check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Ellie

Member since: 2009
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Professionally Decorated Beach Basket Just 4 Homes from the Beach W/Heated Pool!

19 Reviews
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Anna Maria Cottage Rental Photos and Description

2 Master Suites, 1 King and 1 Queen & Two Twins

If you are looking for that Old Florida feel, Beach Basket is located on Oak Ave which dead ends to the white sand beaches and the perfectly clear waters of Anna Maria Island. You are just 5 homes or a 53 second walk to relaxation and sunshine! Built in 1920, this home was restored recently by the owner who is a professional decorator keeping with the classic cottage look. The detail in this home is incredible, from ceiling accents to bead board cabinets with glass doors to the comfortable furnishings by the Pink Pineapple.

The beachy feel continues into both the king master suite with a seating area that leads to the bright and sunny master bath and the queen suite which has a private entrance to the pool area where you will find citrus trees including an Avocado tree and rich tropical landscaping.

Having an occasional guest or bringing the kids? The air conditioned sleeping porch with 2 twins is a perfect place for them or a perfect nook for you to relax and enjoy a good book and a frozen cocktail! Beach Basket is one of our most popular homes so book well in advance to find out why!!

Small Pets Considered!

For our other “Baskets”, 2 of the finest vacation rentals on Anna Maria Island please see Mermaid’s Basket (VRBO Listing #557763) and Bungalow Basket (VRBO Listing #

458157)

PLEASE NOTE A MONTH IS BASED ON 4 WEEKS OR 28 DAYS!

PLEASE CONTACT OWNER FOR RENTAL AGREEMENT!

CANCELLATION POLICY: FUNDS ARE FULLY REFUNDABLE MINUS A $150 CANCELLATION FEE IF HOME IS REBOOKED FOR YOUR EXACT DATES!!

More Details
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Ellie (Owner)
Member since: 2009
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Guestbook comments from the owner

for providing the perfect location for a special birthday celebration.
Aug 2013
  • 1 of 23

Reviews

4.7
based on 19 traveler reviews

Professionally Decorated Beach Basket Just 4 Homes from the Beach W/Heated Pool!
average rating of 4.6842103 based on 42 reviews
5

Beach Basket was just as well-designed and comfortable as the photos show!

  • 5 of 5

Beach Basket was just as well-designed and comfortable as the photos show! We loved every part of our stay on AMI and at Beach Basket. The beds are comfortable, the a/c worked great, there were plenty of blankets, towels, cookware, and more. We loved that the pool is a saltwater pool so our niece, who is allergic to chlorine, could swim in it without getting a rash! The outdoor shower and foot rinsing tub were super convenient (although a removable shower head to better reach feet would be even better, now that I think about it). We wanted to use the outdoor grill but never got around to it. We ate at Rod & Reel Pier and at Ginny and Jane E's and had great experiences at both. We also went to Dips for ice cream - delicious!

If I could give any advice to anyone staying here, it would be to know that this isn't luxury accommodations - it's a little cottage that's been there for a long time. Very little about the actual house is new, and it has old home quirks. That's part of what makes it so homey and inviting. Also, be prepared to have to restock on items like toilet tissue, facial tissue, paper towels, laundry detergent, trash bags, and hand soap. We ran out of all of those and replaced four of the items during our stay, and I didn't expect to have to do that. Lastly, I would bring swiffer-like cleaning pad replacements next time, because the wood floors get dirty fast, and neither the broom nor the vacuum worked very well. While there was a swiffer at the house, there were no cleaning pads for it.

However, none of that lowered my rating for Beach Basket. It's still a 5-star VRBO, and I'd come back in a heartbeat!

  • Submitted: May 9, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Bonnie, We are so glad you found the Beach Basket and all of its amenities to your liking! The salt water filtration system is a big plus to a lot of people particularly ones that have sensitive skin or allergies. Some folks confuse a salt water pool with the salt water of the Ocean and don’t realize that it is simply a filtration system and is far superior to chlorine. Thanks for bringing that to the attention of future guests and also the removable shower head is a great idea!! It sounds as if you took advantage of a lot of the great and fun places to eat on Anna Maria. There are so many it is hard to choose but I am sorry you didn’t get to enjoy cooking on the grill at the pool! The Beach Basket was lovingly restored a few years back including modernizing the bathrooms but we did choose to leave a lot of that Old Florida Cottage charm as we find it so welcoming and homey as well. We do provide “starter supplies” of the items you mentioned but do not provide them for your full stay as that would be impossible to predict the usage of each guest and their length of stay. We will of course check on the broom and the vacuum and replace as needed but in the future please just let our management team know and they would have replaced them for you immediately as we do respond to all guest issues! Hope to see you soon!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
3

Easter Week 2016

  • 3 of 5

We stayed with our daughter's family, (4 adults, 2 children), at the Beach Basket Easter and the week after in 2016. We enjoyed the nicely kept grounds, private swimming pool and the short walk to the beach. This is a very convenient location for walking to restaurants, coffee shops, rental places etc. We found the cottage very clean and tidy upon arrival. The home is open with the living area running into the kitchen. It had nice TV’s in both bedrooms and living room. The kitchen left a little to be desired with very old cabinets and drawers which did not function well…drawers sticking, doors not closing properly etc. Could use some updating. Bedrooms were a little on the small side but still workable, but the attached baths were very cramped. The shower in the second bath was so small as to make turning around in it quite a chore. Washer and dryer worked well but were in a very inconvenient location right in the main entry. The pool was small but we had a blast playing in it with our grandkids. All in all, a very cozy place to stay with an excellent location.

  • Submitted: Apr 10, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Bob, We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay at Beach Basket with its great location and the amenities of the pool and tropical grounds. The pool is one of our favorite features and is 15 X 24 which is above average size for the island considering we are so close to the beach and being on an island the water table is reached almost immediate when you begin to install a pool. Our little slice of paradise, Beach Basket is an incredible part of history as it was built in 1926 and we lovingly restored it 6 years ago keeping most of the original features to maintain the great beach cottage feel. You mentioned the bedrooms were “on the small side” which is the original size of the bedrooms. We felt they were more than adequate as there was plenty of room in the Master Suite for a King bed, as well as nightstands, a dresser, chair and a good sized closet. The Queen Suite also boosts a good sized closet as well as a dresser and night stands. The baths are on the small side but have been updated and we do feel they are more than adequate as we use the cottage quote often and have never had a problem with the size. We do use the outdoor hot and cold shower quite often as well! One of the things we chose to leave were when we restored the cottage was the kitchen cabinets as we just couldn’t bear to part with them with their great finish and antique glass fronts. Perhaps a more modern home would suit your tastes better than the Beach Basket as we do have a 90% occupancy rate with more than ½ being return visitors. To each, his own as they say!! Thank you for taking the time to review our home! PS: I was also puzzled by your comment about the washer and dryer being in the main entry as they are actually located in the back hall of the home.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Wonderful week at the Beach Basket

  • 5 of 5

We had visited AMI last year and wanted to spend our Christmas break on the island. When I saw the photos on VRBO of the Beach Basket, I was immediately smitten. Well, the pictures do not do this little cottage justice. It is a little oasis. The decor is gorgeous and the location perfect for both access to the beach and the bay. The walk to the beach is 2 minutes at best. We were very happy with how well the home was supplied with everything we needed for cooking. Even though it is listed as 2 bedrooms the sleeping porch was great for our children. There were some beach toys and beach chairs supplied for use as well as an outdoor grill. Couldn't have asked for a better place to stay.

  • Submitted: Jan 15, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for choosing Beach Basket for your Christmas vacation! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay! And thank you for all the compliments! Glad you found the home to be well equipped. We think of something new to add every time we're there. Isn't it nice to walk to the beach? We go every day when we're there! Hope you get to make it back again soon!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Macon Georgia
5

Love the Basket!

  • 5 of 5

This is our second visit to the Basket and we have already reserved our week for next year! I love AMI! It's alittle piece of paradise! Great beaches and wonderful food! The Basket is perfect for us. It has plenty of room and the pool is a wonderful spot to relax after a day at the beach. Check out Peaches restaurant as well as the ones Terry mentioned! See you next year! Thanks Ellie!

  • Submitted: Sep 28, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So happy to hear you will be back next year! We think the beaches and food are wonderful too- never disappointed with either! Peaches is a great recommendation. There actually isn't a restaurant on the island I wouldn't recommend! Thank you for the review! See you next year!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Lexington, SC
5

Another awesome week at The Beach Basket

  • 5 of 5

This was our third time staying at the Beach Basket and we still love it as much as the first time. The house is so comfortable and feels like home. So many little extras are available and you can tell the owners have thoughtfully considered any needs for the renters. Fortunately we are able to drive from our home so we always bring our own beach chairs and umbrellas but those are provided as well. We love the décor and the gardens surrounding the property give it the paradise feel. There are no words to describe the beauty of the beach and the area is never crowded. We have fallen in love with AMI and have our favorite dining and shopping places. We LOVE the IGA and The Waterfront. We are already counting the days until our trip next year. Thank you to the owners of the Beach Basket for sharing their little piece of heaven on earth.

  • Submitted: Sep 23, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Terry! We are so happy you enjoy the home as much as we do. It truly is a paradise on Anna Maria Island. We have so many people returning year after year now. It's wonderful how the management company gives guests the option of reserving their same week again for the next year. Thank you for the compliments on the decor and gardens! And thanks for the tips on your two favorite spots for future guests!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Kansas City, Missouri
5

Awesome Vacation - Awesome Property

  • 5 of 5

This was our first stay at Beach Basket and it won't be the last! We brought our dogs all the way from KC and had a blast! Depending on the day we would go to the beach or stay at the house to swim, either way was wonderful! It was a very peaceful and relaxing vacation! Communication from the Property Mgmt company was great and we had everything we needed at the house. Thanks for a great vacation!!!

  • Submitted: Sep 17, 2015
  • Stayed: May 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We're so happy to hear you'll be back! Sounds like you had a nice and relaxing vacation, which is the way it should be! It is nice to do nothing and enjoy the beach or the pool. We have enjoyed our restful trips too. And it is nice to know there is also lots to do on the island close by, if you want to. We have no doubt Ellie and her team took great care of you- best management team on the island! Thank you so much for the great review!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Airport
18 Miles
Sarasota/Bradenton 18 Miles or Tampa TPA 50 Miles
Nearest Beach
0.04 Miles
Oak Ave dead ends to the beach! 53 seconds or 246'
Car: not necessary

This home is located on Anna Maria Island, a quaint barrier island nestled in the Gulf of Mexico south of Tampa Bay. Here is one of the only places you can find where the 'old' Florida charm still exists. Seven miles of pristine white beaches awaits you and beautiful sunsets grace the island with their presence every night. The Island has every convenience needed including a Publix grocery store, CVS pharmacy, and Walgreens. There are multiple award winning restaurants that call the island home, such as the Beach Bistro, Sandbar, Beachhouse, and Sign of the Mermaid. Others not to miss are Rod and Reel Pier, Anna Maria City Pier, and Ginny and Jane-e's at the Old IGA. There is plenty of shopping available with hot spots such as the historic Pine Ave and Bridge Street areas. With the beach and the bay just minutes away from your front door, there is plenty to do in the water. Kayaking, snorkeling, fishing, jet-skiing, paddle boarding, and para-sailing are popular activities around Anna Maria Island. With the Island only being seven miles long, there is no need to drive when almost everything is within walking or biking distance. There is also a convenient Trolley Service that runs the length of the Island every day, and is free for everyone to ride. Anna Maria Island has something for everyone, and everyone who comes to visit falls in love with the Island, we are sure you will too.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Anna Maria Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Fall
Sep 1 2016 - Nov 18 2016
7 night minimum stay
$1,500
$5,100
 
 
Thanksgiving
Nov 19 2016 - Nov 25 2016
7 night minimum stay
$2,300
 
 
Fall
Nov 26 2016 - Dec 23 2016
7 night minimum stay
$1,500
$5,100
 
 
Holiday
Dec 24 2016 - Jan 6 2017
7 night minimum stay
$2,300
 
 
Season
Jan 7 2017 - Jan 31 2017
7 night minimum stay
$2,100
$7,140
 
 
High Season
Feb 1 2017 - Mar 31 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$2,300
 
 
April
Apr 1 2017 - Apr 30 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$2,100
$7,140
 
 
May
May 1 2017 - May 31 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$1,800
$6,120
 
 
Summer
Jun 1 2017 - Jul 31 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$2,300
$7,820
 
 
August
Aug 1 2017 - Aug 31 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$1,800
$6,120
 
 
Fall
Sep 1 2017 - Nov 17 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,500
$5,100
 
 
Thanksgiving
Nov 18 2017 - Nov 24 2017
7 night minimum stay
$2,300
 
 
Fall
Nov 25 2017 - Dec 22 2017
7 night minimum stay
$1,500
$5,100
 
 
Holiday
Dec 23 2017 - Jan 5 2018
7 night minimum stay
$2,300
 

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $150 + Tax
Admin Fee $85 + Tax
Property Damage Policy $49
Cleaning $150 + Tax
Tax Rate 11.5%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 0% refund if canceled at least 0 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Anna Maria Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1175 sq. ft.
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Free Long Distance ...
  • Heating
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 2
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , Master Suite
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Sleeping Porch - 2 twin/ single
  • King size beds (1) Master Suite, Queen size Beds (1) Guest Suite, Twin or Single Beds (2) On Sleeping Porch
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Toys ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • 2 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Pool / Spa:
  • Heated Pool
  • Private Pool
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • shuffleboard
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • racquetball
  • rafting
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • skiing
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties