Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Downtown convention Center Zoo 4 minutes away studio Sleeps 3

Sleeps3
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Space 250 sq. ft.
Property type bungalow
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

Studio Apt. So Close To Balboa Park & Zoo & Downtown

Surrounded by tropical ambiance this cozy and charming studio is the perfect place to get away. Located in the heart of the old, unique and beautiful neighborhood of Golden Hill, this is a prime location for a visit to San Diego. Located on a side street there is ample, safe and free parking.

Within just a few blocks you have the choice of a plethora of delicious local eateries. Cook your own steak at the legendary Turf Club, enjoy Humberto’s famous carne asada fries, or have a stone oven pizza while enjoying the outdoor patio of Luigis.

Just 4 minutes away you can visit the baby panda’s at the zoo or take in a museum and a walk through beautiful Balboa Park. Head about 1 1/2 miles straight down Broadway into the lively downtown, Gaslamp or Little Italy, extremely convenient for Convention Center visits. If you are too tuckered after a busy day downtown, grab a bus as it drops you off just 1/2 block from the bungalow. Want to see a spectacular view of the San Diego bay? Hop on the ferry and cross the bay to Coronado for a day on the island. Golden Hill has easy access to all the major San Diego highways, making a trip to most San Diego beaches just 10-20 minutes away.

The bungalow is the perfect home away from home to return to after a funfilled day in San Diego. With granite countertops and stainless steal appliances, the kitchen provides all the amnemities needed to cook your own fish tacos! Pots, pans, cooking utensils, dishes are all provided. Sit under the avocado tree, and enjoy the dual BBQ and charcoal grill on the newly designed patio/lounge area while relaxing in our comfy lounge chairs. Beware of falling avocados! Grab them for some homemade guacamole!

Sit back on the couch and enjoy the flat screen tv with HDTV or hop on the internet with our free WiFi. Did your clothes get sandy at the beach? We have on site coin operated washers and dryers. For your convenience we have provided a change machine.

Each room is decorated with the comforts of home in mind. Sheets, towels and blankets are all provided as well as dish soap, toilet paper and paper towels.

Have pets? We are a pet friendly property and the yard provides a great romp and play area for your dog.

Your safety and peace are our priority and we provide 24hour video survellience for the extra layer of security.

More Details

Owner
Ron & Susan Oleson
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
July 22, 2017

About Ron & Susan Oleson

We travel the world so we know the importance of accommodations being clean, comfortable & convenient to local attractions. Owners are retired college professor & retired developer.

Ron & Susan Oleson purchased this bungalow in 1990

Why Ron & Susan Oleson chose San Diego

This studio is centrally located to major attractions in San Diego. Closeness of Convention Center, downtown, Gaslamp, and Balboa Park & Zoo is a major draw for tourists. We live close by to this property so we know first hand how convenient it is.

What makes this bungalow unique

The closeness to the airport makes it easy for travel days. The bus line on the corner insures easy access to great restaurants in the Gaslamp. Taxi fares are not expensive if you don't have a car. Uber is there and costs about $7 to downtown. Closeness to freeways insures quick access to beaches, whether it be Mission, La Jolla or Del Mar or across the bay to Coronado.

Amenities

Golden Hill Bungalow Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • bungalow
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 250 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 11:00 AM / Check-out: 4:00 PM
  • Max. occupancy: 3
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Free Wifi
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 2 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
  • Good size bathroom, shower has a bench and all new shower valves. (very nice)
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 3
  • Queen size Bed, sleeps 2.) Luxury mattress with fine quality bedding., (1) Ikea chair bed sleeps 1 (32'x 75'), Baby Cribs (1) high chair accommodates baby/toddler
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • duty free shops
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horseshoes
  • luaus
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • shuffleboard
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • racquetball
  • rock climbing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Just a very convenient location!

Reviews

Very Good! 4.2/5 -
(29 traveler reviews)

44% Complete
44% Complete
3% Complete
3% Complete
3% Complete
Downtown convention Center Zoo 4 minutes away studio Sleeps 3
average rating of 4.2413793 based on 29 reviews
2

The property is nice. The owner rent the apartmentung people who came at 2 am and make impossi

  • 2 of 5

You rent one of your apptmet to 6 guys .They came a 2 30 am . We can t sleep. Also on the wall there is a peace of paper that talk about " peace and tranquility. "

I m going home tomorrow at noon. I spect you take care of me or I will take care of this situaton.. Your grills are dirty, we.do not Cook for that reason.

Also went I try to leave a voice message, and you don't accept message. I going to try to sleep. If you are no to busy, can you call me

Thks for your cooperation

We spect some money back for your poor service

Also, in the kitchen smell gas

  • Submitted: May 1, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
Los Angeles
1

Owners not prompt with responses

  • 1 of 5

The response from the owner is poor. I did not get the final details for entrance into the property until I called both owners on the day we were due to come in - around 10 or 11 a.m. There was no apology, basically I was told it was VRBO fault I did not get the information sooner. Cannot review the property, we paid and never went - no response from owners when I emailed them a week before our stay.

  • Submitted: Apr 13, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
5

Small, cute, and clean perfect for our stay!

  • 5 of 5

Great apartment in an awesome location. Parking wasn't too much of a problem. We would totally stay here again.

  • Submitted: Apr 2, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1
4

Great location near public transport!

  • 4 of 5

Great location, small but confy. A bit noisy and lack of pots and pans, but aside from that we would.go back anytime.

  • Submitted: Dec 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
4

awesome stay

  • 4 of 5

nice place to stay

  • Submitted: Oct 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Tucson, Az
4

Perfect for location.

  • 4 of 5

We had a great time. The property was good. The A/C leaked when turned off. It could be cleaned a little better. Parking was difficult. It was so hard to find parking some times. The landscape needs to be kept up.

  • Submitted: Sep 26, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Map

Nearest Airport
5 Miles
Lindbergh Field
Nearest Barpub
0.25 Miles
Counterpoint, 4 blocks away
Nearest Ferry
1 Miles
Ferry to Coronado
Nearest Golf
0.25 Miles
Balboa Park Golf Course, less than a mile
Nearest Train
1 Miles
Downtown train station less than a mile
Nearest Motorway
0.25 Miles
Highway 5 North (3 blocks away)
Nearest Restaurant
0.25 Miles
Turfclub 4 blocks away
Nearest Ski
75 Miles
Big Bear
Nearest Beach
9 Miles
Mission Beach

San Diego Zoo is world famous & just 4 minutes away by car as is Balboa Park, and Balboa Park Golf Course. Closeness to freeways allows easy access to multiple beaches in area such as Mission, La Jolla, and Del Mar. Closeness to waterfront allows sightseeing of historical Midway aircraft carrier, & Sea of India, oldest & still operating merchant sailing ship. Also ferry to Coronado with historical Hotel Del Coronado & great beach.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Golden Hill Bungalow Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$79
$470
$1,896
 

Additional information about rental rates

cleaning fee $90
Pet Fee $25

All dates
$110 per day. Weekly rate is $700. Monthly rate is $2,300.
$110 per night $700 per week. Deposit of 25% required at booking & balance before occupancy..This includes additional maid fee of $60 .

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties