Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Escape Beach Resort - Beach Front Location

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type villa
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Two bedroom Luxury Villa with private Swimming Pool overlooking ocean

This stunning private villa is part of the Escape Beach Bar & Cabanas which offers a boutique experience in an exotic jungle setting on a gorgeous beach front property like no other in Dominica. The villa itself has unbelievable views overlooking swaying palms reaching beyond to the gorgeous ocean with a hint of Guadeloupe and Marie-Galante in the background. The oversized covered outdoor patio boasts a large pool with a waterfall & fire pit feature, perfect for romantic evenings and relaxation. There is plenty of space on deck for practicing your new daily yoga move and or for your mindful meditation. The interior living area has been decorated for comfort with elegant furniture to continue the flow of serenity.

The bedrooms are located at opposite ends of the Villa, each tastefully furnished with a king size bed and en-suite bathrooms with oversized walk in showers.

The kitchen in the villa is fully equipped for self catering and has all the amenities of home to whip up many meals including a smoker barbeque. The open air kitchen plan allows views to the back garden with more jungle views of Dominica or dine Alfresco Dining on the front covered terrace overlooking the ocean. We we highly recommend you truly escape when staying with us and leave the cooking to JenJen, our wonderful local cook to present you with local Dominican cuisine. Ask for the Callaloo soup or Chicken Curry and more. Special requests are most welcome and not a problem when escaping.

We offer a continental breakfast for an additional $10.00 per day per person.

Relax and escape with our easy lounging areas or enjoy the hammock for those wonderful afternoon naps. Go to the beach and relax in one of our loungers free for the use of our guest.

Book a massage or a private yoga session with our on-site massage therapist and yoga instructor. For another exciting experience take a local art class or try our in-house cooking lessons and learn about all the amazing wonderful Caribbean flavors using organic local grown vegetables and fresh catch of the day. Or find Danny, our local Forest Ranger and ask him to guide you at the Red Rocks nature reserve.

The villa has its own private path down through the enchanted jungle to the beach with swimming and fabulous snorkeling.

The villa is a short distance to the quaint caribbean fishing village called Calibishie where you will find kind and friendly locals, a few grocery stores, restaurants, bank, a health clinic and a tourist office.

The Escape Beach Bar and Restaurant will offer an array of local cocktails and beer, other imported beer and imported wines. We will offer a casual lunch setting with a light menu available. For dinner we offer a eclectic mix of Caribbean and international cuisine with seasonal home grown local vegetables and fresh fish from the sea. Dinner will be served till 8:30 pm every evening creating a wonderful dining ambience amidst the palm trees and jungle foliage.

There are many natural sites of interest near by including the Red Rocks and Chaudier Falls to name a few. We can arrange diving excursions, hiking trips, river exploring or gentle river tubing.

Escape has something to offer everyone, take a stroll through the gardens and surrounding Red Rocks, take a stroll on the beach, swim, snorkel or just relax on the beach while watching beautiful sunsets.

https://www.tripadvisor.ca/Hotel_Review-g635961-d151136-Reviews-Red_Rock_Haven-Calibishie_Saint_Andrew_Parish_Dominica.html

More Details

Owner
info@escapedominica.com
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english, very limited French
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
80%
Calendar last updated:
October 17, 2017

Why info@escapedominica.com chose Dominica

Dominica is a very special island, full of kind friendly locals, littered with small quaint caribbean fishing villages and gorgeous topography not found on many islands. The property is located on one of the best and most beautiful beaches Dominica has to offer.

What makes this villa unique

The true beauty for me is the ever changing ocean and beach. On days it can be calm on others its a surfers play ground. The coral reef protects the beach and provides a beautiful home for the sea life. Constant breeze keeps you cool and fresh and the coconut and almond trees provide just enough shade.

Amenities

Calibishie Villa Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • villa
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Beachfront
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Catering Available ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
  • Each ensuite has a beautiful oversized walk in shower
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , 1 sleep sofa /futon , We have one comfy rollaway bed per bedroom
  • King size beds (1) with private ensuite with walk in shower, his and her closets and plenty of room for relaxing. We offer one comfy rollaway bed per bedroom for a total of 6 guests
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Music Library
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
Suitability:
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool ...
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
  • Private Chef
Attractions:
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(16 traveler reviews)

81% Complete
12% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
6% Complete
Escape Beach Resort - Beach Front Location
average rating of 4.625 based on 16 reviews
5

Beautiful and private 2 bedroom with a pool above a boutique mini resort..

  • 5 of 5

In northeast coast of Dominica (town of Calibishie) with light colored sand beach and views of red rocks and cliffs. This was the perfect escape for our family of four. We wanted to travel to the island for its unspoiled lush rain forests and beaches and we could not have found a better place to do our 7 day February break. The house had a good layout with the kitchen and living area to separate the identical master bedrooms. The veranda which is accessed from all the rooms led to the infinity pool with amazing views of the surrounding forest, sea and cliffs. The beach was a mere 90-100 steps away down a paved path from the house where you will also find the resort's outdoor restaurant and bar with a sandy floor. There was relaxing tasteful wooden lounge chairs and the palm/coconut trees provide ample shade. Great small area for swimming and snorkeling as there are corals just a few strokes away. The food and drinks they served were fresh and delicious. Plenty of birdwatching opportunities. Nearby is a small chocolate factory worth stopping by. Our hosts Jenny and Mauro were very warm and hospitable and the staff, Junior, and waitresses were delightful.

To note some challenges, we only had one fan and there was no AC so we gave them to our children to use in their bedroom- it did get quite warm a few nights and an extra fan would have helped. Fresh produce and meats were hard to come by at local grocery stores which makes self-catering limited and leaves us to eat out often (food and drinks are not cheap in the resort restaurant and in the island). On our last day, perhaps due to a rainstorm, our electricity cut out a few times for a total of 6+ hours.

Just a few snags that did not by any means ruin any part of our wonderful unique and special experience.

  • Submitted: Feb 23, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Lovely, unique, quiet resort

  • 4 of 5

With only two cabanas and one guest house thus far, Escape Dominica is a unique, quiet, restful resort. The owners are attentive and gracious and anxious to please their guests. The cabanas are spacious, clean, and nicely renovated (some amenities that would have made them even more comfortable: a luggage rack, shampoo/conditioner, a bit more sink space). The tiki bar serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner and all meals are excellent. The fish cakes were our favorite each day for lunch and the mahi mahi for dinner was superb. The rum punch was the best we have ever had. Our only suggestion re food/beverage would be the coffee which tasted like instant and just didn't satisfy each morning. The location and view of the ocean is probably the best on the island...very private and amazing red rock bordering the beach...very comfortable lounge chairs for guests. This is a new resort and the owners are clearly working hard to make it even more lovely than it already is. One final suggestion...better signage on the road as our taxi driver could not find the resort and relied on the locals to point us in the right direction several times. We do highly recommend Escape Dominica...especially as a last stop on the island as it puts visitors in close proximity to the airport for departure.

  • Submitted: Jan 29, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
New York, NY USA
5

Stunning location

  • 5 of 5

We stayed at this property over Christmas and New Year's. We are a family of four. I have traveled fairly extensively in the Caribbean and Dominica is truly the most beautiful, unspoiled island I have ever visited. The house was comfortable and the view truly stunning. We had the gorgeous beach almost entirely to ourselves. Jen cooked some delicious meals for us and she was incredibly warm and friendly, as were all of the people we met in Dominica. We felt completely safe with Pierre patrolling the property every night. If you are looking for a vacation that is truly off the beaten path and offers the rewards of stunning, unspoiled natural beauty, as well as a chance to experience the local culture than this is the place for you. To address some of the other reviews, we had no problems at all with the bats (a very occasional one swooped by to the delight of our kids) and the pool and appliances worked perfectly. We did have a shower-head break but it was fixed immediately. If you want to be segregated from the local culture in a walled off, touristy resort than look elsewhere. Our family cannot wait to return to Dominica and stay in this wonderful villa again someday.

  • Submitted: Sep 23, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

We had the most amazing vacation!

  • 5 of 5

We had a great time staying at red rock haven. Our family includes 3 kids 6 and under. We had terrific adventures hiking to waterfalls, visiting a Rastafarian farm in the mountains, paddling up Indian River and hitting the beaches. The house is simple and very nice. Jen babysat (and was beloved) by our 8-month-old daughter allowing us to take the kids on hikes that otherwise would have been impossible. Elaine arranged wonderful tour guides for us.

In response to the last posting, the owners are very responsive to any issues with the property. The fridge has been replaced. There are devices in the bedrooms to keep bats away (there still are a few bats around the property, but I didn't see any in the bedrooms so they seem to work, you could sleep under mosquito nets but we didn't except for our baby). There is a security guard who visits the property in the evening and morning. Bottom line is that this is an open-air house in a natural setting in Dominica, not an a/c resort in the Bahamas. You need to be careful and prudent, there are risks, but it is a trip unlike any other.

  • Submitted: Mar 9, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Camden, Me
1

Neglected and not safe

  • 1 of 5

My husband and I rented Red Rock for 18 days. Upon our arrival the fridge, pool, one shower, one toilet and the fans above the beds did not work. We had @50 bats flying out of the house, that lived in the rocks that made up the interior walls, @ 5:30 every night and then fly back into the walls @ 5:30 every morning. The pool jets, lights and filter were not in working order our whole stay. We had to run the hose about 5 hrs a day to insure there would be water to take a dip. They fixed the second toilet 5 days after our arrival which was handy since we had four guests join us for a week. And fixed the fridge 3 days after our arrival. Then the fridge broke again one week before we were to check out spoiling a lot of food and no ice for drinks or cold beer. But the big disappointment was when we were robbed of all our cash from our wallets, three safes and one worked part of the time, while we were sleeping. They also took the big screen TV. Not sure what els was taken because we got out of there as fast as we could. Our driver, house manager and another local business owner that came straight away after we woke up and realized what happened all said we were very luck to have not woken up while being robbed that night.Scary. We locked the place up tight and left the lights on at night. For the price we payed there should have been security or gates that were in working order.

  • Submitted: Dec 22, 2015
  • Stayed: Nov 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are very sorry our guests had a bad experience at our property. We did have a problem with the swimming pool and we ensured it was remedied asap. We were in constant communication with our guests and worked with them to get the problem resolved. The toilet was replaced. We did not know there were 6 guests as the booking only stated 2, however it was not a problem for us. We also did not know there was a problem with one of the showers until the guests informed us upon their return to the States. The shower was repaired immediately (it was a simple water pressure issue). With regards to the fridge, it broke down the day of the guests arrival. We managed to get a repair man in the very next day and he repaired it. Unfortunately a few days before the guests checked out it broke down again, we offered to reimburse them for any food that was spoiled and we ordered a brand new fridge immediately. We have done some research into the issue with bats and have found and ordered a device that emits an electronic sound that discourages the bats from the property without causing them harm. We have never had any issues with safety at our property before, however, we understand that no one Country is crime free so we have employed a Security Guard who patrols the property during the night and early mornings. As I mentioned we are deeply sorry the guests experienced problems, we had our cook prepare a meal for them on our behalf, paid for a meal at very nice restaurant and compensated them financially. We try very hard to ensure our property is comfortable and should any problems occur we do everything we can to get things resolved.
Did you find this review helpful?
9 0
Ottawa, Canada
5

Excellent getaway !

  • 5 of 5

Thank you for the opportunity to stay in such a great villa. The views are amazing and the beach as well as the pool and overall property were terrific. Elaine (housekeeper) was very helpful and wonderful. Jen Jen, the cook, was great. She prepared several delicious dinners for us. Both are sweet ladies and a real positive addition to our experience. We spent two days with Nigel guiding us to various locations on the island. He was also a great find and we highly recommend him. We liked the Rainbow restaurant best of the nearby ones we sampled We could have stayed longer !! ... but the 2 weeks were delightful.

  • Submitted: Mar 18, 2015
  • Stayed: Feb 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Tax Rate 25.0%

Refund Policy, we do not offer a refund. However, should we have sufficient time to re-book the property we will refund the deposit.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.

You might like these similar properties