check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Kanika Ghai

Member since: 2012
Call Owner
Speaks: english

Private Beach, Panoramic Water Views, Dolphins in your backyard! 28 d preffered

39 Reviews
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 1 - 28 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Woodrings House Rental Photos and Description

Spacious 3BR/3BA on a private beach, Minimum 28 day rental

Whether you are a beach lover, a birdwatcher, or on a hunt for the perfect sunset, our home is just the place for you!

Located on a private white sand beach, towards the end of a secluded peninsula, the house has 270 degree panoramic views of 3 bodies of water (San Carlos Bay, Tarpon Bay, and Ladyfinger Lake).

It is also situated in the heart of the Ding Darling Wildlife Refuge. A variety of bird species perch on our dock during the day, and you can spot dolphins and manatees playing just a few yards away. The property is also home to a family of endangered gopher tortoises! Watch the wildlife from the comfort of the home, or take a kayak out to the nearby Rookery Islands for a truly spectacular showing of birds.

The house itself has been recently constructed (mid 2011), with all modern amenities, appliances and styling. There is a pool and a hot tub, multiple TVs, WiFi, massaging shower heads, and a Bosch gas stove for the master chef.

This house is our little slice of heaven that we'd love to share with you. There's nothing like watching the sun set on the bay from the rooftop deck, or falling asleep to the soft crashing of the waves just 15 yards from the bedroom window. We hope you take a look for yourself!

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair accessible
Kanika Ghai (Owner)
Member since: 2012
Call Owner
Speaks: english

About Kanika Ghai

Husband and wife living in Chicago, Both of us are physicians, and escape to Florida every chance we get!

Kanika Ghai purchased this house in 2009

Why Kanika Ghai chose Florida

We saw many places when we were looking to buy, but always came back to this one. We fell in love with it, and bought in 2009, and completed a gut-rehab in 2011.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Drs. (xxx)- We will be out of the house as scheduled this morning and want you to know how much we enjoyed our time here. This is truly a gift of nature and one of the finest locations on the island.......thank you for your attentiveness to things that go wrong.......Please accept this as our notice that we would like to rent the house next year......
Jan 2013
  • 1 of 1

Reviews

4.9
based on 39 traveler reviews

Private Beach, Panoramic Water Views, Dolphins in your backyard! 28 d preffered
average rating of 4.8974357 based on 40 reviews
St. Louis, MO
5

What a gem!

  • 5 of 5

My family and I had an amazing week staying a Dolphin Watch!

The house was lovely, well furnished, and had everything our family of four with two school-age kids could need for a week of fun and relaxation. (Really, from cake pans to pool toys to beach towels, we were set!)

The location of the house on the peninsula could not be more ideal - as the second to last house, there was literally no traffic going past our house. The location of the house in proximity to the rest of the island was perfect - close enough to get anywhere on the island within 15 or 20 minutes, but far enough away to feel like we were on our own little secluded retreat.

The view of the bay was just idyllic. We saw dolphins and manatees off our dock every single day of our trip, not to mention the variety of both common and rare sea and shore birds. Add in the variety of jumping fish, multiple visits by groups of stingrays, and one visit from a very hungry gopher tortoise, and it seemed that every time we turned around someone was shouting to grab the camera or the binoculars.

We did have one hiccup at check-in time, but the owner was so immediately responsive, quick to accept responsibility, and really went above and beyond to make it right, that we couldn't complain at all.

After very little discussion, I think it is safe to say that we will be returning to Dolphin Watch for our family summer beach vacation for years to come!

  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Kansas City, Missouri
5

Beautiful Beach Property w/ Private Pool

  • 5 of 5

This home was a lovely place to call home during our trip to Sanibel. It was a large, spacious floor plan with enough room for our family of six to sleep comfortably. The pool was in excellent condition and a great place to escape the humid Florida air. Also, the road and the property itself are quiet, so you now you'll be able to truly feel like you are on vacation. I would recommend staying here if you are looking for an amazing rental property with owners who communicate well and leave very detailed notes.

  • Submitted: Aug 10, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Awesome location and vacation!

  • 5 of 5

We had an incredible experience. The location is amazing. We were able to see dolphin, manatee and other wildlife from the deck. The pool and hot tub were very nice. The house is labeled with use information and any questions were immediately answered by the owner. My only critique is the amount of no-see-ums that come with E location. Follow the owners advice so that you will not get bitten. I would definitely recommend this vacation rental.

  • Submitted: Jul 21, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Colorado Springs
5

Great location, beautiful home.

  • 5 of 5

Great location to do as much as you want or just relax and hang out at the pool. It was perfect! :)

  • Submitted: Jul 19, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Very relaxing, lots of space!

  • 4 of 5

We enjoyed a wonderful stay at the house. There was plenty of room for our family and we had all the amenities we could think of! Great sunsets, lots of nature all around. Even was blessed with an up close visit from a manatee family!

  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Columbus, Ohio
5

A beautiful property in a beautiful setting

  • 5 of 5

Having recently returned from a week at Dolphin Watch, we are already wishing we were back there! This is a lovely home on a quiet road, affording lots of privacy in a gorgeous natural setting. Easy access to the main drag in town meant that we were not far from conveniences, but just secluded enough to feel like we were in our own private oasis. Spacious for our family of four, but the house could easily accommodate 3 couples. The pool was lovely, and the wildlife off the dock was breath-taking. We saw dolphins almost every day just beyond the property. The screened-in porch was a wonderful way to watch the sunset, and though we didn't eat in very often, it would also be a great way to enjoy an evening meal. Sanibel has lots of great restaurants and cute shops. It is an easy area to navigate either by car or by bike. It was wonderful to be out exploring the island by day, and then to return to this sanctuary in the evenings.

It was apparent that the homeowner cares deeply about his property, and the times we were in contact, he truly made us feel more like friends than renters. If you are looking for a cookie-cutter, run of the mill house, you could find plenty of them...but if you are looking for that great blend of comfort and luxury, convenience and seclusion, check out Dolphin Watch.

  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Airport
22 Miles
Southwest Florida International Airport
Nearest Barpub
3.5 Miles
Lazy Flamingo II
Nearest Golf
3.5 Miles
Dunes Golf & Tennis
Nearest Motorway
5 Miles
Causeway Blvd
Nearest Restaurant
1.5 Miles
Sweet Melissa Cafe
Nearest Beach
15 Metres
Private Beach on Property
Car: recommended

Beautiful, private street on a 75 yd wide peninsula. Property is located on the edge (virtually inside) the Ding Darling Wildlife Refuge.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Woodrings House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Fall
Sep 18 2016 - Nov 18 2016
1 night minimum stay
$300
From
$350
Fri,Sat,Sun
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add $50 per night, per additional guest
 
Thanksgiving
Nov 19 2016 - Nov 27 2016
1 night minimum stay
$650
From
$850
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add $100 per night, per additional guest
 
Pre Xmas
Nov 28 2016 - Dec 21 2016
1 night minimum stay
$300
From
$350
Fri,Sat,Sun
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add $50 per night, per additional guest
 
Holiday
Dec 22 2016 - Jan 1 2017
1 night minimum stay
$900
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add $100 per night, per additional guest
 
Jan
Jan 2 2017 - Jan 31 2017
1 night minimum stay
$725
From
$800
Fri,Sat,Sun
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add $50 per night, per additional guest
 
Feb - March
Feb 1 2017 - Apr 9 2017
1 night minimum stay
$750
From
$850
Fri,Sat,Sun
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add $50 per night, per additional guest
 
April
Apr 10 2017 - Apr 30 2017
1 night minimum stay
$500
From
$575
Fri,Sat,Sun
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add $50 per night, per additional guest
 
may
May 1 2017 - May 25 2017
1 night minimum stay
$350
From
$400
Fri,Sat,Sun
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add $50 per night, per additional guest
 
summer
May 26 2017 - Sep 17 2017
1 night minimum stay
$400
From
$475
Fri,Sat,Sun
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add $50 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
28 night minimum stay
$9,000
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $1,500
processing ( refundable) $200
cleaning linens X 2 $450 + Tax
Tax Rate 11.0%

1. Preferred payment method is via homeawy/ vrbo payments via eCheck, While we do accept personal checks, wire transfers credit cards, etc. we prefer not to for purposes of simplifying our accounting etc. We Charge a $ 200 surcharge, that is refundable if and only if you use eCheck.

2. HOLIDAY SURCHARGES
28 day minimum stay
Holiday surcharges may apply

We accept payments by echeck preferably and would strongly advise against using credit cards.
Rates above are for a 28 night stay.
Last minute discounts always available.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 0% refund if canceled at least 0 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Woodrings House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2200 sq. ft.
  • 2 stories
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Beachfront ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Oceanfront
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Elevator ...
  • Garage ...
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , shower
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , dual person shower with multiple massaging heads and a view
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , tub , shower , multiple massaging head
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (2), Twin or Single Beds (2) Day bed/Trundle Bed. Sleeps 2, Sleep Sofa or Futons (1), air bed (Q).
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Heated Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Private Pool ...
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • snorkeling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Boat Dock, Private Beach, Access to some of our beach towels, beach chairs, other gear.

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties