check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand

Kathy McGuinn

Member since: 2012
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Private Bohemian Luxury Suite 1 mile from Downtown

39 Reviews
Sleeps4
Bedrooms Studio
Bathrooms1
Property type studio
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Asheville Area Studio Rental Photos and Description

Studio, 1 Bath (Sleeps 2-3)

Our suite is only a mile from the middle of downtown. Many people just drive and park for the day or evening in a parking garage for $5 to $10 and walk all around. Also some take a taxi for a few bucks and do the same. You can walk to downtown from the suite.

Spacious 600 square feet eclectic Grand suite including Jacuzzi and separate custom zen shower for two. Candles, live plants, natural soaps in seashell soap-dishes and a heated tile floor included for you to wind down after a great day sightseeing, hiking or enjoying downtown Asheville.

King size bed with dreamy high thread 800-count Egyptian linens. Lots of pillows for a comfortable, laid-back experience! The entire suite is decorated with local art, books, plants and unique furnishings. Several board games are available as well. There is a 46 inch TV with DVD can be turned towards the bed or elsewhere in the room. Some movies are provided, we have full cable and a personal computer in the home and very high speed wifi. An electric fireplace keeps you toasty while you read by the window.

Kitchenette includes microwave, toaster oven, stove top 2 eyes with pots and pans, blender, crock pot, fridge and wine cooler stocked with a complimentary bottle of wine from the Biltmore Estate or local 6 pack of beer. Asheville has been named 'Beer City USA' and we stock your soon to be favorite micro brews, also complementary. Start or end your day with the provided hot coffee or tea.

Huge walk-in closet for all your clothes and gifts. Includes a hair dryer, iron and ironing board. A double bed can also be provided for parties of 3 or 4 guests.There is also a baby crib/playpen with all the cozy bedding included if needed.

Office area complete with a computer for your convenience stocked with current publications of the Asheville and surrounding area for you to choose the many arts food and craft selections for your enjoyment

Private garden with outdoor table for four and access to two acres of other on-property gardens paths as well. Also feel free to walk around the quiet neighborhood with views of a large pond, nature and mountain scenery on a circular road.

We are available and live at the property and or avail. by phone if any assistance is needed. We run and own a raw vegan chocolate business on-site with it in the Whole Foods and other natural stores. Free selection of our gourmet chocolate is included!

WE HAVE ANOTHER 2 BEDROOM LUXURY SUITE ON THIS SAME ESTATE AT:

vrbo 469612

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair accessible
Kathy McGuinn (Owner)
Member since: 2012
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About Kathy McGuinn

I am a 4th generation native of Asheville. After raising 6 children here, I decided that it was time let others enjoy the lovely space that I carefully renovated to be an inviting presence. I live and work on the property as I am an RN and a raw vegan chef and have a raw vegan food business to assist others in having foods to heal their body, mind and spirit.

Kathy McGuinn purchased this studio in 2003

Why Kathy McGuinn chose Asheville Area

Quiet and beautiful home two acres of gardens located only minutes from downtown Asheville. This is a safe quiet neighborhood with a great circular street for dog or people walking.

What makes this studio unique

Enjoy some delicious, healthy, raw vegan chocolate, if you would like. Owners on site to assist with any all of your needs and own a home care business to provide further cleaning, transportation, pet, baby or elderly sitting.

Reviews

4.6
based on 39 traveler reviews

Private Bohemian Luxury Suite 1 mile from Downtown
average rating of 4.5897436 based on 39 reviews
4

Quiet but close to town.

  • 4 of 5

The place was clean and any questions or problems we had once we arrived were quickly handled. Great place to take your dog. Washing dishes in the bathroom sink was a bit awkward, especially since there was no stopper in the drain, but we really didn't need it much. The house is very conveniently placed about 10 min from pretty much anything close to Asheville. I believe I saw a comment about being able to walk into town. I guess technically that is true, but I wouldn't want to try it. Our only real problem was trying to figure out where to park and how to get into the gate. It wasn't just us, another couple staying in the other unit has the same problem. Some signage would be very helpful. All said, we would stay there again, especially if we took our dog again.

  • Submitted: May 27, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
New Orleans, Louisiana
5

Perfect getaway spot!

  • 5 of 5

Kathy was warm and welcoming and the studio was the perfect size for the two of us. Everything was exactly as described but even better than we could have imagined. We'll definitely be telling everyone we know about this fantastic hideaway. Thank you!

  • Submitted: May 12, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful little cottage!

  • 5 of 5

My fiancé and I could not have been any happier with our stay. Kathy greeted us when we arrived and showed us around the property. It was cozy and clean, everything we needed for our four day stay was there. We took ubers to and from downtown, only $7-$10. We drove ourselves during the day, it was only a five minute drive. Kathy had a bottle of wine and chocolates awaiting us in our room the first night. We also had our dog with us, my fiancé took him for runs in the morning in the fenced property behind the cottage. We used the large hot tub one night, very relaxing, the heated floors were a great touch. I would love to go back and visit again.

  • Submitted: Nov 26, 2015
  • Stayed: Nov 2015
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Columbus, OH
5

Great place to stay

  • 5 of 5

Nice place to stay, great if you have a pet as others have mentioned with the fenced and private back yard. Nice room, great shower. It is about a mile and a half to 2 miles from downtown depending on where you are going but is an easy walk if you don't want to drive. Grocery, gas station & other restaurants nearby and easy access to the freeway to get anywhere in town.

  • Submitted: Sep 28, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Enjoyed Asheville

  • 3 of 5

Enjoyed Asheville and the cottage location. Cabin pros: conveniently located, comfortable, cozy, great place to sleep, complimentary beer, wine and chocolate. Cons: no privacy (this is one big room), electrical outlets, fan, heat, a/c and lights not working properly, door doesn't really lock, poor water pressure, no hot water in sink, no sponges for washing dishes. No major problems but lots of annoying quirks.

  • Submitted: Sep 25, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Well, I am sorry for the issues noted. There is most certainly hot water and we had a repairman to check out the ac, lighting and plumbing with no problem found except the water pressure which was an issue from the city doing work on the lines. This is fine now.I was out of town for the beginning of this stay date and believe we may not have communicated properly. If I had known you did not have sponges for washing dishes I would have brought them right over as I live on the property or were having issues with the lighting etc. Please note the 3 yrs of 5 star reviews.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Radcliff, Ky
2

Bohemian....probably, luxury....not so much.

  • 2 of 5

We have stayed at a number of VRBO in various locations and all have been as described. This particular one was mediocre at best. Yes, the tub was nice and the bed was comfortable but the suite was in need of an overall cleaning. The kitchenette was basically a few small appliances in a closet with no sink. Dishes used had to be washed in the bathroom sink. The wine fridge did not work and the dining table was missing a leg for one side which was held up at an unusable angle by a piece of lumber and a couple of nails. We were offered a choice of local beer or wine prior to our arrival. A nice touch and we chose beer but instead were given wine because the owner didn't prepare ahead and get the beer. There was mention in the listing of vegan chocolate that is made on site but it wasn't mentioned at all when we met the owner. That would have been interesting to hear about. There was also indications in the listing that a Keurig coffee maker was available. We purchased K Cups specifically for the stay but there was no Keurig coffee maker. These things may seem minor but we base our choice of accomodation using the information provided. The location of the property was very nice and it was close to Asheville as described.

  • Submitted: Sep 17, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Well, this is sad! I had no idea there was a problem with the room. We have rented this suite out along with 5 other properties that all have 5 star reviews for 3 yrs. I was again not aware of the mistake with the wine verses beer. I would have promptly exchanged it. I did not realize the table was bent down. It has a leaf and it has been repaired. Again, had I known during the stay we would have immediately repaired it and the same for the wine cooler. We removed the Keurig and put in a regular coffee pot as many have wanted to have a whole pot not just one cup at a time and are concerned about running coffee through the plastic. I will remove it from the site. The home is thoroughly cleaned after each guest stays as all the other great reviews on this property show.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Map

Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Many downtown Asheville
Nearest Train
60 Miles
Greenville, SC Amtrak
Nearest Motorway
0.5 Miles
I-240
Car: recommended

You will love the the small town feel of Asheville with all the amenities of a larger city. It has been called the 'Paris of the South.' We are within 1 mile of downtown with nationally raved about eateries and great music at the Orange Peel and many other venues. We are home to the Moog Fest, Bele Chere, and many other great music and arts festivals. The River Arts district is only a couple of miles away as well with over 50 professional artists working in their studios. The Blue Ridge Parkway has access to numerous hiking trails and the Pisagh National Forest is just a few miles away as well.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Asheville Studio Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Summer
Mar 1 2016 - Aug 31 2016
3 night minimum stay
$150
From
$170
Fri,Sat,Sun
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$140
From
$155
Fri,Sat,Sun
 

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $50 + Tax
cleaning $50 + Tax
Tax Rate 11.0%

We usually have specials running for different times of the year, sometimes 25% off the final day, or a free day for longer stays. Please call for current specials!!!

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Asheville Area Studio Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • studio
  • floor 1
Building Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 600 sq. ft.
Theme:
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Computer Available ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 3 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , jetted tub , custom tile in-suite off of bedroom
  • Custom tile shower for 2 and a jetted Jacuzzi for 2. Toliet in seperate area, heated tile floor
Bedrooms:
  • Studio, Sleeps 4
  • extra bed twin or double in same room can be set up - 1 queen , 1 twin/ single , 1 baby crib
  • King size bed with luxury linens with a ceiling fan above.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
Onsite Services:
  • Chauffeur
  • Concierge
  • Massage
  • Private Chef
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • roller blading
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting

Partner Offers

Travelers who viewed this property, also viewed...