check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr

Adam Mains

Member since: 2012
Call Owner
Speaks: english

REUNION RETREAT -20 ACRES- Book Online (VISA/Discover/MasterCard)

16 Reviews
Sleeps12
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Kendallville House Rental Photos and Description

3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths (Sleeps 10-12)

This beautiful home located in the Sylvan Lake area sits on twenty wildlife-filled acres in the middle of Noble County Indiana. Enjoy your days with relaxing walks on our many trails. We have a beautiful and spacious outdoor porch that your family can enjoy. Our home is perfect for anyone who needs privacy and quiet time to reconnect with those things that are most important in life. We have hosted business and church retreats, family reunions, and romantic getaways.

Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Adam Mains (Owner)
Member since: 2012
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About Adam Mains

We have been married for sixteen years. Since high school, we dreamed of owning our own home. That dream became a reality in 1998. We have entered a stage in our life in which we want to give back. We have been praying that we can use this home for a great purpose. It is our hope that this home will not only be rented by people who need to 'get away from it all', but also for men's and women's spiritual retreats. This home is perfect for that! We are now working in the mission field and we now want to share our home for others to enjoy!

Adam Mains purchased this house in 1998

Why Adam Mains chose Indiana

Our family has lived in Noble County since the 1840's. It is only natural for us to be in the middle of it!

What makes this house unique

We have owned this 'Fortress of Solitude' for fourteen years. God has really blessed us with a place where one can enjoy the majesty of nature. This home is centrally located to many wonderful attractions. Each Memorial and Labor day, music lovers come from all over to the Tri-State Bluegrass Festival. In October, the cool autumn weather brings us the Kendallville Apple Festival. This highly celebrated event is a draw for thousands of people who are seeking delicious treats and handmade crafts. Also, a short ten minute drive will put you in the heart of Amish country. Shipshewana is not too far away (25 miles). This mecca for Amish culture enthusiast is home to one of Indiana's largest flea markets, and many wonderful restaurants. But most importantly, it is our desire to provide you with a home that will bring you a time of joy and peace!

Reviews

4.8
based on 16 traveler reviews

REUNION RETREAT -20 ACRES- Book Online (VISA/Discover/MasterCard)
average rating of 4.75 based on 16 reviews
5

Beautiful property, accommodating house, the property owner was easy to work with

  • 5 of 5

I rented the house for a reunion of some friends who had moved across the midwest. The location of the property was 2.5 hours away from everyone (coming from East/West Michigan and Ohio) so it was convenient for everyone in our group. The house was very spacious and slept our group of 8 very comfortably. There was air conditioning in every bedroom, a large table where we could eat, and a lot of room outdoors for us to play games. The immediate area surrounding the property has a lot of farmland, but there are a few different restaurants and shops about 5 minutes away (we made a few trips to the local Kroger). We also took a trip to Fort Wayne to play a little bit of Disc Golf on Saturday.

Overall, our stay was hassle-free and fun. Adam was a pleasure to work with. I would recommend staying here to anyone who is interested.

  • Submitted: Jul 26, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Nice spot

  • 3 of 5

It was a good house for my friends and I to get away to. Very well maintained property and home, and with all the beds it accommodated everyone quite well.

The only hang up we had was the refrigerator working poorly. The freezer didn't freeze and the refrigerator didn't cool our food and drinks. I realize this could be because the owner had just turned it on for the summer months. I'm not sure.

I should also mention the place is conveniently close to a store and the lake. The owner was also very kind and responsive to any questions we had over the weekend.

  • Submitted: Jun 8, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are glad you enjoyed your stay. It is always nice to spend time with friends. The refrigerator is only two years old and are sorry it was not working properly. We will look into it. After having looked into it, we determined that the refrigerator had an electrical control issue. We replaced the unit with a brand new Frigidaire 18 cubic foot model this morning. Thanks again for staying at our home!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great spot for a ladies weekend!

  • 5 of 5

Recently my group of friends stayed here for a ladies weekend. There were 11 of us on the trip and the house was perfect for us. There was plenty of space that we didn't feel crowded, and it was great to have actual beds for all, no sleeper sofas. I think one of my favorite things was the dining room table being large enough we could all sit at the same time! We have rented several other houses over the years, but this is the first to have a table that seats as many people as the house sleeps. Great for meals together and playing games!

House and property were both just as promoted. Great location if you are looking for a quiet area with beautiful surroundings.

Small local town, but has everything you need.

Adam was good to work with. Replied to all questions and left clear instructions.

I would recommend this property for any large family or group of friends wanting to have a place to relax.

  • Submitted: Nov 11, 2015
  • Stayed: Nov 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Fantastic Getaway

  • 5 of 5

Had my friends together at Adam's cottage for a golf weekend. A wonderful place overall, and would highly recommend for anyone hosting a large gathering of family or friends!

  • Submitted: Aug 31, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Family reunion

  • 4 of 5

My and my brother's families spent an extended weekend at this property. We had a wonderful time. The house was well equipped and very kid friendly. This house is very close to outdoor activities and needed shopping for supplies, etc. We especially enjoyed the frog pond and fire ring!

  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

A Relaxing Weekend

  • 5 of 5

We were looking for a place to stay for a long weekend to get away with family. We found it. The home was ideal for our group. We all enjoyed the large front porch for family meals; the open area for outdoor games; the fire pit for s'mores the fully equipped kitchen and the large tables inside for games at night. The children loved the toy closet and cubby inside as well as the sandbox outside. The home was very clean and offered a lot of character and space. We took advantage of area offerings at an animal park, local farm tours, a bison ranch and a state park.

  • Submitted: Jun 21, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Car: necessary

Photos

Rates & Availability

Kendallville House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$300
$1,250
$3,000
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $350
Cleaning Fee $50 + Tax
Tax Rate 7.0%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 90 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Kendallville House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Gas Fireplace ...
  • Heating
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 2
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Queen size Beds (1), Full Beds (1), Twin Beds (8),
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Television
Outside:
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • churches
  • library
  • playground
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • horseshoes
  • shuffleboard
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • racquetball
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
Massive oak dining room table- great for retreats! Solid hardwood floors throughout home. Many wildlife (Deer, rabbits, turkeys, etc.) filled trails. Many species of birds. Fire ring. Ornamental pond. Enormous naturally landscaped sandbox- The children love it! Hydronic heating system- very comfortable! The property has many hills and natural features. It is great for snowshoeing and cross-country skiing. WE ACCEPT VISA, MASTERCARD, AND DISCOVER (EARN CASH BACK WHEN YOU STAY WITH US!)

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties