check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Jeremy & Trish

Member since: 2012
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Historic ~A~.Charles Weiss Home...only 3 blocks away from Lakewalk!

45 Reviews
Sleeps14
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms5
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 5 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Endion House Rental Photos and Description

6 Bedroom, 6 Bath ~ a perfect family getaway!

Built in 1895 and beautifully restored, this grand Victorian home is the perfect family or group getaway. The home is located close to Downtown Duluth and only 3 blocks from Duluth's Lakewalk and Canal Park. The second floor hosts 5 bedrooms, each with its own bath. King Suite has an attached bedroom with a queen sofa sleeper. The main floor boasts a grand dining room, parlor, library, billiard room, music room, and an eat-in kitchen. Whether you're enjoying a classic novel in the library, watching cars roll by on the front porch, or preparing a gourmet meal in the eat-in kitchen, this home has it all. Each room brags its very own detail right down to its individual woodwork and style. This is truly a must see.

Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Jeremy & Trish (Owner)
Member since: 2012
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About Jeremy & Trish

Jeremy & Trish Paggen

Jeremy & Trish purchased this house in 2011

Why Jeremy & Trish chose Duluth

We began making regular visits to Duluth years ago and fell in love with the city immediately. We knew right away that we would need to own our own home here and plan to eventually live here year-round. This is one of the most beautiful port cities, rich in art and culture. We feel a million miles away from home whenever we are here!

What makes this house unique

Everything about Duluth is unique. The year round tourism makes this city come alive! Just step out onto lake walk in the early morning and you will never want to leave.

Reviews

4.7
based on 45 traveler reviews

Historic ~A~.Charles Weiss Home...only 3 blocks away from Lakewalk!
average rating of 4.6666665 based on 45 reviews
5

The home was fantastic and amazing!

  • 5 of 5

We really enjoyed staying in this historic mansion with our family. The interior was breathtaking, with plenty of room for everyone. The location is very convenient to the grocery store and very popular Duluth landmarks. We loved every minute of the vacation as the home was so spacious and comfortable.

The home was clean and has everything your own home has. The location was ideal for sightseeing in Duluth and surrounding area. The owners were great to work with and very friendly.

  • Submitted: Sep 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Our Stay at the A. Charles Mansion

  • 5 of 5

My family of five had a wonderful stay at the Mansion. The house is wonderfully restored and maintained. Our two calls to the owners, Trish and Jeremy, were promptly returned. They truly want their guests to be comfortable. I just hope I have another reason to return to the beautiful city of Duluth so I can sign up to stay at the Mansion.

  • Submitted: Aug 25, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Minneapolis, MN
5

Wonderful family vacation

  • 5 of 5

Our family spent five days at the Weiss home in August 2016. Our family of 12 consists of our three children, two spouses, and five grandchildren from 3 to 14 years of age. Each adult couple had its own bedroom and the grandchildren shared the master suite with the grandsons sleeping on rollways and the granddaughters having the king bed. That way they could sleep in! We all enjoyed having our own bathroom.

The first floor had so many unique rooms. I loved reading in the music room. We watched the Summer Olympics in the library. The kids played tee-baseball in the back yard. Kids ate in the kitchen and adults in the dining room. It worked out well! The kitchen had all the supplies we needed. We took turns preparing meals and had adequate workspace. The porch got lots of use also.

There were several times we needed assistance from the owners - new stove’s oven didn’t work, there weren’t enough sheets, etc. They were available and quickly took care of us.

Many of our family are runners/walkers so we went to Canal Park daily. We went to the Park Point beach. Another day we drove to Gooseberry Falls and the Split Rock Lighthouse.

We certainly recommend this property to others.

  • Submitted: Aug 24, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for the beautiful review of our home. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our wonderful city. Thanks again, Jeremy & Trish
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

nice place, but owners charged us an exorbinant amount for checking out late.

  • 1 of 5

We stayed here for 3 nights, when we left we checked out late and did not take out the garbage's in the home, we also left some dishes that we washed by hand and were clean on the stove and counter to air dry. The owners did not refund $350 of our deposit because of this which was ridiculous.

  • Submitted: Aug 10, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Our late check-out policy is stated numerous times (listing, vacation checklist, pre-vacation information). Our cleaning staff comes to the home at 10am sharp as they need ample time to clean the home before the next guests arrive at 4pm. They are on the clock at 10am. When guests do not leave the property until after 12pm, we are still required to pay for the cleaning time. We do ask that guest please be respectful of this rule. Garbage's are to be removed upon departure (also stated in the house rules). There were additional garbage bags left on the kitchen floor in addition to the full kitchen garbage and bathroom garbage's. Dishes are asked to be washed and put away prior to your departure. The staff took photos of the garbage and dirty dishes on stove and in the sink as well as logged the cleaning time. We are sorry that you misunderstood the rules that were emailed to you and acknowledged by your party. We have never had to withhold a deposit prior to this. We did reach out to you twice between the 10am check-out time and the 12pm actual departure time by text and email reminding you of our procedure. It causse undue stress to the staff and extra work. Thank you for your review of our property. We do accommodate early and late check-out if it is fully agreed to prior to your stay. We did not enter into such agreement for this particular stay. As stated earlier, we do have to pay the cleaning staff for their time. Thanks again for staying!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Houston, TX
5

We made a GREAT choice for our family reunion spot!

  • 5 of 5

What an awesome Victorian home! Comfortable and fun. Nice to have the AC window units during the last week of July. :-) We will definitely re-book in the future. Everything you need is nearby. Thanks, guys!!

  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great welcoming home.

  • 5 of 5

We very much enjoyed our stay. Loved the charm of this very clean and welcoming home. Close to everything we wanted to see. Jeremy and Tish were very attentive to our needs. My only negative was hard to use the porch steps handrail to steady myself when coming and going as there were large flower pots between me and the handrail and the steps were a little steep. Would stay there again if in Duluth.

  • Submitted: Jul 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Duluth Aerial Bridge
Pickwick Restaurant
"Excellent food!!!! Historic and upscale. This is a great place for dinner."
Burrito Union
Great Lakes Aquarium at Lake Superior Center
Valentini's Vicino Lago
"This is a family favorite of ours. The staff is wonderful and so is the cuisine. Do not fo..."
Mexico Lindo
"Our favorite for Mexican Cuisine!"
Black Woods Grill & Bar
"Excellent food...excellent service. A great view of Lake Superior from the dining room."
UNCLE Louis Cafe
"Small (sometimes crowded) seat yourself type café. Great breakfast with huge portions but d..."
Clyde Iron Works
"This is the perfect family/group stop! Wonderful food with plenty of room for the whole gan..."
Anchor Bar
"A must stop....best burgers in town!!!! Try the Olive Cream Cheese Burger!! Featured on Di..."
Lake Superior Maritime Visitor Center
"Right in Canal Park and FREE admission. This museum caters to both kids and adults. Learn a..."
Fitger's Brewhouse Brewery and Grille
Thirsty Pagan Brewing
"Unique atmosphere....and the best pizza "hands down", in our opinion. Worth the trip over t..."
Black Water Lounge
"Perfect stop for couples (adults only). We cannot say enough about this place!! This is on..."
Nearest Airport
6.5 Miles
Duluth International Airport, Duluth
Nearest Barpub
0.25 Miles
Many
Nearest Golf
2.7 Miles
Northland Country Club
Nearest Train
1.9 Miles
The Duluth Depot, Duluth
Nearest Motorway
0.25 Miles
I-35W
Nearest Restaurant
0.25 Miles
Many
Nearest Ski
11.6 Miles
Spirit Mountain, Duluth
Nearest Beach
6.1 Miles
Park Point Beach, Duluth
Car: recommended

You are invited to experience a return to Victorian Duluth at the Historic A. Charles Weiss Home. This 1895 Victorian Colonial is filled with classic decor throughout and heavily adorned with woodwork. The A. Charles Weiss is a stately Victorian inn located in Duluth, Minnesota. The Lakewalk, which leads to the charming Canal Park Area, is a short three blocks from the Inn's front porch.

Duluth is a vibrant city set on the shores of Lake Superior. Home to a busy port and wealth of industry because of its location on the lake, Duluth is also a popular vacation destination. There is beautiful scenery and loads of activities to keep everyone in the family entertained.

Lake Superior is the natural attraction of Duluth. There are many cruises that run throughout the year. You can enjoy lunch, dinner or just sundowners as you enjoy the view. The Edge is a giant Polynesian-themed water park filled with thrilling waterslides and loads of splashy entertainment that even older and adult kids will enjoy. The Timber Twister is unique rollercoaster ride that runs through the forest. Sharp hairpin bends and a 3,200-foot descent down the mountain make it a thrilling ride.

Lake Superior Zoo is set on 16 acres of rocky hills covered with tall pine trees. The Kingsbury Creek runs through the zoo, creating a wonderful natural environment in which to view the bears, lions and wide variety of animals. The Great Lakes Aquarium can be found on Duluth's waterfront. This incredible hands-on discovery center allows visitors insight into the underwater realm of the lakes. Daily shows have divers interacting and feeding fish in a giant water tank. There are more than 70 different species of fish, amphibians, mammals and birds housed at the aquarium.

Duluth has a rich cultural heritage and there are many museums, historic homes and estates that are open for public viewing. Historic railway tours make for a fun excursion for the whole family. Learn about the early pioneers, the history of the region, and enjoy the spectacular scenery. There is also an opportunity to spot birds and wildlife in the forest.

In the wintertime, the Spirit Mountain Recreation Area has 22 ski runs, a super pipe for snowboarders, and 22 miles of cross country skiing. A perfect place for both beginner and advanced skiers, the ski runs and lifts are well maintained and the resort is said to have some of the best skiing of the region.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Endion House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Fall
Sep 7 2016 - Oct 31 2016
3 night minimum stay
$400
From
$450
Fri,Sat
 
 
Winter/Spring
Nov 1 2016 - May 29 2017
2 night minimum stay
$375
From
$425
Fri,Sat
 
 
Summer
May 30 2017 - Sep 4 2017
5 night minimum stay
$475
From
$500
Fri,Sat
 
 
Grandma's Marathon
Jun 16 2017 - Jun 17 2017
2 night minimum stay
$2,000
Flat fee
 

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $59
Towel Service $30 + Tax
Refundable Cleaning Fee $300
Tax Rate 12.0%

Rates are subject to change until deposit and agreement are made.
INCREASE on rates during HOLIDAYS and CITY WIDE events. Damage deposit and agreement required to secure reservation. No pets or smoking. Shorter stays possible, depending on schedule & month. 5 night required on Christmas and Thanksgiving Holiday.We do reserve the right to withhold the cleaning deposit if the property is left in unsatisfactory conditions. Additional cleaning fees may apply and are at the owners discretion. Please read in-full the Vacation Stay Checklist for reference. Full refund with cancellation notice of more than 60 days.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Endion House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 6000 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Lake View ...
  • Water View
Theme:
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Towels Provided ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 5 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , jetted tub
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 5 - toilet , tub
    Bathroom 6 - toilet , 1/2 Bath on Main Level
  • 6
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 14
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , Adjoining jacuzzi bath
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king , 1 sleep sofa /futon , Suite facing lake side of home. Sleeps up to 4 people.
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , 3/4 bath adjoing
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen , 3/4 bath adjoining
    Bedroom 5 - 1 queen
    Other (See Description) - 2 additional roll-a-way beds
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Pool Table ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • jetted tub ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • water parks
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
Caretaker lives on-site Check-in 4:00 pm (sorry, no earlier without prior authorization) Check-out 10:00 am (sharp) This allows our cleaning staff only 6 hours to prepare for the next guests. Its a very large house...thanks in advance for your understanding. Additional fees will apply for late check-out (after 10:00am and addition $50.00 charge will be assessed automatically) $100/hour for every hour after. Early check-in and check-out requests must be preauthorized by property manager. The maximum allowed amount of people is 14...this includes children. The house is not to be used as a party house. Absolutely no smoking. We reserve the right to charge additional fees up to $300.00 if the home is smoked in. During the winter months, the windows are to remain closed (additional fees may be assessed for open windows). Please be respectful of our beautifully restored home. We reserve the right to cancel reservations and return any deposit.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties