Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Appalachian Log Cabin on Tuckasegee River, Harrah's /Bryson City

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Space 2,200 sq ft
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

5-star, 180*-view river , 3-Brm/2-Bth/2-Fireplaces, Full service, Pet friendly

This Tuckasegee River/hand crafted LOG HOME, is centrally located and convenient to all Western North Carolina and Tennessee area attractions:

The Great Smoky Mountain National Park/Blue Ridge Parkway/Appalachian Trail (5 min),

Bryson City & Great Smoky Mountain Railroad-(20 min),

Cherokee Shops, Culture, History & Harrah's Casino's Nightlife &

Entertainment (5 min), Gatlinburg/Pigeon Forge, Tenn.-(45 min),

Asheville, NC., Airport, Downtown shopping & The Biltmore Estate,-(45 min)

Unique to this vacation rental is its convenient and private put-in and/or take-out river accessibility. Set your tubes/ Kayaks/ Canoes, and enjoy easy swimming and fishing fun accessibility. The play ground/yard is large, private and pet & family friendly.

Enjoy the nesting Bald Eagles, the tranquil sounds of a flowing river and the peaceful cool nights by a roaring fire-pit. Relax on your own PRIVATE RIVER BANK watching an awesome sunset view.

The architectural 'Native Accents' and exquisite 'Lodge Style' custom decor, makes this home worthy of publication. The Log home features 2,000 sq feet of living space with hand laid native slate flooring throughout, a chef’s kitchen, aged-200 year old white pine logs, two soaring field stone fireplaces (wood provided), and custom high vaulted A-framed ceiling’s with drapery-free windows which overlook a 180 degree unobstructed view.

All amenities are provided along with a full 24 hour Caretaker/Personal Concierge Staff. Special event planning, large group or single Meal Catering, Babysitting, Pet walking &/or care, Laundry/Maid and/or Daily-turn-down-services, are all available upon request.

All requests welcomed, advance notice is appreciated.

An ideal destination for an elegant romantic getaway or an outrageous family retreat.

Surrounded by 5 National Parks: The Great Smoky Mountain-(5 min), Nantahala Forest, Gorge & Tsali Biking Trail-(25 min), Blue Ridge Parkway-(5 min), Deep Creek (25 min), Appalachian Trail/Foothills-(30 min), Fontana Lake & Dam-(30 min), Joyce Kilmer Forest-(45 min).

Opened as an All Season Vacation Cabin Rental, this homes entrance driveway is on a State maintained road. It is easily accessible for cars, trailers, RV’s and/or motor pulling vehicles. No snow tires are needed.

Keywords: Executive lodging, Luxury Log home rentals, Log Cabin, Cottages, Cabin Rentals, Vacation lodging, Great Smokey Mountains of North Carolina, Holiday, Tuckasegee River, River front lodging, NOC center, Deep Creek, Fishing, Jacuzzi, Mountain view, Fireplace, RV hook up, camping, pet friendly, family friendly, Casino, Golf, Smoky Mountain Rail Road, Train, Smoky Mountain National Park, Blue Ridge Parkway, Tsali Mountain Biking, Yoga, Spa, Zen, Hiking, Swimming, White Water Rafting, Rafting, Kayaking, Tubing, Whittier, Cherokee, Native American, Indian, Blue berry picking, Cataloochee horse back riding, Skiing, Snow, Sledding, Bryson City, Western Carolina University, Romantic hideaway, Gatlinburg Tn, Western North Carolina, Polar Express, Thomas the Train, Asheville, Biltmore Estate, Coffee House,

----------------------------------------------------

More Details

Property Manager
Tom - FTR Staff
Member since: 2004
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
April 22, 2018

About Tom - FTR Staff

Our Families "Amburgey" heritage is Appalachian. Our love for the Mountains, Western North Carolina's Rivers and it's abundance of natural organic materials is reflected in our design. Enjoy

This Log home's location and title, was inspired by the oil painting, “Following The River”, by Robert Duncan.

The pictorial imagery of Native Americans on horseback crossing a wintery river's edge could secretly come to life in this uniquely tranquil, unobstructed river view. The Tuckaseeggee River’s abundant wild life and its degrees of strength, are breathtaking and worth the perch.

Tom - FTR Staff purchased this cabin in 1978

Why Tom - FTR Staff chose Whittier

Location, Location, Location....

What makes this cabin unique

Real custom Log, Easy accesses to river,

Amenities

Whittier Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 2200 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: Flexible / Check-out: Flexible
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered ...
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wood Fireplace ...
Kitchen:
  • Catering Available ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , tub , shower , jetted tub , jaccuzi jetted tub
  • Custome slate-design indoor jaccuzi tub
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
    Convertible bed(s) - Large KIDS beanbag full-fun bed, air mattresses if requested
  • First floor /BEAR ROOM King size bed, Large Sofa and Hammock for fun- Located in Living room. Second floor/COWBOY ROOM King, and the TREE ROOM/Queen size bed. A Bean Bag Futon Full, is available for loft additional kids sleep comfort.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • 6 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Pool / Spa:
  • jetted tub ...
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
  • Massage
  • Private Chef
  • Staff
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • racquetball
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • ski lift privileges
  • ski privileges optional
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
A FULL TIME CARE TAKING STAFF IS PROVIDED ON CALL/IF NEEDED- FOR 24 SERVICE. (UPON REQUEST ONLY) A MAID AND TURN DOWN SERVICE, DOG/PET CARE WALKING SERVICE, AND BABY SITTING SERVICE. LOWER LEVEL OF CABIN IS CARETAKER/SERVICE STAFF OR OWNER ACCESSIBLE ONLY.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(64 traveler reviews)

75% Complete
10% Complete
4% Complete
1% Complete
7% Complete
Appalachian Log Cabin on Tuckasegee River, Harrah's /Bryson City
average rating of 4.4375 based on 64 reviews
Newnan, Georgia, USA
5

PERFECT GETAWAY

  • 5 of 5

Wow. This place goes down on my list of favorite places to be. If there were a 6-star option, I would have chosen that. My family of 6 stayed the weekend here and had a blast. There is a beautiful 2-faced fireplace that we utilized every night. The house is lavishly decorated with old books, games, American Indian decor, and art. We loved that it didn't feel sterile. It was like something out of a movie. The caretaker is very sweet and went above and beyond (including prepping the fireplaces) to make us feel comfortable. Nearby, there is a little town….if you want to get out and have a beer at the brewery, antique, or eat great food. It is the perfect place to just getaway and sip hot tea, read a book, and enjoy the beautiful views. I can't wait to plan our next visit!!!

  • Submitted: May 14, 2014
  • Stayed: April 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
10 2
1

********* Buyer Beware **********

  • 1 of 5

I am writing this completely honest review, fully expecting a rude, snarky, "bless her heart" type of response from the owner, or the threat of attorney due to my non-apologetic attitude (her words). She will negate everything I say, and alas, I will not be able to counter her response due to the functionality of this site. Please know everything you are about to read is 100% true. I am a grown, well-educated, well mannered 51 year old woman. I have no need to lie. The owner sounds nice. Beware. Read the other reviews. You will see the southern shade in her responses. 1st, this cabin is not 2200 square feet. Maybe half of that. The cabin sleeps 8 if you put 2 on couches. Not couch beds, but couches. Lie 1-After being told to 'use as much wood as you need inside and outside' and confirming use of the firewood outside, we were accused of selling or stealing firewood. Owner calls me dishonest, disrespectful, and non apologetic all while threatening me with "You should feel lucky!" and "Warning-HomeAway's attorneys are copied." Oh ok Ms. Jillian. Care taker says we had 12 people stay (lie 2). We had 9. One extra person above the 8 originally booked. No biggie, I agreed, take it out of the deposit. Owner says we owe for one extra dog. I agreed. This means we are owed half of our deposit back. Southern charming sarcastic owner is refusing to return any of it. Lie 3- Owner says there was a "baby powder fight" in the bathroom that required extra cleaning services. There was no baby powder fight. There was a 47 year old adult female that probably used an excessive amount of baby powder. We did pay a $200 cleaning fee. Shouldn't that cover the vacuuming of baby powder? We were told the owner had to bring in more people to clean. Girl, you need better help. We left that place very clean. My mother, another grown well educated adult of age 74 is very particular about how she leaves a place. Note-We were without water for a several hours on one day, and 75 minutes another day. Normally we would not even mention this had this southern belle, bless her heart, decided to keep half of our deposit. Can I live without the $? Of course I can. I do however need to re-stock my baby powder. Lie 4-Owner claims we had a baby in the cabin and small children were running around the neighbor’s lawn. We did not even have small children. Our youngest is 14 and he is 6'1. He might have missed a football and had to cross the property line. Ooops. CLICK AWAY FROM THIS PROPERTY!

  • Submitted: Apr 16, 2018
  • Stayed: March 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: No honor/ No parenting / Juvenile A Mrs Maureen Connelly, booked the cabin. I Attempted to contact her April 4th immediately after departure. Only after I refused refund, did her daughter, Sharon responded to my calls I Found Mrs Sharon's justification for the damages, child like blame of our senior professional staff, sarcastic malign of my accent and absence of any and ALL responsible parental supervision, juvenile, almost criminal. Our Caretaker explains at greeting walk thru, that BEFORE DEPARTING, any damages or uncomfort must be shared while visiting. All is settled on sight before departing. This family arrived Easter weekend , with FOUR extra guests? and a 2nd Dog.? , Not contracted or paid for in advance. They departed in 4-days still not paying and avoiding extra charges. The additional charges for their additional guests and pet, I deducted from their security deposit. This family Criminally stole/ burned FOUR FULL CORDS of wood and trashed my beautiful newly renovated cabin as juveniles with baby powder before departing. The Additional restocking /cleaning fees-deducted from their remaining deposit. Note: Not covering my loss This Family ignored or chose to NOT READ, A posted SIGN stating: FIRE WOOD NOT FOR FIRE PIT, and , criminally removed ALL! Not some, ALL! Let's be clear that's all $400 worth- that's FOUR full cords. That's A 25 foot long by 10 foot high wall of dried and neatly stacked Hickory, Oak and Locus fire wood , in 3 days?? Unheard of, environmentally abusive. My professional cleaning staff, in order to meet their deadline of the next arriving guests , requested additional staff just to assist with cleaning. They reported Baby powder had been trashed throughout 2nd floor bathroom. Into shower curtain/ rugs, and along Log walls. The Family instead of cleaning it up before departing , chose to disrespectfully Track it from room to room and throughout loft. Our.Caretaker confirmed with VRBO , that Mrs Connelly's signature is on the greeting welcome form confirming families arrival time and the number of guests within party. It showed all boxes initialed, including acknowledgement of new additional guests and the additional second pet. At arrival , A full walk thru of cabin, was completed, an explanation of our HONOR system was shared and all amenities, extra linens for additional guests were given. No complaints of size of cabin? Size of sofas for additional guests or discomfort. VRBO agreed no refund
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Perfect getaway!

  • 5 of 5

We enjoyed the cabin very much. The little details and decor were perfect. The flowing river was as soothing as any waves at the beach. Close enough to both Bryson City and Cherokee with plenty to do. All the kids enjoyed the hammock and fire pit.

A cozy getaway that was worth every penny.

  • Submitted: Mar 30, 2018
  • Stayed: March 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great place, great view

  • 5 of 5

This property was positioned perfectly on the Tuskegee river. The cabin inside was beautiful and was only minutes from Cherokee and other larger cities. The river was clear and we could fish along the river as well as a few other spots that we learned about thanks to the caretaker of the property, Jeff. The owner, Jillian as well as the caretaker who lives next door we’re super nice. They provided us with directions, maps, and instructions to get around the area. The Native American art and decor inside the cabin was a very nice addition. We loved the outdoor fire pit as well as the plenty of space we had in the yard to hang out and play cornhole. We all had a great expierence here and would definitely return for another stay.

  • Submitted: Mar 25, 2018
  • Stayed: March 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Beautiful property

  • 4 of 5

We enjoyed staying on this property very much. The house was beautifully decorated and well equipped. Being right on the river was awesome. The fire places were beautiful, as were the black stone floors. Downside - there were 6 adults in our party and we were very crowded. The description said the house was 2,200 square feet. That probably includes the ground floor, which is occupied by the owner. The part of the house we were in was a little over 1,000 square feet total. The 3 bedrooms were very small, just enough room for a bed and room to crawl into it. The kitchen was also small. There is no pool table or hot tub, but no one said there would be. There is also no deck or porch to sit outside and look at the river. The only porch is small and on the side of the house near the road. The road is also very close to the house (maybe 20 feet). Overall, a great vacation. But if I had known the size of the space allotted to us, I probably would not have rented it.

  • Submitted: Feb 20, 2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Guest, As the owner I wish to only please. I'm grateful you enjoyed your stay In our family's cabin. Yes, it is beautiful. Thank you. We are very proud of all we offer to our guests. Hope you enjoyed the fresh ground coffee, unlimited fire wood and spacious dinning/living space with our wall to wall windows (for magnificent view of the river bend) , 14 feet of relaxing sofa, armoire provide with numerous family activities and games and of coursed our grand rock fireplace. Yes , it is over 1000 ft. of family enjoyment with private French doors and vaulted ceiling. Blessed. Sorry the rest of the spacious 400 ft open aired loft with sofa, extra comfortable seating, private cable tv access , and a well stocked reading library, didn't aid in your family's separation and private comfort. The kitchen / foyer sitting area , is over 1000 square ft. With the cabin's 40ft. vaulted ceilings and a floor to ceiling window view of river bend, again I'm very disappointed this didn't feel spacious. The total living space, 2200 sq ft. (Plus) The down stairs is a garage space only for our private cabin storage and supply housing. It is not include in the description and is only accessible when owner or care-taking staff needs to restock supplies or handle cabin affairs. The cabin comfort designed, was built for family entertaining. I pray you return and have a better experience in our beautiful cabin Home. Best, Owner, Jillian.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
2

Nice weekend!

  • 2 of 5

We really enjoyed the location and watching the train (Polar Express) come buy in the evenings.. it was great . Doris was great . We did have a few issues and I have NO idea if they were addressed. 1- no wireless service.. sent care taker note and she had no idea what to do but reset.. did not work. 2- had water coming from ceiling below when shower was running. Water stains on ceiling tell me this is not the first time this has happened. Had to use downstairs garden tub for 7 people. Was a nightmare. Told Doris but have no idea if the plumber every came out! 3- before the spring kicks in someone need to clean up high. Many cobwebs ..

Was hoping for some type of refund due to not having all the services but i guess not.

  • Submitted: Dec 28, 2017
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Appreciate your kind words of our caretaker Ms. Doris. She alerted handyman staff and me in Atlanta immediately. Our staff did meet with you to address water. Staff, Mr Bubby Fuller, did shared incorrect use of the shower curtain which may have cause water to pool out of tub and onto our traditional tongue and groove cabin 2nd floors. Our 2nd floor bathroom is not tiled! Once recomendation of a towel to be placed on the floor while you used shower with curtain in proper position, all stopped. At no time did you not have 2 properly running showers and tubs to enjoy during your stay. What you concluded as an "on going issue " by viewing old water stains on ceiling , was very incorrect. As for WIFI, I jillian owner, spoke with you directly from atlanta and dealt with issue personally. Zeto media concluded, Weather, cables down, signals defaulting with mountain repairs in place. This may have interfered with your tempary discomfort. My apologies these out-of-my-control issues may have temporarily occurred during your stay , but were in use by departure. Our very professional staff cared for you impeccably. Your stay did not warrant a refund.
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0

Map

Nearest Airport
65 Miles
Asheville Regional Airport
Nearest Barpub
5 Miles
Cork and Bean, Bryson Brewery
Nearest Golf
2 Miles
Cherokee,Whittier,Waynesville,Highlands/Cashiers
Nearest Train
1 Miles
Smokey Mountain Rail Road
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
74/441, highway 19
Nearest Restaurant
2 Miles
Harrah's Casino, local Inns & pubs, Cork n Bean
Nearest Ski
26 Miles
Cattaloochee, Ober Gatlinburg
Car: necessary

We are centrally located to the entrance of the Smoky Mountain National Park, Blue Ridge Parkway, Cherokee's Harrahs Casino & Golf course, Downtown Bryson City's shops, restaurants, and Smoky Mountain Railroad Train Depot.

We are 15 minutes from the NOC-Nantahala Outdoor center with its Class 1-3 whitewater rafting, canoeing, kayaking, learning programs, zip lining, and world-class mountain biking trails. Hike the Smokies Appalachian Trail, the Nantahala Gorge, Joyce Kilmer Memorial forests, and the many waterfalls and adventures located at our cabin's back door.

We are 45 min from Enchanting Downtown ASHEVILLE shops, The Biltmore Estate and Winery, Nationally Awarded Breweries, Antique Shops and Local Events and Conferences.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning & Restocking $200
Refundable damage deposit $500
Pet Fee $30
Tax Rate 10.75%

IMPORTANT! WE HAVE A NO REFUND POLICY.
PLEASE, suggest renters insurance.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund