check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Kathie West

Member since: 2000
Call Owner
Speaks: english

On the water! Boutique Complex!

14 Reviews
Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 3 - 14 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Kailua-Kona Condo Rental Photos and Description

One bedroom, upstairs, fully loaded unit in quiet building

Fully stocked and ready for fun. This one bedroom very deluxe unit has all the things for cooking, fun in the sea and relaxing on the private lanai overlooking the pool and ocean. This is not some unit set back with a peek a boo view. In a very quiet 20 unit building only 2 miles from town. Right across from the farmers market so you can shop for the best Kona has to offer. The bedroom has a comfy new King sized bed and a private vanity. The travertine floor throughout makes the living space is open and tropical. The private lanai is the best spot for an evening drink or early breakfast. WiFi via wireless. Local phone calls from the unit. Photos do not do it justice as it is being refreshed and updated between each visitor with new paint etc. Gutted bathroom bathroom (all new travertine walk in shower, travertine floor and new granite vanity. Updated bedroom suite with all new linens. Entire new living room floor, TV, and lanai doors & windows. Better and better each month. Brand new showplace Granite kitchen! New appliances, new cookware. The works. You can reach out booking agent directly for fastest reply. Contact Kathie West at 530-273-3003 - a call is best to book this unit as she gets many emails. I also will respond very quickly. Being on the water in Kona we do fill up so if you want a wonderful place that you will truly enjoy call early.

W43386594-01

More Details
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Kathie West (Owner)
Member since: 2000
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About Kathie West

Ann & Norm Goody run the Three Ring Ranch Exotic Animal Sanctuary in Kona. For more info and how to come visit us. see the Three Ring Ranch web site.

Kathie West purchased this condo in 2012

Why Kathie West chose Kona Coast

Kona is a truly magical place we fell in love with it long ago and this building was the first I looked at. Sadly the unit I wanted sold to someone else before I could get it. Now 21 years later we finally are back at the Kona Riviera. Once you see it you will never want to leave.

What makes this condo unique

You really can travel light since this is such a well stocked unit. All the beach goodies and great books are waiting for you. Come relax!

Guestbook comments from the owner

Due to construction problems the unit was not ready when we arrived. However the owners & booking agent got us a nearby condo. The owners picked us up from the airport, drove us to the grocery store then to the alternate unit. A few days later when the repairs were done they picked us up and again drove us to the store and to the condo. It was lovely to be treated so well. It really makes a huge difference to have owners nearby and such nice people. Thank you!
Apr 2013
  • 1 of 1

Reviews

4.1
based on 14 traveler reviews

On the water! Boutique Complex!
average rating of 4.142857 based on 15 reviews
5

SMALL QUIET CONDO

  • 5 of 5

Well equipped condo with nice ocean views. We loved the small quiet condo development and the nice people staying here. Very clean.

  • Submitted: Sep 14, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

ENJOYED VERY MUCH!

  • 5 of 5

Enjoyed your place very much! Sunsets are beautiful! Close to everything!

  • Submitted: Sep 14, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

WONDERFUL LIFETIME MEMORIES!!

  • 5 of 5

A beautiful condo well placed in town. We had so much fun during our stay! Kona is such a magical place because it is such a beautiful place and we got engaged on our trip! We enjoyed everything about our stay. Thank you so much for helping us create such wonderful memories that we will never forget!

  • Submitted: Sep 14, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Ants In Bedding

  • 1 of 5

After a long trip, we were looking forward to relaxing once we got to the unit. We placed our luggage in the bedroom and crawling across the bedspread and pillow shams were a long line of ants. We pulled back to the bedspread to see how extensive the problem was and found more ants under the pillows. When we pulled back the bedding the majority of the ants where now in the bedspread. We had placed a glass from the kitchen upside down on the bed over a group of four ants. This lead to calls to the booking agent who turns out to be a realtor in California. Then a visit from the unit owner who lives about an hour from the unit. The owner saw the ants and said we would get a refund since we no longer wanted to stay in the unit. So we locked up the unit and began looking for someplace else to stay.

In subsequent correspondence with the realtor, the unit owner claims he only saw the 4 ants under the glass and that "we should expect bugs in the tropics". This was our 5th trip to Hawaii and we have never had an issue with any ants or bugs in either the hotels or condos that we have stayed in. I know I should have taken some pictures, but I took the owners word that we would given a refund. The more pressing concern at that moment was to find someplace else to stay as we were not going to sleep with ants in the bedding. Anyone who has dealt with ants in the past would know that where there are 4 ants, there are more. We wouldn't be sleeping there.

After several requests for a refund were denied or ignored, we have now turned this over to our credit card provider to deal with.

We did end up finding another place to stay and never saw any ants the rest of our stay. But it was a terrible start to our trip to celebrate our 32nd wedding anniversary.

I hope others have a better experience should you decide to rent this unit.

  • Submitted: Aug 30, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Aloha, We are so sorry for this experience! We would have no hesitation to offer a refund and would do so willingly if there was a reason. In this case, here is what happened. I got a phone call about a bedroom crawling with ants. In 16 years I never have had that experience of swarming ants in any condo. But it is the tropics so you never know. I called the owner who lives a few miles away and he came down within 40 minutes to investigate. The owner was surprised with the news because they had just done a complete inspection on the condo 2 days earlier and found it spotless. The guest was not anxious for the owner to come in but the owner did so. The guest told them that the view of the ocean wasn't what they wanted. The owner then wanted to see the ants that were "swarming" and found only 4. The owner took many photos at that time of the condo to show it's cleanliness. It seems the real reason for their displeasure was more the view. The owner never told them they would get a refund as no refund is ever issued until the problem is investigated. I am not a real estate agent so I don't know where that came from. I was told by the guest to issue a refund or a bad review would be posted. As hard as I looked, I just couldn't see a reason. So again I am sorry for your experience. I just have photos of a clean condo, the owner's eye witness of a clean condo and I have had no issue since then of any bugs being reported at all.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great place to stay in Kona!! Highly Recommend This Condo and Owner

  • 5 of 5

We have stayed in a number of places in Kona and this by far has been the best. Wonderful unit, awesome location, great view, quiet and well maintained. Owner was easy to work with and despite the high number of requests they were receiving, were very helpful and accomodating in booking the unit. I highly recommend this unit to anyone looking for a great place to stay in Kona. We will definitely be back again!!

  • Submitted: Jun 6, 2015
  • Stayed: May 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Laguna Niguel, CA USA
5

Wonderful condo

  • 5 of 5

We had a great time visiting Kona and staying at this clean, comfortable, well located condo. It was very quiet, no neighbors to be seen or heard. The kitchen and baths were immaculate and most complete. We ate our fresh fruit from the nearby market on the lanai every day. We plan to return!

  • Submitted: May 23, 2015
  • Stayed: Mar 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Airport
7 Miles
Kailua Kona
Nearest Beach
1 Miles

Perfect location! Farmers Market across the street, leisurely walk to town! Trolley stops across the street.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Kailua-Kona Condo Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Ironman
Oct 1 2016 - Oct 14 2016
14 night minimum stay
$165
 
 
Value Season
Oct 15 2016 - Nov 30 2016
3 night minimum stay
$130
 
 
peak season
Dec 1 2016 - Feb 28 2017
3 night minimum stay
$135
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$130
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $99 + Tax
Tax Rate 13.42%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Kailua-Kona Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 2
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront ...
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 1
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • King size Beds (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) Queen sized in living room
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Boat
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Tennis
Suitability:
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Heated Pool
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • luaus
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
Right on Alii Dr within walking distance to town. Across the street from the farmers market.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties