Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

The 'White Castle' Riverfront Home with Park Views!

Sleeps25
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Space 2,800 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

4 bedroom, 2 1/2 baths, 2 fireplaces, 6 decks, private swimming hole!

Sleeps up to 16. Master bedroom has 1 king size bed, plus a sofa and TV. Second room has single king, 3rd room has 2 queens, 4th room has a queen and a bunk bed (in addition 2 air mattresses are available). Master bathroom includes shower/tub, 2nd bathroom has separate shower from toilet and full vanity, and there is a half bath on the main living room floor. Living room has 2 large sofas. Dining room has a dining table comfortably seating 10. Two wood-burning fireplaces. Kitchen has a microwave, electrical stove, and a fridge, as well all utensils needed. Charcoal BBQ, a driveway that parks up to 8 cars, even 2 RV's. Private swimming hole for sunbathing, swimming, tubing and fishing. TV with DVD player and large collection of DVDs. All linens and towels provided. Laundry room with washer and dryer. Six decks with amazing view of Sequoia Park and Morro Rock.


Property Manager
Tennison Long
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
August 14, 2017

Why Tennison Long chose Gold Country / High Sierra

Three Rivers is a very special place, and for some a hidden California gem! Nestled in the foothills, you can be at the sequoia trees within 45 minutes, or be on the lake in 15...the nights are star-filled, the weather is always amazing, the hum of the river slides you into immediate relaxation! The town has a population of roughly 3,000 people, so it is small yet still provides many necessary amenities...a few restaurants, two markets, gas stations, art galleries, video store, gift shops, organic farm, and more...the house is a couple of miles from the entrance to Sequoia National Park and one mile from entrance to Mineral King! The Kaweah Lake is a man-made reservoir lake which provides for great bass fishing, recreational water skiing, jet skiing, houseboat rentals and more.

What makes this house unique

The 'White House' has its own private swimming hole, perfect for sunbathing, swimming and fishing! The house was built with views in mind...most windows and decks face east toward the park. The granite rocks at the entrance to the house have the original 'grinding holes' by the local Indian tribe, the Potwisha, who would grind acorn into maze, their most common food! The house is awesome in many ways...it was built with entertaining in mind, there is a very nice flow of spaciousness and can support many guests comfortably, or be the perfect getaway for a couple! FYI AT&T is only cell service in Three Rivers, but the house does have wifi and a landline!

Guestbook comments from the manager

The White House of 3 Rivers is the perfect getaway for family and friends. Perfectly situated near the giant Sequoia's, the house has all the amenities of home. Waking up to the beautiful river below, taking family hikes, playing in the water hole were just some of the highlights of our trip.
Oct 2012
  • 1 of 1

Amenities

Three Rivers House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Included
Floor Area:
  • 2800 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 25
  • pets considered ...
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome
  • smoking allowed ...
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • Village ...
  • Water View
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Fireplace ...
  • Free Wifi
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 2.5
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 25
  • King size beds (2), Queen size Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (1), Air Mattresses (2)
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Television
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • 2 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • limited accessibility
Attractions:
  • churches
  • library
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • spelunking
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
Hiking, running, backpacking, golf, boating, river rafting, sunbathing, fishing, nature, wildlife, star-gazing...Three Rivers, and the White House, offer it all! The perfect get-away for multiple families, or for just a couple! This can be a fun party house for multiple families and friends or a quiet and cozy romantic destination...it is all yours for the making!

Reviews

Very Good! 4/5 -
(46 traveler reviews)

58% Complete
19% Complete
0% Complete
8% Complete
13% Complete
The 'White Castle' Riverfront Home with Park Views!
average rating of 4.021739 based on 47 reviews
5

Wonderful vacation home

  • 5 of 5

Our group consisted of 14 adults and 11 kids. The top floor master suite has a king bed and plenty of floor space for 4 blow-up mattresses. The bathroom is dated, but clean and accommodated the family well.

The main floor dining table seats 8, but we brought two 5-foot folding tables and folding chairs. We had ample room and stored them on the balcony when not in use. There was a large flat screen TV on the wall in the living room. The pictures also show a cutting block in the kitchen, but it wasn’t there when we arrived, which made the kitchen space larger - plenty of room for 3 or 4 people to cook, prep and wash, while 2 drank wine and watched. The larger balcony was great for 3 or 4 of the guys to bar-b-que. (We brought an extra Weber, which was good, because the one there is small.) There is also a sink and toilet on this floor.

The bottom floor has 3 bedrooms. We had a family group of five in each room. It was cozy, but it worked. There is only one bathroom on this floor, but since the shower and toilet are each in separate rooms apart from the sink area, 3 people can use it at the same time.

The path to the river is steep, but you can station a couple of people along it to help the little guys and less steady adults. This year (2017) had a lot of snow pack, so the water was still moving in late July. There was a large area where we set up EZ-ups and a table and coolers for snacks. We spent 2 entire days in that spot, hiking up the river and rafting down. With adult supervision for the littles, it was safe and great fun.

The home page says that there is parking for 2 RVs. A camper, Class B or small Class C would work great, but we took a small towable travel trailer and that was a bad idea for us (we have a long-bed Ford F250 and a 22 foot trailer). The driveway is narrow and steep, but for a shorter vehicle than ours, it is do-able. If you do take an RV, plan to dry camp. You do have water access downstairs at the house, but will need to bring a 100 foot hose to reach it.

Tennison was very accommodating. We had one question, and he responded quickly.

The interior of the house could use some new paint and the oven could use a good cleaning, but neither are deal-breakers for us. We highly recommend it.

  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

An awesome house, great view, tons of space!

  • 5 of 5

My family loved this house. There was plenty of space for my entire family and the house was perfectly stocked. We enjoyed the many balconies and the access to the river turned out to be perfect after leaving the Park because it was quite hot. I was kind of the star of my family for finding this place! Thanks Tennison!

  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Bachelor Party of 15!

  • 5 of 5

I booked the house to accommodate a bachelor party for 15 dudes and the house was great! Everyone had a place to sleep, granted a most of the beds slept two, there are a few air mattresses provided and a few sofas. Everyone was comfortable!

I would definitely stay there again.

  • Submitted: May 1, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

I will highly recommend this property

  • 5 of 5

Very professional managed beattiful place to relax definitely I will coming back for summer thanks Mr Long 😎👍

  • Submitted: Mar 9, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Needs a lot of TLC

  • 2 of 5

The outside of the house is nice... but the inside of the house needs a lot of work. Everything was old and out dated walls were really dirty and the water was completely yellow!!! We had a group of kids that ranged from 2-17 years old. The downstairs tv turned on but the DVD player didn't work. One of the air mattresses had a hole so the air wouldn't stay in. Lots of spider webs and dust. The radio didn't work. No games for the kids to play some of the puzzle pieces were missing. The book selection had about 10 books not much of a selection at all. We tried to go to the river and the neighbor got on his bull horn and threatened to call the cops because it was "private property". Contacted the owner and he told us the way to get to the right side of the river without trespassing. It was too steep for the smaller kids so some couldn't come down to the river with us. The snow was up the hill and cost $40-60 for chains $60 chain deposit and $30 and up per car to get in the sequoia park.

Although the house is spacious for a large group and the view of the river is gorgeous from all the balconies in the house I would not recommend until it is at least cleaned properly. And fix the entertainment for the kids. I must say that the owner was very good with staying in touch and trying to make our stay as comfortable and relaxing as possible.

  • Submitted: Jan 5, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello, thank you for your stay and feedback. I can assure you that the house is cleaned thoroughly before and after each stay by a professional team. When you called about the dvd player we offered to have a new one brought to you and you declined (since then a new dvd player has replaced the broken one). The house water is direct from the river and during storms (like during your stay) the water can be a bit discolored. When you called about trespassing on neighboring land I explained to you the house's property but also informed you that there is a clearly defined map with explanations at the house, in the binder provided for guests. The path to the private swimming hole is not recommended for small children or elderly. We do not have any involvement in the pricing of chains in the park. Than you again for your feedback!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 2
4

Nice castle

  • 4 of 5

The property was clean and well equipped. The owner was very responsive when he was needed. My family enjoyed the stay.

  • Submitted: Dec 29, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

We Three Bakery -- CLOSED
"Free wifi"
Sequoia & Kings Canyon National Park
Nearest Airport
30 Miles
Visalia
Nearest Golf
3 Miles
Three Rivers Golf Course
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
The River View
Car: necessary

California's Sequoia National Park is an unspoiled treasure of some of the most striking scenery in the world. From its towering giant sequoia trees and soaring mountain peaks to cascading creeks, flowering meadows, and star-studded evening skies, you'll be inspired by this breathtaking national forest vacation destination.

Established in 1890, Sequoia National Park is California's first national park and America's second oldest. With more than 1 million annual visitors, Sequoia National Forest is a popular destination for guests from around the world.

At Sequoia and Kings Canyon national parks, you’ll find the five largest living giant sequoia trees in the world.

Come see the largest living tree on Earth! The General Sherman tree is estimated to be between 2300-2700 years old, and if you've never seen it, a day trip is a must. (The White Castle is located 3 miles from the entrance to Sequoia Park.)

Often referred to as one of California's best national forest family vacation destinations, Sequoia offers a myriad of year-round visitor attractions and recreational activities. Spring and summer offer sensational hiking, horseback riding, fishing, and cave tours. Winter boasts some of the finest cross-country skiing, snowshoeing, and snow play to be found in the Sierras. And throughout the year, Sequoia National Forest features ranger naturalist programs, nature walks, visitor centers, and interpretive museum exhibits to please all ages and interests.

Houseboats and fishing boats are available for rental year-round at the Kaweah Lake marina.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Three Rivers House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$399
 
Notes: Rates are based on 16 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $150
Additional Guest Fee $20 per person per night

Manager's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Contact Manager
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties