check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

info@escapedominica.com

Member since: 2012
Call Owner
Speaks: english, very limited French

Escape Beach Resort - Beach Front Location

14 Reviews
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type villa
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview

Calibishie Villa Rental Photos and Description

Two bedroom Luxury Villa with private Swimming Pool overlooking ocean

This stunning private villa is part of the Escape Beach Bar & Cabanas which offers a boutique experience in an exotic jungle setting on a gorgeous beach front property like no other in Dominica. The villa itself has unbelievable views overlooking swaying palms reaching beyond to the gorgeous ocean with a hint of Guadeloupe and Marie-Galante in the background. The oversized covered outdoor patio boasts a large pool with a waterfall & fire pit feature, perfect for romantic evenings and relaxation. There is plenty of space on deck for practicing your new daily yoga move and or for your mindful meditation. The interior living area has been decorated for comfort with elegant furniture to continue the flow of serenity.

The bedrooms are located at opposite ends of the Villa, each tastefully furnished with a king size bed and en-suite bathrooms with oversized walk in showers.

The kitchen in the villa is fully equipped for self catering and has all the amenities of home to whip up many meals including a smoker barbeque. The open air kitchen plan allows views to the back garden with more jungle views of Dominica or dine Alfresco Dining on the front covered terrace overlooking the ocean. We we highly recommend you truly escape when staying with us and leave the cooking to Jen-Jen, our wonderful local cook to present you with local Dominican cuisine. Ask for the Callaloo soup or Chicken Curry. Special requests are most welcome and not a problem when escaping.

We offer a continental breakfast for an additional $10.00 per day per person.

Relax and escape with our easy lounging areas or enjoy the hammock for those wonderful afternoon naps. Go to the beach and relax in one of our loungers or arodonick chairs free for the us of our guest

Book a massage or a private yoga session with our on-site massage therapist and yoga instructor. For another exciting experience take a local art class or try our in-house cooking lessons and learn about all the amazing wonderful Caribbean flavors using organic local grown vegetables and fresh catch of the day. Or find Danny, our local Forest Ranger and ask him to guide you and get you some fresh lobster.

The villa has its own private path down through the enchanted jungle to the beach with safe swimming and fabulous snorkeling.

The villa is a short distance to the quaint caribbean fishing village called Calibishie where you will find kind and friendly locals, a few grocery stores, restaurants, bank, a health clinic and a tourist office.

The Escape Beach Bar and Restaurant will offer an array of local cocktails and beer, other imported beer and imported wines. We will offer a casual lunch setting with a light menu available. For dinner we offer a eclectic mix of Caribbean and international cuisine with seasonal home grown local vegetables and fresh fish from the sea. Dinner will be served till 8:30 pm every evening creating a wonderful dining ambience amidst the palm trees and jungle foliage.

There are many natural sites of interest near by including the Red Rocks and Chaudier Falls to name a few. We can arrange diving excursions, hiking trips, river exploring or gentle river tubing.

Escape has something to offer everyone, take a stroll through the gardens and surrounding red rocks, take a stroll on the beach, swim, snorkel or just relax on the beach while watching beautiful sunsets.

We have wonderful amenities available for our guests including Kayaks, stand up paddle boards, snorkel gear, boogie boards, fishing gear, spear fishing, bicycles. Some for an additional fee. Please inquire for additional information on our services.

https://www.tripadvisor.ca/Hotel_Review-g635961-d151136-Reviews-Red_Rock_Haven-Calibishie_Saint_Andrew_Parish_Dominica.html

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair accessible
info@escapedominica.com (Owner)
Member since: 2012
Call Owner
Speaks: english, very limited French

Why info@escapedominica.com chose Dominica

Dominica is a very special island, full of kind friendly locals, littered with small quaint caribbean fishing villages and gorgeous topography not found on many islands. The property is Located on one of the best and most beautiful beaches Dominica has to offer.

What makes this villa unique

The true beauty for me is the ever changing ocean and beach. On days it can be calm on others its a surfers play ground. The coral reef protects the beach and provides a beautiful home for the sea life. Constant breeze keeps you cool and fresh and the coconut and almond trees provide just enough shade.

Reviews

4.6
based on 14 traveler reviews

Escape Beach Resort - Beach Front Location
average rating of 4.642857 based on 14 reviews
New York, NY USA
5

Stunning location

  • 5 of 5

We stayed at this property over Christmas and New Year's. We are a family of four. I have traveled fairly extensively in the Caribbean and Dominica is truly the most beautiful, unspoiled island I have ever visited. The house was comfortable and the view truly stunning. We had the gorgeous beach almost entirely to ourselves. Jen cooked some delicious meals for us and she was incredibly warm and friendly, as were all of the people we met in Dominica. We felt completely safe with Pierre patrolling the property every night. If you are looking for a vacation that is truly off the beaten path and offers the rewards of stunning, unspoiled natural beauty, as well as a chance to experience the local culture than this is the place for you. To address some of the other reviews, we had no problems at all with the bats (a very occasional one swooped by to the delight of our kids) and the pool and appliances worked perfectly. We did have a shower-head break but it was fixed immediately. If you want to be segregated from the local culture in a walled off, touristy resort than look elsewhere. Our family cannot wait to return to Dominica and stay in this wonderful villa again someday.

  • Submitted: Sep 23, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

We had the most amazing vacation!

  • 5 of 5

We had a great time staying at red rock haven. Our family includes 3 kids 6 and under. We had terrific adventures hiking to waterfalls, visiting a Rastafarian farm in the mountains, paddling up Indian River and hitting the beaches. The house is simple and very nice. Jen babysat (and was beloved) by our 8-month-old daughter allowing us to take the kids on hikes that otherwise would have been impossible. Elaine arranged wonderful tour guides for us.

In response to the last posting, the owners are very responsive to any issues with the property. The fridge has been replaced. There are devices in the bedrooms to keep bats away (there still are a few bats around the property, but I didn't see any in the bedrooms so they seem to work, you could sleep under mosquito nets but we didn't except for our baby). There is a security guard who visits the property in the evening and morning. Bottom line is that this is an open-air house in a natural setting in Dominica, not an a/c resort in the Bahamas. You need to be careful and prudent, there are risks, but it is a trip unlike any other.

  • Submitted: Mar 9, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Camden, Me
1

Neglected and not safe

  • 1 of 5

My husband and I rented Red Rock for 18 days. Upon our arrival the fridge, pool, one shower, one toilet and the fans above the beds did not work. We had @50 bats flying out of the house, that lived in the rocks that made up the interior walls, @ 5:30 every night and then fly back into the walls @ 5:30 every morning. The pool jets, lights and filter were not in working order our whole stay. We had to run the hose about 5 hrs a day to insure there would be water to take a dip. They fixed the second toilet 5 days after our arrival which was handy since we had four guests join us for a week. And fixed the fridge 3 days after our arrival. Then the fridge broke again one week before we were to check out spoiling a lot of food and no ice for drinks or cold beer. But the big disappointment was when we were robbed of all our cash from our wallets, three safes and one worked part of the time, while we were sleeping. They also took the big screen TV. Not sure what els was taken because we got out of there as fast as we could. Our driver, house manager and another local business owner that came straight away after we woke up and realized what happened all said we were very luck to have not woken up while being robbed that night.Scary. We locked the place up tight and left the lights on at night. For the price we payed there should have been security or gates that were in working order.

  • Submitted: Dec 22, 2015
  • Stayed: Nov 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are very sorry our guests had a bad experience at our property. We did have a problem with the swimming pool and we ensured it was remedied asap. We were in constant communication with our guests and worked with them to get the problem resolved. The toilet was replaced. We did not know there were 6 guests as the booking only stated 2, however it was not a problem for us. We also did not know there was a problem with one of the showers until the guests informed us upon their return to the States. The shower was repaired immediately (it was a simple water pressure issue). With regards to the fridge, it broke down the day of the guests arrival. We managed to get a repair man in the very next day and he repaired it. Unfortunately a few days before the guests checked out it broke down again, we offered to reimburse them for any food that was spoiled and we ordered a brand new fridge immediately. We have done some research into the issue with bats and have found and ordered a device that emits an electronic sound that discourages the bats from the property without causing them harm. We have never had any issues with safety at our property before, however, we understand that no one Country is crime free so we have employed a Security Guard who patrols the property during the night and early mornings. As I mentioned we are deeply sorry the guests experienced problems, we had our cook prepare a meal for them on our behalf, paid for a meal at very nice restaurant and compensated them financially. We try very hard to ensure our property is comfortable and should any problems occur we do everything we can to get things resolved.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
Ottawa, Canada
5

Excellent getaway !

  • 5 of 5

Thank you for the opportunity to stay in such a great villa. The views are amazing and the beach as well as the pool and overall property were terrific. Elaine (housekeeper) was very helpful and wonderful. Jen Jen, the cook, was great. She prepared several delicious dinners for us. Both are sweet ladies and a real positive addition to our experience. We spent two days with Nigel guiding us to various locations on the island. He was also a great find and we highly recommend him. We liked the Rainbow restaurant best of the nearby ones we sampled We could have stayed longer !! ... but the 2 weeks were delightful.

  • Submitted: Mar 18, 2015
  • Stayed: Feb 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Wedding in Paradise

  • 5 of 5

WOW! Red Rock Haven exceeded every single expectation! We came to Dominica with 8 other people to get married. We had a fantastic time and thoroughly enjoyed the property. Honestly we had quite a few people, the house would be better suited to accommodate about 6 max, but we made it work. Beautiful and secluded property in the charming town of Calabishie on the North East Coast. Super private, gated property with a long and winding driveway leading to a gorgeous stone and wood open air house. Great open floor plan with covered porches on the front and back. Open kitchen overlooks the living area, infinity pool and the most amazing view. Bedrooms on either side of the living area with private baths. We were disappointed the splash pools off each bathroom were not working, but we made the most of them anyway and turned them into a sunken star gazing sitting area. Delightful breezes blow in from the blue Atlantic and the waves can be heard throughout the house. Beautiful infinity pool overlooks the property and the absolutely best views you can imagine. A sloped winding path off the pool area leads down to the old bar and restaurant and past other rental units (all were empty when we stayed) and to Pointe Baptiste Beach. It was mostly deserted the entire time we stayed, though it is a public beach. It is here you will really see why the house is called Red Rock Haven. The house is open air, so we enjoyed visits from bats and birds flying through the house, so amazing! The housekeeper Elaine was absolutely fantastic - she was so personable and helpful. She even brought snake fat - a topical ointment for my groom who fell and twisted his ankle badly (don't worry it was his fault). Jen Jen the cook is amazing - she made us curried chicken, rice, plantains and salad on our first night here. We truly enjoyed ourselves, going to the local market in Calabishie (though it is very limited). We asked locals where to find fresh fish, fruits and vegetables and were able to get fish directly from the fishermen right off the boat. We purchased a whole Mahi Mahi for $7EC/lb! What a deal! We purchased the best bananas, mangoes, limes and avocado from a local, Neville in Calabishie. What a character he is! We were supposed to get married at Emerald Pool, but due to my now husband's accident we had to change the venue to the Red Rock house, which was perfect! We were married next to the infinity pool overlooking the Atlantic. One of the owners, Gina helped us through the legal

  • Submitted: Mar 2, 2015
  • Stayed: Jan 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Stunning

  • 5 of 5

We stayed here for four nights over Christmas very last minute when we didn't like other accommodation we had booked into. We had looked at the villa initially but decided it was too expensive for just the two of us - well, I'm really glad we ended up staying here, and I think for what you get it is good value, and would be even more so if there were four of you! The whole house feels luxurious but in a way that is in tune with its surroundings, especially with it being open to the breezes and the sound of the sea. Really comfortable beds too.

The pool area is lovely, and that double hammock one of my favourite ever places to chill. It's a short stroll down to a lovely beach that never had many/any people on, it was beautiful to sit there and bring picnics down from the house, and we also brought our coffee and tea down each morning to enjoy the early morning light before getting on with the day. The sea was a little too rough to swim in when we were there.

Calibishie is a nice town, we would recommend eating at Poz, for the atmosphere and good international food, and because Poz is a fab guy who helped us out by getting us some fish to BBQ when he was going into town. It was amazing - we marinated some of the tuna and ate it raw as tuna tartar on pineapple, yum! and also recommend the casual restaurant behind the supermarket for delicious excellent value local food.

Overall Calibishie is great and the villa is wonderful. We were really sad to leave.

  • Submitted: Mar 2, 2015
  • Stayed: Dec 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Calibishie Villa Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Low Season
May 5 2016 - Dec 17 2016
3 night minimum stay
$380
$2,660
 
 
High Season
Dec 18 2016 - Apr 15 2017
3 night minimum stay
$450
$3,150
 
 
Christmas/New Year
Dec 23 2017 - Jan 6 2018
7 night minimum stay
$6,000
 
 
My Standard Rate
4 night minimum stay
$380
 

Additional information about rental rates

Tax Rate 15.0%

Refund Policy, we do not offer a refund. However, should we have sufficient time to re-book the property we will refund the deposit.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable
Calendar not updated in over 2 months and may not be available. Look for rentals with Request to Book or updated calendars.

Amenities

Calibishie Villa Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • villa
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Beachfront
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Catering Available ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
  • Each ensuite has a beautiful oversized walk in shower
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , 1 sleep sofa /futon , We have one comfy rollaway bed per bedroom
  • King size beds (1) with private ensuite with walk in shower, his and her closets and plenty of room for relaxing. We offer one comfy rollaway bed per bedroom for a total of 6 guests
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Music Library
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool ...
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
  • Private Chef
Attractions:
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties