check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Truly Oceanfront and A/C!

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview


Details
Property
condo
Sleeps
4
Bedrooms
1
Bathrooms
1
Minimum Stay
3 nights

Description

Kailua-Kona Condo Rental Photos and Description

1 bed/1 bath lanai right on the ocean!

Hale Pikake Nalu (OceanWave Peacock House) is our vacation home located in Sea Village, an oceanfront complex. While there are many complexes that are listed as oceanfront, not all condos within those complexes are truly oceanfront. OUR condo is!

Sea Village is a small 4 building oceanfront complex, with great landscaping, a marvelous heated pool and hot tub, a grassy picnic area with multiple gas grills, and plenty of parking. This is a strictly non-smoking complex with enforced quiet hours 10pm to 8am.

Our unit is in building 4, closest to the ocean, farthest from the road, and exceptionally quiet. Hale Pikake Nalu is on the first floor (no stairs to climb with suitcases and groceries). Nalu is the Hawaiian word meaning ocean wave that breaks on shore. And the waves do literally break on the rocks right off the balcony. The neatest thing--watching the sunset. And did I say view? When you are sitting in the living room you feel as though you are on a cruise ship--all you see is the ever-changing sea. Speaking of sea, the beautiful aqua-marine colors of the ocean were the inspiration behind the peacock (pikake) colors in the condo as well as the plumage of the Big Island peacock.

Hale details-- brand new king size pillow top bed, luxury hotel linens, new bamboo flooring bedroom and living room, tiled kitchen and bath, new sofa and chairs, new Samsung TV with 50 cable channels, free wifi. There is a great ocean breeze--sleeping is the best with the bedroom window open to draw the breeze and sound of the waves from the open patio door though the hale into the bedroom-- no need for a noise machine! There are good ceiling fans throughout the house and balcony. Little warm in the late afternoon with the western exposure? No worries as we have one of the few units in the complex with an air conditioner for those few hours before sunset. Although it is not designed to 'refrigerate' the entire condo, it does provide a comfortable 74-degree environment.

This is our vacation home, and it is our pleasure to share it with you.

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed

Owner
Mozela Dundas
Member since: 2006
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
October 19, 2016
Call Owner

About Mozela Dundas

My name is Mozela Dundas. I live in Hilo and personally manage Hale Pikake Nalu. My husband, Glenn, and I are originally from Texas. We adopted Hawaii as our home state in 2012.

Mozela Dundas purchased this condo in 2012

Why Mozela Dundas chose Kona Coast

Everyone needs a vacation home on the ocean, right? Sea Village is a great complex. The common areas are beautiful and well kept. Hale Pikake is right on the ocean, the closest building to the ocean and far from the hustle and bustle of Ali'i Dr. All you hear are the waves!

What makes this condo unique

Several times a week, a cruise ship anchors just offshore. We often sit on the balcony with glasses of iced tea and try to think of one reason why we would rather be on the ship--a nicely appointed stateroom is just inside, the heated uncrowded pool is steps away, the Green Flash coffee shop and Aloha Nail shop are at the front gate, great restaurants and shops are just up the street, the great view is continuous, ocean activities just steps away--still can't think of any reason to be on a ship, can you?

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(27 traveler reviews)

Truly Oceanfront and A/C!
average rating of 4.740741 based on 27 reviews
1

True Ocean Front in Kona

  • 1 of 5

The view and location were splendid. I would say that the decor was modest to average. Unfortunately, they were working on the building itself and so there was a great deal of hammering and other construction types of noise. I have to assume that the owners were not aware of this upcoming renovation when we booked.

WORST OF ALL: someone had access to the key to the condo and we were robbed of $1600 in cash! There was a lock box on the door with a key. We kept the key inside the lock box. Someone either had the combination to the lock box or they had an extra key. Either way, it put a real damper on our vacation.

  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Aloha R, As you know, you and I had several conversations about your missing cash. My understanding is that for a few hours, mid-day, you left your condo key in the lockbox while you were away. You could not say if you had spun the number dials on the lockbox. Some time after your return, you could not find the cash in the hidden inside pocket at the bottom of your computer backpack. When you could not find it, your immediate reaction was that someone had gotten into the unit and taken it. You stated that there was no evidence of any other disturbance in the unit, it was as if "no one had been there" and "everything was put back as it was" in the computer bag, all other electronic devices and computer were as you had left them. You stated that you did not call the police. I encouraged you to do so after our conversation, but I am not aware if you did. All my keys were secured during your stay, except for yours. The keys cannot be duplicated by local key shops as they are proprietary to a particular key shop. I believe you said your binoculars were taken at your prior accommodation. There were some repairs in progress during your visit due to some water damage in another building in the complex. We were given 2 weeks notice, but well after your booking in January. Our unit is simple, clean, not flashy. The bed is comfortable and the view and lanai certainly our best feature. You did tell me that you liked our pillows and bed, so at least you were able to rest. Sometimes expectations are not met, and to try to avoid disappointment, my photos are not retouched and my descriptions realistic. I understand that things did not go as planned during your stay, and for that I am truly sorry. Mozela
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Hilo, Hawaii
5

Best unit at Sea Village

  • 5 of 5

I cannot say enough about our great experience here. I have rented other units at Sea Village and this is the best by far. The cooling unit really makes a difference when the afternoon heats up. The master bedroom was so comfortable that my young daughter actually slept late so we could too. Kitchen was stocked with everything we needed. Compared to our stay in other vrbo rentals at the same complex, this unit was well maintained and felt like home with personal touches the owner has made. We will be back for sure!

  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Great views but needs updating.

  • 3 of 5

This was my second stay here at Hale Pikake. Four years ago I gave it 5 stars but quality has slid a bit. Some of the amenities are old, worn and need replacement. Fry pans have peeling teflon. Folding beach chairs are rusted and should be tossed. The soft cooler is totally shot and unusable. Don't count on usable snorkel gear. The dated futon's cushion has lost its resiliency and is now uncomfortable for sitting and sleeping. There were absolutely no condiments at the place whatsoever. Visitors even need to provide their own salt and pepper. There were practically no cleaning supplies on hand either. Coffee filters seemed to have been counted out for out for our 8 night stay. The DVD player was broken and owner did not respond to my inquiry about it. There was no way to play music. Not even a radio in the condo. The impression given is that the owner is nickel and dimeing the place to a bare minimum. Overall, this condo is no longer up to VRBO Hawaii standards but the views from the lanai are outstanding and air conditioning in the living room is a rare commodity at Sea Village.

  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Aloha P, I'm sorry your stay was not up to your expectations. I truly didn't receive any mention of your stay experience prior to this review. I am available 24/7 by phone, email or text, and so wish you had contacted me--by all three methods of necessary--upon arrival or at any time during your stay. I answer fairly quickly so if there is no response, the communication method failed. A well meaning friend restocked paper goods, etc prior to your stay, perhaps a bit to cautiously. A look at the futon and a shopping trip has restored needed items that you mentioned. The unit is clean, right on the water, a/c in the living area, and with a new futon, all is well!. Mahalo, Mozela
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Valencia, CA
5

Better than expected

  • 5 of 5

My wife and I usually stay on Maui and this was our first time to the Big Island. The condo was better than expected with a GREAT ocean front view! The AC in the living room was helpful as it was hot and muggy, typical for July. (Maybe one in the master next time...?) The condo was in a great area close to the restaurants and shopping. There was plenty of kitchenware and the bathroom was appointed with shampoo, conditioner, blowdryer, etc. If I would have know, I wouldn't have had to lug my wife's primping gear around! lol. Anyway, we very much enjoyed our stay and Moz was prompt at answering our questions. Entry and exit was easy and simple. We will definitely stay here again!!

  • Submitted: Aug 4, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Paradise

  • 5 of 5

We stayed in this "little corner of Paradise" for two weeks... truly a wonderful vacation. This was our first time visiting the Big Island ...we enjoyed every day! Every morning while having coffee on the lanai a group of dolphins would put on a show...every night while sharing conversation and cocktails we had the most gorgeous show ...the sunset....topping off the day! The condo is spacious, extremely well kept and clean. We never lacked for a kitchen item...well supplied in that area. The MOST comfortable king bed ever...which for us was a super PLUS since my husband was recovering from back surgery. Due to husband's recovering we drove everywhere. However, the condo is located within in walking distance to town...Kona is so picturesque and wonderfully busy! Get a coffee at the Green Flash Coffee Shop located right on the Sea Village property...go to town...sit on the seawall and watch the world go buy. There is so much to see and do on the island and we did most of it during our 2 week stay. Always a wonderful feeling knowing we could head back to the peace and quiet of our condo ...to relax by the wonderful pool and hot tub located near by.

There is A/C available but due to the many fans provided (even on the lanai) and the location of condo we never used it...we just let the trade winds take care of cooling us off.

Our second day there we noticed a leak in the bathroom. We reported the problem to Mozela. We left for the day but all was taken care of by the time we returned. Great service! Mozela was very easy and pleasant to communicate with making our stay all the more special. Thanks, Mozela!

Thanks for letting us share your "little corner of Paradise"! Donna W.

  • Submitted: Jun 26, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
United States, MI, Temperance
5

Beautiful Condo Great Location

  • 5 of 5

We very much enjoyed this clean, tastefully furnished condo. Location was great and the Green Flash Coffe shop was great too. It was a short walk to town and we did it often.

Wold for sure book it again should we return to Kona. We already miss the sound of the ocean surf!!!

  • Submitted: Mar 21, 2015
  • Stayed: Mar 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
9 Miles
Kona International Airport
Nearest Restaurant
Green Flash Coffee Shop
Car: recommended

Hale Pikake Nalu is an absolute oceanfront condo--any closer and you would need lifeboat drills! Waves crash on the rocks, bright yellow fish swim right below you, dolphins put on daily performances, and winter whale watching is supreme. We are a short walk to the shops and restaurants, but oh so quiet and away from all road noise!

Photos

Rates & Availability

Kailua-Kona Condo Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$135
$850
$3,300
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $200
cleaning $92 + Tax
Tax Rate 13.25%

Email for any possible special rates.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Kailua-Kona Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 1
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 750 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront
  • Water View
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Budget
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 1
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • King size beds (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1)
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Shared Hot Tub ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • health/beauty spa
  • marina
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • boating
  • luaus
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • parasailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties