check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand

Kathy Russell

Member since: 2004
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Cozy Condo Near the Beach

24 Reviews
Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Maui Condo Rental Photos and Description

Condo, 1 Bedroom, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2-4)

My condo at Kihei Akahi C-108 is not just a vacation rental, it is my second home. I personally visit several times a year to make sure it is properly prepared for your enjoyment. One of Kihei's best beaches is located across the street from this tastefully decorated condominium. After a day on the beach relaxing in your beach chair, return in the evening for a spectacular sunset.

Enjoy the friendly atmosphere and beautifully landscaped gardens of Kihei Akahi from the private lanai. Palm trees growing next to the lanai gently sway in the tropical breeze.

Shopping and numerous restaurants are within walking distance. Furnishings have been carefully selected from a local furniture store to make your stay a pleasant one. A well-planned, fully-equipped kitchen will make cooking seem effortless. Relax at night in a very comfortable, queen-size, solid mahogany platform bed. The living area features a sleeper sofa with a custom made thick mattress and a Lazy-boy recliner. The end tables and coffee table are custom designed pieces from a local furniture store. Tropical style windows let in 100% of the tropical breeze. Ceiling fans and a Dyson tower fan are available to cool the condominium. I chose not to install an air conditioner since it releases carbon which contributes to global warming. A fabricated marble shower was made by a local designer in Haiku. The entire condo has new flooring. Is it wood or is it tile? There are always changes being made to the condo to improve the decor. This is a must see condo. Contact the owner to book and pay by check to avoid service fees.

Keywords: Condominium

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Kathy Russell (Owner)
Member since: 2004
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About Kathy Russell

I purchased my condo in Maui several years ago because of my love of the ocean. The beach across the street is convenient and has some of the best snorkeling. I have been snorkeling in several exotic places, but Hawaii is my favorite. My hobby is photography and I took all the photos of the various Hawaiian islands that displayed throughout the condo. A visit to Maui is refreshing any time of the year, but I really enjoy escaping our winter and spring blizzards in Denver, Colorado.

Kathy Russell purchased this condo in 2003

Why Kathy Russell chose Maui

I chose to buy at Kihei Akahi because it was recommended to me as a great resort. I enjoy the variety of people who reside at and visit Kihei Akahi. It is conveniently located across the street from the beach. My unit is located away from the noise of Kihei Road. I love the southern part of Maui because the people are friendly and it is close to shopping, Wailea and Makena beaches.

What makes this condo unique

My most memorable time at my condo is eating breakfast out on the lanai and watching the turtle doves. I love my kitchen with it's many small appliances. I have enjoyed furnishing my condo with items I have collected from Denver and hand carried in my luggage. Decorating my condo and designing the kitchen have been challenging and fun for me. Solid wood furniture made from bamboo and mahogany create a tropical atmosphere. I am constantly thinking of more decorating ideas and will be adding more to the unit. My daughter is an interior designer and has given me lots of ideas. I have struggled with the idea of installing air conditioning and have decided not to. I am trying to be environmentally friendly. Fans and open windows keep it cool.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Wow! We had a blast and loved your condo.... watching the whales everyday was quite the experience! I think the thing that completely sold me was that apartment size washer and dryer. Go to the beach, drop the towel and swim suits in, wash, dry, go again! You have the nicest place and have thought of everything to make a vacation easy! We will definitely want to go again sometime!
Jan 2014
  • 1 of 2

Reviews

4.4
based on 24 traveler reviews

Cozy Condo Near the Beach
average rating of 4.4166665 based on 26 reviews
5

Clean, organized and great location

  • 5 of 5

Stayed on this property recently with two more friends and we just LOVED it! Everything was very clean, practical and organized. Bed was very comfortable and the sofa bed was surprisingly even more comfortable and big! Location is also great, right across the beach and close to restaurants, bars, supermarket, stores... Pool and parking was also very convenient. Definitely recommend and cant wait to come back!

  • Submitted: Jul 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Very nice, had everything we needed

  • 4 of 5

All the positive reviews I read about the condo were accurate. The condo was in good shape, had everything we needed. The only downside was the back bedroom got a bit hot at night. All the other times we have booked we have gone in April when it was slightly cooler, this time we went in July. Would recommend to a friend!

  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Vancouver, wa
4

As advertized

  • 4 of 5

The place was comfortable and clean, and i have no complaints. Its walking distance to the beach and the pool area is very nice. The only negative is the lack of ac in the unit. I cant remember checking of it had one when i booked so i cant complaine. The first night was unbearably hot and humid, but the last two nights were quit a bit cooler which was nice. Because this condo is situated on the lower level, it doesnt get as hot as my brothers unit on the 6th floor got, and curiosly enough, you get twice the breeze through it the way the building is situated. On a normal day this unit can get away with no ac, on a hot day and humid day plan on two fans going at night, and sleeping above the covers.

  • Submitted: Jun 30, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
1

Terrible

  • 1 of 5

The place was not nice... It was dark dingy and dirty. The towels smelled didn't matter how many times I washed it the couch and bed was so uncomfortable the battery for the remote didn't work so had to go out to buy some the wifi wouldn't work and the front desk wouldn't help and to top it off found two cockroaches... I should be getting some of my money back!!!

  • Submitted: May 23, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am a registered nurse and my first priority is cleanliness. However, due to the trade winds, smoke from burning the sugar cane and volcanic ash from the Big Island there is usually a fine dust that is unavoidable. I personally deep clean the condo annually. My maid has been cleaning my condo for over 13 years and knows my standards. The units and grounds are sprayed for pests quarterly and there has not been an issue with cockroaches. Towels are bleached regularly, and linens and pillows are replaced when there are signs of wear. There has not been a problem with WiFi through Hawaii Telecom when my directions for use are followed. I have discovered over the years that tropical life on the Hawaiian Islands is very different from the mainland and the natural beauty of the area needs to be cherished.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Clean, spacious condo with beautifully comfortable bed

  • 5 of 5

lovely condo that is very spacious and right across the street from the beach. Thank you Kathy for sharing - it was awesome.

  • Submitted: May 14, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great Get Away Condo

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I stayed here for a week and enjoyed all the accommodations the condo had to offer. There is a great BBQ spot at the lower pool where we enjoyed a nice family BBQ. Our group occupied about 7 condos at Kihei Akahi and we were all spread out enough to where we got to spend a lot of time together but also alone. My only recommendation for the owner of the condo is to purchase grilling utensils for the BBQ grill. Although there isn't AC in the unit, the combination of fans and opening the back of the condo up provided enough air to keep us cool at all times. We will definitely stay here again on future trips to Maui.

  • Submitted: Apr 30, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Kihei Condo Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Winter
Dec 18 2016 - Mar 31 2017
2 night minimum stay
$150
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$125
 

Additional information about rental rates

registration $15

Nightly rate includes 13.25% Hawaii taxes and cleaning fee. First payment of $100 is a nonrefundable deposit to hold the reservation. Final payment is nonrefundable, but may be applied to another reservation date. Contact owner about booking to pay by check and avoid service fees.TAT#W30208830-01.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Cancelled bookings will not receive a refund
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Maui Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 1
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 675 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Oceanfront ...
Theme:
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • Large marble shower
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Queen size Bed (1) Very comfortable solid mahogany platform bed
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Tennis
  • 2 garden chairs
  • 4 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • sailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
No shocking activity fees. Registration fee of $15

Partner Offers

Other Vacation Properties