Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Restored Character - Downtown Heritage district

Sleeps2
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Space 650 sq. ft.
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 1 - 3 nights

Overview

About the property

Apartment, 1 Bedroom + Convertible Bed(s), 1 Bath (Sleeps 2)

Built in 1894 by Captain J A Carew, who came in off the sea to settle in Vernon. Captain Carew was the mayor in Vernon in the late 1800's and built this home with love for his family. Featuring 12 foot ceilings and charming 14 inch baseboard, this suite has been updated with modern conveniences, such as air conditioning, with an eye to maintaining the original spirit of the suite. The yard area features generous parking, lighted water feature, arbour and BBQ area and horse shoe pits for those outdoor evenings.


Owner
Maryann
Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
March 29, 2017

About Maryann

I have been working on this property over the last 5 years, taking my time to lovingly restore what I could and replace what was necessary to make it luxurious

Maryann purchased this apartment in 2008

Why Maryann chose Okanagan Valley

I fell in love with this property when I first saw it and when I stay in it, I feel the positive energy of the families that have made it their home over the last 118 years

What makes this apartment unique

Travel back in time, play a little horseshoe, sit by the lilac bushes or relax in the generous rooms - walk everywhere to shop, dine or see a movie.

Amenities

Vernon Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 650 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 2
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 1
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 2
  • Queen size Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (1) pul out ottoman
Entertainment:
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Gazebo ...
  • Outdoor Grill
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • water parks
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing

Reviews

3.3/5 -
(6 traveler reviews)

Restored Character - Downtown Heritage district
average rating of 3.3333333 based on 6 reviews
2

Has issues

  • 2 of 5

I don't think this property should be listed as a romantic getaway. The sewer pipe runs though the bedroom and every time the two units above you use the water you get to hear a water feature. The house is probably not insulated and very drafty if the three heaters are not running the apartment is very cold. The heaters are very loud which is probably a good thing because it drowns out the neighbors noise. There is also the electrical code violation at the service panel (unsafe). So if you want a romantic getaway bring you woolies, down booties, ear plugs and have a good time.

  • Submitted: Jan 12, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Number one - there is no record of you booking on this site. Secondly there is no electric panel violation, the house is completely rewired in 2010 to modern standards Thirdly the house has foam insulation in all outer walls, which is superior to fiberglass, done in 2010 Fourth the apartment has modern Heat - cool wall mount system which is extremely quiet Fifth - This property was built in 1895 as stated and some creaks and noise transference is inevitable as floors are hardwood
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Fantasic place to stay! Great value and location! Clean, convenient and affordable!

  • 5 of 5

The Carew House is centrally located, within walking distance to downtown Vernon (shops, restaurants, pubs, etc.) and within a 10 minute drive to grocery stores, Wal-Mart, the beach, and more! Maryann was a great host. My husband and I visited in July and then unexpectedly again in August due to a death in the family, and she was very accommodating at my last minute requests (including a hairdryer, a suite on the main floor, an iron, etc.!) The property is quiet, beautiful and a great value for your money. This place is really a hidden gem - I wont stay anywhere else in Vernon, now that I have experienced The Carew House!

  • Submitted: Sep 11, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Do not be fooled

  • 1 of 5

I was originally booked into one of the suites that was apparently renovated. Upon my arrival, I discovered that I could see through the floor boards to the suite below where I could see all the drywall chunks that had not been cleaned up. There was also drywall dust all over the place. I immediately called to ask if I could also be away from the traffic noise. The owner then attempted me to put me in the attic of the house where again there was a lot of drywall dust which I did not see originally. I then asked for my money back and decided to stay elsewhere. DO NOT BE FOOLED.

  • Submitted: Aug 9, 2015
  • Stayed: Apr 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: This person did not stay at Carew house. There was a little dust from renovation and her concerns were addressed right away. And her money refunded Since her arrival was April and she is going out of her way to post this review in August one wonders at why
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Saskatchewan, Canada
4

Good location & value

  • 4 of 5

This home is in a very convenient location in Vernon. The unit we stayed in was very clean and updated. It is equipped with the minimum essentials but is still very good value. The unit we stayed in has no closets or place to hang clothes. No blow dryer or iron. The owner is very good at following up with questions. We had an issue with the heat the evening we arrived and she responded to our call immediately. We would certainly consider this home again.

  • Submitted: Oct 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your response Mickey, I will make sure your comments are addressed by providing those items. This is a new suite and sometimes it is not obvious unless you have stayed somewhere what things are lacking - like closet for hanging clothers. There are closets but not coat closet - I have found an armoire for the bedroom to address this
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
canada
3

Comfortable accommodation in convenient Location

  • 3 of 5

The apartment is nicely furnished and well presented and is in a really good location for downtown and the ski hill. It's definitely good value for the space and privacy that you have.

The photos shown are not the actual apartment we stayed in, but it is of a similar quality.

This was a last minute booking and Maryann was helpful throughout the booking process.

However, we specifically booked this apartment to save money on food costs and were extremely disappointed to find the kitchen was not equipt with any pots or pans. We felt this should have been specified in the listing as we ended up spending extra money on groceries and eating out.

  • Submitted: Mar 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: All suites are equipped with pots and pans, cutlery, dishes and even wine glasses. I am not sure why the pots and pans were missing but a text or a call would have solved the issue within an hour. Because we have multiple suites, we could have borrowed from another if we were unable to find a store open to solve the problem.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
Vancouver and Paris
5

Last minute Christmas booking

  • 5 of 5

Truly an executive suite at a budget travelers price. We have been around the world and stayed in all sorts of places. Dollar per dollar the unit we stayed in is worth three times as we payed. Walk in, feel at home and be impressed.

  • Submitted: Dec 25, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
60 Kilometres
Kelowna International Airport
Nearest Barpub
0.5 Kilometres
Monashees
Nearest Golf
3 Kilometres
Vernon Golf and Country Club
Nearest Motorway
0.5 Kilometres
Highway 1A
Nearest Restaurant
0.5 Kilometres
Crush Bistro
Nearest Ski
20 Kilometres
Silverstar Mountain
Nearest Beach
3 Kilometres
Okanagan Lake
Car: recommended

Stroll from your lush garden area past the historic sandstone courthouse into the restored original Vernon shopping district where you will find charming coffee houses, bistros, wine tasting and shopping of every kind.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Vernon Apartment Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
CAD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
summer2017
Apr 14 2017 - Sep 15 2017
1 night minimum stay
$81
$529
$1,102
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$73
$496
$1,102
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $73.45
Pet Fee $36.72
Cleaning Fee $55.09 + Tax
Tax Rate 5.0%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.

Enter dates for accurate pricing

Send Email Send Email
Available
Unavailable