check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Owner

Member since: 2012
Speaks: english

Peaceful Property for an Adventurous Gathering

32 Reviews
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Bootjack House Rental Photos and Description

3 Bedroom, 2 bathroom with Mountain Views

Just 30 miles from the Arch Rock Entrance to Yosemite National Park and close to many year-round activities throughout Mariposa County sits Quarry House;

a secluded getaway committed to providing a smoke-free and clean environment for Yosemite visitors to rest and relax in.

The homeowner chose the name Quarry House for the unique granite outcroppings on the property. The house is surrounded by Black Oaks, Manzanita, Pine Trees and visited daily by various bird species and deer. The granite rocks, the wildness of the yard and how it changes with the seasons is part of the appeal of Quarry House.

The inside of the home, with three spacious bedrooms and two full baths will comfortably accommodate up to 8 people. The open floor plan, connecting the fully stocked kitchen, dining area and entertainment corner, makes this an inviting space to gather with family and friends. There is great Wi-Fi, no cable TV, and a landline with local and long distance calling (U.S. only), as there is spotty cell reception in most of the area.

Quarry House is a mere 7 miles from historic gold rush town of Mariposa, which offers an array of dining options, grocery stores, museums, wine tasting, antiquing and local boutiques. Enjoy the beautiful drive along highway 140 for easy access to the Merced River and Yosemite National Park.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Owner
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english

About The Owner

As a long time resident of Mariposa County, I have greatly enjoyed living, playing and working in this beautiful mountain range. I spent many years in the backcountry of Yosemite constructing stone trails before going into the building trades. My experience as a stonemason and builder is what I have brought to Quarry House in order to elevate and express what this property has to offer. I spent time renovating the entire house, adding amenities and unique stone accents throughout the home to make it what it is today. I still stay there from time to time to continue working on sculptures and other art projects with the granite from the land. Quarry House was my home for many years. I decided to open it up as a vacation rental so that people could experience Yosemite from the comfort of a Sierra Foothills home. I hope you enjoy your stay at Quarry House!

Guestbook comments from the owner

Our stay at the Quarry House was amazing! ♥

We enjoyed every miniute of it… the deer in the morning was probably the most amazing part although the trees and other wildlife were things we will always remember. Until next time, Quarry House, ♥
Dec 2012
  • 1 of 14

Reviews

4.3
based on 32 traveler reviews

Peaceful Property for an Adventurous Gathering
average rating of 4.25 based on 46 reviews
4

The house was exactly as pictured.

  • 4 of 5

The house offers an open floor plan. The kitchen is well stocked for cooking needs. Bedrooms were spacious. The only problem we encountered was a broken recliner but they have a great sectional! The TV is new and has great picture quality but remember to bring movies or use Netflix as movie selection is outdated and there is no cable. Overall a nice experience. We were gone hiking most of the day to Yosemite which was about a 30+ min drive to park entrance. Good location for the town of Mariposa.

  • Submitted: Aug 29, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Séjour à Yosemite

  • 3 of 5

Maison très confortable et agréable au porte du Yosemite Park, nous avons passé un agréable séjour.

  • Submitted: Aug 24, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Rented this house for 2 nights. Very warm, lack of fans/ACs. I paved and dusty driveway

  • 1 of 5

Rented this house. It's v warm, lacking fans/ACs, TV not working, unpaved and dusty driveway and over 32 miles far from Yosemite National Park. The property manager withheld our deposit for no logical reason. Never recommend this for vacation.

  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: It is extremely rare for us to withhold security deposits from our guests at Quarry House. Security deposits would only be withheld for reasons that are clearly defined in our Rental Agreement. The No Smoking policy was breached which resulted in total loss of security deposit. This policy is stated in our rental agreement and reiterated in the Information Binder at the House. The reason we take this policy so seriously is because Mariposa County has extreme fire danger. We are committed to doing our part in protecting Quarry House along with our friends and neighbors in the community from loss of life and home, and we ask our guests to do the same.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Comfortable and clean house

  • 5 of 5

We had wonderful vacation in this house. It was spacious and clean. Bedding was comfy and cozy.

We will surely go back to this place when we visit Yosemite again. Thank you!

  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Modern and comfy place!

  • 5 of 5

We loved our stay here! It is a very cute place with all modern amenities. The place is about an hour's drive to Yosemite park entrance. Stayed with my family for 3 nights. It has a nice open front yard for star gazing.

The cooler in the place seemed to work fine for us.

Overall we loved it there! Will definitely recommend this place to others.

  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Savannah GA
5

Great alternative if unable to lodge in Yosemite

  • 5 of 5

Our family with two older teenagers had an enjoyable stay at this home for our Yosemite adventures. Communication with the owner/property manager was very easy, the booking process was quick and simple. Same for check in/out. The pictures accurately reflect the home. The outside of the home shows its age and there are a few minor eye-sores on property but the inside has been delightfully updated and upgraded. The home is clean, spacious, (bigger than the outside looks it will be!) comfortable and quiet. We slept very well here after full days of Yosemite hiking! The beds are comfortable and the kitchen stocked well. I appreciate the bedroom with two large beds for the teenagers. The drive to the Arch Rock gate entrance is 45 minutes then add 20 minutes to get to valley for parking. (total 65 minutes). We left the home by 7:15 am each day and had zero traffic. We found the drive time back in the evening was exactly the same. (one day we stayed in the park for 12 hours - you just have to be there at twilight time or you are missing out!) This is the second time our family stayed in this Mariposa neighborhood and we have also stayed in Yosemite Park in the past. We all agree that if luck would have it that you can book yourself in the park, (and afford it), it would be the better option to eliminate the driving. If inside the park is unavailable, this home is a great alternative! and I might add, would give you more space to spread out at the end of the day. I would stay here again and recommend it to good friends that cannot get a reservation in Yosemite!

The only negatives we found was that Netflix was not operating, the master bathroom water had a faint sulfur-like smell, the shower curtain needs to be replaced and the master tub is clean, just old and stained.

Our favorite hikes were to the top of upper falls, crossing over the falls and going up one more mile to Yosemite point, opens up a whole new view. Dipping our feet up top in the upper falls source river was a healing break! We loved hiking up the 4-mile trail(as it is named, but really 5 miles) up to Glacier Point. (a bit more gradual grade) Downside: tourists can drive their car up there! but the views are spectacular on the way up/down and at the top. And from there you can hike on the panorama trail around the back side of half dome on to the Nevada falls...

  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Pioneer Market
"Grocery store with all your needs from produce to wine to household products. They even have..."
Savoury's
"Great atmosphere for an upscale dining experience. "
California State Mining and Mineral Museum
"A historical and educational outing."
Prospectors Brewing Company -- CLOSED
"Excellent local craft microbrewery."
Mariposa Pizza Factory
"Best pizza in Mariposa!"
High Country Health Foods & Cafe
"Excellent organic market with fresh produce and local foods. Cafe offers made to order sandw..."
1850 Restaurant
"Fresh young face in Mariposa's casual dining options. Best burger in town!"
Pony Expresso
"Small batches roasted daily of organic, fair trade, single origin and custom blended coffees..."
The Alley
"Great place to enjoy a beer after a long day on the trail. Specializes in microbrews."
Jantz Bakery
"Awesome Mennonite bakery specializing in pies and pastries. "
Yosemite Bug Rustic Mountain Resort
"Family style dining featuring fresh, local food. Full health spa with massages and yoga clas..."
Nearest Airport
72 Miles
Fresno International (FAT)
Nearest Barpub
7 Miles
The Hideout
Nearest Golf
21 Miles
River Creek Golf Course
Nearest Motorway
2 Miles
Hwy 140
Nearest Ski
53 Miles
Badger Pass Ski Resort
Car: necessary

Photos

Rates & Availability

Bootjack House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
1 night minimum stay
$150
 
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning (guests 1-8) $100 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $250
Tax Rate 11.0%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Bootjack House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1360 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Free Long Distance ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Mobile Phone ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • Catering Available
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Master Bath - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
  • Fresh towels and linens are provided.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Master Bedroom - 1 king , Master Bedroom includes Cal King and attached Bath
    Guest Room 1 - 1 king , 1 queen
    Guest Room 2 - 1 queen
  • Clean sheets and extra blankets provided.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Music Library ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
  • 4 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed
Attractions:
  • churches
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • roller blading
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting

Partner Offers