check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Cindy Mullen

Member since: 2012
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Perfect for a Secluded Getaway

33 Reviews
Sleeps2
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Rockbridge Baths Cottage Rental Photos and Description

Cottage, 1 Bedroom + Loft, 1 Bath (Sleeps 2)

Come stay in our cozy timber framed guesthouse for a peaceful, serene getaway. The cottage has a large porch that wraps around 2 sides. Two comfy rockers are ideal to enjoy the natural surroundings and abundant wildlife.

We are located on 38 acres off a dirt road and are secluded, yet easily accessible to town. Lexington is a 12 minute drive and Goshen Pass is 15 minutes away for great fly-fishing and other outdoor recreational opportunities.

If you are looking for quiet simplicity or a romantic getaway then this is the place.

The living area has two leather recliners in front of a wood stove (firewood provided if you want to use the stove), a perfect setting for reading and conversation. We have books by local authors and a small collection of art by locals as well.

The kitchen has a small refrigerator, stove, and microwave. There is a table and chairs for meals. The cupboard is stocked with dishes, silverware, glasses, coffee press pot, and a few other pots and pans. Heat and A/C are provided using a wall mounted unit that you control with a remote controller.

The bedroom has a queen bed and the small bathroom has a shower stall, no tub. Linens and towels are provided. There is additional electric baseboard heat in the bedroom and bath.

The loft has a small sofa, table, lamps, and chair. There is also a queen size air mattress for use by those over the age of 10.

There are ceiling fans on the porch and in the living area and bedroom as well.

There is a small washer and dryer for your use in the basement (outside access).

There is no Wi-Fi, TV, or phone service to get in the way of your solitude, but your cell phone will work if you need it.

No pets. No smoking.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • alternative lifestyle
  • non smoking only
  • not suitable for children
  • pets not allowed
Cindy Mullen (Owner)
Member since: 2012
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About Cindy Mullen

My husband and I came to Lexington 23 years ago. He is a Civil Engineering professor at VMI and I am a self-employed bookkeeper. He is a VMI grad as well so this place is home.

Why Cindy Mullen chose Virginia

I love life in these mountains. So not the rat race of a big city. Slow pace of life.

What makes this cottage unique

We share the peace and quiet with abundant wildlife. There are only 8 families that live on our dirt road so we have very little traffic. We see deer and turkeys on a regular basis.

My husband spent his Christmas vacation painting me 4 barn quilts that are now on 3 of our buildings. They are so bright and pretty.

Guestbook comments from the owner

We just want to take a moment and thank you for helping make our vacation time so much fun. The cottage was perfect ... a really delightful place to stay, and your help and information when we needed it made our visit even more delightful. We hope we can come back some time when the weather is cold.
Jun 2014
  • 1 of 1

Reviews

4.9
based on 33 traveler reviews

Perfect for a Secluded Getaway
average rating of 4.939394 based on 34 reviews
5

Perfect!!

  • 5 of 5

The cabin and surrounding property are beautiful!! Nice drive through beautiful mountain scenery to get to the cabin. There were plenty of dishes, utensils, pots and pans. The bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was a good size. All linens were provided, extra pillows and towels. The Mullens were excellent hosts!! We would definitely stay here again!!!

  • Submitted: May 20, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so glad we could accommodate all of you for Michaela's VMI graduation week. We hope you'll stay in touch.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Our Stay

  • 5 of 5

This was a perfect place for a one night getaway. We came up to see a VMI football game and see our son. Our adult daughter tagged along and the loft was a perfect place for her to sleep. Very well-stocked, clean and cozy. Wish we could have stayed longer to hang out on the porch and read a good book.

  • Submitted: Oct 19, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so glad you had a good Lexington visit. Now that you know we here please come on back.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Muncie, Indiana
5

SECLUDED GETAWAY

  • 5 of 5

Hoping we can go back in the future. Great overall trip and the guest house was the greatest!!! Loved being secluded from all of the hustle and bustle. Cindy greeted us and was very helpful of any needs that we had............which was almost zero. She had thought of everything and had my favorite flowers, daisies, thru out the house.

  • Submitted: Oct 19, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are happiest when our guests are happy, so thanks! Come on back.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Forest Hill
4

Very nice, cozy, and private retreat. Would go again.

  • 4 of 5

Very nice, cozy, and private retreat. Would go again.

  • Submitted: Oct 8, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Springfield OH
5

A Little Bit of Heaven on Earth

  • 5 of 5

Loved the porch, nature sounds, the incredible star-scape, the seclusion. Cindy welcomed us, with fresh flowers in hand, and got us oriented to Lexington and the W&L campus, where we were spending much of our days. This is a perfect retreat for two introverts with books. Always looked forward to the porch at the beginning and end of the day. The whole guest house experience was wonderful.

  • Submitted: Sep 16, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Already booked another stay!

  • 5 of 5

We enjoyed our trip so much that we booked another stay the day we returned home!

The guest house was gorgeous and the surroundings were beautiful as well. Cindy is very accommodating and made us feel welcomed. Every detail in the house was cared for - from the fresh flowers on the table, the equipped kitchen, to the cozy living space and beautiful porch. We spent our days hiking in GWNF & Douthat and found that this was the perfect home-base for our trip. We truly had a wonderful experience and look forward to returning soon!

  • Submitted: Jul 5, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
50 Miles
Roanoke
Nearest Barpub
8 Miles
Lexington
Nearest Motorway
2 Miles
I-64
Nearest Restaurant
8 Miles
Lexington
Car: necessary

Close to VMI, W&L, VA Horse Center, Goshen Pass, Natural Bridge, and the Blue Ridge Parkway.

Staunton is 30 minutes away. Charlottesville is 1 hour away. Roanoke is 1 hour away. All by interstate.

We have added 4 barn quilts to some of our outbuildings.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Rockbridge Baths Cottage Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
My Standard Rate
1 night minimum stay
$125
From
$150
Fri,Sat
$805
$2,800
 

Additional information about rental rates

Tax Rate 12.3%

Rates are subject to change until reservation is confirmed.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Rockbridge Baths Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1014 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Mobile Phone ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 3 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 2
  • Bedroom - 1 queen
    Loft - We have a queen air mattress in the loft.
  • A bright quilt and local art complete the decor in the bedroom.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • alternative lifestyle
  • non smoking only
  • not suitable for children ...
  • pets not allowed
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
Notes:
peace and quiet

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties