15, 2017

About Fereshteh Tali

Kaanapali Luxury Vacation Rentals 408-892-2675

Fereshteh Nikbakhsh-Tali

Hawaii Principal Broker License #RB-21182

Fereshteh Tali purchased this condo in 2012

Why Fereshteh Tali chose Lahaina

Honua Kai is the newest and most elegant resort on Ka'anapali Beach, with all the amenities of a 5 star resort. Includes multiple pools, with slide, waterfalls, spas, and kids pools and play areas. No other resort can compare to these amenities.

Full gym and exercise facilities.

Poolside service from Duke's restaurant is an added bonus.

Honua Kai is beach front for swimming, sunbathing, snorkeling, and just enjoying the scenery.

Dukes restaurant is on site.

Direct access to the beach-walk which will take you all the way down Ka'anapali Beach from one end to the other. Walk to Whalers Village restaurants and shopping.

Honua Kai offers the perfect venue for memorable vacations for couples, and for families with children.


Lahaina Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 4
  • Guests provide their own meals
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 620 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Children welcome ...
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
  • Prepaid parking/amenity fee will be added to all reservations*Payments other than check/echeck or bank transfer will incur conveneince fee of 3%-5%.
  • Guests understand we do not guarantee this or adjacent properties will be free from disturbances and/or not to be under construction or repairs.
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Beachfront
  • Mountain View ...
  • Near The Ocean
  • Oceanfront
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Elevator
  • Fitness Room / Equipment
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Free Wifi
  • Catering Available
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • We have a shower over tub.
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
  • King size beds (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1)
  • DVD Player ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • 2 beach chairs
  • alternative lifestyle
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Heated Pool
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Shared Hot Tub ...
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
  • Massage
  • Private Chef
  • churches
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • luaus
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain climbing
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing
We have washer and dryer, in room safe, ice chest, beach chairs, boogie boards. We also provide pack and play and booster chair. *****Hoola Spa Maui and Whaler's General Store in the Konea Tower are open *****


Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(43 traveler reviews)

90% Complete
6% Complete
0% Complete
2% Complete
0% Complete
Honua Kai Resort*4th Floor*Great Mountain view Condo*Reduced Rates 2017 openings
average rating of 4.860465 based on 43 reviews

Unit is outdated, smells heavily of smoke and unstocked with basics.

  • 2 of 5

I tried to save a little money by booking this unit and it was a huge mistake. The property is ok, although I wouldn't stay here again either. It's a little dated and the one restaurant available is always crowded. But the unit itself was a huge letdown. The whole 4th floor smelled of smoke and our room smelled like someone had smoked indoors for years. One of the things I love about renting a VRBO instead of a hotel room is that typically kitchen basics are available, don't count on that here. Pots and pans were stocked but there was only an empty salt shaker, not even sugar for coffee. We were instructed to have the dishes done and trash taken out before checkout. Of course we did that daily but I found it irritating that our cleaning charge didn't include taking garbage out. Also, when they say checkout is at 11:00 they mean it. As we were loading suitcases into the car, we were locked in the parking garage at 11:04 because our key stopped working. The cleaners were there at 11:00 exactly and watching as we hurried to grab the last few items. There were 6 towels in the room which is fine, but we were staying for a week. Upon check in we were repeatedly told that the dryer takes 'at least 4 hours for the smallest load' and urged to use the coin operated washer and dryer in the basement. Obviously we had to wash the towels during our stay and the dryer in the unit worked just fine! It genuinely felt like it was frowned upon to do laundry when that's one of the amenities listed. I would look for a nicer unit in this property or a better resort- the Weston next door was much nicer - but I wouldn't stay here again. Not worth the little you save.

  • Submitted: Oct 26, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am sorry you didn't enjoy your stay as our other guests have. We strive to make our guest's stay a great experience and we take great care of our condo. Our previous reviews confirm this fact. This is a non smoking room and resort. We have never had a complaint about smell of smoke and you didn't say anything about smell of smoke while you were staying at the condo. My cleaners and I were in the condo before check in and we did not smell smoke. Our greeter checked you in and if there was a smell of smoke you would have noticed it right away and would have commented. We have a fully stocked kitchen. Check out time is 11 am and you were aware of check time. The keys do expire at 11am sharp and most guests abide by the checkout time. If you needed more time and had asked for a later checkout, we would have accommodated your late check out and scheduled the cleaners for a later time. We do provide 6 bath towels and our cleaners give our guests the option to exchange towels for a fee. All the washers and dryers at the resort are stackable, ventless and are not as efficient as full size washers and dryers. You also knew that before you booked.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Beautiful and relaxing!

  • 5 of 5

We absolutely love staying at the Honua Kai! Close to the beautiful beach with lots of snorkeling advantages. The unit itself is very nice, modern, clean and quiet with wonderful open air doors and a balcony.

  • Submitted: Oct 4, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Beautiful room, beautiful location

  • 5 of 5

It was our first trip to Maui and the stay couldn't have been better. The room was excellent and clean with great ameneties. The grounds were clean and kept well. Great pool. Great ocean and mountain views. Would definitely stay here again on our return!

  • Submitted: Sep 13, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Valencia, CA

Exceeded Our Expectations !

  • 5 of 5

This was a perfect family friendly location in a new facility. The unit was furnished with all the necessary amenities with close proximity to both the beach and pool areas. Small washer and dryer convenient for small loads. I definitely would have packed lighter! This unit has a nice view of the mountains. Great sun rises! Close proximity to a shopping center (7-10 minute walk if you want some exercise). Dukes Restaurant and a small coffee market on premises are convenient. Easy parking and Old Lahaina is about a 10 min drive away. The Pool area was great for the kids (6 and 10 years). Excellent snorkeling at the beach where I spotted numerous sea turtles and an abundance of fish.

  • Submitted: Aug 10, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Nice comfortable unit

  • 5 of 5

Short distances to Kaanapali area for plenty to do

  • Submitted: May 3, 2017
  • Stayed: March 2017
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great location, resort and condo made our week fantastic!

  • 5 of 5

We recently rented the condo for a week at the end of March. We're a family of four (2 kids aged 6 and 8). We chose Honua Kai based on its location on the beach (West Maui and near many other activities, restaurants, shops) and amenities for families. I would highly recommend! Overall - we had a very good experience with the rental process. We had not issues that needed to be addressed during our stay. As it relates to our stay the below feedback is meant to provide more details and things to note, none of which are meant to discourage you from renting the condo, but more so for additional information -


- Condo located near elevators which is very convenient to ground floor and underground parking garage.

-Condo has beautiful view of mountains but it does overlook parking lot/front drop-off area of condo so you will have this noise. You don't see any of the Westin construction next door but you do hear it at times. None of this really bothered us as we didn't spend much time on the patio.

- Many people in other units left their patio doors open, which is a nice feature. But we were rarely in our apt. during the day and given sun exposure for condo - the patio was rather warm until about 1pm.

- Access to beach was phenomenal. We were at the beach a lot during our stay.

- Overall location was great. 10-15 min. drive to Lahaina. 10 min. drive to Naapali beach.

-Underground parking was easy to navigate.


- Love the key system - waterproof rubber bracelet opens doors/garage access

- Condo comes with enough towels for the week.

- Beds were comfortable (even the pull out bed)

- Kitchen was well stocked with dishes, cups and cookware. More bowls are needed (shared the feedback with the owner)

- Minimal condiments and cooking ingredients. Only mention this as sometimes rental kitchens are well stocked. We had breakfast/lunch in condo and went out for our dinners so meal preparation was simple. You could definitely cook/grill but we didn't want to buy a pantry full of ingredients/condiments.


- Pools were warm. Lot's of options for kids of different ages.

- Duke's was nice to have for drinks and food. HH from 3-5 is great.

-Chairs seemed to be available. People will save chairs but usually considerate. You can rent cabana/more comfy chairs for additional $$. You can also rent beach equipment

- Loved the condo's beach/pool items.

- Washer/dryer was a bonus. We were able to pack half as much stuff.

  • Submitted: Apr 3, 2017
  • Stayed: March 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Nearest Airport
29 Miles
Kahului Airport, OGG
Nearest Ferry
4 Miles
Nearest Golf
2 Miles
Kaanapali Golf Course
Car: recommended

Honua Kai Resort is the newest Five Star property on Maui. Just 29 miles from the main Kahului Airport (OGG), Honua Kai is centrally located on the world famous Ka'anapali North Beach. This sandy, ocean front property provides easy access to all your favorite water activities. It is less than a ten minute drive to Lahaina Town, where many travelers enjoy a visit at least once during their stay for shopping and dining. Honua Kai is conveniently located across the street from the Times Market Shopping Center which includes a supermarket as well as a jewelry, gift and clothing store, dry cleaners, fast food and other favorite restaurants and the best pizza on the island. The ocean front boardwalk provides the opportunity to walk to other resorts and restaurants in Ka'anapali.


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $200
Exit Clean $200 + Tax
Tax Rate 14.42%

Hawaii Tax ID GE and TA-060-187-4432-01*Rates subject to applicable Hawaii State Taxes GE & T/A, currently 13.416%, subject to change.
* 7 night minimum for either Christmas or New Year bookings* 14 night minimum if both Christmas and new year are booked*$200 exit cleaning fee*stays of over 13 nights require linen exchange $62.50 and stays of over 27 nights require interim cleaning $104.16*Parking/amenity fee $15 per day/per car*$200 refundable security deposit*
Credit card payments will incur 3%-5% convenience fee.
Until confirmed, rates and fees are subject to change*

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund

You might like these similar properties