|Minimum Stay||2 nights|
When was the last time you watched the moonlight dance across the water while sitting under a blanket of stars? If you're having to think about it, then it's been to long. Come for the weekend, or the week!
In the summer enjoy Lake Chatuge and all it's beauty! Take a swim to cool off and enjoy a picnic under the shade tree. Come evening, light a fire in the fire pit, roast some marshmallows while doing a little stargazing! As Fall rolls in, enjoy the beautiful fall colors that surround you on Bell & Bald Mountain while wrapped in a blanket on the back porch. Maybe you'd like to spend you winter holidays with us? Watching the snow fall while sitting by the antique gas fireplace. There just aren't any bad seasons in the mountains!
Both bedrooms are fitted with a double, antique bed. Closet and dressers. Original hardwood floors, carpet and vinyl throughout the home. The kitchen has everything you need to make a light snack or a full meal. The old wood cook stove in the kitchen is just for looks, although, as a child, that's what my mother cooked our meals on! There's two televisions in the house, one in the living room and the other in a bedroom. You will enjoy all the amenities the outside has to offer as well. Only one step onto the porch, a wrap around deck and what Southern home would be complete without a porch swing?!
This home is part of our homeplace. I grew up right here on this land, running and playing out the road and down by the water.
'The Little House' is very cozy and feels just like home with a touch of the past. We love it here and we know you will too. Some things are just to good not to share!
Had a great time at your cottage! Spent time with friends at the campground & did a bonfire out back and made s'mores. Want to come back in the fall.
Not sure how other reviews can be so favorable...???
The only thing about this property that was acceptable was the view out back. My wife and I have stayed at many rental properties, none in as bad of shape and as dirty as "The Little House on Lake Chatuge".
I will list our findings...
1. Bugs...many, many bugs.
In the bathtub
Behind the front door, spider webs also
On the hanging lamp...along with spider webs
Under the coffee table
And these were just the obvious ones!!!
2. Dirty...at least not cleaned.
Long black hair on front bathtub wall (FYI: my wife is a blonde)
Food / Filth / Stuff under all living room furniture cushions
Counted 5-7 "Odor Eliminators" throughout the house...Really??? Why???
3. Security...or lack thereof.
Unable to lock the "Deadbolt" and the "Regular" lock on front door at same time...
I must have tried 12 times!!!
Went out Side door, came back to a locked door???
Took one of my business cards...not even a credit card, and was able to unlock the door.
Scary, if anyone else knows this!!!
In order to feel safe, we "Jimmied" chairs up under the door handles of the Front and Side doors.
Additional items that were broken and/or unreasonable for a rental property...
Especially at a "HIGHER THAN POSTED RATE" per night on the property site.
A. Tried to make ice...all plastic trays leaked, and the old tin tray was one frozen block of ice!!!
B. Bedroom ceiling fan shook and was noisy, and light on fan flickered on and off...had to play with it to keep it on!!!
C. Same bedroom as fan/light issue...bed was ridiculously squeaky!!!
D. Toilet was loose from the floor, moved when I sat down and got up!!!
E. TV...very old and extremely fuzzy picture, hard to watch!!!
F. The one window unit AC did not cool the entire house, the bedrooms were very hot!!!
G. Decking...old, rickety, exposed nails, missing slats and ready to fall down in spots...Dangerous!!!
We have pictures and documentation to verify all above items!!!
I must say that I would NEVER use this property again as a rental and would NEVER recommend it to anyone!!!
We were extremely disappointed in the "Little House on Lake Chatuge". Nothing about this property was up to rental standards...except the view out back.
Neither the OWNER nor VRBO/Home Away would rectify any of our concerns and/or consider partial refund!!! Based on this response, we will NEVER use VRBO/Home Away again!!!
Had a great stay at this little house. It is a perfect get-away. The property surrounding the cabin is large and private - excellent access to the lake. The house is just like grandma's cabin - well appointed and comfortable. We will be back!
What a Great Little Get Away! Excellent Location close to everything. Very Clean and Comfortable. The home is well furnished and was lacking nothing. Very quite neighborhood.
Britney was great! We will stay again. And Thank you so much for the jam and jelly it was wonderful!!!!!
We stayed this past summer & were very delighted w/our little find. If you like the feel of staying in your "grandma's summer cottage" - then this is the place for you. It's not fancy but we enjoy that & liked it's quaint simplicity. When we go to the mtns, it's to "do nature" & so we don't need or want luxury or fancy. We loved the full lawn right up to the water front & the cottage is located in a nice quiet cove. The owners were very pleasant & we will definitely be back.
My family had a wonderful stay! Such a beautiful view!! The Little House was just perfect for us and we can't wait to return! I have recommended this place to everyone I have spoken to.
There's activities here in the mountains for the young and young at heart. The road to the house is an excellent place for walking, jogging or riding bikes. Maybe you'd like to just do a little front porch sitting? We know how to do that here in the South. Besides the kitchen, the porch is the most used place in a house! Don't be surprised if everyone who passes by throws their hand up!
Brass town Bald, the highest peak in Georgia.
Sorghum Festival in Blair ville, 2nd & 3rd weekends of October. Oktoberfest in Helen Ga. Indian Festival in Suches, GA. Georgia Mountain Fair in Hiawassee, GA. Field stone Cinemas, Fun World.
|Rate Period||Nightly||Weekend Night||Weekly||Monthly||Event|
May 1 2016 - Nov 1 2016
2 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
There are holiday rates. If you are inquiring about a time during a holiday, the quote you automatically receive will not be correct. Our holiday rate is $125.00 with a 2 night minimum. Please email us for a quote. Thank you for your understanding.
Rates are based on four (4) people. The house is small and WILL NOT accommodate more than that. If it is discovered more than people are staying, we reserve the right to charge an extra fee per person per night for wear and tear. There will also be an additional cleaning charge applied. In general, we reserve the right to charge for any extra cleaning that is required upon check-out, & damages.
We accept major credit cards, money orders and cash. Deposit of half of the rental balance is due at the time of reservation. The remaining balance is due BEFORE check-in.