check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Bob Kemper

Member since: 2012
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Beautiful, Fully Restored Victorian 3+2

68 Reviews
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Glenwood Springs House Rental Photos and Description

Heart of Glenwood Springs, Walking Distance to All

This pristine, restored 1890's Victorian home of over 2,000 sq. ft. has all the amenities, from classic 'period' furniture to the most modern of appliances and systems. Master suite encompasses the whole 2'nd story with sitting area, walk-in closet, private bath and deck.

The first floor offers a formal living room, dining room, breakfast nook, guest bedroom and an office/bedroom. Kitchen boasts granite counter tops, all the necessary built in appliances and utensils for luxurious, everyday living and dining.

State of the art stereo system with individual room speakers and controls allow you to create the perfect atmosphere for any season or occasion. HD flat screen and surround sound system in the family room are just one of many spaces for R&R in the home.

Located within a couple blocks of the Roaring Fork and Colorado Rivers, trout fishing, rafting and kayaking are within easy reach. Want to ski? You're only 20 minutes to Sunlight, 45 minutes to Aspen's four ski areas.

Or, soak in the Glenwood Hot Springs, four blocks from home. Golf? Numerous fabulous courses within minutes. Biking? There's fabulous world class mountain biking in the immediate area, or take a leisurely ride on the scenic bike baths that run through the Glenwood Canyon into Glenwood Springs, then on to Aspen.

Three, off-street parking spaces, a rarity in Glenwood, adjoin the rear of the home.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Bob Kemper (Owner)
Member since: 2012
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About Bob Kemper

Returning to the Roaring Fork Valley after years of CA living. Wanted a second home I loved and could share with others.

Bob Kemper purchased this house in 2012

Why Bob Kemper chose Northwest Colorado

Love at first sight. Beautifully restored by the owners of 30+ years and clearly one of the most authentic and tastefully decorated homes of its type in the area. Incredible downtown Glenwood location, walking distance to everything. Striking distance to Aspen for year-round activities, golf courses galore, and blocks to the world class fishing the Colorado and Roaring Fork Rivers.

What makes this house unique

Location, location, location! Not to mention, pure class and comfort.

Reviews

4.9
based on 68 traveler reviews

Beautiful, Fully Restored Victorian 3+2
average rating of 4.9411764 based on 68 reviews
5

The house is very well maintained, clean and well stocked, everything you need is there.

  • 5 of 5

We really enjoyed our stay. The kitchen is extremely well supplied, everything you need to make a meal is there. The beds were all quite comfortable, and the baths were clean and well kept. We enjoyed sitting out on the front porch very much, was a peaceful place to end our days with a glass of wine and some snacks. The shopping/restaurant areas were in easy walking distance, even for my 82 year old mother! The owner was very responsive and helpful, a real pleasure to work with.

  • Submitted: Aug 27, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

We used this house for our family reunion of 30 folks

  • 5 of 5

The mat at the front door summed up our experience ... welcome. The location of the house was close to the downtown area and provided easy access to shops and also to our 30 family members who stayed at other locations in Glenwood Springs. Every night we all gathered outside in the spacious area for our al fresco dinners. We brought several 6' tables and extra chairs for the meals and the kids had a nice grassy area to play in after dinner. During the day, the younger crowd took advantage of the 'adventure' attractions around Glenwood Springs while the older members enjoyed the amenities of this Victorian house and downtown area. I received many compliments from family members about their enjoyment of the house and grounds. The owner was tops in his treatment of our stay; I recommend this rental for folks coming to GWS.

  • Submitted: Aug 2, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

This is a great house anda great location

  • 5 of 5

This place is fantastic. The property is well maintained and the kitchen appears to be well stocked. We were in Glenwood Springs for a family reunion and the planned events didn't allow for me to take advantage of the kitchen. The front porch is a dream. It's a covered porch and there's a big table for 6. We spent the majority of our time on the porch when we were at the house watching the world go by.

The entire upstairs is the master suite. It's Victorian in style and has an attached deck. The bathroom is gorgeous. It was too hot upstairs for me to sleep so I gave it to my son. I took the much cooler downstairs bedroom.

The location can't be beat. It's within walking distance of the pool and the restaurants and bars. I parked my car and didn't move it again until we packed up to leave.

There's plenty of parking on the street and behind the house.

Next door to the house is the Frontier Museum. We met the docent and a volunteer when they saw us sitting on the porch. They asked to tour our house and in exchange, they gave us free entrance to the museum. They've got some neat things in there, including the saddle President Theodore Roosevelt rode when he was in the region.

We had one hiccup. When I arrived at the house the key wasn't in the lock box. I hesitantly called the homeowner (who I knew was in the hospital recovering from major surgery) to ask him what I should do. Surprisingly, he answered the phone and immediately took care of the situation. He called the housekeeper and she sent her daughter over with a key. Since I had a cooler with beverages, I sat on the delightful porch and drank a cold beer while I waited about 10 minutes for the key to show up. Great customer service. Thank you Bob.

I would absolutely book this place again.

  • Submitted: Aug 2, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

3rd great stay

  • 5 of 5

This is an ideal place for couples or families. Location is one block from Main Street Grand avenue. We walk or bike easily to restaurants, hot springs pool, amusement park and to river. My husband and I enjoy running trail along the river which is only a 5 min walk from the house. The kitchen had everything you could want and the washer and dryer are full sized. This is our 3rd summer season to this property because it is conveniently located and appointed. We rent 3-4 weeks each summer because we like it so much. This is our "home" in Glenwood. We will be back again next summer. Our teens love this town and even though they will be college students they would come back instead of spend summer with their friends. Teen praise is hard to come by. My husband and I are seriously thinking of semi-retiring in this town. It is a great property in "Mayberry" if you are old enough to remember the reference. Thanks Bob for being such a great host!

  • Submitted: Jul 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Amazing Home and Great Owner

  • 5 of 5

The home was amazing and the owner was very easy to deal with. Great communication as well. I was very impressed with the layout, and with what the owner Bob had done with the home renovation wise. Kitchen was fully stocked, and up to date with all the latest appliances. The location was also nice in that you could walk anywhere you wanted to go. Quiet neighborhood as well. Will definitely look at going back again in the next couple years. Bob it was a pleasure dealing with you, and thank you for letting my family and I enjoy your home.

  • Submitted: Jun 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Graduation

  • 5 of 5

Hello all,

I had the wonderful opportunity to stay in this beautiful home, just blocks away from downtown Glenwood Springs. My family and I gathered for my duaghter's graduation. This home had plenty of space for everyone. Bob was very helpful with both checkin into and checking out of his home. If I needed anything he was a phone call away. Two of the things that stuck out the most was the gourmet kitchen and the surround sound. Imagine cooking a meal with the family and playing music you love and to be able to hear it everywhere in the house. I would recommend this home to anyone who is looking for a place in Glenwood Springs.

  • Submitted: Jun 5, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I love hearing that we are providing excellent service. Guests continue to be impressed with the care we take in providing superior service.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
38 Miles
Aspen
Nearest Golf
2 Miles
Many (Glenwood, Carbondale, New Castle, Aspen)
Nearest Train
0.25 Miles
Glenwood Springs
Nearest Motorway
0.25 Miles
Hwy I-70, Hwy 82
Nearest Ski
15 Miles
Sunlight, Aspen, Snowmass, Highlands
Car: recommended

Surrounded by year-round recreational activities (skiing, kayaking, rafting, fishing, hiking, biking, hunting), including the world famous Glenwood Hot Springs.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Glenwood Springs House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Fall-winter
Oct 1 2016 - Dec 18 2016
3 night minimum stay
$165
$1,050
 
 
Christmas
Dec 19 2016 - Jan 1 2017
3 night minimum stay
$180
$1,190
 
 
2016 Winter
Jan 2 2017 - Feb 28 2017
3 night minimum stay
$170
$1,155
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$175
 

Additional information about rental rates

Non-refundable cleaning $100
Refundable damage deposit $500
Tax Rate 11.0%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Glenwood Springs House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2081 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
  • Mountain View ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Free Long Distance
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Mobile Phone ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Downstairs Bath - toilet , combination tub/shower , Beautifully appointed.
    Master Bath - toilet , shower , Huge, with double sinks and adjacent, private deck.
  • 2
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Master Bedroom - 1 queen , Master suite encompasses entire second story.
    First floor bedroom, off media room - 1 double , With large closet, off media/family room.
    Bedroom & office combination - 2 twin/ single , Spacious with large built in office/desk and computer.
    Master suite sitting area - 1 sleep sofa /futon , Pull out couch in master suite sitting area.
  • Queen size Beds (1) In Master, Double Beds (1) Guest Room, Twin or Single Beds (2) In Office/Bedroom, Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) In Master Suite Sitting Area
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Tennis ...
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties