check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Cheryl Gould

Member since: 2012
Call Manager
Speaks: english

Charming Country House Overlooking Candlewood Lake, Beach

18 Reviews
Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

New Milford House Rental Photos and Description

3 bedrooms, 2 full bathrooms

This warm and cozy country lake house provides a comfortable stay in an attractive, rustic atmosphere with lovely scenic views. Located on a quiet road in a friendly community with easy access to a variety of shops and the quaint, historic town of New Milford. Town offers charming colonial buildings, trendy restaurants and boutiques, a cinema and several convenience stores. Walk to a private, community beach with beautiful views of Candlewood Lake. This house provides a wonderful experience for singles, romantic couple-getaways and family vacations.

The backyard patio with gas barbeque grill overlooking a perennial garden and screened-in porch with lake view are wonderful for warm autumn days and evenings. Use the living room or kitchen fireplace to warm up the colder months.

Two bedrooms with one queen and one double bed upstairs, one twin bedroom with decorative fireplace downstairs. Two full bathrooms and a huge kitchen with skylight and vaulted ceilings overlooks the patio and gardens. The dining room table overlooks the porch and patio and the living room has a fireplace, skylights, television set and stereo system.

Hike the beautiful Appalachian Trail, explore Kent State Park Waterfalls, Mount Tom State Park, Bulls Bridge Falls and White Memorial State Park, and witness the one-of-a-kind New England fall foliage while strolling through nearby towns or driving scenic country roads. Gorgeous apple and pumpkin picking farms and corn mazes in the fall. Covered bridges, historic museums, wineries, flea markets and wildlife sanctuaries are also within easy reach. Venture out to the Berkshires, or stay closer to home and visit Lake Waramug and Bantam Lake.

For the winter months, ski at nearby Mohawk Mountain, or stay local for ice-fishing, snowmobiling and ice-skating on frozen Candlewood Lake.

A wonderful house for beautiful, quiet scenery and cozy relaxation.

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Cheryl Gould (Property Manager)
Member since: 2012
Call Manager
Speaks: english

About Cheryl Gould

I live in New York City and work as an administrator for the New York City Department of Education. I've thoroughly enjoyed this house for over 20 years. I chose it for it's beautiful New England appeal and prime location in the quiet and beautiful New Milford Bay area.

Cheryl Gould purchased this house in 1990

Why Cheryl Gould chose Candlewood Lake

This picturesque house is located in an attractive community with easy access to a private community beach and boat docks.

What makes this house unique

Candlewood Lake is the largest lake in Connecticut and one of the largest man-made lakes in the United States, spanning 8.4 square miles with 86 miles of shoreline.

Reviews

4.9
based on 18 traveler reviews

Charming Country House Overlooking Candlewood Lake, Beach
average rating of 4.9444447 based on 18 reviews
4

The Country House overlooking Candlewood Lake Beach in New Milford is ideal for a large family.

  • 4 of 5

I am quite pleased to recommend the Country House to anyone who wants to visit the New Milford area. We appreciated the many modern appliances, including the 50 inch color TV, with WiFi, access to Netflix, and pool table. The home is nicely decorated and the house can easily accommodate a family of five or six. A great value for a vacation home.

  • Submitted: Jun 29, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Very cozy and comfortable

  • 5 of 5

This lake house was very cozy and nostalgic. Great lake views. Nice screen room and private patio - we grilled several times with the gas grill. We also used the outdoor fireplace. We really enjoyed the pool table on the bottom floor (basement?)

It had lots of room and was very comfortable. My daughter (9 yo) loved the beach a short walk away (100 meters).

  • Submitted: Jun 23, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Love love love!

  • 5 of 5

What a beautiful house! We loved it so much. Cheryl was so helpful and friendly, the house itself was just magnificent. So many great places to sit and hang out, inside, outside, or the screened in porch! You can't go wrong with this adorable property overlooking Candlewood lake!

  • Submitted: Apr 29, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great layout

  • 5 of 5

We enjoyed our stay and found it be close to everything we needed. The house is very comfortable and we had plenty of space.

  • Submitted: Apr 24, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Southbury, CT, USA
5

Very good quality and outstanding value -- highly recommended.

  • 5 of 5

My family and I thoroughly enjoyed our two week stay during December 2015 at this comfortable house with a fine view of Candlewood Lake in New Milford. It was wonderful having fires in the living room fireplace, and we also had fun using the downstairs pool table. There was plenty of room for a family of six, and everything we needed was included. The owner, Cheryl, is very easy to work with, and all the necessary communications and transactions proceeded in a friendly manner. We have rented through VRBO many times, and this is definitely one of the best places we have ever stayed in terms of both quality and value.

  • Submitted: Jan 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Home from Home

  • 5 of 5

We are an active retired couple from the UK. We have recently spent two months at Cheryl's Candlewood Lake property in New Milford.

The spacious house is in a great location being really close to the lake. We enjoyed using the Community private beach, either just relaxing in the sun or swimming in the clear water.

The house itself is extremely well equipped, we found just about everything we needed, especially in the kitchen which has a cosy charm of its own. We enjoyed the patio area and were able to enjoy meals outside which was lovely. One final point I would like to make is regarding Cheryl, the owner. She could not have been more helpful and responded to our many questions immediately. She is a really lovely lady and was a pleasure to deal with. Yes, we would definitely recommend this charming property.

  • Submitted: Dec 6, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Map

Nearest Barpub
4 Miles
Town of New Milford
Nearest Golf
6 Miles
New Milford
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Route 7
Car: necessary

Photos

Rates & Availability

New Milford House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Fall/Winter/Spring
Sep 15 2016 - May 23 2017
1 night minimum stay
$150
From
$400
Fri,Sat
$1,000
$2,200
 
 
My Standard Rate
1 night minimum stay
$200
$1,300
$4,000
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $140
Refundable damage deposit $500

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

New Milford House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Lake View
  • Village ...
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace
Kitchen:
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 2
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Queen size Beds (1), Double Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1)
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties