check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

David and Allynn Dealy

Member since: 2012
Call Manager
Speaks: english

Beautiful Log Home with Fantastic San Juan Mountain Views

17 Reviews
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 4 nights

Overview

Ridgway House Rental Photos and Description

3 bedrooms and 2 baths, on 1.8 acres, sleeps 8. Ridgway

A beautiful log home with with unobstructed views of the San Juan mountains. Outside decks provide a great place to relax and enjoy the views and wildlife. 3 hiking trails a block away. Comfortably sleeps 8 people with king bed, queen bed, twin beds and a futon that makes into a double bed. DirecTV., local telephone, wifi, books, DVD's, exercise equipment, bicycles, etc. for your use. Cozy pellet stove in living room; electric heat throughout the home; electric blanket on all beds; ceiling fans in upstairs bedrooms & living room; floor & counter top fans also. Everything needed to make your stay enjoyable & memorable.

Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
David and Allynn Dealy (Property Manager)
Member since: 2012
Call Manager
Speaks: english

About David and Allynn Dealy

We just celebrated our 52nd anniversary. We have three children and five grqndsons. We split our time between a home in Texas and this home in Colorado. David is a Texas Aggie, class of 1964, who spent most of his career in the supercomputer field. He also served on two different school boards in Texas and refereed both high school and college basketball for 22 years. Allynn is a retired high school math teacher with a bachlor's degree from the University of Houston and masters degree from Sam Houston State University in Huntsville, Texas. She plays the piano and sings in and directs, as a substitute, church choirs both in Texas and in Ridgway.

David and Allynn Dealy purchased this house in 2004

Why David and Allynn Dealy chose Southwestern Colorado

In September, 2004, we were driving from Moab, Utah to Ouray, Colorado when we saw the San Juan mountains in all of their glory. We had just retired and were not really looking for a second home but the beauty of the area swept up away. We stopped at the first real estate office we saw in Ridgway, told the agent we wanted a log house with a view. She showed us this house, along with others, we went inside twice and literally bought it on the spot. The view is to die for and the home more than meets our needs with its lofted ceiling, deck, picture windows and access to wonderful hiking trails around the corner. Look at the pictures from our deck.

What makes this house unique

We are blessed with the uniqueness of our little piece of paradise. It is a house where one can enjoy the four seasons. Decks on three sides of the house, a wonderful great room with with high ceilings, aspen paneling and a pellet stove for cozy evenings are just some of the features of the house. We are just a block away from 3 different hiking trails, one of which overlooks the valley in what must be one of the most beautiful views in Colorado; a golf course nearby (golf when it is warm; cross country skiing when there is snow); wild animals in the yard (we have seen elk, mule deer, turkey, many beauutiful birds, grouse, bobcat, bear, mountain lion (only one of the last 3 in our 8 years so no danger). In Ridgway and the surrounding area are many winter and summer activities from fly fishing to river rafting to hot springs to horse back riding to Jeeping in the high country to outdoor concerts in summer and indoor concerts in winter to casual and fine dining to relaxing from all of the above on our deck or a choice of two different hot springs. There is excellent elk and mule deer hunting close by on both private ranches and public lands. Just ask us and we will be more than happy to let you know about all of the things you can do when you are here.

Reviews

5
based on 17 traveler reviews

Beautiful Log Home with Fantastic San Juan Mountain Views
average rating of 5.0 based on 17 reviews
5

Beautiful, Quiet, Peaceful Vacation

  • 5 of 5

My sister, daughter, and I needed to just get away. This was the perfect setting. The first morning we pulled open the shades, it almost took our breath away. The San Juan mountains smiling back at us with all its glistening snow. We just stared. We had never seen such beauty. And the deer! Plenty of them! And, not afraid of you. They did not even bother us as we took a walk. The snow was deep enough, we had to take advantage of making snow angels. Thank you David and Allynn for sharing your place and giving us this opportunity for seeing such beauty.

  • Submitted: Mar 2, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Bonnie, we are so glad your "girls" getaway was so much fun and relaxing for you. The San Juan mountains and our view from Log HIl is majestic all year round. As you saw, the wildlife is spectacular and beautiful. Thanks for visiting and come back...each season is different. Thanks for staying at our log house. David
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Burton Texas
5

New Year High

  • 5 of 5

Found a perfect date for the family to gather, and THIS was the perfect place!! Warm, roomy, and clean accommodations; and a spectacular view! Easy drive to Ouray hot springs, or Telluride Ski Resort. Our entire stay was GLORIOUS! Absolutely LOVE the owners!

  • Submitted: Feb 16, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: There is just something magical about the mountains not only for New Year's holidays but each season of the year. So glad you enjoyed your stay. Come back soon.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
San Antonio
5

Best Vacation Ever!!

  • 5 of 5

My family and I had the most amazing time!! There was plenty of room, the deck was beautiful! The view was breath taking!! we really felt like we were at home. The Dealys had everything we needed plus so much more! We were lucky enough to be there on Christmas and we had snow the whole time! It was our first white Christmas and by far the most magical! Any question we had it was answered right away. Plus I left my watch and they are mailing it to me! I didn't even know I left it!

Very honest, down to earth, wonderful people! We hope to come back again!! There is a little bit for everyone there. My husband and I like to hike and there are a few trails right down the road. My mom and dad came and couldn't get enough of the view and the wild life. Plus my kids had a blast too!

  • Submitted: Dec 31, 2015
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Jess, so happy your family were able to experience their first White Christmas. The Colorado mountains are spectacular any time of the year but especially at Christmas. Thanks for staying with us and for enjoying the many things our area has to offer. Come again soon. David
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Mesquite, TX
5

First class in every respect.....

  • 5 of 5

From the cabin and property to the very accommodating owners, a first class experience in every respect. The cabin is large and roomy, everything is fresh and clean. A full and well-stocked kitchen await you and the grill is just outside on the spacious, wrap-around deck if that is a preference. A wide diversity of wildlife visit daily...humming birds, songbirds, wild turkey and mule deer are frequently seen. The views of the Sneffel range from the deck and living room are stunning! Ridgway is a short drive down the hill and Telluride took less than an hour to reach, the cabin is very conveniently located to the areas many cool sights. After you have spent an adventurous day outside you will be well entertained by the Direct TV and WiFi available the owners provide if that is your taste. You have a nice heated, attached garage and a washer/dryer for taking care of your laundry. You are self-contained and centrally located on this property with wonderful, attentive owners..... my sister and I are both in our mid-fifties and wanted a beautiful, quiet, convenient location and we found it here. We will definitely be back and highly recommend this property!

  • Submitted: Aug 9, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Randy, thanks so much for staying with us. I can tell from your comments you enjoyed many of the things our part of Colorado has to offer: beautiful scenery; wonderful wildlife; hiking trails; quiet when you want it and interesting towns just a short drive away. We welcome you back anytime....david
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Lake Charles, LA
5

Stunning views, wildlife abundant and secluded quiet area at this fabulous home & property!!!

  • 5 of 5

Me and my wife have been vacationing in this area for the past 10 years, we are very familiar with hotels and bed & breakfast inns throughout this area believe me. Me and my family stayed at this property for a week this July. To start off with the house has everything imaginable that you may need during your stay. I have stayed in other VRBO properties and NONE of them are in the same league as this one. The mountain vista views through the large glass windows in the living room is therapy for the soul. Every morning and evening there were deer and one time 5 LARGE mule deer bucks 15 yards from the wrap around porch feeding. There were families of turkeys, baby deer fawns, hummingbirds and many birds at the feeders by the deck. It is a wildlife preserve on this property. It is ideal for the person that wants quite times, with no traffic to listen too. All day long you may see a total of 5 vehicles pass by. Perfect hiking right out the door of this house. The owner made sure we were 100% satisfied and had all we needed. We have ATT&T cell phones and we had 4-G service and the WI-Fi was awesome. There were DVD collections for the whole family. Kids, cartoons movies if needed. If you are looking for a quite place to stay, with everything you may need and not far from Ridgway, Ouray or Telluride then look no farther. You will NOT find a place with this many amenities for the price nowhere in the area. Lord willing I will be back next year and hopefully many years to come. As long as this property is available and will have us I will look no further!! Sincerely Tim G. Lake Charles, La.

  • Submitted: Jul 27, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Tim, so glad you and your family were able to enjoy many of the things our little bit of heaven has to offer. Ouray County in Colorado is a wonderful place any time of the year. John Wayne's movie "True Grit" was filmed in Ridgway so keeping a copy handy will help you relive some of the beautiful places nearby. Thanks for your kind words and so glad you had such a great time...david
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Quiet, relaxing & breathtaking views

  • 5 of 5

Very well kept cabin. Great views. Great hiking trails just a short walk from the house. Owners communicate well and go out of their way to make sure your stay is comfortable. Highly recommend!

  • Submitted: Jun 17, 2015
  • Stayed: May 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Ridgway State Park
Nearest Airport
25 Miles
Montrose (MTJ)
Nearest Barpub
8 Miles
Colorado Boy Brew Pub
Nearest Golf
2 Miles
Fairway Pines (Divide Golf)
Nearest Motorway
5 Miles
State Highway 62
Nearest Restaurant
8 Miles
Multiple
Nearest Ski
40 Miles
Telluride Ski Resort
Car: necessary

Almost any mountain environment activity is available close by from fly fishing, horseback riding and rafting in summer; to fall colors; to cross country and downhill skiing and ice climbing in the coutry's best ice climbing park in winter; to beautiful wild flowers in spring and all summer long. There are many private ranches as well as public lands for excellent hunting...mule deer and elk being the primary seasons.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Ridgway House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
All year rates
Aug 28 2016 - Sep 1 2017
4 night minimum stay
$160
$960
$3,300
 
 
My Standard Rate
4 night minimum stay
$160
$960
$3,300
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $150
Refundable damage deposit $200
Tax Rate 5.0%

50% of rental at time of booking; 50% of rental plus cleaning fee, tax and security deposit due 30 days prior to arrival.

Cancellation fee of $300 if cancelled 30 days or less prior to arrival.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Ridgway House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking ...
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Mobile Phone
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Stove ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Freezer ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 2
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Master - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single
    Downstair bedroom - 1 king
  • King size beds (1), Queen size beds (1), twin/single (2), in Living Room are double futon (1) and single futon suitable for child up to 10 years (1).
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • VCR
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Bicycles ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • 6 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • pier fishing
  • racquetball
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • whitewater rafting
  • wind-surfing

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties