Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

The 'White Castle' Riverfront Home with Park Views!

Sleeps25
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Space 2,800 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

4 bedroom, 2 1/2 baths, 2 fireplaces, 6 decks, private swimming hole!

Sleeps up to 16. Master bedroom has 1 king size bed, plus a sofa and TV. Second room has single king, 3rd room has 1 queen and 1 double, 4th room has a double (in addition 2 air mattresses are available). Master bathroom includes shower/tub, 2nd bathroom has separate shower from toilet and full vanity, and there is a half bath on the main living room floor. Living room has 2 large sofas. Dining room has a dining table comfortably seating 8. Two wood-burning fireplaces. Kitchen has a microwave, electrical stove, and a fridge, as well all utensils needed. Charcoal BBQ, a driveway that parks up to 8 cars, even 2 RV's. Private swimming hole for sunbathing, swimming, tubing and fishing. TV with DVD player and large collection of DVDs. All linens and towels provided. Laundry room with washer and dryer. Six decks with amazing view of Sequoia Park and Morro Rock.


Property Manager
Tennison Long
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
April 26, 2017

Why Tennison Long chose Gold Country / High Sierra

Three Rivers is a very special place, and for some a hidden California gem! Nestled in the foothills, you can be at the sequoia trees within 45 minutes, or be on the lake in 15...the nights are star-filled, the weather is always amazing, the hum of the river slides you into immediate relaxation! The town has a population of roughly 3,000 people, so it is small yet still provides many necessary amenities...a few restaurants, two markets, gas stations, art galleries, video store, gift shops, organic farm, and more...the house is a couple of miles from the entrance to Sequoia National Park and one mile from entrance to Mineral King! The Kaweah Lake is a man-made reservoir lake which provides for great bass fishing, recreational water skiing, jet skiing, houseboat rentals and more.

What makes this house unique

The 'White House' has its own private swimming hole, perfect for sunbathing, swimming and fishing! The house was built with views in mind...most windows and decks face east toward the park. The granite rocks at the entrance to the house have the original 'grinding holes' by the local Indian tribe, the Potwisha, who would grind acorn into maze, their most common food! The house is awesome in many ways...it was built with entertaining in mind, there is a very nice flow of spaciousness and can support many guests comfortably, or be the perfect getaway for a couple! FYI AT&T is only cell service in Three Rivers, but the house does have wifi and a landline!

Guestbook comments from the manager

The White House of 3 Rivers is the perfect getaway for family and friends. Perfectly situated near the giant Sequoia's, the house has all the amenities of home. Waking up to the beautiful river below, taking family hikes, playing in the water hole were just some of the highlights of our trip.
Oct 2012
  • 1 of 1

Amenities

Three Rivers House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Included
Floor Area:
  • 2800 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 25
  • smoking allowed ...
  • pets considered ...
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • Village ...
  • Water View
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Fireplace ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 2.5
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 25
  • King size beds (2), Queen size Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (1), Air Mattresses (2)
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Television
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • 2 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • limited accessibility
Attractions:
  • churches
  • library
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • spelunking
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
Hiking, running, backpacking, golf, boating, river rafting, sunbathing, fishing, nature, wildlife, star-gazing...Three Rivers, and the White House, offer it all! The perfect get-away for multiple families, or for just a couple! This can be a fun party house for multiple families and friends or a quiet and cozy romantic destination...it is all yours for the making!

Reviews

Very Good! 4/5 -
(43 traveler reviews)

The 'White Castle' Riverfront Home with Park Views!
average rating of 3.9534883 based on 44 reviews
5

I will highly recommend this property

  • 5 of 5

Very professional managed beattiful place to relax definitely I will coming back for summer thanks Mr Long 😎👍

  • Submitted: Mar 9, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Needs a lot of TLC

  • 2 of 5

The outside of the house is nice... but the inside of the house needs a lot of work. Everything was old and out dated walls were really dirty and the water was completely yellow!!! We had a group of kids that ranged from 2-17 years old. The downstairs tv turned on but the DVD player didn't work. One of the air mattresses had a hole so the air wouldn't stay in. Lots of spider webs and dust. The radio didn't work. No games for the kids to play some of the puzzle pieces were missing. The book selection had about 10 books not much of a selection at all. We tried to go to the river and the neighbor got on his bull horn and threatened to call the cops because it was "private property". Contacted the owner and he told us the way to get to the right side of the river without trespassing. It was too steep for the smaller kids so some couldn't come down to the river with us. The snow was up the hill and cost $40-60 for chains $60 chain deposit and $30 and up per car to get in the sequoia park.

Although the house is spacious for a large group and the view of the river is gorgeous from all the balconies in the house I would not recommend until it is at least cleaned properly. And fix the entertainment for the kids. I must say that the owner was very good with staying in touch and trying to make our stay as comfortable and relaxing as possible.

  • Submitted: Jan 5, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello, thank you for your stay and feedback. I can assure you that the house is cleaned thoroughly before and after each stay by a professional team. When you called about the dvd player we offered to have a new one brought to you and you declined (since then a new dvd player has replaced the broken one). The house water is direct from the river and during storms (like during your stay) the water can be a bit discolored. When you called about trespassing on neighboring land I explained to you the house's property but also informed you that there is a clearly defined map with explanations at the house, in the binder provided for guests. The path to the private swimming hole is not recommended for small children or elderly. We do not have any involvement in the pricing of chains in the park. Than you again for your feedback!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 2
4

Nice castle

  • 4 of 5

The property was clean and well equipped. The owner was very responsive when he was needed. My family enjoyed the stay.

  • Submitted: Dec 29, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful Home, Great View, Super Close to National Park

  • 5 of 5

The house was the perfect fit for our party of 13 (some of my family cancelled due to health emergencies). Plenty of room! Could have easily fit 18. I loved that it was close to the Park. We enjoyed the fireplace and cozy interior.

  • Submitted: Dec 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Fantastic place to stay!

  • 5 of 5

The White Castle was just as advertised. Plenty of room and all the things you need for a trip. Literally 5 minutes from the southern gate of Sequoia and an hour to the major visitor centers on top of the mountain. We used it for the home base of a small college group and it provided everything we could have asked for. The swimming hole was a little tricky to get to but everyone was able to get down to the water and swim in the river. We'll be returning in the future for sure!

  • Submitted: Sep 8, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
TEMESCAL valley
5

White Castle Rocks!!

  • 5 of 5

We felt in love with this place and the little town of Three Rivers right from the start. It has been almost two years and my family still talks about this place and the river that runs alongside it. Tennison the owner was helpful, accommodating and reachable at all times and a pleasure to deal with. We are coming back in 2017 if he would have us again and other friends of mine are also booking this place per our recommendation.

The White Castle is an excellent place for large families visiting Sequoia and it will definitely will become one of your favorite destinations to get away just like it did for my family and I.

G. Galvan

  • Submitted: Jul 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

We Three Bakery -- CLOSED
"Free wifi"
Sequoia & Kings Canyon National Park
Nearest Airport
30 Miles
Visalia
Nearest Golf
3 Miles
Three Rivers Golf Course
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
The River View
Car: necessary

California's Sequoia National Park is an unspoiled treasure of some of the most striking scenery in the world. From its towering giant sequoia trees and soaring mountain peaks to cascading creeks, flowering meadows, and star-studded evening skies, you'll be inspired by this breathtaking national forest vacation destination.

Established in 1890, Sequoia National Park is California's first national park and America's second oldest. With more than 1 million annual visitors, Sequoia National Forest is a popular destination for guests from around the world.

At Sequoia and Kings Canyon national parks, you’ll find the five largest living giant sequoia trees in the world.

Come see the largest living tree on Earth! The General Sherman tree is estimated to be between 2300-2700 years old, and if you've never seen it, a day trip is a must. (The White Castle is located 3 miles from the entrance to Sequoia Park.)

Often referred to as one of California's best national forest family vacation destinations, Sequoia offers a myriad of year-round visitor attractions and recreational activities. Spring and summer offer sensational hiking, horseback riding, fishing, and cave tours. Winter boasts some of the finest cross-country skiing, snowshoeing, and snow play to be found in the Sierras. And throughout the year, Sequoia National Forest features ranger naturalist programs, nature walks, visitor centers, and interpretive museum exhibits to please all ages and interests.

Houseboats and fishing boats are available for rental year-round at the Kaweah Lake marina.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Three Rivers House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$399
 
Notes: Rates are based on 16 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $150

Manager's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.

Enter dates for accurate pricing

Available
Unavailable

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties