check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Peaceful Property for an Adventurous Gathering

34 Reviews
Bedrooms 3
Property type house

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more




Bootjack House Rental Photos and Description

3 Bedroom, 2 bathroom with Mountain Views

Just 30 miles from the Arch Rock Entrance to Yosemite National Park and close to many year-round activities throughout Mariposa County sits Quarry House;

a secluded getaway committed to providing a smoke-free and clean environment for Yosemite visitors to rest and relax in.

The homeowner chose the name Quarry House for the unique granite outcroppings on the property. The house is surrounded by Black Oaks, Manzanita, Pine Trees and visited daily by various bird species and deer. The granite rocks, the wildness of the yard and how it changes with the seasons is part of the appeal of Quarry House.

The inside of the home, with three spacious bedrooms and two full baths will comfortably accommodate up to 8 people. The open floor plan, connecting the fully stocked kitchen, dining area and entertainment corner, makes this an inviting space to gather with family and friends. There is great Wi-Fi, no cable TV, and a landline with local and long distance calling (U.S. only), as there is spotty cell reception in most of the area.

Quarry House is a mere 7 miles from historic gold rush town of Mariposa, which offers an array of dining options, grocery stores, museums, wine tasting, antiquing and local boutiques. Enjoy the beautiful drive along highway 140 for easy access to the Merced River and Yosemite National Park.

More Details
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed

Member since: 2012
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
October 20, 2016

About The Owner

As a long time resident of Mariposa County, I have greatly enjoyed living, playing and working in this beautiful mountain range. I spent many years in the backcountry of Yosemite constructing stone trails before going into the building trades. My experience as a stonemason and builder is what I have brought to Quarry House in order to elevate and express what this property has to offer. I spent time renovating the entire house, adding amenities and unique stone accents throughout the home to make it what it is today. I still stay there from time to time to continue working on sculptures and other art projects with the granite from the land. Quarry House was my home for many years. I decided to open it up as a vacation rental so that people could experience Yosemite from the comfort of a Sierra Foothills home. I hope you enjoy your stay at Quarry House!

Guestbook comments from the owner

Our stay at the Quarry House was amazing! ♥

We enjoyed every miniute of it… the deer in the morning was probably the most amazing part although the trees and other wildlife were things we will always remember. Until next time, Quarry House, ♥
Dec 2012
  • 1 of 14


based on 34 traveler reviews

Peaceful Property for an Adventurous Gathering
average rating of 4.1764708 based on 48 reviews

yosemite adventure.

  • 1 of 5

We stayed in the house 3 nites ending sept 30. I just got my damage refund dated oct 17th. I inquired as to where it was a week ago and was told that contract says 14 days. Never happened to me before and I won't stay here again. I expect better treatment than that. I'm a customer for God sake. We are mature and left the place clean. I've done trips where we stayed at 5 different places, If everyone took 14 days, It would mean a lot of money hanging out there.

The house was nice inside. The swamp cooler is very noisy. Outside is being done by someone else. Barbecue was very dirty. Tables and chairs not usable without a cleaning.

It took two hours to get to Glacier Point from house. Park entrance is long way from main attractions in park.

  • Submitted: Oct 17, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Nice and peaceful

  • 5 of 5

Stayed over for a night on a quick trip to Yosemite. Nice and quiet and a beautiful starry sky at night. Cute little area and town nearby. Everything was clean and great.

  • Submitted: Oct 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

The house was exactly as pictured.

  • 4 of 5

The house offers an open floor plan. The kitchen is well stocked for cooking needs. Bedrooms were spacious. The only problem we encountered was a broken recliner but they have a great sectional! The TV is new and has great picture quality but remember to bring movies or use Netflix as movie selection is outdated and there is no cable. Overall a nice experience. We were gone hiking most of the day to Yosemite which was about a 30+ min drive to park entrance. Good location for the town of Mariposa.

  • Submitted: Aug 29, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Séjour à Yosemite

  • 3 of 5

Maison très confortable et agréable au porte du Yosemite Park, nous avons passé un agréable séjour.

  • Submitted: Aug 24, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Rented this house for 2 nights. Very warm, lack of fans/ACs. I paved and dusty driveway

  • 1 of 5

Rented this house. It's v warm, lacking fans/ACs, TV not working, unpaved and dusty driveway and over 32 miles far from Yosemite National Park. The property manager withheld our deposit for no logical reason. Never recommend this for vacation.

  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: It is extremely rare for us to withhold security deposits from our guests at Quarry House. Security deposits would only be withheld for reasons that are clearly defined in our Rental Agreement. For the knowledge of our future guest, the reasons we have held the deposit in the past are excessive cleaning and unannounced guest. Cooling system controls are located in the hallway near the second guest bathroom. The driveway is flat and unpaved, dust can be controlled by regulating speed. The wall mounted flat screen tv functions properly and no satellite or cable is provided as stated in our listing.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Comfortable and clean house

  • 5 of 5

We had wonderful vacation in this house. It was spacious and clean. Bedding was comfy and cozy.

We will surely go back to this place when we visit Yosemite again. Thank you!

  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Pioneer Market
"Grocery store with all your needs from produce to wine to household products. They even have..."
"Great atmosphere for an upscale dining experience. "
California State Mining and Mineral Museum
"A historical and educational outing."
Prospectors Brewing Company -- CLOSED
"Excellent local craft microbrewery."
Mariposa Pizza Factory
"Best pizza in Mariposa!"
High Country Health Foods & Cafe
"Excellent organic market with fresh produce and local foods. Cafe offers made to order sandw..."
1850 Restaurant
"Fresh young face in Mariposa's casual dining options. Best burger in town!"
Pony Expresso
"Small batches roasted daily of organic, fair trade, single origin and custom blended coffees..."
The Alley
"Great place to enjoy a beer after a long day on the trail. Specializes in microbrews."
Jantz Bakery
"Awesome Mennonite bakery specializing in pies and pastries. "
Yosemite Bug Rustic Mountain Resort
"Family style dining featuring fresh, local food. Full health spa with massages and yoga clas..."
Nearest Airport
72 Miles
Fresno International (FAT)
Nearest Barpub
7 Miles
The Hideout
Nearest Golf
21 Miles
River Creek Golf Course
Nearest Motorway
2 Miles
Hwy 140
Nearest Ski
53 Miles
Badger Pass Ski Resort
Car: necessary


Rates & Availability

Bootjack House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
My Standard Rate
1 night minimum stay
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $250
Cleaning (guests 1-8) $100 + Tax
Tax Rate 11.0%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Bootjack House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1360 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Free Long Distance ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Mobile Phone ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Stove
  • Catering Available
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Master Bath - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
  • Fresh towels and linens are provided.
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Master Bedroom - 1 king , Master Bedroom includes Cal King and attached Bath
    Guest Room 1 - 1 king , 1 queen
    Guest Room 2 - 1 queen
  • Clean sheets and extra blankets provided.
  • DVD Player
  • Music Library ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
  • 4 garden chairs
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • limited accessibility ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed
  • churches
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • roller blading
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting

Partner Offers