check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Adorable Alberta Arts Bungalow

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview


Details
Property
house
Sleeps
6
Bedrooms
2
Bathrooms
1
Half Baths
1
Minimum Stay
2 nights

Description

Northeast Portland House Rental Photos and Description

2 bedroom 1.5 bathroom - quiet street but near lively areas!

Fall in love with Portland in our cute, clean, and newly renovated 1925 Craftsman bungalow in close-in NE. Full of art, books, and plants, the house has an open floor plan, providing a nice “flow” and abundant natural light. The location is superb - with a walk score of 86, it's a short walk to shopping, lively nightlife and restaurants, and several lovely parks. The area is extremely bike friendly (the house is situated near the junction of two major bike routes) a there is an affordable bike rental nearby.

ABOUT THE HOUSE:

-2 bedrooms w/ additional sleeping nooks (inquire with owner)

-1.5 baths

-Newly remodeled modern kitchen features deep sink, breakfast bar, oven/range top, refrigerator/freezer, toaster oven, dishwasher, and all the dishes and cookware you’ll need

-Large variety of books available for you to enjoy during your stay

-Large fenced backyard with large garden and furnished back patio area (including grill)

-Kid friendly, with plenty of toys and kids’ books (crib available upon request)

-Free WIFI

-Washer/Dryer

-Backyard berry bushes and vegetable garden (seasonal)

ABOUT THE AREA:

-Quiet, tree-lined street in sweet neighborhood with older homes and lovely gardens, but close to everything!

-Perfect location for experiencing the vibrant Alberta St., Mississippi St., Williams St. and Dekum triangle areas

-3 blocks from direct bus lines to downtown, convention center, train station, etc.

-10 min drive from airport

-10-15 minute bike ride to downtown along easy bike paths

-3 blocks from Safeway grocery store, 10 blocks from natural food co-operative, 1 mile from New Seasons

-5 blocks from Post office

-12 blocks to farmers market (May to November)

-Driveway and plenty of street parking in front of the house

-Zipcar rental nearby

NEARBY RESTAURANTS/CAFES (WITHIN A 20-MINUTE WALK)

-Podnah’s Pit BBQ

-The Tin Shed Cafe

-Fuel Café

-Various food carts on Alberta St.

-The Bye and Bye

-Alberta St. Public House (feat. live music nightly)

-The Radio Room

-The Firehouse Restaurant

-Breakside Brewery

-Good Neighbor Pizza

-Woodlawn Coffee House

-Beast

-Autentica

-Cup and Saucer Café

-Yakuza

-Cocotte

-DOC

-Café Eleven

-Amigo’s Produce

-Old Town Pizza

-Horn of Africa

(Many other excellent Portland restaurants - such as Ciao Vito, Pine State, Del Inti, Bernie's, Branch Whiskey Bar, La Bonita, Bella Faccia, Eat, Lincoln, Tasty and Sons, and more - are a short bike ride away)

INCLUDED IN NIGHTLY RATE*:

-Towels and linens

-Organic teas and coffee

-WIFI and all utilities

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only

Property Manager
Amanda Kolker
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english, french, spanish, portuguese
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
80%
Calendar last updated:
November 20, 2016

About Amanda Kolker

Sebastien and Amanda adore Portland but have temporarily moved to France. Amanda’s mother Karin lives nearby and is the acting property manager. Karin will provide the keys and is your local contact. She is happy to answer any questions you may have (before 8 pm please!) and give recommendations, orientation, etc. Additionally, Amanda and Sebastien will be available by email, and we provide an ample collection of maps and information on things to do and see in Portland and greater Oregon.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(38 traveler reviews)

Adorable Alberta Arts Bungalow
average rating of 4.394737 based on 38 reviews
Portland
5

The best place I've stayed yet in Portland!

  • 5 of 5

Our family had a WONDERFUL stay at this house. We are Portlanders who were living away for a couple of years, and were in search of a vacation rental over the holidays. We were greeted by the owners mother, who made us feel right at home - she even brought our children a little gift while she was out shopping one of the days! The house was impeccably clean and beautifully decorated in a classic Portland style. We have two children, and the downstairs area was just perfect for them with books and toys and a cute back bedroom. We were able to entertain friends in the main room comfortably, everything about our stay was great. I would HIGHLY recommend this vacation home!

  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
5

Highly recommended !

  • 5 of 5

We had a great month here, it was the perfect place for our newborn and his brother to be gathered with their american and french families.

very well suited for kids, Karin and Amanda were also a wonderful hosts.

close to everything, nice neighborhood.

  • Submitted: Oct 16, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
San Diego
5

Awesome, tidy, roomy, felt like home!

  • 5 of 5

So easy to get in and out and it felt just like home. Everything we needed was there, plus an added bonus of some croissants!!

There were 2 couples staying there and there was more than enough room for us. I would stay again. Also, neighborhood was nice and plenty to do within 10 minutes walking - parks, grocery stores and restaurants!

Thanks!!

  • Submitted: Sep 30, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Cute, Quiet and Quaint

  • 5 of 5

We had a great stay. We were met right on time with instructions and keys for our stay and before and after communication was perfect. The fresh orange juice, coffee, pastries and flowers were a nice touch. The location was close to all, neighbors were quiet and by the way, the weather was beautiful. I can’t remember if the description mentioned the fact that there was no TV but we were fine since we were so busy and neither of us are big TV watchers. The home was full of some amazing books.

Thank you for your hospitality. 

  • Submitted: Sep 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Central Location in Slowly Gentrifying Neighborhood

  • 2 of 5

We are former owners (10 years) of a vacation rental and take reviews very seriously. I was going to just give the review title with no explanation, but was told by friends that they need an honest review when looking for a rental.

Communication with the owner after 1st night:

No box grater for grating cheese?

Rusty whisk in the utensil drawer?

Lamp shade in bedroom broken at the top, with a jagged glass edge.

Unusable grill: the grate is very rusted out and needs replacement. We looked all over, and found no grill cleaning brush or grilling utensils.

Pillows are flat as pancakes and definitely need frequent replacing.

Where can we find the patio umbrella, as shown in website photo to shield ourselves from the sun?

Hair dryer missing.

As advertised in the property description, one of the specifics in our renting the house was the two full baths. However, the pipe in the downstairs shower is capped off, as not to be used in the time we are at the house, correct?

RE: Owner response to the two full baths that we paid for: "I must mention I am dismayed with this situation, as we have had almost all happy guests. If you continue to be dissatisfied with our home, we can discuss the possibility of offering you a partial refund if you would like to find another place to stay." Seriously....a partial refund to find new accommodations at the height of summer tourist season in Portland. Unacceptable!!!

RE: Owner response to pillows that were not only ALL flat, but ALL terribly stained with perspiration. These should be checked throughout the season and replaced, as necessary: Pillows: I am surprised because we replaced 4 pillows in the house during our visit last summer. If the pillows on the bed you are sleeping on (assuming it's the master?) are uncomfortable, feel free to exchange them with others (downstairs, or 2 in the linen closet on at the top shelf, etc.)

Patio umbrella was locked in shed. It was taken out, put in the table, but we would be responsible for taking it in if it rained.

Lamp shade never replaced.

Washing machine left clothes stained.

Rusty whisk/hairdryer/grill equipment/ant problem addressed.

Hopefully all pillows have been replaced. Walmart sells pillows for $5.99!

Owner had us over a barrel for the 15 day stay, and requested FULL PAYMENT at time of booking. Rental money must be put into a property, not just taken out!

  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are sorry that the guest continued to be dissatisfied despite our immediate efforts to replace items requested (box grater, whisk, grill and accessories, hair dryer - all replaced on day 2 of this guests' arrival). As far as the patio umbrella, it is available to guests during the summer season. It is kept in storage during the rainy season as the constant Portland rain damages it. We made it available to this party during their stay, however they were upset when we asked that they remove it in the rain. We will consider purchasing a new one if this continues to be an issue (has never been a problem so far). As far as the downstairs shower goes, we have updated our page to show that our home has one full bath and one half bath. Unfortunately this guest booked 6 months prior to arrival, at which time 2 full baths were still listed on the rental. The change happened one month prior to the guests' arrival, which was an unfortunate misunderstanding that led me to offer a refund should the guest choose to vacate the property (the guest did not). Future renters please note that the house has 1.5 baths until further notice (as listed). Pillows have been replaced. As far as the washing machine leaving "stains" on clothing, this is the first we've heard of this and we will certainly look into that!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful place!

  • 5 of 5

This was the perfect place for our trip to Portland. It's in a quiet area and walking distance to just about anything you'd need. We loved the original feel of the house and will certainly try to secure it again for our next trip to Portland.

  • Submitted: May 31, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
6.4 Miles
Pdx International
Nearest Barpub
0.5 Miles
Alberta St. Public House
Nearest Train
3.7 Miles
Pdx Amtrak
Nearest Motorway
0.7 Miles
I-5
Nearest Ski
56 Miles
Mt. Hood
Nearest Beach
16.4 Miles
Sandy river (Lewis and Clark Park)
Car: not necessary

Rates & Availability

Northeast Portland House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$150
From
$175
Fri,Sat
$950
$2,900
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $100
Cleaning fee $75 + Tax
Tax Rate 12.5%

Manager's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Northeast Portland House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , In basement
  • 2
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double
    Den - 1 double , Double futon - very good quality and comfortable!
    Basement - 2 twin/ single , Basement bedroom - has private bathroom
  • Queen size Beds (1), Double Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (2), Baby Cribs (1) 'Pack and play' portable crib available upon request, Sleep Sofa or Futons (1)
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Stereo
  • Toys ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • shopping
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • laundromat

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties