check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Bill Pooley

Member since: 2012
Speaks: english, german

Kaweah Redwood Villa and Gardens

21 Reviews
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type villa
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Three Rivers Villa Rental Photos and Description

Riverfront redwood home. 2 bedrooms, 1 bath. Garden/beach. River/mountain views.

A custom redwood home inside and out on two acres of land just 4 miles from Sequoia National Park. The property is fully developed and maintained as a garden with it's own private riverside beach. Many trees provide a shaded park like setting. A year-round regulated water flow provides a steady flow of water right next to the house. The Middle Fork of the Kaweah River, visible from the house, flows through the property just 100 yards from the house. The river normally runs quite swift during the spring runoff from April through June dependent on Sierra winter snow but becomes quite nice for swimming later in the summer when the flow drops and water temperatures rise into the mid-high 70's. Optimum for 4 people with 6 people maximum. Wir sprechen auch Deutsch.

We will be open into early fall 2016 depending on traveler interest. The 2017 season will start in May 2017. Inquiries about 2017 bookings are welcome but we will not accept finalized bookings until early spring 2017.

Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Bill Pooley (Owner)
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english, german

About Bill Pooley

I am the grandson of the original property owner. My grandmother purchased the property and the garden was developed many years before the house was added. The garden is much the same as it was in the 50's except those little trees are now quite large. I am a kayaker on the Kaweah River since 1985 and author of The Kaweah River Page on the Internet.

Bill Pooley purchased this villa in 1950

Why Bill Pooley chose Gold Country / High Sierra

This property has been in our family since 1950. The home was built in 1965 and is custom throughout. The architect was Robert F. Street of Aberdeen, WA. The property and home are a family treasure. The love of the fabulous Kaweah River can not be overstated.

What makes this villa unique

Home constructed of clear redwood inside and out located on a quiet private drive. A unique year round water flow is immediately adjacent the house with significant flow during spring and summer. Numerous decks on all sides. The property has a well maintained garden with walking paths throughout. The sound of tumbling water is audible from inside the house. Quantities of sand in the garden lead to a large sandy beach area on the bank of the river. The property is considered by many as the premier riverfront property in all of the Three Rivers community.

Guestbook comments from the owner

We had a wonderful time here! This was a last minute trip for us and it was the best decision we made. The house was very comfortable and we felt completely at home here. Be sure to walk down a couple hundred yards to a sandy beach and a great swimming hole. Our kids played for hours there! We will definitely be back!! Justin and family San Diego, CA.
Aug 2012
  • 1 of 1

Reviews

5
based on 21 traveler reviews

Kaweah Redwood Villa and Gardens
average rating of 5.0 based on 22 reviews
Glendora
5

Beautiful home in an unbeatable location!

  • 5 of 5

The Kaweah Redwood Villa has everything you could possibly ask for! Immaculate home, incredible views, and great access to the river. We were visiting on a busy holiday weekend (Labor Day) and still felt completely relaxed.

The Sequoia National Park is only a few miles away and thanks to Bill's suggestion, we headed there around 9am and missed all of the traffic! Don't get too late a start because there can be a really long back up to the entrance of the park later in the morning (probably an hour or more wait!)

The grounds are so amazing and there is a great deck with river access in the back. This is a great place to get away from it all and enjoy some family time while still relaxing. It was so nice to fall asleep listening to the river every night.

Bill and Ingrid are great hosts and were super responsive to every question we had. Bill shared lots of his local knowledge and made our weekend even better! Don't miss out on Reimer's Ice Cream. It was one of our kids' favorites.

  • Submitted: Sep 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Paradise!

  • 5 of 5

The villa is absolute heaven! My husband and I were looking to escape our hectic lives and experience a few days of relaxation and tranquility. This was the perfect vacation spot. Our intent was to enjoy the villa and also explore Sequoia Park. We enjoyed the villa so much, we didn't even make it to the park! The villa and grounds are so beautiful, we didn't want to leave. We stayed for four days and enjoyed our time to the fullest. We lounged at our own private river, napped in the hammock and had wine on our own private deck. The kitchen had everything we needed, we cooked breakfast and dinner while listening to the river run outside. The weather was hot, but the villa remained nice and cool inside. If you are looking for a little piece of heaven, I highly recommend this vacation home. You will not be disappointed! The owners Bill and Ingrid are lovely, and you will learn so much about this charming town and their beautiful home from them! We are looking forward to our next vacation at the villa!

  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Immaculate villa, beautiful grounds

  • 5 of 5

My family of four (boy, 12; girl, 11) enjoyed our stay at Kaweah Redwood Villa. The owners go out of their way to make sure everything is in great order for your stay. The Villa is immaculate and has almost everything you might need. We recommend bringing reef/river shoes to walk in the river and beach towels. There is a deck right on the river where you can relax. Bill and Ingrid met us upon arrival and were super organized. They were available and responsive during our entire stay. It was over 100 degrees every day for our entire stay but the cabin was cool inside. We had a great time exploring Sequoia National Park however it was a 1 hour to 1-1/2 hour drive to get to our destination most days inside the park. We enjoyed the town of Three Rivers. Do not miss Reimer' Ice Cream!

  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Very special home just moments from Sequoia National Park!

  • 5 of 5

I had an amazing experience at Bill and Ingrid's lovely home! It's the perfect place to start and end your day. The house itself was in pristine condition and couldn't have been more comfortable. There are so many places in and outside of the villa to relax and take in the surroundings. It's wonderful to fall asleep listening to the creek flowing under the main bedroom. Out behind the house is your own private, perfectly manicured beachfront garden complete with chairs, a hammock and a deck overlooking the main river. It was a supremely calming experience. Bill himself could not have been more hospitable and knowledgeable of the surroundings. It was one of the most relaxing and enjoyable vacations I've had. I can't recommend this special place enough!!

  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

You will love this place!

  • 5 of 5

This villa and the gardens surrounding it are truly magical. The owner was such a marvelous host--any little question, issue, or comment got an immediate and thorough response. we felt well cared for while we were here. The house was immaculate, equipped with everything we needed from breakfast to bed time. And when the owner found out the hairdryer had been taken, there was a replacement quickly provided. The weather was hot when we were there--100 degrees but we managed fine with the HVAC running. And the little stream running under the deck, together with the river at the edge of the yard--just perfect!!

  • Submitted: Jun 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Kaweah Redwood Villa is Awesome if I do say so myself...

  • 5 of 5

Future/Potential Redwood Villa Guests,

Ok, Ok. I am not a real guest, I am actually the property owner. I just tricked the VRBO system into thinking I am a real guest by booking my own property in early March (We are not even open yet for 2016 in March). Now I get to post a review as guest to my own property. Turns out the VRBO left hand does not know what its right hand is doing and any owner can easily trick the system to impersonate a real guest and write any review they want. Actually, this was all part of a full test of the ability to accept PayPal payments completely outside the VRBO system and save guests from paying all but 3 cents of the new 9% Expedia "Service Fee". The service fee bypass has been successfully verified including ability to refund payments to guests via PayPal business account should it be required. Read more about avoiding paying the exorbitant Expedia Service Fee in the rates section of our listing #433593.

BEWARE !!! Any homeowner can do the same when it comes to posting bogus reviews on VRBO.

Bill

Kaweah Redwood Villa

  • Submitted: Mar 21, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: As operator of Kaweah Redwood Villa I can not "encourage or advise a traveler to avoid or circumvent the service fee charged by HomeAway" under paragraph 9 of the Terms and Conditions of my renewed contract with VRBO. No such language existed in my prior 12 months contract.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
75 Miles
Fresno, CA
Nearest Barpub
0.5 Miles
Gateway Restaurant
Nearest Golf
6 Miles
Three Rivers Golf Course
Nearest Train
55 Miles
Amtrack Hanford, CA
Nearest Motorway
40 Miles
California Hwy 99
Nearest Restaurant
0.5 Miles
Gateway Restaurant
Nearest Ski
160 Miles
Sierra Summit Ski Area
Car: necessary

Four miles from the southern entrance to Sequoia National Park. World's largest tree is just a one hour drive. This is an incredible Sierra Nevada foothills location with rugged mountains rising in all directions.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Three Rivers Villa Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$275
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $59
Cleaning Fee $150 + Tax
Tax Rate 10.0%

4 night minimum on major holidays. $100 one time surcharge applies to bookings that include major holidays. Holiday fee waived on stay longer than 4 days. 7 nights for price of 6. Rates negotiable for stays longer than a week.

Payment will be split into 2 payments when booking is made more than 20 days in advance of check-in and 3 payments when booking is made more than 90 in advance of check-in.

New "Terms and Conditions" effective August 2016 prohibit my helping you the guest find the ways to avoid the Expedia 9% "Service Fee" that went into effect spring of 2016. Paragraph 9 of the Terms and Conditions reads "Members agree not to encourage or advise a traveler to avoid or circumvent the service fee charged by HomeAway".

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Three Rivers Villa Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • villa
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 900 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Gas Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Mobile Phone ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower , Large mirror plus wall mounted shaving mirror.
  • 1 bathroom. Tub/shower combination.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Master Bedrom - 1 king , Upstairs. High end Beautyrest Plush mattress.
    Den - 1 sleep sofa /futon , Upstairs. Full size Denali Wallhugger with good mattress.
    Library Bedroom - 1 queen , Downstairs in the family library. 2 chairs. No closet.
  • King size beds (1) New bedframe and 'plush' Beautyrest mattress, Queen size Beds (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) Full size futon with wallhugger frame. No need to move frame to deploy the bed.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountaineering
  • parasailing
  • rafting
  • skiing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
-Menus for all local restaurants. -Sun deck on the edge of the river with Umbrella and LED night lighting. -New in 2016. Quality wood Adirondack chairs on river deck. -Sun sail shade on beach. -Hammock on beach in the shade. -Bluetooth loud speaker for music streaming. -Electric car charging 240V/40A (10KW) NEMA 14-50 outlet.

Partner Offers