Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

...Luxury, Exquisite and Affordable Gem Under the Stars in Pioneertown

Sleeps14
Bedrooms 6
Bathrooms6
Space 4,800 sq. ft.
Property type estate
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights

Overview

About the property

6 bedrooms - 6 bath on 40 private acres... JUST FOR YOU!...

First a short way to discover why you will come to visit us soon: https://www.luxurytraveldiary.com/2017/01/top-5-best-desert-hideaways-southern-california/

...then, in July 2017 in NEWSWEEK

http://www.newsweek.com/music-festivals-photos-travel-coachella-636922?slide=3

Did you know why Johnny Depp, Jennifer Lopez, Clint Eastwood, Demie Moore, among others celebrities have already choose to stay at Calmada Private Resort?...

Because it's a unique, private, upscale luxury resort located in the middle of 600 secluded acres and is privately nestled behind rocks, in the heart of the new National Monument "Sand To Snow" in Pioneertown and near Joshua Tree National Park at 4.200 feet.

All 6 rooms and 6 private bath opening to the gardens surrounding this near 5.000 sq.ft, unique property in the area who is totally... PAPARAZZI PROOF !...;-)

But, Calmada Private Resort HAS ALSO 3 BIG PLUS:

1/ We are the ONLY ONE Property in Pioneertown where you can CHECK-IN AS EARLIER AS 10:00 AM on Friday morning (vs 3:00 PM) and Check-out LATE* on Sunday, around 4:00 PM vs 11:00 AM, so it's more than + 12 HOURS of fun, relaxing and enjoying time with our rental. *(Upon availability)

2/ You could have your own Chef, meaning if you want a brunch, lunch or dinner to celebrate any events, a Private Chef will be able to work directly with you for a very reasonable fee: i.e. brunch is only $19 per person...Please request a quote at reservation.

3/ Welcome home to your luxury villa! What better way to celebrate your upcoming vacation that with a home fully stocked with your groceries of choice the moment you arrive? Whether you keep kosher, have specific beverage preferences or follow an organic lifestyle, our concierge services ensure that your dietary preferences will be met with ease and convenience...

Also, we are so proud to be part of the new National Monument "Sand To Snow" just 1 mile North of Calmada Private Resort, dedicated by President Obama on February 12, 2016! So, everything is about sit back, relax and loose yourself in your favorite book, gaze at the multiple species of birds, look at night at the fabulous Milky Way, shooting stars, International Space Station or rediscover your favorite musician, author or artist within.

After a long day of hiking and exploring the Flora and Fauna, enjoy a toast as you relax next to the non-heated brand new swimming pool or near the wood-burning fireplace! And as the Milky Way slowly emerges directly above you, stargazing will become your newest passion. It's also one of the unique place to observe the International Space Station crossing at speed of 27.700 miles per hour, 450 miles above your head...This is Just A-MA-ZING!...(Download the IOS App: GoISSWatch) to follow it live above Calmada Private Resort with the binocular that you'll find in the house....

Inside, you will find the spacious living room and 6 rooms all decorated to the finest details by international famous designer and owner, Chris Beaugrand. Beautiful Art and eclectic painting from her and artist painter Lillian Shaoa dorns the bedrooms walls paired with sophisticated and unexpected furniture and decoration. The 6 bedrooms both open onto the “secret” gardens where views and wildlife greet you with each step into this luxurious and totally private sanctuary.

The fully equipped kitchen is ready for those who wish to indulge the pallet through culinary delight.

While only minutes from the famous music bar and restaurant Pappy & Harriet’s Pioneertown Palace, one has a feeling of being miles away from everything. Pipes Canyon is bordered by 35,000 acres of The Pioneertown Mountains Preserve to the West and 60,000 acres of Federal land to the North and is one of the best places to share special time with those whom you enjoy most.

Being here is like living in your own private national park. Views are of mountains, mesas, and boulders with miles of hiking and riding trails just out the door! Being at an elevation of 4200 ft (1.500 meters), the summers are cool (15 to 20 degrees cooler than Joshua Tree and 20 – 25 degrees than Palm Springs) and winter often brings a small dusting of snow, time to start a nice wood fire in our double fireplace...or to relax in the hot tub setup at 102 F (There is a $100 fee add to your reservation (or on security deposit)

The special attention to quality, design and comfort separates this home from all others in this area. In addition, we can also arrange guided hiking, horse riding, gold panning and antiquing tours.

We are approximately, 10 minutes to Old Town Yucca Valley, 15 minutes to the main entrance to Joshua Tree National Park, 45-50 minutes to Palm Springs, 60 minutes to winter time fun at Big Bear Ski Resort and just over two hours and half from Los Angeles and San Diego.

Please note that we reserve the right to deny rental to anyone, depending on our own family calendar.

During Spring Break, no one under 25 years old and ONLY 12 people are allowed to be present on the property at the same time with ID card shown at reservation AND at check-in. Security deposit for Spring Break is $1500 payable by check only at reservation and be refunded only if there is no damage or violation of any kind. All violation to this rules will immediately terminate the contract with same day eviction without any refund on rental or Security Deposit. CANCELLATIONS and REFUND POLICY –

A minimum of sixty (60) day notice is required for cancellation. Cancellations that are made more than sixty days prior to the arrival date will incur no penalty. Less than sixty days, a 50% deductible is applied. In special conditions (illness, flight cancellation, major weather forecast), we didn’t offer any refund, but re booking at another date. We generally issue any refund and security deposit between 4 and 6 weeks after a stay.

Whatever your passion might be, you will find inspiration at Calmada Private Resort: The NEW UPSCALE Place to BE!

More Details

Owner
Chris
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english, french
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
October 13, 2017

Why Chris chose Inland Empire

Formerly, Calmada was a ranch to raise buffalos for more than 20 years. Today, we're dedicated to create a upscale, luxury and peace full place to relax in the High Desert, judt in front of the new National Monument "Sand To Snow" dedicated on Feb.12th, 2016 by President Obama.

What makes this estate unique

The view on 360 degres from boulders to wash and from the Milky Way and shooting stars at night is just amazing...

Guestbook comments from the owner

First, your house is absolutely amazing! In some of the reviews I read, it says that the pictures don't do it justice, and I totally understand that now. It's so hard to capture the beauty of the landscaping around the pool, and the natural landscape of the boulders, joshua trees, and the hills behind the house. Wow, just wow! It was by far more beautiful than I could have hoped for. My friends and I have rented many houses over the years, and the comment kept getting made that this was by far the best house we have ever rented, and I completely agree.



The interior layout is so nice and functional. I loved that there was enough room for us all to share our meals together. I love that there are multiple places to gather and talk and multiple places to be outside.



It also made me smile to see the pictures in the bedroom hallway of the playa, Walter and the man and the others. It was a nice way to be welcomed with a little bit of "home." :-)



All in all, we had a fantastic weekend. Our brunch by Tony was perfect and was a great start to my birthday celebration. Tony was so nice and accommodating.



You have a fantastic home that feels like it is on a different planet. It's set up for enjoyment and relaxation. Thank you so much for sharing it with us! We definitely all agree that we will keep it in mind for future getaways.



Again, thank you so much for a lovely weekend and for opening your home to us. It was truly magical!
Sep 2017
  • 1 of 3

Map

Route 62 Arts & Antiques
"Really nice place with a lot of antiques booth. Prices $. Great owners."
Pappy & Harriet's Palace
Kimi Grill
Nearest Airport
8 Miles
Yucca Valley Airport
Nearest Barpub
5 Miles
Pappy's & Harriett
Nearest Golf
10 Miles
Yucca Valley
Nearest Train
30 Miles
Palm Springs
Nearest Motorway
30 Miles
10 Freeway
Nearest Restaurant
10 Miles
Yucca Valley
Nearest Ski
70 Miles
Bigbear Lake
Car: necessary

We are now in the middle of new National Monument "Sand To Snow" dedicated by the President Obama on Feb.12,2016.

We are just 5 minutes drive from Pappy's & Harriet, famous Restaurant, & Music best place in the Wild West.

Calmada Private Resort is in the middle of wilderness with lot of silence and full privacy on our own 40 acres...surrounded by 600 others private acres.

Welcome to Calmada Private Resort! Enjoy your stay...

Amenities

Pioneertown Estate Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • estate
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Included
Floor Area:
  • 4800 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 2:30 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 12:00 PM
  • Max. occupancy: 14
  • Max. adults: 14
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Not suitable for children
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only ...
  • All dishes need to be [placed in the diswasher or hand washed or a $100 will assessed to the security deposit.
  • All trash need to be placed in trash bags available under the grill in the kitchen.
  • NO Noise outside after 10:00PM or a $250 penalty will be assessed to the security deposit.
Location Type:
  • Golf Course View ...
  • Monument View ...
  • Mountain View
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Mobile Phone ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Wood Fireplace ...
  • Free Wifi
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 12 people
Bathrooms:
  • 6 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 4 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 6 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 5 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , jetted tub
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower
  • 6 bathroom + 1 outside hot shower and restrooms near the pool house.
Bedrooms:
  • 6 Bedrooms, Sleeps 14
  • Star - 1 king , Shower + jacuzzi. Non Smoking Room.
    Piaf Room - 1 queen , Shower - Non smoking room.
    Double C - 1 queen , Shower - Non Smoking room.
    Cocteau Room - 1 queen , Shower - Non smoking room
    Eiffel Suite - 1 king , Non Smoking Room
    Copelia Suite - 1 king , Non Smocking Room
    Den - Bar - Double air mattress available upon request. Non Smoking
  • King size bed: 4 - Queen size Beds: 2 sleep 12. + Air Bed: 1 Queen (on request at reservation and $50/night per add. person)
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Gazebo ...
  • Golf ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Porch / Veranda
  • 18 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Private Pool ...
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
  • Private Chef
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horseshoes
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • racquetball
  • rock climbing
  • swimming
Notes:
NO INSIDE or OUTSIDE FIREWORKS AT ANYTIME 24/7/365: POLICY STRICTLY ENFORCED IN THE AREA BY THE SHERIFF DPT. Any violation of this rule = Immediate Eviction from the property WITHOUT ANY REFUND on Security Deposit. For Special Event, photo-shoot, movie, seminar, wedding: ask us for a quote. NB: If it's appear than more than 12 people are on the property, an additional fee of $50 per person, per day, will be charged upon the security deposit. NO EXCEPTION. NO SMOKING INSIDE OR A $500 FINE WILL BE APPLIED. A house caretaker is living near the site and he his available in case of emergency. He will always respect your privacy; do the same...Thank You!

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(31 traveler reviews)

83% Complete
0% Complete
3% Complete
6% Complete
6% Complete
...Luxury, Exquisite and Affordable Gem Under the Stars in Pioneertown
average rating of 4.483871 based on 34 reviews
Palo Alto California
5

Amazing week end in the desert!

  • 5 of 5

If you are looking for a different setting, a peaceful environment among wildlife, cactuses and natural beauty, Calmada Private Resort is it! Of course everything is planned and organized by the amazing hosts Benoit & Cris whom are making sure that you are comfortable and happy! And Happy we were! We will be back soon to reconnect and enjoy top notch professionally prepared organic food.

  • Submitted: Aug 30, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your kindness Sophie!... You were amazing guests!... Hope we will see you back soon at Calmada Private Resort!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

À paradise in Californian desert !

  • 5 of 5

As a French lady I love a beautiful environment but also a good quality of service and a warm welcoming.

The team was gorgeous. The food fantastic with a French twist. And the house is fabulous. Very elegant and very design. Le place is just the place to be. The sunset behind the mountains is speechless. I hope come back as soon as possible. And I really thank Chris, Benoit and the team. I felt in my own home with my "best friends". See you soon

  • Submitted: Aug 30, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks so much Sandrine; we always love when our guests and friends are Happy...;-) C+B
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Many things broken- we had to fend for ourselves and they won't send us our deposit back

  • 1 of 5

Pretty place. Nice views. No one greeted us. No one explained how anything worked. Many lights not working, ceiling fans not working, broken glass in the oven that did not work, hot tub broken, pool dirty. They said they would provide Shampoo and conditioner for all 6 bedrooms. There was no shampoo no conditioner, ivory soap bars in the bathrooms, no hangers no closets, some bathrooms had a bad smell. Grill was filthy and has grease all over the outside. The hosts were NOT available and could NOT be reached. We finally heard from the chef and he kindly brought us shampoo and hangers . (This was a wedding event)

We specifically asked the host if these things were provided. There were bugs and a bee infestation by the front door area. The master bath tub was broken. The list could go on and on. Now more than 3 plus months later, they keep saying that they sent my deposit back and they have not!! I have called, emailed texted and begged. To date: no deposit back and only a text saying they sent it and would try again. It has not come and they won't reply to me.

I can't give a nice review. This has left me and 5 other couples a very bad experience. Please don't offer your property until you have integrity.

  • Submitted: Aug 29, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Sometimes, I definitively can't understand this kind of late and false review...posted 4 months after your stay!...as we have several proofs that we talked to you constantly and helped you with several details!...Wow... Yes, there is bees in the desert, and Yes the pool and jacuzzi were not open BEFORE May 30th (Read the contract!) If your comments makes you happy, good for you!... It's not a big deal as we have HUNDRED of happy customers... and BTW, your SD was sent back to you without any problem. CB
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful stay at a great property

  • 5 of 5

La Calmada is a beautiful property and the owners are great. Beautiful views, privacy, plenty of room to entertain. Couldn't have asked for a better experience, we'll be back for sure.

  • Submitted: Jun 9, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks! It's always rewarding to have such a great appreciation...
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
2

NOT near Palm Springs, poorly maintained

  • 2 of 5

The website says "30 minutes to Downtown Palm Springs" but it is closer to an hour if there is no traffic. Google Maps says 52 minutes but the last mile is on a rutted dirt road that has an optimistic speed limit of 15MPH. You have to slow to about 5MPH on certain sections so that adds about 5 minutes to the trip.

2 of the bedrooms appear to be converted from a garage - concrete floors and the doors go directly outside (they are not connected to the main house). Plus they had no hot water for the entire stay so the couples trying there had to go outside and then into the main house and borrow the shower from one of the other bedrooms. And even those showers lost hot water one day due to s stuck thermostat on the water heater.

This place is truly in the middle of nowhere so if that is what you want it is OK if you only use the 4 bedrooms in the main building.

Also, the owner is not reliable when issuing refunds and deposit returns. Others have complained about this so read all the reviews.

On the positive side, if you want a chef to go with your place James is very good and took care of everything for us. And the main house is very nice.

  • Submitted: Feb 22, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Next time, please read carefully our listing as we are 45' drive from golf courses located in Palm Springs! We already apologize for the inconvenience that you encounter and even offer you a full refund for those 2 rooms + a 20% discount on your next stay... Our listing is also very clear for the security deposit return...What else can we do...?
Did you find this review helpful?
7 1
5

Pam

  • 5 of 5

I rented this property for a family get together, my nieces wedding, not far away at "The Ruin". My family travelled from Ohio, and Virginia. Others came from D.C. and southern CA. The grooms family all the way from Australia! We were amazed driving out to Calmada, at the seclusion! It was a truly amazing weekend. The house is exceptional! The surrounding property awesome ! We were blessed with a super moon to turn this event into "unforgettable". I would return again in a heartbeat! Thank you Benoit for offering this gem for those fortunate enough to find it!

  • Submitted: Dec 3, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Liability Insurance $95
Property Damage Protection $99
Cleaning fee $190
Pet Fee $35
Refundable damage deposit $200
Trash Removal $100
Tax Rate 7.5%

Rental 2 nights minimum: 1-12 people: $1295/night (6 bedrooms) – Outside Trailer: 2 bedrooms: $395/night (no single rental) + $220 Cleaning fee + $120 trash haul fee + $ 89 liability insurance. 2 nights minimum. 4-night minimum on Holidays and events (Holiday fee applies) + CA lodging tax (7%) Pet Fees: ($35 per dog/per night)

Cancellation Policy: 50% (of full reservation) refund up to 30 days prior to arrival, less fees, less than 30 days: no refunds. Events and Holidays: 3 nights minimum (Thanksgiving - Christmas and New year evening): No Refunds. Refundable Security Deposit is returned, if no damage occurs, between 45 and 60 days after rental. Check in and Check out available upon request and availability at 10:00 a.m. and between noon and 4:00 p.m. Rates and Policies subject to change without notice. Late check out: $100.
Our property is located at the end of a trail. So, please respect one rule for your safety: SPEED LIMIT is 15 MPH!

Additional fees apply for large events: weddings, photo shooting, movie and parties above 12 people.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties