check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Richard Cheney

Member since: 2012
Speaks: english

Modern Log Cabin Vacation Rental with En Suite Sauna in Talkeetna, Alaska

58 Reviews
Sleeps2
Bedrooms Studio
Bathrooms1
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Talkeetna Cabin Rental Photos and Description

Cabin, 1 Bedroom + Convertible Bed(s), 1 Bath (Sleeps 2)

Hale Kōlea (Ha-lay Co-lay-ah) Cabin is an available custom built log cabin vacation rental located in the rural neighborhood of east Talkeetna, just a 15-minute walk from the popular historic district. We are a SMOKE FREE & NO PETS establishment that measures 616 sq/feet (57.23 sq/m) and designed with a welcoming open studio layout (no bedrooms). Hale Kōlea Cabin vacation rental is an ideal getaway for two persons with a queen bed available.

Modern amenities include: Wi-Fi, LCD TV, Blu-ray/DVD player with Internet streaming options, Sony speaker i-Dock/Bluetooth stereo and an en suite Finnish sauna.

Hale Kōlea Cabin vacation rental is a NO HOST log cabin with a fully equipped stainless steel kitchen and separate laundry room. The spa-like bathroom boasts a luxurious glass walled shower with pebbled flooring & a custom en suite Finnish sauna. Hale Kōlea Cabin's furnishings have been meticulously selected to reflect a Hawaiian sensibility and include items such as hand quilted Hawaiian pillows, custom artwork and stunning solid maple hardwood flooring. Hale Kōlea Cabin vacation rental is committed to sustainability by using: LED/CFL lighting, ENERGY STAR efficient appliances, windows, doors, and insulation; ESP certified cabinetry, recycled quartz counter tops and biodegradable cleaning products & supplies.

Come experience the spirit of aloha at Hale Kōlea Cabin!

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Richard Cheney (Property Manager)
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english

About Richard Cheney

Hale Kōlea Cabin is a labor of love project by owner, Richard Cheney and his partner Kalani Chong. Richard, a graduate of University of Michigan, grew up in Williamston, Michigan and has been a Hawaii resident for over 35 years. Richard is a 12-time Honolulu Marathon and 3-time Iron Man finisher. His partner Kalani is a Native Hawaiian whose lineage can be traced back to Hawaii's Princess Ka'iulani. Kalani enjoys traveling to UNESCO World Heritage Sites and collecting vinyl records as art. Both live in Honolulu, Hawaii and work in the health care industry.

Richard Cheney purchased this cabin in 2012

Why Richard Cheney chose Alaska

Richard and Kalani unknowingly fell in love with Talkeetna while on a March 2012 winter vacation that began with Anchorage, then Fairbanks and eventually ended with a picturesque Aurora train ride to the charming town of Talkeetna. One night's stay in Trapper John's Cabin is all it took to launch research of available real estate that quickly led to groundbreaking four months later on July 3, 2012.

What makes this cabin unique

For the past 3 years, a kōlea bird or Pacific Golden Plover appeared every August at Richard and Kalani's residence in Honolulu, Hawaii. Every day this kōlea bird could be seen grazing the grassy parts of their property for an insatiable appetite of insects, all while enjoying the warm Hawaiian sun. Every April, their bird would vanish and heed its migratory call to flock north to Alaska. This miracle instinct fittingly inspired the cabin's name, Hale Kōlea (Ha-lay Co-lay-ah) or 'Kōlea House'.

We sincerely appreciate your interest in making Hale Kolea Cabin as a part of your next Alaskan adventure. We look forward to your stay.

Reviews

4.9
based on 58 traveler reviews

Modern Log Cabin Vacation Rental with En Suite Sauna in Talkeetna, Alaska
average rating of 4.9310346 based on 58 reviews
5

Great cabin

  • 5 of 5

Nice little cozy cabin. Very clean and owners are very easy to work with. Very happy with our stay.

  • Submitted: Sep 17, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Kristina, thank you for taking the time to review your stay! We appreciate your kindness & business. Please call on us again should you decide to revisit Talkeetna village. Happy travels!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Fairbanks Alaska
4

Fabulous

  • 4 of 5

We had a very relaxing and beautiful weekend. The cabin was very clean, cozy and comfortable. We loved it.

  • Submitted: Aug 30, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Sharon, thank you for your review and for choosing to stay at Hale Kolea Cabin. We're curious to know what more we could have provided to earn an additional fabulous star. Please consider us again in the future. Happy travels!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Clean, comfortable, accommodating and relaxing place to stay in Talkeetna

  • 5 of 5

This is our second time staying at Hale Kolea Cabin. It is perfect and we will be coming back again! It has all the amenities we need to cook in ( we like to cook our own food). It is well kept and clean with everything in good working order. Love the safe for the environment theme with the products here too and the natural stone floor shower. It is so close to everything. Thank you for sharing your little bit of Hawaii in Talkeetna with us. We love Hawaii too !

Sharon and Harry Fedorek 8/23/16

  • Submitted: Aug 23, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Sharon, thank you again for your repeat business and returning to lovely Talkeetna. We're honored to have you as our very first return guests! And to hear that you may be staying with us for a third time is quite an honor. We enjoy hearing you find the kitchen functional for your cooking creations. And thank you for appreciating our effort towards sustainability and providing biodegradable products and supplies. Please keep in touch and we look forward to hearing about your future adventures. Happy travels!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful Hale Kōlea Cabin in the Woods

  • 5 of 5

We loved our 3-night stay at the Hale Kolea Cabin! Thank you Richard & Kalani!

Perfect location - close to Talkeetna, but far enough away from the hustle & bustle of the town - in a very quiet & safe neighborhood.

The owners were easy to work with and quick to respond to questions.

The cabin was immaculate. Clean, neat, spacious with everything in working order. We loved the Hawaiian décor. Everything you see in the photos is accurate, except it's all better in person! Beautiful high-end finishes throughout. Comfortable bed (we like a firm mattress) and wonderful bed linens. Large bath with huge shower. We used the Finnish sauna - what a treat and so relaxing. Kitchen was well-stocked.

We arrived late at night, check-in was a breeze. We thought we'd have to go out the next morning for our coffee fix, but we found the Hawaiian roasted coffee in the freezer - so thoughtful of the owners and so convenient. Wi-Fi connection was excellent. Thank you, Richard & Kalani, for the box of Chocolate Macadamia Caramels from Hawaii. We shared our box of caramels on our Alaska cruise with my brother & his wife who have spent the month of March in Maui for the last 30 years - they recognized the box of caramels right away!

We checked-out on a Wednesday and our damage deposit was refunded the next day.

There is a reason why this property is 'frequently booked' and consistently highly-rated. Clean, well-maintained, beautifully decorated, spacious cabin in a great location - all with great customer service. What more could you ask for!

We would recommend Hale Kōlea Cabin to friends and family.

Thank you Richard and Kalani for a wonderful & memorable stay at Hale Kōlea Cabin!

  • Submitted: Aug 23, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Linda, a big mahalo to you for your complimentary details and stellar review! It is nice to know our efforts are making a positive difference. We are extremely blessed to have guests such as yourselves take great pleasure in our cozy cabin that has given us so many memorable moments. Much aloha and love has been spent creating the Hale Kolea Cabin experience from the carefully selected design aesthetic to the warm and welcoming staff, seamlessly orchestrated by our amazing manager. We could not do this without her. Thank you for your appreciation to details and allowing us the opportunity to pamper you during your Alaska stay. We take pride in knowing we have enhanced your experience of unique Talkeetna. Please keep in touch through our Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, Flickr & Pinterest accounts. Best to you and happy travels!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Kansas
5

Wonderful, clean, modern cabin

  • 5 of 5

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Hale Kolea cabin in Talkeetna. Even though it's "in town" the forest surrounding the cabin makes you feel like you are way out in the wilderness. The cabin is well equipped and very clean. The sauna was wonderful after a long day of traveling. Talkeetna has some really great places to eat. We stayed four different places in Alaska during our trip, this was definitely our favorite.

  • Submitted: Aug 9, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Ryan, thank you for taking the time to review your experience at Hale Kola Cabin. We definitely feel that our location, a 15-minute walk, east of the summer bustling Main St., is a perfect locale to reclaim a sense of privacy in a cozy neighborhood atmosphere. The Finnish sauna is a popular reprieve especially during the upcoming winter months. A perfect treat after a day's journey or night braving the cold for an Aurora Borealis sighting. Mahalo for your business and we look forward to hosting you in the future. Safe & happy travels!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Awesome Modern cabin

  • 4 of 5

Very nice modern studio Log cabin in a quiet neighborhood not too far from the downtown area shops and restaurants. Great walk in shower with plenty of room for two people. Didn't use the Sauna but it looked nice. Nice lighting and furnishings, but could of used another night stand by the bed. Bed area was a little cramped as it was pushed up against the wall. Overall, we wish we had more time and would definitely recommend this to our friends and stay again.

  • Submitted: Aug 4, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Aloha John! Thank you for sharing your experience. Hale Kolea Cabin was designed with an open studio layout, mindful of symmetry and balance. We market ourselves as not having a designated bedroom. In order for us to comply with your preference for an additional night stand, we would need to downgrade the current queen bed to a double. We feel a double bed is truly cramped for two people; therefore we opted for just one mango wood night stand in the space provided. Richard is a fan of an accessible night stand, therefore he is the one that sleeps closest to it. Also, you may have noticed, above the head of the bead are three recessed dimmable LED lights for your reading pleasure. The switch for these lights are easily accessible from bed. We're curious, how did you enjoy the complimentary chocolate macadamia caramels and Hawaiian roasted coffee? We would be blessed to host you again and as always we wish you the happiest of travels.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
120 Miles
Anchorage International Airport
Nearest Barpub
0.5 Miles
Denali Brewing Company
Nearest Train
Alaska Railroad
Nearest Motorway
16 Miles
Parks Highway Alaska 3
Nearest Restaurant
0.25 Miles
Swiss Alaska Inn
Nearest Beach
0.5 Miles
Susitna River Beach Area
Car: not necessary

Talkeetna is the 'gateway' to Denali National Park & a great home base for activities such as: flightseeing tours to Denali (Mt. McKinley); mountaineering; salmon & fly fishing; hunting; horse back ridding; zip lining; cross country skiing; wilderness hiking; snow machining; dog sledding; shopping; restaurants and local craft fairs.

Evening summer concerts in the park are a favorite attraction for locals and visitors. Talkeetna was the inspiration for the popular TV series, 'Northern Exposure'.

Popular festivals are the Moose On The Loose parade & auction in July and Winterfest during the entire month of December, culminating with the Wilderness Woman contest and Bachelor Auction & Ball.

The core downtown district is classified as a National Historic Site which includes buildings dating back to the early 1900s, including Nagley's General Store, Fairview Inn and the Talkeetna Roadhouse. Mayor of Talkeetna is a cat named Stubbs.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Talkeetna Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Post-Summer
Sep 1 2016 - Sep 30 2016
2 night minimum stay
$195
$1,190
 
 
Winter
Oct 1 2016 - Apr 30 2017
2 night minimum stay
$145
$875
 
 
Pre-Summer
May 1 2017 - May 31 2017
2 night minimum stay
$195
$1,190
 
 
Summer (Peak Season)
Jun 1 2017 - Aug 31 2017
2 night minimum stay
$215
$1,330
 
 
Post-Summer
Sep 1 2017 - Sep 30 2017
2 night minimum stay
$195
$1,190
 
 
Winter
Oct 1 2017 - Apr 30 2018
2 night minimum stay
$145
$875
 
 
Pre-Summer
May 1 2018 - May 31 2018
2 night minimum stay
$195
$1,190
 
 
Summer (Peak Season)
Jun 1 2018 - Aug 31 2018
2 night minimum stay
$215
$1,330
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$145
$875
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $250
Cleaning Fee $60
Tax Rate 5.0%

Check in time: 3 pm
Check out time: 11 am

Unauthorized checkout after 11 am will be subject to a $100 withholding from the incentive/damage deposit.

*Note: Credit card processing fee will be deducted from any incentive/damage deposit refund. As of Feb. 16, 2016: all bookings subject to VRBO service fee.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Talkeetna Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 616 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Rural ...
  • Ski-In
  • Ski-Out
Theme:
  • Romantic
  • Spa
General:
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • Luxurious bathroom suite w/ adjoining custom built Finnish cedar sauna
Bedrooms:
  • Studio, Sleeps 2
  • Bedroom Area - 1 queen , No designated bedrooms; open studio layout
  • Open, studio-style layout (*Note: No Designated Bedrooms); Queen size Beds (1).
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Porch / Veranda
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Sauna ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • kayaking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • snowmobiling
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
Honda EU2000i Back up generator available and operated only by discretion of Management

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties