check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Bob Overly

Member since: 2012
Call Owner
Speaks: english

4 bedroom beautifully decorated 'Down East ' retreat!

14 Reviews
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 4 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Bar Harbor House Rental Photos and Description

Victorian Style 4 Bedroom built in 1874

1500 square feet home (that feels a lot bigger) that sleeps 8 and has everything you need to feel at home. One of the past owners was a sea Captain by the name of Mitchell. After he retired from the sea, he became one of the head gardners for the Rockefeller family estate. Mr. Rockefeller gave him some wild raspberry sprigs to transplant on this property and they still grow wild on the driveway side of the house. We refer to them as 'The Rockefeller Raspberries' and we think they make the BEST pies and raspberry drizzle over cheesecake!

Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Bob Overly (Owner)
Member since: 2012
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About Bob Overly

Bob & Heather from Phoenix Arizona have 6 children and 6 grandchildren. Bob is a small business man and Heather is a physical therapist for more than 36 years. Our favorite past time is coming to Maine, hiking Acadia Park, exploring the Coast, and relaxing (and working!) on our cozy getaway home!

Bob Overly purchased this house in 2007

Why Bob Overly chose Bar Harbor and Mount Desert Island

While vacationing here in July of 2007, Heather saw this house with a 'For Sale' sign in the front yard. Since we were both really 'taken' with this Island, we backed up, took a peek at the house, and soon after, decided to invest in a getaway so different from the SouthWest. After returning home to Phoenix, we made an offer and the rest is history. We have a summer home 3013 miles door to door from our home in Phoenix, and look forward to each summer when we return to Maine!

What makes this house unique

Our home in Bar Harbor is the only place that we really feel like we are on vacation and while we are there, we stop thinking of our work and the problems of the world. It truly is a very relaxing place and you can never run out of new experiences and adventures on the Maine coast.

Reviews

4.8
based on 14 traveler reviews

4 bedroom beautifully decorated 'Down East ' retreat!
average rating of 4.785714 based on 14 reviews
5

clean, comfortable & convenient!

  • 5 of 5

First, let me say how wonderful Bob was to work with from securing the reservation, to fairly managing the deposit & balance, and to providing check-in info in a timely and concise manner. Second, our group was completely impressed with the property - it was beautifully decorated, roomy and welcoming. And all the conveniences of home were there - from hair dryers to washer/dryer, plenty of linens, an outside porch to relax on, a grill, and a garage to store all 5 of our motorcycles! In addition, the house was immaculate, and the beds were comfy! The location, right on Route 3 and just a few miles from the bridge, was a smidge loud at night but the hum of the A/C drown out the traffic noise and it was a very convenient spot to get on/off the island. It is clear to see all the care and attention Bob & Heather have put into their home and we would definitely rent from them again. Thank you from CT!

  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Homely,Clean,and we'll maintained.

  • 5 of 5

We had a great stay. Everthing we needed for myself and children. The house also supplied pack and play,high chair, and gates for the children. About 6 miles from town,which gave us time to wind down,and close to Cadillac Mt,Southwest Harbor,and Echo Lake.I would certainly stay again.

  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

clean and easy

  • 4 of 5

the house is clean and we'll taken care of we had a great vacation with the convenience of noy

staying at a motel.

  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Better than the pictures!!

  • 5 of 5

We loved staying at this house and we found that it was bigger than pictured on-line. We had 8 adults staying there & we all felt like there was plenty of room to spread out. This house was not only roomy, but very clean and adorably decorated!! The location was convenient as it was in between both Bar Harbor & Ellsworth. We would highly recommend this home and the owners were super to deal with. You won't regret booking this home for a larger group of up to 8 people. So glad we found it & it was far from a Hobo's Retreat!!

  • Submitted: Jun 29, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Comfortable with everything we needed

  • 5 of 5

Wonderful stay. We loved being able to come "home" from our adventures in Acadia and Bar Harbor, eat in if we wanted and relax on the back porch in the Adirondack chairs. Plenty of space to spread out. My kids could play in the backyard while we cooked or got ready each day. Beautiful, clean and well appointed. Such a great experience!

  • Submitted: Aug 19, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Wonderful cozy home to stay! Clean, close to ocean, shopping, dining!

  • 5 of 5

Our family traveled to Maine for a week long family vacation. The home was was well stocked with linens, towels, and everything you need. This beautiful, comfortable home was very clean and well taken care. The home has been updates, but has not lost its East Coast feel. The owners were great to work with and easy to reach. There is plenty of space to sleep, big kitchen to use. No doubt one of the nicest VRBO homes we have ever stayed in! The wine vineyards, Bar Harbor, Acadia National Forest were some of the hi-lights to our vacation! We highly recommend this VRBO property! Enjoy!

  • Submitted: Aug 4, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Airport
45 Miles
Bangor International
Nearest Barpub
6 Miles
Bar Harbor
Nearest Ferry
6 Miles
Bar Harbor
Nearest Golf
3 Miles
Bar Harbor
Nearest Restaurant
4 Miles
Log Cabin Restaurant
Nearest Beach
2 Miles
Hadley Point
Car: recommended

Photos

Rates & Availability

Bar Harbor House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
September/October
Sep 1 2016 - Oct 31 2016
Changeover Day: Saturday
4 night minimum stay
From
$375
Sat,Sun
$2,100
 
 
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
$2,450
 

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $59
cleaning fee $150

The maximum guests limit is 8 and strictly unforced. Rates are subject to change until booking has been accepted. We do not allow pets!

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Bar Harbor House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1500 sq. ft.
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Free Long Distance
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 2
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double
    Bedroom 4 - 2 twin/ single
  • King size beds (1) King Bed in Lighthouse Room, Queen size Beds (1) Red Room, Double Beds (1) Captain's Quarters, Twin or Single Beds (1) Two Twin Beds in Pirate Room
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Bicycles ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
  • 1 bicycles
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed ...
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • duty free shops
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • pier fishing
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming

Partner Offers