check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076

Cory O'Brien

Member since: 2003
Speaks: english
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076

Beat the heat in The Starlight Suite!

6 Reviews
Sleeps5
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Vancouver Coast Apartment Rental Photos and Description

2 Bedrooms, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 4-6 max), suite in house with heated inground pool!

The Starlight Suite has been completely renovated! It offers a fully-furnished two-bedroom apartment unit, with it's own separtate entrance in my detached house in a fantastic residential area of Coquitlam, 25 minutes from Vancouver, BC. There are two twin-beds in one of the bedrooms, and a queen-bed in the master bedroom. The suite sleeps four comfortably, however, there is a double sofa bed and a roll-away bed available for up to six staying in a pinch. There is free high speed internet, just bring your laptop computer.

The living room, with an electric fireplace is open to the fully-equipped kitchen area, and both offer all the ammenities of home. There is a full bathroom, plus a shared laundry room area. Also included in your stay, cable television, and a telephone for free local calls.

There is access to the locked yard, with the large pool. Adult supervision is required for children as there is no supervision provided.

The suite has been extremely popular since 2003 as a great place for persons or families that are between buying and selling homes, vacationing in the area, visiting out of town family and friends, and insurance claims of fire and damage. We are sure you will enjoy your stay!

Low Season: October 1 - May 31

$130/nt. 3nt min ($75 cleaning fee for stays under 7 nts)

$840/week

High Season: June 1 - Sept 30

$180/night 3 nt min ($75 cleaning fee for stays under 7 nts)

$1250/week

Keywords: Self-contained suite, apartment, rental, 2 bedroom, close to bus, quiet, self-catered, 2 bedroom rental, central

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Cory O'Brien (Owner)
Member since: 2003
Speaks: english

About Cory O'Brien

I was born and raised in Coquitlam, and love it! I have had 5 children, and although they don't all live with me now, they all love this home in Coquitlam and the pool!

I had an earlier career in the Hospitality and Tourism industry, and after starting my family, I became a Realtor in the area in 1997. In 2002, I realized that there was a great need for people to have a 'home' and not a hotel when they were moving and between homes. There were only a couple 'vacation rental properties' in all the lower mainland when I started out with the Starlight Suite.

I also have a vacation rental, 'The Mermaid Hutch' in Birch Bay, Washington, USA. I love to travel and have great accomodations where I go, and know how important it also is to my guests.

My family and I have been blessed with meeting such wonderful people through the vacation rentals. As pleasurable as the suite is to guests, we enjoy having people as well! Come and stay...I am sure you won't be disappointed.

Cory

Cory O'Brien purchased this apartment in 1997

Guestbook comments from the owner

Thank you for providing us with a wonderful suite during our stay in Vancouver. We loved coming back to it every night after touring the city.
Apr 2012
  • 1 of 73

Reviews

4.5
based on 6 traveler reviews

Beat the heat in The Starlight Suite!
average rating of 4.5 based on 79 reviews
5

Excellent time in the suite!!!!

  • 5 of 5

We had a perfect time at the suite, the little gift is so nice! everything was well prepared. I highly recommend this house for everybody who wants to have a wonderful trip in BC!

  • Submitted: Jan 4, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your kind review. It was wonderful hosting your family from overseas during the Christmas holidays! I am so happy to hear that it suited you all so well. I look forward to having your family stay again in the future! Cory
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

We had an excellent time.

  • 5 of 5

We had an excellent time staying at this house. The house is close enough to Vancouver that we could easily go and visit the city when we wanted to, but was in a quiet neighborhood that we could relax in when we needed down time. Cory was an excellent host who was very helpful and kind when we talked. I would certain recommend this place to friends and family of mine.

  • Submitted: Apr 5, 2015
  • Stayed: Mar 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Toronto area
4

new to VRBO, so this was a great start

  • 4 of 5

This was the first time we have tried this type of rental, but we needed a place large enough for our family with breaking the bank. The location and price worked out perfectly for us, and everything was just as advertised.

  • Submitted: Mar 5, 2015
  • Stayed: Feb 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Glenview, Illinois, USA
3

Basement apartment

  • 3 of 5

The owner was very nice and the price was a good deal, but we were a bit disappointed with the accommodations. It's a basement apartment and definitely feels like a basement because it's damp and dark. The pool wasn't in very good condition and was not all that warm. It was also somewhat hard to find if you don't know the area.

  • Submitted: Aug 11, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your review! It was nice to have you stay a few days in the suite. The pool maintenance company did get behind with slow service during the hot 30+ temperatures this summer, and we did need to turn the pool temperature down to 27 degrees. Some guests were letting us know that a pool temperature of 29 degrees was too warm. All is in check now. :)
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
The Netherlands
5

Just what we wanted

  • 5 of 5

Everything was just as advertised. Clean, and well equipped. Quite some distance to downtown Vancouver making a car is a must if thats your goal. But suburb things are close by, shopping centre, nature and quiet. Would be happy to return.

  • Submitted: Feb 24, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Alberta, Canada
5

Great Place

  • 5 of 5

What a wonderful suite!! Quiet and peaceful. The area is beautiful. Wonderful host.

  • Submitted: Nov 9, 2011
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am so thrilled you enjoyed your stay! With a new baby in the family this way, I hope you will be back!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Car: recommended

The Starlight Suite is approximately a 10 minute walk to the Coquitlam Centre Mall and all shopping, the major transit hub of Coquitlam Station, including the West Coast Express train to Vancouver. The urban forest park of Mundy Park is a 10 minute walk away. A 20 minute drive to nearby lakes with beaches. Coquitlam is a fantastic central area to all lower mainland areas!

Photos

Rates & Availability

Coquitlam Apartment Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
CAD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
High Season
Jun 1 2016 - Sep 30 2016
3 night minimum stay
$137
$949
$3,037
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$99
$638
$1,898
 

Additional information about rental rates

Clean-stays under 7nts $57

Sorry, No Pets are permitted. Smoking is only outside.
Heated pool is open June 1- Sept 30. Some life-jackets are available. Children must be supervised at all times in back yard. No lifeguard.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates to see total
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Vancouver Coast Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
General:
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Gas Fireplace ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 1
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • Queen size Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (2), Roll-away bed if required (1)
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • VCR
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • racquetball
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
No Inside Smoking

Partner Offers

Other Vacation Properties