Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

The Ultimate Keys Beach House newly renovated

Bedrooms 3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 28 nights


Minimum Stay
28 nights

About the property

Beautiful 3 bedroom, 3 bath house with fantastic water views from every window.

Our home is about a mile from Hawk's Cay resort of the quaint, historical island of Duck Key at mm. 61. This home features a master bedroom upstairs with adjoining bath as well as a second master bedroom room that comfortably sleeps 4. There is also a second bathroom upstairs right off the 2nd bedroom. Brand new floors, kitchen and bathrooms. Washer and dryer conveniently located on 2nd floor. Sit outside and enjoy the tropical breezes off the water under the chickee hut. Grab one of the kayaks and discover all that the island of Duck Key has to offer or just put on your mask and fins and jump off the dock. Dockage available for your boat or boats.

Property Manager
Kim Nava
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
February 8, 2017

About Kim Nava

My husband and I purchased this home so that our six girls could have the same childhood memories that I had coming to Duck Key with my family. Even though we live in Fort Lauderdale and get plenty of sun there, it is nothing like the keys. This is our paradise and our escape from the hustle and bustle of everyday life. We love to come here, slow down and spend time with each other.

Kim Nava purchased this house in 2007

Why Kim Nava chose Central Florida Keys

My parents home is on the same street. I knew from experience that we wanted to enjoy the easterly breezes in our back yard and did not want the heat of the west sun in the afternoon. We are experienced Floridians. This house screams 'beach house'. It is casual, relaxing and simple.

What makes this house unique

When we bought this house, we knew it had a chickee hut and thought it was like the cherry on top. We were wrong. That chickee hut is the sundae. It is the place we long to be when we are not here. Two hammocks hang at either end, and we have stereo out there as well. There is nothing like taking a nap in the afternoon, with the ocean breezes blowing while swinging in those hammocks. They are rarely empty.


Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(13 traveler reviews)

The Ultimate Keys Beach House newly renovated
average rating of 4.769231 based on 13 reviews
Tampa, Florida

Beyond words!!! What a beautiful and amazing home!!!

  • 5 of 5

The McCraney family had the best time snorkeling, swimming, fishing, and just relaxing on the hammock..etc!!! I promise you will not be disappointed if you rent this home. Thank you, thank you Nava family for letting us stay, we will definitely be back!

  • Submitted: Sep 14, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Beyond words!!! The most amazing home and vacation of our lives!!!!

  • 5 of 5

From the moment we pulled into the driveway we couldn't stop smiling!!! There is always worry and apprehension when renting online but all of our worries both from the anticipation of seeing the home and any worries we had in the world totally melted away. We walked in, saw the home and view, hugged and said "WE WIN!" The owners must be incredible proud of their home! We are so very thankful that we were lucky enough and they were gracious enough to share it with us. We arrived with 4 very energetic children and 4 adults. The children's room has two sets of bunk beds and couldn't have been more perfect. The Master bedroom was a soft and delightful hideaway for mom and dad and the downstairs suite was the perfect getaway for the Grandparents. The detail the owner have put into every inch of this home is amazing! It is hard to describe in words how wonderful this home is. How do you describe the feeling and smell of the soft breeze as you lay in the hammocks? Or describe the feeling of home and comfort when you walk into the room? We enjoyed everything there was to offer! We cooked in the WONDERFUL kitchen most nights. We enjoyed running to places like the "Cracked Conch" on Marathon for lunch. We took day trips to Sombrero Beach and Key West. We took a chartered fishing trip. We went on a scuba dive tour. We paddled around the entire island on the kayaks. We snorkeled, swam and fished off of the pier. We made a list of all of the fish we saw and we finally stopped at 50! The smells, the sounds, the feelings were something that my entire family will take with us for life. We cannot thank the owners enough for allowing us to have, as my father said, the "Best Vacation Ever!". There were NO Con's to this home! The Pro's are endless but the ones I appreciated the most were AMAZING SHOWERS!, full sized washer and dryer(we used them daily), dishwasher, garbage disposal, grill, kayaks and other fun toys, peaceful island with lots to offer and friendly people, LOTS of room!, easy access to everything but hidden away from everyone .We cannot wait to get an opportunity to go back! You will not be disappointed if you rent this home!!! The pictures are beautiful but do not give the property justice!

  • Submitted: Feb 1, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your very kind words. As the busy parents of 6 girls, all involved in activities, we do not have the chance to enjoy our home as much as we would like. It really has been a joy for us to know that our home is playing such in important role in creating lasting memories for so many families. One of our favorite things to do when we get down there is to read the guest book. We truly feel blessed by God to be able to have this home and it is our sincere pleasure to share it. We also feel blessed that we have had so many wonderful guests that treat our home as though it was their own. We look forward to having you again. Robert & Kim
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Hingham, Massachusetts


  • 5 of 5

We cannot thank you enough for the use of your home this week. Usually, a vacation home serves primarily as a “home base” from which we come and go to our daily adventures, but your house was so much more. For one week, your home was truly our home. Our family just loved living here for the week. From the minute we arrived, until the minute we left, Mark and I and our four girls felt comfortable and happy and had everything we needed here. Yes, we packed so much fun into our vacation here in the Keys in one short week (great HOT weather, reef fishing one day and backcountry fishing another out of Hawks Cay, fishing and swimming from your dock, kayaking, snorkeling, feeding tarpon by hand, interacting with the dolphin at the Dolphin Research Center down the street , saw a manatee and plenty of iguanas, took a day trip to Key West) but through it all, your house was the constant and also afforded us valuable time to rest and relax. The joy and family time we burned into the memory of photos and video will always be with us, lest we ever want to relive our precious time here.

  • Submitted: Sep 24, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Your review warms our hearts. We truly love our home for the very same reasons, the memories we have built with our girls over the years. With our oldest preparing to leave for college, I can tell you those memories are so important. We are thrilled that your stay was so memorable. Your gift for writing is awesome as well. We hope you will return. It was a pleasure having you. The Nava Family
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Gainesville, FL

Wonderful July in the Keys!

  • 5 of 5

This rental exceeded our expectations! Our stay on Duck Key was really enjoyable. The July 2014 weather helped a lot, but the accommodations and comfort of this house helped to put a positive "exclamation point" on everything. Days on and off the water began and ended in the comfort, convenience, and beauty of Duck Key. The descriptions and pictures of the property give a 2-D perspective, but being there is all 3-D! All details and correspondence with the owners and team were extremely pleasant and understanding. A++!

  • Submitted: Sep 12, 2014
  • Stayed: Jul 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your great review and the you tube video your son made. It is so much fun watching how many great memories are made at our home. If walls could talk, right? They really did when you shared your video. We look forward to having you again next year. Enjoy your year until your return. The Nava Family.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Moore, Idaho

Great Place Great Location

  • 5 of 5

My wife and I had never been to the Keyes before, staying at this place makes us want to go back. We were there for 17 days. For the first were our daughter and her two daughters stayed there (age 3 and 10). they all loved it. There were small kid games there that the youngest one loved. the 10 yr old got to kayak by herself, caught fish off the dock and snorkeled there. They didn't want to leave. The last ten days my sister and her husband came. they also loved the place. Rented a boat for 4 days. Tricky following all the channels. Make sure you are very familiar using a GPS. This place had everything we needed. Loved sitting on the second deck or under the TICKI hut any time during the day. Loved the BIG Green EGG grill. Would go to a local fish market and for fresh fish and than bring them back TO bbq. This place is in great shape and has everything you need. The main AC unit went out one morning, TXT Kim regarding it. She immediately replied that some one would be out to fix it. Left for a few hours, repaired by the time we got back. Only ate out a few times. Marathon has some good restaurants that are good and reasonably priced. Had fried conch at Key Colony Inn for lunch. Excellent, enough for 2 at about $11. Would recommend this place every time for a great vacation. Kayaks were an added plus.

  • Submitted: Apr 27, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind words. We aim to please and are grateful to have a great team of people that we work with should issues come up. So happy to hear that all of your family enjoyed their time at our home on Duck Key. We look forward to your return.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 2 of 5

Please make sure you pay with a credit card (preferably through VRBO) and don't mail a check. At least you will have recourse if you disagree with any deductions. The price advertised for a monthly rate is increased significantly for a shorter stay. We were fine with the price increase, but it is deceptive.

The house is advertised as a 3 BR, but is deceptive because you have to go outside and downstairs to get to the 3rd BR, which may not be a problem for some, but being on a different level than our children in the bunk room was completely inconvenient and resulted in our four year old sleeping in our bed (she was too scared to sleep upstairs because she didn't want to go outside to get to our bed if she got up in the middle of the night).

The TV didn't work until we only had 2 days left of our week stay and we had to interrupt a boating trip to come back to the house meet a dish network person who we helped remove palm fronds that were blocking the dish. TV may not have been a big deal on vacation except we missed the basketball Final 4 in which two of our native Kentucky teams were playing. Basically - it was significant to us. The owner didn't get on it immediately and we had to wait through the weekend to get the TV back on and by that time we didn't need it.

In the basement, we found 2 large millipedes in our sheets. I woke up in the middle of the night and one was on my neck. However, the primary issue is concerning the handling of our security deposit. The owner reduced our deposit. Her rational was $50 for an outdoor faucet handle that broke off when I was turning it off. It was on the dock and fell apart in my hand because it was corroded from the salt water. The only reason that she knew this was because I also manage property and have owned vrbos and wanted her to take note of it along with other items that needed attention that I sent to her in an email. The other reduction was because of cleaning issues. We paid a significant non-refundable cleaning fee up front and left the place in good condition. She claims her cleaning person spent 4 additional hours cleaning, which is absurd. The amount of money $XXX (because $ can’t be posted in vrbo reviews) is not that significant given the amount of money we paid to stay there; however, since we paid with a check, we have no recourse, no documentation from the homeowner, and the principle of the matter is enough to warn you in this review. Pay with a credit card through vrbo.

  • Submitted: Apr 22, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your input regarding the outside stairwell. Many people are aware that this in the norm in the keys. Certainly, we would never intend on deceiving our guests. As a parent, I totally understand the difficulty of having small children sleep on a different floor. The master bedroom and the bunk room on are on the second floor. We are also committed to doing all we can to provided a vacation free from repairs or interruptions. We are committed to responding immediately to any problems and have a wonderful team of local repair people to respond to anything that may come up. Unfortunately, we all are subject to the schedule of cable companies and as you can imagine, the keys has it's challenges due to winds and lack of services. We are getting more choices in the keys and we plan on switching to a service that does not include a dish in order to lessen the interruptions. Hopefully the outdoor activities, like fishing, snorkeling and kayaking keep everyone too busy to notice. As you can see from our reviews, we have the most amazing team that prepare our home for each guest. The most difficult thing to do is to hold back any of the deposit due to severe wear and tear or just plain accidents. Both, thankfully are rare and most of the time our guest have contacted us to suggest that we do so simply because something was broken or stained. Accidents happen. With six children we understand that better than most.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
100 Miles
Miami International Airport
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Angler & Ale
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Anger & Ale
Car: necessary

The Dolphin Research Center is about 5 miles from our home. This is a very popular place to swim with the dolphins and learn more about this wonderful creature.


Rates & Availability

Duck Key House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
Spring Break
Mar 1 2017 - May 1 2017
28 night minimum stay
Memorial to Labor Day
May 26 2017 - Sep 1 2017
28 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
28 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

cleaning $250
Refundable damage deposit $500
Tax Rate 12.5%

Please email or call owner for additional rate specials. Owner-Kim Nava 954-520-8204,

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message Send a Message


Duck Key House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Water View
  • Waterfront ...
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
  • 3
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • King size beds (2), Bunk Beds (2), trundles under bunk beds (2)
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Gazebo ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • marina
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • pier fishing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
dockage for boat

Partner Offers