check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Diane Fraser

Member since: 2009
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Amazing panoramic seaviews in Pittenweem near St Andrews. - Tigh Na Mara lower

19 Reviews
Sleeps3
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview

Pittenweem Apartment Rental Photos and Description

3 bedroom apt, sleeps 6/7 ** BOTH APTS CAN BE COMBINED FOR 8/10 GUESTS**

Tigh Na Mara offers an exceptional base from which to explore the delights of the Eastneuk. The stunning open plan living area, offers a well equipped kitchen, a dining area which comfortably seats 8 and the lounge has floor to ceiling windows looking out to sea, over the coastal path, the historic pier and lighthouse. Sit back and enjoy the panoramic sea views. watch the fishing boats going out to sea or returning with their catch, followed by ever hopeful seagulls. Open up the windows and you can literally sunbathe in the south facing lounge! The ever changing scenery is magnificent, no matter what the weather there is plenty of natural entertainment. Remember to bring your binoculars, you might be lucky enough to spot the dolphins! 2 of the 3 bedrooms have also got fabulous sea views.

You can even watch the festive fireworks in Edinburgh from the house!

Tigh na Mara: Tigh Na Mara is in a delightful location, just a few minutes walk from the famous coastal walk & historic harbour.

This home from home is very comfortable, well equipped and a sheer joy to live in. It is spacious, bright & airy and has lots of homely touches.

No Smoking allowed within the home. Vehicles are able to park at the front of the property with no time restrictions and entirely at the owner's risk.

More Details

Details for Tigh Na Mara lower 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 3, 1 Bathroom

Spacious ground floor apartment, all on one level with PANORAMIC SEA VIEWS. The south facing lounge, kitchen and dining area which overlooks the sea, offers a wealth of sunshine, even in the coldest months.Open up the patio doors and let the sound of the sea flow in! Dine on the secluded patio, while basking in the east coast sunshine, morning, noon or night! This apartment offers bright, cosy, comfortable, accommodation with all the convenience you need for an enjoyable relaxing holiday! Experience the fabulous historic harbour and coastal walks which are a few yards from the front door.

Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Diane Fraser (Owner)
Member since: 2009
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About Diane Fraser

I had many happy years growing up by the sea in Pittenweem and very much wish we could spend more time there. Every time we visit we always say we must come back more often! My parents owned what used to be known as The VG licensed Grocers in the Market Place. I now live in Falkirk with my Husband Ross and two young children Ruari (7) & Alana (5). My Husband is a Funeral Director & I run a Beauty Salon from home, specialising in skin care treatments.

Diane Fraser purchased this apartment in 2007

Why Diane Fraser chose Fife

We went to Pittenweem for the first time in years to spend a day by the sea. We had no intentions of buying a property! As we passed the house for sale on our way to the harbour I mentioned how great it would be to have a house there! We all had an absolutely wonderful day, so much so that we decided to visit the Estate agents just to torture ourselves by looking at what we couldn't have! Well, the rest is history, we were at the right place at the right time and thankfully we managed to buy Tigh Na Mara! The house has had extensive work done and I think we have managed to create a very comfortable home from home enviroment.

What makes this apartment unique

Even though the house was extremely old fashioned and needed amounst other things a gas supply put in, lead pipes changed and walls knocked down. It had that wonderful comfortable homely feeling! Even being traumatised by the amount of work required, we just had to have it! The views are absolutely amazing and they are for ever changing. They can be enjoyed all year round, no matter what the weather. You can open up those doors and listen to the sounds of the sea while being sheltered from the wind. The house is also ideally situated, having a young family it is very important to us that the highlights of the coast are all within walking distance and we can visit other attractions with in a short drive.

Guestbook comments from the owner

We stayed in a nice apartment with a magnificent view over the bay. Housekeeping was impeccable and prepare for the holidays, a Christmas tree waiting for us.

Again thank you to the owners for the quality of their service, both for the reception of the keys and pay for the sharpness of their homes, we had a great holiday.
Dec 2011
  • 1 of 2

Reviews

4.6
based on 19 traveler reviews

Tigh Na Mara lower
average rating of 4.5789475 based on 21 reviews
5

Great Value

  • 5 of 5

This place was fantastic value for money. Pittenweem is a charming little village and the property is situated almost right on the picturesque harbour. The property was spotlessly clean and comfortable and very well equipped. The sea views were the icing on the cake. We had a lovely few days here, helped by some wonderful late summer son. There are plenty of quaint fishing villages to visit in the area and St Andrews is only a short drive/bus journey away. Fully recommended.

  • Submitted: Oct 1, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

First class accommodation overlooking the sea

  • 5 of 5

The Apartment was spotless, well equipped and in a great location, ideal for walking the Fife Coastal Path. Couldn't have been better. I would definitely recommend it.

  • Submitted: Sep 1, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: That's great to hear, I am delighted you enjoyed your holiday! Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. Hopefully I will hear from you again in the future!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Private comfortable escape

  • 4 of 5

We found the flat very comfortable, clean, well equipped kitchen, plenty of towels and linens. We were fortunate to have good weather and spent hours sat on the patio by the sea. Diane Fraser is a very attentive host, who deals with any problems promptly and efficiently. The Fife coast is beautiful with many charming fishing villages, lovely coffe shops and places to eat. The coastal path is very near the house easy to walk. The bus service is very efficient runs just from the top of the road, for us as OAP's meant we never moved the car for two weeks, as we were able to use our bus pass to go to any points of interest along the coast. A very memorable holiday which we hope to repeat sometime.

  • Submitted: Sep 1, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Comfortable, clean and well situated

  • 4 of 5

This is a lovely clean and comfortable flat. Fantastic views. Spacious and well situated to explore Fife. No wi-fi hence 4 star.

  • Submitted: Jun 9, 2014
  • Stayed: May 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. However we do have wifi and I can only apologise this was not made more obvious.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1
5

Looking over the Firth of Forth

  • 5 of 5

The flat was great for me especially the view outside the back door overlooking the sea. Walking along the coast was my favourite .The property had everything I wanted and was very clean and well maintained.I will definitely go back there soon.

  • Submitted: Jul 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
5 2
4

It was in a great location we loved the area

  • 4 of 5

we were a little disappointed on the first view of the out side of the house a new front door would help , and the shower was a bit on the slow side , but we soon got over that and had a great week we would love to return one day .

  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your valuable feedback! We were so shocked to hear about the front door, we made our way along to the house to check for ourselves and found nothing more than some slight rust around the letter box which is only to be expected taking into consideration the houses proximity to the sea side. There's never been a problem with the shower before but we will certainly check it out as soon as we can! We are glad you did enjoy your holiday and our apartment and we very much hope to hear from you again.
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0

Map

Nearest Airport
80 Kilometres
Edinburgh or Glasgow
Nearest Barpub
300 Metres
friendly bar only yrds from the historic harbour
Nearest Ferry
70 Kilometres
Rosyth
Nearest Golf
2 Kilometres
Anstruther
Nearest Train
20 Kilometres
leuchars
Nearest Restaurant
300 Metres
cafe/bistro to award winning rest
Nearest Beach
100 Metres
rocks to climb & pools to explore
Car: necessary

Pittenweem is a small fishing village with a working historic harbour, which you can view from Tigh Na Mara. The 'HOME OF GOLF' St Andrews is only 15mins drive. Other world class courses near by; are Elie, Crail and Kingsbarns. There are many art galleries, welcoming pubs, bistros, tennis and magnificent views and coastal walks around the East Neuk! The famous Arts Festival is held every August in which you can peruse national art, crafts and have a wander around traditional local homes. Pittenweem is a wonderful location from which you can explore the Eastneuk of Fife by car bicycle or on foot, whatever the time of year.The National trust for Scotland has a number of historic castles, buildings & gardens too visit.Two award winning sea food restaurants are within a 5 min drive.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Pittenweem Apartment Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
GBP
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
mid
Sep 3 2016 - Sep 30 2016
7 night minimum stay
$447
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$389
 

Additional information about rental rates

Fees No additional mandatory fees

LETS RUN SATURDAY - SATURDAY.

A 30% non refundable deposit is required at the time of booking.

BOOKINGS ARE NOT CONFIRMED UNTIL THE DEPOSIT IS RECEIVED.

The balance is due 6weeks prior to entry.The full

amount is due at time of booking if property is booked less than 6 weeks from arrival.

Rates include gas, electric, linen and towels. Please bring your own beach towels.

** There is a small

A 30% deposit is required within 48hrs from your initial enquiry to confirm your reservation.

Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Pittenweem Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Beach
  • Near The Ocean
  • Rural
  • Village
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Parking ...
  • Parking On Street
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Tumble Dryer ...
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 3
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , 1 baby crib , FOLDING BED CAN BE PROVIDED FOR 3RD PERSON
  • The bedroom provides all you need, cleanliness, comfort and relaxation! A single folding bed can be provided at no extra cost for an accompanying child Book both apartments together for larger parties of 8 (folding beds are available for children) LETS RUN SATURDAY - SATURDAY
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Radio
  • Television
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Patio
  • 4 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • bay/sound
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • hunting
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • spelunking
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
The entrance toTigh Na Mara lower shares the same main door as Tigh Na Mara upper, creating a fabulous opportunity for larger parties too holiday together. Please contact Diane for further details.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties