Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

Hale Pohaku ( House of Rock)

Bedrooms 2
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights


About the property

2 Bedroom, 2 1/2 Bath, with Ocean View, Sleeps 2-8 people

Ocean view home,with a large lanai for daily barbeques with family and friends. Huge garage for boats and entertainment. Walk in showers in both bathrooms, completely tiled with stone throughout the house. High ceilings with a cool ocean breeze. Handicap accessible.

Property Manager
Janet Quinn
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
February 17, 2017

About Janet Quinn

Aloha, My family and I built this home with endless views of the ocean which we love and play in, as our playground. I'm born and raised in Kona and Millolii my love of the ocean has been the reason why I own in such a special place. My passion is to dive, fish, surf and swim all day long. I welcome you folks to enjoy this special place in Hawaii.

Janet Quinn purchased this house in 2008

Why Janet Quinn chose Kona Coast

Millolii is a special place where the rat race ends and the vacation begins,with peace and quiet. There are fantastic sunsets and bright stars at night. I was raised in Millolii and will always enjoyed all aspects of the hawaiian way of life.

What makes this house unique

This property is unique in many ways because of the warmth and togetherness you will find when staying at my home while vacationing in hawaii. The house has views of the ocean along with a huge lanai and a great garage for entertaining family & friends.


Captain Cook House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Ocean View ...
  • Water View ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Covered Parking
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower
  • 2 and 1/2 bath
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • King size bed (1), Queen size Bed (1), Sleeper Sofa (1), Futon Bed (1)
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Porch / Veranda
  • wheelchair accessible
  • churches
  • library
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • photography
  • shelling
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • roller blading
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • swimming
  • tennis


Good! 3.9/5 -
(7 traveler reviews)

57% Complete
14% Complete
0% Complete
14% Complete
14% Complete
Hale Pohaku ( House of Rock)
average rating of 3.857143 based on 7 reviews
Wrangell, Alaska

Great value and location

  • 4 of 5

This house was perfect for us fisherman. There is high rocks to fish off right by and snorkeling during calm day. We seen whales in the bay out front and hooked up with some cool fish. We took a charter out fishing right in through the bay and landed Wahoo.

The Hale Pohaku has clean big rooms. The kitchen had everything we needed to feel right a home. Breakfast time would find us out front at the table enjoying the sun, friendly neighbors and the ocean view. This place has great parking and is all on one level no stairs. Big walk-in showers in the bathrooms and a shower outside to wash off the sand. Our favorite beaches are a few miles away. Our host (manager) was kind and met our every need.

  • Submitted: Apr 19, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at The Hale Pohaku. Thank you for sharing your vacation with others.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

A few things you should consider

  • 2 of 5

First of all I want to say that we enjoyed Lynn and she was helpful. We especially appreciated the drinking water. The house itself is beautiful. We loved hearing the waves crash into the rocks. However, we feel there are a few things you should know. This house is quite a distance from Kailua-Kona, actually closer to South Point. The winding road from the house up to the highway will take you 15-20 minutes to navigate because it's so winding, and navigating it after dark is pretty scary. If you like a hard mattress, this is the place for you as both of them are very firm. We did not sleep well, however, because they were uncomfortable for us. I would suggest at least an egg crate that could be inserted for those who need more cushion to the beds. The view is wonderful even though the house is across the street from the crashing waves. However, that view isn't going to last as they are constructing a house across the street that will totally block the view. I'm not sure when that is scheduled to be built (only a concrete pad at present) but you might want to check. We found it very pleasant to sit on the covered front lanai and watch the waves, but you will not always be able to do that. The landscape of this housing development is also very bleak, being build on black lava rock with very little greenery. I think in years to come that will change. Also, although a gas grill is provided it is lacking briquets and does not cook the meat well.

  • Submitted: Feb 27, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: When people inquire for a booking I inform them of the distance from were they are ariving from. I also inform them of the road off the highway so they are aware to drive slow and put the car in NO.2. The drive from the highway has many beautiful plants to enjoy before you arrive at the rental. Most people know this is a Lava field but then again the Island is made up of Lava. The cement slab that was mentioned in the review will never have a house built on that site because their is a cave under the lot. The Hale Pohaku has beautiful flowers in front of the house. The gas grill does not take briguets and has a hot flame. It works great This is a great escape from city life and the view of the ocean is amazing.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Hilo, Hawaii,US

Beautiful Vacation Rental

  • 5 of 5

The hale pohaku is our home away from home. We stay at this vacation rental every chance we get to stay here. We love staying at this house. Lynn the manager is always there to help and accommodate our needs on when we want to stay at the hale pohaku. Everything about this vacation rental is perfect and we appreciate being able to stay here every chance we get. Our family loves to fish and it's beneficial and convenient for us to bring our boat and park it at the rental. Our kids loves the atmosphere and feels very safe in this house. There's a swimming area for the kid's just minutes down the road from the house, so that's perfect. We are never disappointed when we stay at the hale pohaku and we will continuously be back to stay at this rental. [FYI: the owner's of the rental is very AWESOME. Very down to earth people. We were so honored to have met them face to face. Our special THANKS to the Owner's and to Lynn for allowing our family to stay in this lovely home...

  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
Eagan, Minnesota

The beautiful ocean and whales at Milolli

  • 5 of 5

Had a wonderful stay at the house in Milolli and Lynn could not have been more accommodating. Really loved watching the whales and listening to the waves. It was so quiet and peaceful. Hope to go back again next year. Have been going to the Big Island for quite a few years and the Milolli home is the best one yet. No coqui frogs singing all night just the waves lulling you to sleep. Oh, one night the whales sang and it was great to hear them. Barbara

  • Submitted: Mar 5, 2015
  • Stayed: Feb 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad to read reviews how people enjoyed there stay at The Hale Pohaku. Reviews are very helpful to new travelers. Thank you and hopefully you will be able to stay again
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0

Unhappy renter

  • 1 of 5

I would never rent this place again, there was not enough fans that work, there was a electrical burning smell the whole time of my stay, I purchased two fans to help relieve some of the hot air at night. The stand up fan in the rental rattled and made so much noise. The floors were dirty and dusty, the manger said to use our slippers in the house cause its dusty. There was ant trail in the house, roaches in the kitchen. I've use the house only to sleep and bath in the evenings and out during the whole day. The pictures that was provided made it look really good but I was not happy being there. The manager also made it a problem to be there. I didn't want to sign the letter but she wasn't going to refund me, so it left me with no choice. She being watchful all the time made me feel, it's not a place for me and my grandchildren. I went there to enjoy my family reunion but it wasn't. I would never recommend it to anyone else.

  • Submitted: Sep 3, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: This group arrived to stay two nights. The house was clean and everything was working. Alll groups are required to sign a Rules /Regulations Form. Refunds are issued 30 days prior your arrival like states on our site. She brought two extra small children when she only said she would arrive with two. I did not make a big deal over it. She wanted extra adults to stay in the house without paying for them. We have a set rate on our website. The patio doors with screens give the house a comfortable ocean breeze. Shoes are allowed to wear in the house because the flooring through the whole house is hard tile. We spray for ants and roaches. If a screen door is left open a roach could fly in the house if their are any around. Ants are attracted to sugar so if you have uncovered open friut on the counter you might get a few ants. I put my fruit in the refrigerator. These folks were gone all day to some family gathering and came back at dark when I was sleeping. At 1:00 am they were using the F word and yelling at the children to take showers which woke me up but I did not get involved. The children were screaming and crying while being yelled at. The day of departure I went over to the house while they were getting ready to leave that is when they first told me about the fans. My phone number is right on the refrigerator which people can call me anytime. I live one street away from the rental but I stay very busy so I never seen these people only on the arrival day and depature day. New fans were put in the house after the renters left. New floor fan also. So I hope this review they put does not turn you away from this beautiful home
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
Spokane, WA


  • 5 of 5

Loved hearing the waves crash against the shore from our bedroom. And seeing the stars at night was awesome, no streetlights to obscure night vision. View from the lanai was great. The house was as described and in excellent condition. Lynn the manager was very helpful. It is a distance from Kona, almost an hour, but that was what we wanted, a place more secluded and next to the ocean. Great snorkeling at the bay a 20min hike from Milolli, and great snorkeling at the City of Refuge, less than 30 minutes away.

  • Submitted: Mar 6, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for sharing your experince at The Hale Pohaku. Hopefully it will help other travalers to the Island.
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0


Nearest Airport
42 Miles
Keahole Airport, Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Nearest Barpub
14 Miles
Ocean View Town
Nearest Golf
45 Miles
Discovery Harbor
Nearest Motorway
4 Miles
Highway 11
Nearest Restaurant
14 Miles
Ocean View Town
Nearest Beach
2 Miles
Honomolino Bay, Black Sand Beach
Car: necessary

Milolii is an oceanfront community, away from the city life with peace and quiet along the coastline of the Big Island.There is endless ocean views and clear blue waters for swimming, snorkeling, scuba diving, kayaking and fishing. Honomolino is one of the famous black sand beaches located within hiking distance from the rental property, where you can view spinner dolphins, swim, snorkel, and also fish.


Rates & Availability

Captain Cook House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $100

$100.00 a night for 2 people $145.00 a night for 3 to 5 people $190.00 a night for 6 to 8 people
$100.00 cleaning fee Refunds 30 days prior arrival

Cashier check or money order to Janelle Quinn, P.O. Box 390061 Keauhou, HI. 96739 or Refunds 30 day prior arrival

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
This calendar has not been updated in over 2 months and the availability shown may not be accurate.