Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Gorgeous Spotless 3 Bedroom Gated Free Internet Cable Pool Spa Keyless

Bedrooms 3
Space 1,175 sq. ft.
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 30 nights


About the property

Gorgeous 3 Bedroom Condo Sleeps 6 comfortably

Please be our guests at 8985 S Durango

Modern, tastefully decorated, private condo, located in a quiet gated community, 15-20 minutes from the Strip. FREE WiFi, Keyless entry, private reserved parking located close to unit. Community Pool and Spa.

Approx 1,175 sf. upper level, 3 bedrooms 2 baths . Located just 11.1 miles to the south end of the world famous Las Vegas Strip. This newly remodeled 3 bedroom modern condo in an immaculate gated community with pools, spas, gyms, club houses and community BBQs, features high ceilings with coordinated floorboards and plush carpet. It has warm and welcoming feature walls with ambient lighting and a beautifully decorated interior.

The living room is fitted out with a quality leather sectional couch and an exciting LED flat screen internet Smart TV. You can browse the web, watch TV, or even Skype your family and friends anywhere in the world, all in the comfort of this plush living room.

The spacious master bedroom is fitted out with a King size Double Pillow Top mattress, 1500 thread count luxurious linen, dressing table and flat panel TV, with a walk-in closet and en suite.

The second bedroom is located on the opposite end to the master bedroom and is fitted out with Queen size double pillow top mattress with quality coordinated 1500 thread count luxury linen and a double mirrored closet.

The third bedroom has a Double bed with luxury 1500 thread count luxury linen with matching dressing table and a double mirrored closet. It features a large inviting bay window at which one could sit and read a book or look out and relax.

The kitchen is fully equipped with quality stainless steel appliances and amenities stocked with cookware, crockery, coffee machine, dishware and silverware.

The dining area has a beautiful inlaid marble table setting and leather insert chairs and bench with. The kitchen flows easily into the dining room and living room areas.

The laundry comes equipped with a washer, dryer and detergent. Your own private porch opens out from the living area.

The condo sleeps 6 people and is located in a community that has stunning pools and spas, a beautiful club house, an equipped workout facility, covered parking as well as visitor parking, with expansive walkways and manicured gardens. South Point is the nearest casino just a few miles away. You can see the Las Vegas strip in the distance from within the community grounds, yet are away enough to relax in the quietude of suburban living. Shopping centers, outlet malls, fast food outlets and restaurants are located just a 5-10 minute drive away.

Free broadband wireless internet included. A safe for your valuables is provided. Please note we do not offer a mail box for US Postal Service delivery.

We have another similar property located in the prestigious Summerlin area. It is also listed on this wesite and we invite you to visit VRBO #434413 for further information.

Luxury sheets supplied by Holy Sheets USA.

More Details

Shonnie S
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
February 18, 2018

About Shonnie S

Hello, my name is Shonnie. I take care of the property on behalf of the owners. I live in Las Vegas near the condo and will be your point of contact for any assistance needed while visiting.

Please feel free to call, or email any time.


Shonnie S purchased this condo in 2012

Why Shonnie S chose Desert Hills

You will not find another vacation home that features the same quality, for less. We have created a home for you to visit as our guests and will take care of your needs while visiting, along with providing you with all of the comforts of home

What makes this condo unique

Our beautiful vacation condo in spectacular Las Vegas, the entertainment capital of the world, is the perfect getaway. If you're looking to experience the glitz and glamour this magical city has to offer, yet wake up in a three bedroom home, close to the mountains in quiet and beautiful suburbia just a stone's throw away from the world famous Strip, then look no further. We will help you find everything you need to select your accommodation whether you're looking to spend just a few nights, a week, or a month, while on vacation, or on business. Our three bedroom vacation home accommodates up to 7 people. It is luxurious, conveniently located, modern, fully furnished and in a beautiful gated community with pools, spas, gymnasium and a club house. The service we strive to provide is of the highest order. Our attention to detail and the comfort of our guests is what we base our success on.


Desert Hills Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1175 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 2:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Covered Parking
  • Fireplace
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Free Wifi
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • Laundry washer and dryer with detergents provided
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
  • King size Beds (1) Double Pillow top Mattress, Queen Beds (1) Pillow Top Mattress, Double Beds (1)
  • Television
  • Balcony
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • Shared Hot Tub ...
Leisure Activities:
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • shopping
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Free WiFi


Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(14 traveler reviews)

71% Complete
14% Complete
7% Complete
7% Complete
0% Complete
Gorgeous Spotless 3 Bedroom Gated Free Internet Cable Pool Spa Keyless
average rating of 4.5 based on 14 reviews

great experience all around

  • 5 of 5

Beautiful and convenient to everything. Shonnie is a wonderful host and helped me with any questions I had. Would definitely recommend to family and friends.

  • Submitted: Dec 13, 2016
  • Stayed: October 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

S Durango

  • 3 of 5

We rented this property from Feb 1st to Mar 31, 2016. First time snowbirds from Canada. We had a stressful time trying to reach Shonnie, to get the codes for the gate entrance and for the unit. Sent her emails which she did not reply. When I called her Feb 1st, she was aggressive about us getting copies of the signed lease delivered to the condo association. The gate entrance malfunctioned on numerous occasions. We had to drive across town to get a parking tag. Residents were told 4 months prior by the condo association to get parking tag or vehicle would be towed. We felt Shonnie should have pick up the parking tag. We sent her emails that the garbage disposal (the sink) was clogged, she never replied. When we ran the dishwasher the sink would fill up with water. The carpets are dirty, need to be replaced. The washer and dryer are very noisy. The master bedroom needs painting. The bathroom tap drips. We didn't hear from Shonnie the entire time during our stay.

|"m the type of person, if you don"t have anything nice to say don"t say anything. But we paid good $ for this condo. My husband and I were a little disappointed. Hope we get our damage deposit back soon!

  • Submitted: Apr 11, 2016
  • Stayed: January 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Our property manager has had a series of consecutive personal tragedies that have marred her customary exemplary standards. We aren't making excuses and apologize for this human lapse. All is good now. It goes without saying, our cleaning team ensures all aspects of our condo is spotless and in working order before the next guest arrives. The garbage disposal has been unclogged, which means the dishwasher is fine. As part of our entire refurbishment three and a half years ago, brand new quality carpets were put in and they have been professionally cleaned regularly. The walls were painted at refurbishment, however scuff marks subsequent to guest check-in are regularly removed. The latest scuff marks have been removed as well and the walls look good again. The good quality washer and dryer are also three and a half years old and the noise is no more than normal for these household white goods. The damage deposit was returned in full. The parking tab for the guest's reserved parking bay will be on the table in our condo at check-in. At the time the guest stayed at our condo, the main entrance gate to the secure community complex had the code changed by the association. The new code is now in place and there should be no issues with the gate entrance. We apologize once again and assure you all your concerns have been addressed and we're back to our customary level of quality service as evidenced by the rest of our guest reviews.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Many things to consider

  • 2 of 5

This 3 bedroom condo is nicely furnished. The master bed has a double sided pillow top mattress, not to firm but not too soft. The kitchen had most of what we needed for our 2-1/2 month stay. The living room photo accurately depicts the space and no more. The photo was probably taken from the balcony which is a very nice space to sit and enjoy the out of doors. There are 2 tv's in the unit. The one in the bedroom is over 8' off of the floor and the one in the living room is very high as well. We found it rather uncomfortable to watch a tv at that angle and the bedroom channels were restricted. We found only 3 English speaking channels on it.

The assigned parking space for this upstairs unit is conveniently located about 20 yards from the door. The stairs leading up are outside and broken into 3 sections. If I remember correctly there were 6 steps then a landing, 7 steps and then a landing, and 10 steps and then the front porch. This was important for me as I am a disabled veteran. The neighborhood is quiet and we loved the location. The freeway is 3 miles away and most of the things we needed were within a couple of miles one way or the other.

This condo has some repair issues that were brought to the attention of the manager. Upon our arrival we discovered that the hot water heater was not operating properly. We brought this to Shonnie (property manager) attention and she said, Oh, that is how water heaters in Nevada work. Fortunately our previous rental overlapped so we could bathe there. After 2 more attempts to get the hot water tank fixed I attempted to contact the owner, who lives in Australia. In addition I contacted a local attorney to inquire whether I could make the repairs myself (a check valve was improperly installed when a new water heater was replaced) and to evaluate cancellation options. This must have motivated the property manager as she got the water heater repaired and acknowledged problems with the lease that I had brought to her attention. She promised to fix the leaking bathroom faucet and broken sink stoppers along with dropping off some oven safe baking dishes. Additionally we were to receive a new lease appropriate for the situation. She did none of these things

  • Submitted: Feb 14, 2016
  • Stayed: November 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your constructive enumeration of our condo. We're glad there were aspects that you appreciated and some that were not as you anticipated. We try our best to cater to all our guests and so have pitched our amenities towards the middle. The TV in the living room is in the alcove above the fireplace and the one in the bedroom is pitched above the mirror on the dresser at a viewing angle when lying in bed (both as depicted in the pictures on our website). The steps to our condo on the upper level is also as depicted in the picture - thanks for the detailed count of steps leading to the front door. We are so sorry it was an issue - we have had disabled veteran guests inquire in the past and have advised them our condo may not be suitable, but were not made aware you may have had a requirement. We had a brand new hot water heater installed just recently and the subsequent guest had no issues, hence were unaware a check valve was wrongly installed. Our Property Manager bent over backwards to have this immediately rectified once it was established as a problem. The original lease agreement indicated the printed rules and regulations for the community association were available at the property, however you wished for a printed copy on hand when signing the lease. This was provided, however took a few days as the association rules and regulations are a sizeable amount of printed matter to provide to each guest. The leaking bathroom faucet has been fixed. The sink stoppers were serviced just prior to check-in and worked, however they have been checked again and are good. Several oven safe baking dishes were dropped off, including additional items as a gesture of goodwill. We are sorry we might have fallen short on some aspects and will endeavor to do our best to please all our guests.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 1

Great home away from home

  • 5 of 5

This was the first time I'd rented through VRBO. Shonnie made it so easy and made sure I had all the information I needed before our arrival. The condo was very clean, and we felt safe in the complex. I loved the stove! I would definitely recommend this property if visiting Las Vegas!

  • Submitted: Jun 13, 2015
  • Stayed: May 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Clean, comfortable and convenient

  • 5 of 5

My second stay at this property. Very pleased. Close to all attractions but far enough away from the hustle and bustle. Very clean and easy to book and deal with owner. Would stay there again and recommend for anyone traveling to Las Vegas.

  • Submitted: Jun 5, 2015
  • Stayed: May 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Very Happy!

  • 4 of 5

I was nervous booking someplace long term, in Las Vegas, especially not knowing anything about the area, and being 2 woman with 2 young boys! We stayed a month, and we were happy with the security of being in a gated community. The pools and hot tubs were great and the gym was awesome! Shonnie was a pleasure to deal with! Always responded to inquires or texts. The only complaint I would have is the wifi, and it's possible it was unavoidable per the area, but it was very on and off, and when it was on, usually a weak signal.. Other than that, we loved the place! Thank you!

  • Submitted: Oct 7, 2014
  • Stayed: September 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Jaya, I am so happy to read that overall, you had a positive experience while staying at our condo for the month. I do apologize for any inconvenience with your Wi-Fi signal. I placed a call to our carrier. Durango is located in a good coverage area. They suggested it might be due to the amount of applications you had open at the time, which caused your personal computer to lag, rather than the signal. In the future, don't hesitate to call me. I am happy to have a service person double check everything is working correctly. Thank you for staying with us. We look forward to having you & your family as our guests in the future. Shonnie
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Nearest Airport
12.4 Miles
McCarran International Airport
Nearest Golf
4.2 Miles
Rhodes Ranch
Nearest Motorway
5.1 Miles
Inerstate 215
Car: recommended

The Grand Canyon, Zion National Park, Bryce Canyon, Hoover Dam, Lake Mead are world class attractions just 45 minutes to 5 hour drives away. Skiing in the winter months at Las Vegas Ski and Snowboard Resort is only about 45 minutes away, or Big Bear, another ski resort, is about 3 hours away.


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Merchant services $40
Refundable damage deposit $500
Cleaning $125

•All rates are subject to availability and can be changed without notice. These rates do NOT apply to HOLIDAYS or SPECIAL EVENTS
$10 Per night Per extra guest over 5 guests

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties