Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

'5 Boys' Mt. Retreat -Panoramic Views!- 5 Spacious Bedrooms & Gameroom

Sleeps14
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms3
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 - 5 nights

Overview

About the property

5 Bedroom 3 Bath w/Mountain Views, Loft & Gameroom

*** PRISTINE HOME !! ***

Come enjoy some time away in this luxury home - beautifully constructed with post & beam architecture and wrapped in poplar bark siding.

Walk into the tile foyer, drop your gear and catch your breath as you notice log railings, unique timber architecture, 2-story vaulted tongue in groove wood ceiling, and open living areas. Head right out the back doors onto the secluded top deck to take in the mountain view.

When you step back into the house, check out our fully equipped kitchen with granite counter tops, stainless appliances, and a window to the world. The farm house table seats 10+ and there are 4 rustic bar stools at the counter. Fresh mountain air will invite you outside to eat at the huge picnic table.

In the den, imagine yourself snuggling into the generous sectional couch with a good book, or grabbing a remote and watching something on the included Netflix subscription (Roku included on all TVs!).

Walk behind the 2 story stacked stone fireplace to get to the first master bedroom with a vaulted ceiling, beautiful king sized, white pine bed, and private access to the deck. The master bath has everything you need including a Jacuzzi tub, double sinks, granite counter, tile floors and natural stone tile walk-in shower.

The second bedroom on the main level has a queen sized bed and a private entrance to a full bathroom--finished with granite and a tiled shower/bath combination.

When you look up to the vaulted ceiling, the log railing will invite you to check out the loft playroom. Here the kids will love the TV (Netflix and xBox included) and play space next to the bunk room furnished with 4 twin beds.

When you are ready, head downstairs to find the second master, another bedroom and the game room all with access to the expansive lower deck. This king master has a private sitting area and en-suite bathroom with a brushed stone tile shower and granite counters for the sink and vanity table. The other huge bedroom on this floor has 2 queen sized log beds and a flat screen TV.

The game room is made for hours of fun and includes a full-size air hockey table ready for your tournament! Prefer a sit-down game? How about cards at the poker table? Maybe you brought DVDs, or you'd like to watch a movie on Netflix (don't forget it's included!)?

Make sure to save time for outdoor living. We have over 1,400 square feet of deck space where you will love being outdoors relaxing in the hammock, having a picnic or grilling your dinner. Don't forget to head down into the back yard, where you will find benches and a fire pit - perfect for making s’mores!

Where ever you go in our home you are going to feel welcomed, relaxed and pampered. No need to head to the store the minute you arrive--your beds are made, your towels are ready and we've got paper products and basic supplies there for you.

Note, the walkway from the driveway to the front door has only 3 stairs, so with two of the bedrooms on that main level it is ideal for people with limited mobility.

This is a small neighborhood with a large 2+ acre property which provides full privacy from neighbors without feeling isolated.

Our home is conveniently located off Hwy 105 and 4 miles to Boone, 7 miles to Blowing Rock, 6 miles to Appalachian Ski Mountain, 7 miles to Tweetsie Railroad, 12 miles to Hawksnest and about 15 miles to both Beech and Sugar Mountain with easy highway access to all. While 4WD is always recommended during winter months, it is not required for access to this home.

IMPORTANT NOTES: (in order to maintain the quality of our home)

-- Responsible person must be at least 30 years of age and in attendance during the rental period.

-- Occupancy is limited at all times to 14 people. No parties/gatherings, or additional house guests.

-- Parking is restricted to 5 vehicles with no available on-street parking.

Our rental has partnered with Mountain Guest Services(www.MountainGuestServices.com) of West Jefferson to offer our guests concierge service - from sotcking your rental to assisting in planning a special event! Visit their website or call Concierge Manager at 828-773-3978.

More Details

Owner
5 Boys Mt. Retreat
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
August 18, 2017

About 5 Boys Mt. Retreat

With 5 boys between 2 families who couldn't resist buying some mountain property? Our 2 families purchased this home in April 2012 and we've really enjoyed making this home a relaxing destination with lots of special touches. We love getting away to 5 Boys Retreat and we are sure you will too!

5 Boys Mt. Retreat purchased this cabin in 2012

Why 5 Boys Mt. Retreat chose High Country & Blue Ridge Mountains

When we drove just a few minutes from downtown Boone, and found this unique post and beam home nestled in the trees, we knew right away this was the place for us! We wanted a place that let us spread out a little, but also gave us a place to gather. We like to cook for our crowd, so we needed a big kitchen. We were looking for nature, so appreciated the mountain view and deck that feels like a tree house. This home had it all. At the same time, we also have fun wandering around Blowing Rock, skiing at Sugar Mountain, or doing the zipline at Hawk's Nest.

Guestbook comments from the owner

5 Boys made our 3 families sooo happy. Your home is perfect for vacation, especially Christmas. The views are spectacular and the house is warm and cozy. We can't thank you enough for sharing your family home with our families.
Dec 2014
  • 1 of 5

Amenities

Boone Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 14 ...
  • Min. age of primary renter: 30 ...
  • Parties/events not allowed ...
  • PARKING: restricted to 5 vehicles with no available on-street parking.
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Gas Fireplace ...
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Main Floor Master - toilet , shower , jetted tub , Tile floor and shower, granite vanity
    Lower Level Master - toilet , shower , Tile floor, granite counter, vanity section
    Main Floor Bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower , Tile Floors, 2 entries - private for main floor queen
  • 3
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 14
  • Master #1 - Main Floor - 1 king
    Master #2 - Lower Level - 1 king
    Bedroom #3 - Main Floor - 1 queen
    Bedroom #4 (2 beds) - Lower Level - 2 queen
    Bedroom #5 (4 beds) - Upper Level - 4 twin/ single
    Loft Area w/Futon - 1 sleep sofa /futon
  • Both Master bedrooms have large en-suite baths and main floor queen bedroom has private access to the 3rd bath. Pack-n-Play available as well.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Game Room ...
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Games ...
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Pool / Spa:
  • jetted tub
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • shuffleboard
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(95 traveler reviews)

93% Complete
6% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
'5 Boys' Mt. Retreat -Panoramic Views!- 5 Spacious Bedrooms & Gameroom
average rating of 4.936842 based on 100 reviews
Raleigh, NC
5

Our family spent a great week in the Boone area.

  • 5 of 5

It is a perfect house for our family and is the second time that we have rented it.

  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Awesome!!!

  • 5 of 5

Our family of 12 loved 5 Boys Retreat! Beautiful home, great location, and was incredibly well equipped, there was not one thing extra we needed that wasn't there..amazing. We consider this one of the best VRBO rentals we've ever stayed in. Can't wait to return!

  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Great mountain house

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful time with our family reunion. The rooms were very spacious and comfortable. Kitchen well equipped. Lots of places to sit and opportunities for privacy. The. best place we have rented. My son appreciated the book with recommendations for hikes and restaurants and had great experiences as a result.

  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Indian Trail, NC
4

Very nice home

  • 4 of 5

The images of this home are accurate. It is "remote" but only a few minutes from Boone. The kitchen is huge and well-stocked. Cabinets have labels to show where everything should go. This home had a stock of all the basic items you'd need (paper towels, toilet paper, garbage bags, laundry soap, dishwasher detergent, dish soap, hand soap, even makeup removers). When we found a bedroom light not working, they had lightbulbs, making it an easy enough fix. Although cleanliness wasn't perfect, it was good -- the cleanest mountain home I've stayed in. For our group, the mix of beds / bedrooms was very good.

Of course, virtually nothing is perfect... but most complaints were about the build of the home -- little the owners could do to change that. People really wanted another bathroom or two. Group was not happy that there is no bathroom in the loft and it really would have been nice if the lower level bathroom was able to be accessed by all, not just the lower master bedroom. The person sleeping in the main level queen found herself quite bothered by people going in and out of the main floor bathroom. I found quite a bit of debris on the floors when we arrived, wish they would've been swept or vacuumed better. The back floodlight bulbs were blown out and could not be fixed during our stay. This prevented our being able to utilize the firepit on 2/3 of our stay as (even with a flashlight) it didn't feel safe trying to get down there without a light... so that was disappointing.

All in all, a nice home that we would consider staying in again.

  • Submitted: Jul 20, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We apologize again for the flood lights and that we weren't able to get someone out to replace them once we learned about the problem. With a short stay like yours it isn't always possible - we'll considering leaving additional flood bulbs with the other replacements you found useful! I understand the flashlights we have available aren't ideal for everyone. Also, the debris you mention on the floor will be discussed with our cleaning crew. Always feel free to call immediately when you notice something like this (renting anywhere) as our team would definitely have returned to the house directly and fixed your concerns. Really any good crew should do so. I'm happy to say that we have plans in the works to add another full bathroom downstairs so watch for our listing update to 4 bathrooms! Thanks for your input and we hope you visit again soon!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

5 Boys Mountain Retreat is Amazing!

  • 5 of 5

This house is just right! The attention to detail in the décor is lovely. The beds are comfortable and the linens high quality. The kitchen is just like home.....everything you could possibly need and more. The porches provide vistas that are breath-taking. The proximity to Boone and surrounding areas is perfect. The owners provide more than most rental properties in terms of useful items and things for comfort, including lots of fleece throws for wrapping up in on the porches or watching tv. Just can't say enough about how great the house is! One thing that was a bit of an issue is the bathroom arrangement on the lower level. That posed a slight problem for our family.

  • Submitted: Jun 28, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Garysburg, NC
4

Great trip! House was as expected.

  • 4 of 5

We had a great time at 5 boys w/ four generations of family! There are only three bathrooms, and would have been nicer to have another one. In ground floor you have to go thru master bedroom to use bathroom. This was my fault for not looking more closely and if this isn't a problem for your group, then no worries. But, for this reason, we probably won't rent this house again. It was a beautiful house in a great location and was as described.

  • Submitted: Jun 18, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $170
Damage Deposit $300

PLEASE NOTE: (in order to maintain the quality of our home)
-- Responsible person must be over 30 years of age and in attendance during the rental period.
-- Occupancy is limited at all times to 14 people. No parties/gatherings, or additional house guests.
-- Parking is restricted to 5 vehicles with no available on-street parking.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.