check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr

Oceanfront Home in Hopkins, Belize

Bedrooms 2
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more


Belize House Rental Photos and Description

2 Bedroom 1.5 Bathroom home

2 Bedroom 1.5 Bathroom Oceanfront Home in Hopkins, Belize.

There is an on-site custodian who takes care of the property and landscaping and provides optional housekeeping, provisioning services - all for an additional fee.

How to get here: Once you arrive in Belize city, you have two options:

- rent a car and drive to Hopkins (about 2 1/2 hour drive)

- take one of the regional carriers (Tropic Air or Maya Air) to the Dangriga Airport where we can arrange to pick you up.

  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Robin Hackl (Owner)
Member since: 2012
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About Robin Hackl

After a trip through Belize in 2001, riding the buses, sleeping in hostels and B&B's, we were immediately taken by the unparalleled beauty of the country and the the honest friendliness of the Belizean people - especially the locals we met while traveling through the village of Hopkins. It truly was an awe-inspiring experience that convinced us that this country was a place we wanted to be a part of.

Robin Hackl purchased this house in 2008

Why Robin Hackl chose Belize

The geographical diversity of Belize has to be seen to be believed. Full-on overgrown jungles, dry barren semi-arid areas, lagoons teeming with flora and fauna, white sand beaches, the largest network of underground caves in the world, and one of the top-ranked dive and snorkel reefs in the world. To have a home here, especially in one of the friendliest, most beautiful communities in the country, is a dream come true.


Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(21 traveler reviews)
Oceanfront Home in Hopkins, Belize
average rating of 4.428571 based on 21 reviews

Closer to Amayan Hell

  • 1 of 5

A few days before we left to go to Belize, the owner called to tell us that the house had been broken into and offered to refund our money in full, without penalty. He explained that several windows had been broken, along with a door lock, and he wasn't sure he could get it fixed in time for our arrival.

I didn't think it was a big deal so I offered, if he could get the pieces of glass and a new door knob, we would gladly take care of the problems, without charge.

When we arrived, we found the following:

1. It wasn't 2 or 3 pieces of glass. More like 17 - 20.

2. The house was extremely dirty. Clean in the middle of each room, but filthy behind the curtains, furniture, etc.. (Obviously, it had not been cleaned in months.)

3. Only one air conditioner worked. The other 3 were dead.

4. The wireless internet did not work.

5. All of the outdoor safety lights he mentioned, did not work.

6. The majority of the outdoor lights that did work, did not have light bulbs.

7. The outdoor tile was covered with slime and mildew. Obviously not cleaned in months.

8. The windows (the ones not broken) were filthy. You could rub your hand on it and your hand would turn black.

9. The threshold of one door had completely fallen apart and was just laying on the floor.

10. Out of the 7 doors into the house, only 3 could be opened without all kinds of broken crap falling on the floor. A couple of the doors, you couldn't open at all.

11. The water in the kitchen didn't work.

12. The washing machine was broken.

13. The beach was so dirty, we had to go clean it up so we could just walk to the water.

14. There were piles of old light bulbs on the ground at the bottom of the front steps.

15. The light fixtures over the stove were so dirty, if you just barely touched them, crap would rain down into the food you were cooking.

16. The owner told us he couldn't get any glass to fix the windows. We found 3 separate piles of glass. We used some to fix the one door we promised we would fix. (wasn't 3 broken panes on that door, was 7)

17. The screens were broken on several of the doors, allowing bugs to freely go in and out.

18. The living room doors, were so screwed up, rain would blow in and there was no way to prevent it.

19. We were given the phone number to the manager (Avis). She NEVER answered the phone. NEVER returned our calls or answered our texts. She would just randomly show up, unannounced with her kids.

I do not recommend this place to anyone. :-(

  • Submitted: Jul 2, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Oh my. It sounds like you are probably wishing you had taken me up on my offer to pay for other accommodations when we spoke on the phone the day of your arrival and you expressed your disappointment. When you considered this offer, and then chose to stay at the house instead, had I known the end result would be an exaggeratedly negative review like this, I would have insisted you vacate the property. Repairs to the AC were done the next day and none of these other concerns were ever brought up directly to me. While I am sorry your stay at our home was less than what you were expecting, we both know I did everything I could from 4500 miles away to try and make things right for you, including offering to set you up in other accommodations. I hope your experience doesn't tarnish your view of this beautiful village in this amazing country.
Did you find this review helpful?
6 0
San Francisco, CA USA

Not worth the price

  • 1 of 5

We booked this house for our honeymoon. We were shocked when we arrived that the place was not ready, the floor was dirty, there was trash all over the property (not just blown on to the property but actually left there), there was a broken/smashed grill dumped over the railing, the water smelled so much like sulfur it was difficult to get clean. The wireless internet did not work nor could we get the air conditioning to work. The curtains were dirty and the drawers in the second bedroom literally came off in my hand. After now having been to the property, it appears the photos on the site are from a few if not several years ago. You can't drive your car fully onto the property because it will get stuck in the sand. We complained to the owner about these issues who basically said, too bad, you booked it, there are no refunds. If you stay here, I wouldn't recommend paying much per night as there are much nicer places available in Belize for what you would pay here. Absentee owner who seemed more interested in his bottom line and catching travelers in legal details of the contract rather than providing an accurately described property for the price.

  • Submitted: Apr 13, 2015
  • Stayed: Oct 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are very sorry to hear of the disappointments you were met with upon your arrival to AmayanHeaven! There is absolutely no excuse for dirty floors, garbage left on the property or the over-turned barbeque. Your comment that your complaints were not dealt with, as we both know, is not true... you chose to leave without letting anyone know about the deficiencies, as they would have been dealt with immediately. As far as not being able to park on the property, the house is built directly on the beach and we have chose not to cover the natural environment with concrete or asphalt. We, nor any other guests, have ever had this issue. Regarding the water smelling like sulfur, it may be good to keep in mind you were staying in a small village in a third world country when comparing the conditions to what you are used to at home. Again, I apologize for the inconveniences you experienced at a home we are very proud of and try our very best to maintain. Your comments are taken seriously and every issue will be dealt with.
Did you find this review helpful?
9 0
British Columbia

Made in Heaven

  • 5 of 5

A must if you want an experience like no other. People are very friendly grocery store right across the street with all you need. Local fishing, snorkleing, and tour guides very reasonably priced. Warm water to swim in right in your back yard. Can't say enough. The house has all that you need Air condition stove fridge beautiful comfortable furniture. Plenty of restaurants if like to eat out.

  • Submitted: Mar 25, 2015
  • Stayed: Jan 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad to hear that you enjoyed your time in Hopkins! With so much to do, and with the house being located in the heart of the village, tapping into the countless things to do while there is easy!
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

A beautiful house, steps from the beach!

  • 5 of 5

Place was amazing! A beautiful house, steps from the sea. We sat on the huge porch facing the water for most of our days and part of every night. The roof top was enormous, very nice for viewing the full moon. The place is stocked with tons of towels, and the kitchen was stocked with just about everything you will need. The bedrooms were comfortable and very private from one another. Probably the nicest place in Hopkins (or Belize for that matter). Avis, our caretaker was very helpful and so kind. Everything was clean and ready to go when we arrived. Many little great places to eat. Innes, Tina's and we had Driftwood pizza delivered one night! But definitely go there, its right on the beach. We have been to Hopkins for over 15 yrs. so this time we thought we try delivery. The Windschief is a fun little bar. Ollie and Pam couldn't be nicer or more friendly! There is so much to do in the area. The ruins are a must at least once. A boat trip to the Cays are fabulous, Southwater, Tobacco or IZE. Any or all are wonderful. Even if you aren't staying at one of the fancy resorts (Hummansi) they are fun to walk to and see. There is a great fruit stand and grocery just at the end of the lane from the house, very convenient. We would of liked better chairs for the porch. The wood ones there were not too comfy for lots of sitting. So, we brought are own chairs. I would of preferred a chaise lounge type of chair. Especially for sitting near the water. A few things needed attention. Two of AC units (living room/kitchen area) weren't working. That would only be a problem when it gets more towards April and on. And the dishwasher didn't work, and there was only 1 small old fan that was a bit noisy. The owner seemed very concerned and ready to deal with the issues that were presented. He was super to deal with and answered all my emails right away.

  • Submitted: Mar 17, 2015
  • Stayed: Feb 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

In love with Belize!

  • 5 of 5

We arrived in Belize and picked up our rental car at the airport. The drive down to Hopkins was beautiful. Hummingbird Highway is a must! Do be careful and watch for the many speed bumps along the way. Finding the house was a little difficult. Turn on the first lane past Thong's Cafe beside a solid concrete fence and across from the vegetable stand. We have traveled to many beautiful places but the charm and beauty of Hopkins has made a wonderful impression on us, not only the views but the people and the amazing food. Staying in the village instead of a resort area gave us the opportunity to enjoy the authentic life of Belize. We traveled to see different parts of the country but always looked forward to coming home to Hopkins. We truly enjoyed the house and felt very safe, woke up to singing birds and the sound of the ocean each morning. We had dinner at Innie's and saw the Garifuna drummers. Jess Flores who heads up the shows found out my husband is a musician and invited him to play with them the next night at Driftwood Pizza. This is the place to be on Tuesday night! Some of our favorite places to eat were at Thong's Cafe, Innie's, Sunnyside Up, Chef Robs, Hamanasi... OK I could go on, they were all great! We had such a wonderful time and really hated to leave but we will begin to plan our next trip and look forward to staying at this beautiful home again.

  • Submitted: Mar 12, 2015
  • Stayed: Mar 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Nice little home on the beach

  • 3 of 5

We spent a week at the home over New Year’s. The interior is nicely decorated and overall is quite comfortable. I really did like the décor. Getting to the house was quite a challenge. There were no directions & contact information was lacking. We drove up and down a dirt road for an asking locals where the "White house" was located. You can't see the house from the road as it’s blocked by other properties. When we happened upon it, there was no one around. Again, wondering the neighborhood and then directed to the care-taker's uncle home. He called Avis who came from her village to let us in. She informed us no TVs and only AC that was working was in the bedrooms. Boy is it HOT in the rest of the house. This was disappointing since that is not the way it is listed. It wouldn't have made much difference since there are a number of broken windows in the home. We were reduced to doing any movie-watching on our laptop which is quite uncomfortable. Additionally, the only place the internet really works is directly next to the router. Also, we would have also appreciated some bottled water since it's not potable out of the tap. We hunted the nearby villages for 3 days before we found a 5 gallon bottle.

I made several attempts to email the owner from the time we made our final payment until after we returned home. He seemed to only get my emails if it was regarding payments he was due. Bringing me to this: we agreed via contract on a particular price which ended up being more when he initiated final payment. He wouldn't answer these emails either and since it was only a month away, I paid it knowing that I would deal with it after we returned home for he would cancel us. I ultimately called him long distance to Canada & caught him off guard. He stated he added that on to cover the taxes. WHAT? You can not modify a signed contract and charge to a credit card. This is fraud. Again, he wouldn't respond to subsequent emails so I disputed this with my bank. I have since been issued a credit for the difference between what he charged and the contracted price.

That said, we really enjoyed Hopkins and the house was sufficient albeit not as advertised. The people here are WONDERFUL. Probably nicest I’ve met in all my travels. The beach directly behind the house is also fantastic. Overall, house needs some upkeep. The BBQ grill is a joke and can barely accommodate 2 people, the windows are in need of repair as is the AC. Fix the locks/doorknobs eroded by salt air.

  • Submitted: Feb 22, 2015
  • Stayed: Dec 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Danielle, it's unfortunate you have made the choice to see so many negative aspects of your vacation in Belize. I can only assume you experienced some enjoyment in the country during your stay. The information package I sent to you along with the rental agreement had all directions included in it including a map to get to the house, but it doesn't sound like you thought to bring that with you. We make no claims to supply bottled water to guests during their stay, and I'm not aware of any place that does. The internet, I will agree, is not comparable to what we are used to in our first world lives, but adequate to check emails etc. This along with the choice to not have a TV in the house is due to a belief that the best parts of a Belize vacation are not spent in front of a TV or laptop. Within the 15 emails back and forth between us prior to your stay, included the one where I informed you that I had to adjust the balance to include the taxes, and also your reply where you acknowledged this and asked me to process the payment. To turn this around and start throwing the word fraud around in a review is as thoughtless as it is untrue. I appreciate your constructive comments, both positive and negative, as this is necessary to make adjustments and improvements to the property.
Did you find this review helpful?
8 1


Mayflower Bocawina National Park
Hamanasi Adventure and Dive Resort
Lebeha Drumming Center & Cabanas
Nearest Airport
100 Miles
Philip S. W. Goldson International Airport
Nearest Barpub
200 Metres
King Cassava
Nearest Motorway
4 Miles
Southern Highway
Nearest Restaurant
50 Metres
Thongs Cafe
Nearest Beach
10 Metres
Right in the front yard
Car: recommended

Hopkins is a Garifuna village on the coast of the Stann Creek District in Belize. Hopkins is considered by some Belizeans to be the cultural center of the Garifuna population in Belize. The town hosts its own national holiday, Hopkins Day, and welcomes people for their celebration on Garifuna Independence Day as well, they do this with drum ceremonies that can last till early hours in the morning.

The village is separated into two parts; the Northside (Baila) and the Southside (False Sittee). Hopkins is surrounded by the Maya Mountains and the Cockscomb Range inland, and the Caribbean Sea on its shore. The village was created in 1942 to replace the village of Newtown, which was devastated by a hurricane further up the coast.

Today Hopkins is a small but vibrant community of approximately 1,000 villagers. The people live mostly by farming and fishing, and more recently many have found work in the growing tourist industry. The residents are known for their friendliness and genuine hospitality, and welcome visitors to their village. Hopkins has a selection of gift shops, restaurants and small bars. Hopkins was recently voted 'The Friendliest Village in Belize' by Belize First Magazine.


Rates & Availability

Hopkins House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
Low Season
Sep 1 2016 - Oct 31 2016
3 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $16 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Service fee $75 + Tax
Tax Rate 9.0%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates to see total
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Belize House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1450 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 2 - toilet
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
  • 2
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • King size beds (2)
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • spelunking
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties