check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Dena

Member since: 2012
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Your Private Piece of Paradise! Stay at the 'Kona Orchid House'

8 Reviews
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Overview

Kailua-Kona House Rental Photos and Description

3 bedroom, 2 bath very private home with gorgeous views / grounds

This darling Kona Heavens house rental welcomes you with its fantastic views of the coastline as you surround yourself in the tranquil ambiance that defines “Paradise”. The entire Kona Coast can be seen from the bright, open & airy Living Room, Dining Room, Kitchen, and Master retreat. The open-beamed ceilings welcome you when you walk through the front door and continue outdoors to a spacious and private lanai designed specifically for the spectacular views. 15 minutes from the Kailua-Kona airport and 3 miles from Costco, this home is situated on one acre of beautifully manicured property with varieties of bearing trees that include Mango, Papaya, Orange, Fig, Avocado and Macadamia Nut. Orchids and local vegetation abound through the entire property. You never know what will be blooming throughout your stay. Downtown Kona and some of the best white sand beaches and snorkeling are only minutes from this fabulous property. New Ane K Highway takes you right to Safeway and Walmart. This is a great central location.

Enjoy an outdoor cookout with provided BBQ and dining on the lanai with the best views of the westerly facing Kona sunset. Your own private gated driveway will lead you away from the rest of the world to the 3 bedroom, 2 bathroom single story magnificent home with an attached secure garage. You will enjoy your stay in the comfort and serenity of this unique Kona Vacation Rental. The Master Suite has a new California King size bed and new remote controlled ceiling fan. It has an attached bathroom with walk in shower. The remaining 2 bedrooms have Queen size beds and share the newly renovated bathroom with a full size tub/shower. The newly acquired couch and love seat provide a comfortable haven for viewing the sweeping view from indoors, or for catching up on local news on the new smart TV. We provide some movie discs and if you have a netflix account you can stream movies. Stereo system has a 5 disc changer and

docking station for your own listening pleasure. Kitchen has a new refrigerator that has an automatic ice maker with door dispenser for ice and water. There is also a filtered water dispenser at the sink. Dishwasher, microwave and glass top stove with full oven are provided.

This house has such a calm and pleasant feel about it, you will loose yourself in the peace and tranquility. Your paradise awaits you.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • pets considered
  • smoking allowed
Dena (Owner)
Member since: 2012
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About Dena

Wil and Dena are the owners of this magnificent property

Dena purchased this house in 2012

Why Dena chose Kona Coast

Its known that the very best climate found on the west side of the Big Island is found in Kona Heavens and we have always had excellent snorkeling on this island.

What makes this house unique

We had been searching for our special hawaiian home for quite some time. When this home became available, we were impressed with the gorgeous view, the layout of the house, the attached garage, the huge lanai and the stunning landscaping. It also had 21 excellent reviews on VRBO.

Reviews

5
based on 8 traveler reviews

Your Private Piece of Paradise! Stay at the 'Kona Orchid House'
average rating of 5.0 based on 8 reviews
5

Most Relaxing Vacation Ever!

  • 5 of 5

Our family of 5 stayed for the Christmas week and had a fantastic time. This was our 4th visit to Kona and staying at the Orchid house was by far the most relaxing. The views of the ocean from the patio make you want to just sit back and watch the sun setting over the ocean. The house itself is beautiful and fully equipped. The location as other reviewers commented is ideal since it is ~1200ft above sea level making it much less humid & hot during the day. No need for air conditioning and it was even cool at night (66F), so sleeping was great. It's only a few miles from the airport and downtown Kailua-Kona, but so peaceful & quiet. Dena was fantastic to work with & I hope we can visit again soon!

  • Submitted: Jan 7, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Seattle, WA
5

Perfect spot for extended stay

  • 5 of 5

This home is very well appointed for an extended stay on the Big Island. The layout is perfect for a family or several couples, with an open living dining kitchen and bedrooms tucked away from the publics areas. Additionally, the yard area is fantastic & beautiful, with a expansive Lanai facing west to watch the sunsets and the morning surf break. Their are tropical fruit trees to enjoy, as well as beautiful orchids and tropical plants that are well maintained. The lower west yard is a largely empty that was perfect for a little running around or ball play.

The best attribute of this rental is its location. It's up in the foothills enough to stay out of the heat and mugginess of the Kona Coast, but accessible to adventures to all parts of the Big Island. If you really want to explore, but have a comfortable home base, we couldn't find a better rental on the Island.

  • Submitted: Oct 3, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
austin texas
5

Relaxing & Amazing Views

  • 5 of 5

I stayed here to race the Ironman world champs. Given all the stress the event entails, this place was so perfect. Fairly close to the 'events' (~10 min drive) but FAR AWAY from all the hectic stuff. The views were beautiful, the house in great condition, and it definitely stayed cooler at night despite visiting at a very warm time of the year. We had 6 in the house very comfortably. We definitely have NO complaints about Kona Orchid House and we'd come back here in a heartbeat! Also friendly owners who worked with us when/as needed. Definitely a perfect review on this one. :)

  • Submitted: Dec 13, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
San Diego
5

Kona Experience

  • 5 of 5

This was was 12th consecutive year to visist Kona in October. This home shows ownership pride. I liked being up away from town. Very peaceful. Both owner and local caretaker were very helpful.

  • Submitted: Oct 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Columbia, Missouri
5

Wonderful Vacation Retreat

  • 5 of 5

My family of five enjoyed our first visit to the Orchid House in early March for 8 days. We had a wonderful time and particularly enjoyed spending time on the huge lanai and in the yard. The trees, shrubs and plants are beautiful, and the large lawn is perfect for Frisbee. The panoramic view of the Harbor is tremendous. No pictures can do it justice. Due to the high elevation, nights are cooler than in the City of Kona. The setting is private, peaceful and relaxing, yet the house is conveniently located near shopping and the airport. Thanks, Dena, for making our visit so carefree, and we hope to do this again next year. Aloha!

  • Submitted: Mar 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Silverton, Oregon
5

Beautiful Sunsets

  • 5 of 5

My family stayed a week at this home in November. We loved the house and the grounds, but the view was the best part. The house is spacious and everyone was comfortable. It's close to great snorkeling and close to shopping. Thanks for a great week. It was very relaxing. We look forward to staying here again.

  • Submitted: Mar 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Map

Nearest Airport
8 Miles
Kona
Car: recommended

All the very best beaches are 10 min away, Snorkel gear and boogie boards are available for your aquatic pleasure. On the property there are expansive manicured lawns with many outdoor activities can be utilized, croquet, horse shoes, Frisbee, badminton, etc.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Kailua-Kona House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
$275
$5,250
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $25 + Tax
Cleaning $250 + Tax
Property Damage Protection $59
Refundable damage deposit $1,000
Tax Rate 13.68%

Rates are subject to change until reservation is confirmed.
7-13 nights: rate is $275.00 per night
14-20 nights: rate is $245.00 per night
21-28 nights: rate is $215.00 per night
28 nights and up: rate is $175.00 per night
Convenience fee for credit card processing: 2.5% on USA cards, 3.75% on foreign cards. American Express is not accepted. E Checks from U.S. banks only, no fee.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Kailua-Kona House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1700 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Mountain View
  • Ocean View ...
  • Water View ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
General:
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • 2
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Queen size Beds (2) Two Heavenly queen pillow top beds and one California King in Master Suite. Queen sleeper/sofa in living room in case of emergency.
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • pets considered ...
  • smoking allowed ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • luaus
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing

Partner Offers