check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand


Member since: 2012
Speaks: english

Fabulous Cabin, Outdoor and Indoor Pools, 0.5 mi. to Parkway

65 Reviews
Bedrooms 2
Half Baths1
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more


Tennessee Cabin Rental Photos and Description

2 bedrooms, 2.5 bathrooms near Parkway & attractions, home of Baxter the Bear

Relax and enjoy 'Our Hiking Hideaway', a 3 level duplex cabin located at Big Bear Lodge & Resort. As our guest, you’ll enjoy all the amenities of the resort including free WiFi & Netflix, indoor and outdoor pools, game room, exercise room and conference room. Our cabin is private, yet conveniently located minutes away from Pigeon Forge attractions, restaurants and shopping. Drive 10 minutes further to experience Gatlinburg and the beauty of the Great Smoky Mountains National Park.

Baxter the Bear resides in the upper loft, much to the delight of our guests. While you're staying with us, please help us complete the story of Baxter's journey to Our Hiking Hideaway.

Features of the main level of our cabin include:

• living area with leather sofa, stone gas fireplace, flat screen TV with BlueRay DVD player, Netflix, stereo system with Ipod player, and dining area,

• fully equipped kitchen (including coffee-maker)

• large half bath,

• washer and dryer

• screened porch with four person hot tub.

Like to hike? We love to hike in the Smokies. The guidebooks located in the armoire on the main level are provided for our guests wishing to experience the magnificence of the Smokies through hiking. The guides describe location, distance, level of difficulty, and highlights of all 900 miles of trails within the National Park boundary. Note: this could keep you VERY busy!

On the upstairs level, you’ll find:

• a loft with love seat,

• Baxter the Bear (he's not fake),

• master bedroom with king bed, 2 dressers and TV,

• full bath with shower and tub

• outdoor balcony to enjoy the view.

The downstairs suite is perfect for kids or other couples. For the comfort of our guests staying in the suite, we offer:

• kitchenette with sink, coffee- maker, microwave and mini refrigerator,

• stone gas fireplace,

• flat screen TV,

• queen sleeper sofa,

• bedroom with queen bed and 2 dressers,

• full bathroom with shower and tub.

Note that the downstairs suite opens to a large deck with gas grill and outdoor table and chairs.

Welcome, and enjoy your stay!

More Details
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Kristin (Owner)
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english

About Kristin

We moved from Michigan to Knoxville in 1978 to attend the University of Tennessee. We immediately fell in love with East Tennessee so we stayed and raised our family here. We're so fortunate to live at the gateway to one of the country's most beautiful and popular national parks.

Kristin purchased this cabin in 2002

Why Kristin chose Tennessee

We purchased our cabin in 2002 to allow us to be closer to the Smoky's for our hiking and fly-fishing adventures. The location at Big Bear Lodge & Resort is incredibly convenient to everything you need to enjoy this wonderful area. In 2012 we decided to forego rental management companies and rent on our own.

What makes this cabin unique

Our cabin is perfect for guests who want to be close to shopping, restaurants, and all of the Pigeon Forge attractions, but still feel a sense of privacy. We love to use it for our 'base camp' for hiking in the Great Smoky Mountains!

Guestbook comments from the owner

We absolutely loved the cabin - it was great. Had a great time in the mountains other than getting a little bruised from tubing down the river. The cabin was beautiful and our kids loved the bottom level - they basically had their own house down there. Thanks again and we will rent from you next time we visit the Smokey’s!
Jun 2013
  • 1 of 7


based on 65 traveler reviews

Fabulous Cabin, Outdoor and Indoor Pools, 0.5 mi. to Parkway
average rating of 4.523077 based on 72 reviews


  • 1 of 5

There are 2 huge problems with this cabin, the rude cleaning lady and the owners. I won't even address the dirty floors, dusty walls, cobwebs in bathroom or the filthy & broken gas grill. Check in was 3, we arrived around 3:10. Cleaning lady was there and acted disgusted with our presence. She rudely told us we were not supposed to be there until 4. We left and came back after she was gone. The day we checked out we got vague email from owners stating items were reported missing and they were doing inventory. I asked multiple times for them to explain & they continued to avoid giving me any specific details. In statement email that they were keeping deposit it stated because of items taken..linens, paper towels, toilet paper & shampoo and to change locks (still haven't figured that out).  I told them repeatedly we DID NOT take anything yet their reply was basically they believe the cleaning lady over us. When we arrived there was less than 1/3 rolls of toilet paper in all the bathrooms and even less than that left of a roll of paper towels. There is what I'm assuming (since they refuse to explain) what they are referring to as the "owners closet" in the tiny living room that was UNLOCKED with toilet paper in it.There was nothing stating these items were off limits. Normal people would lock areas they didnt want accessible.  I did replace the 3 rolls from here, left what we didn't use, who takes toilet paper?? I replaced the paper towels with a roll that I brought from home and I did take that with me when we left. As far as linens, we left everything we used and did not remove any from the cabin. I had even brought extra linen so I definitely did not need nor want theirs. They have the tiny little shampoo, soap, lotions, etc in bathrooms like most all places do. It's universally known those are to be used and we did. Yet these people, who have gone on the word of an obviously unhappy individual, are stealing my deposit for us using $5 worth of items. I have NEVER been accused of stealing anything before nor have I stolen anything. I have been coming to cabins in this area for many years and never had a problem.  Obviously the owners are sticking to their accusations that we took items but I KNOW we did not. Enjoy my money that you kept, I regret every dime we spent for this cabin.  We will definitely be staying at better accommodations in the future.

  • Submitted: Jul 14, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

In need of repair

  • 1 of 5

The washer (Dial just spun, you couldn't tell what cycle you were on, then didn't always spin and drain clothes) and dryer (it ran but didn't dry) they didn't work properly. The sleeper sofas were broken, one didn't work at all the other would go back in so it had to stay open and in the way all the time. The mattress in the master bedroom is so worn out it was hard to sleep on. There were huge indents were others slept and I mean big. The mattress needs to be replaced before anyone else stays there. The teflon is all scratched and in some places scraped off on pots and pans so cooking was a challenge. This not what we anticipated on finding when we got there. Cabinet hinges are loose and cause doors to pop when opening. I would not recommend this place to anyone.

  • Submitted: Jul 4, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Unfortunately, this guest experienced some issues that spoiled their visit. We got a call from our cleaning crew saying that the washer dial was broken and the guests wanted to clean towels every day. We had the dial worked on in the past and thought it had been fixed. So we called out the appliance service company and they determined that the timer was the culprit and that it would be two days for them to order the part and repair. We decided to order the part online and have it shipped for next day delivery to expedite the repair. The part did not arrive in time to repair that next day but it was repaired the following day, while the guest was still there. During that time, we instructed our cleaning crew to gather up their towels and wash them daily to help the situation. The sleeper sofa is difficult to close but it is regularly closed by other guests and our cleaning crew. Bed comfort is always a personal preference, we have gotten recent reviews that say the master bed is very comfortable but we will look into the complaint. We are sorry that this guest had issues - it seems like the washer issue sparked a lot of negative feelings particularly based on the majority of our reviews. We will be reviewing these comment to see how we can improve visits from our future guests.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Oak Forest, Illinois 60452

Great Cabin with tons of room for everyone so close to everything!

  • 4 of 5

What a great cabin for our family of five to stay in for almost a week..we thoroughly enjoyed all the amenities of the resort and loved having our own special cabin.

Clean and well maintained with plenty of room for everyone to have their own space. Our older adult children loved having the downstairs to themselves... they didn't keep us up either as we could not here them being two floors downstairs.

I especially loved the pool and the great views from our balcony. Our location to everything in Pigeon Forge was fantastic as we spent more time doing things than driving around in the car.

The owners gave us great directions to their place and we had no trouble at all finding it. Everything was as they stated in their advertisement and I would highly recommend this cabin to anyone looking for a place in Pigeon Forge.

Make sure you stop by the Pigeon Forge Island (within 5 minute drive) to check out the light show, shops, and general fun time.

  • Submitted: Jun 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 5 of 5

The cabin was very clean and equipped with everything you need for a home away from home. It was very close to the surround attractions, yet very quite. The beds are completely comfortable, I wanted to take them home with me. Would highly recommend this cabin to anyone

  • Submitted: Jun 17, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Upper Sandusky, OH

Great cabin at a fantastic price

  • 4 of 5

This cabin was perfect for our family of 4 vacation. Very roomy & clean. The kids had their own little "apartment" in the basement, which was really nice. The master bedroom was literally THE most comfortable bed I have ever slept in, I'll be missing that for sure! It's located right in the hart of Pigeon Forge, so depending on what you're looking for, that may be a pro or a con. I've stayed at more secluded places, which were nice for a romantic vacation, but we had the kiddos with us, so this was just fine. Short drive to all the action. Very close to the outlet mall, Wonderworks & The Island area. Easily walkable. The indoor & outdoor pools were decent & the hot tub in the cabin was very nice. Our stay was wonderful & I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Submitted: May 31, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Our needed getaway

  • 4 of 5

We enjoyed our stay here. Out of the traffic, close to gas stations, Kroger's, etc. The property is a very nice quiet area and this cabin is very close to the pools, and work out room. The hot tub was a good retreat after walking around Dollywood all day. This is great for two couples with your own bath, living room, small kitchen in the lower level. Had a great time. The owner was very nice to work with. Will keep this in mid for our next visit.

  • Submitted: May 26, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
36 Miles
Knoxville McGhee Tyson Airport
Nearest Golf
4 Miles
Gatlinburg Golf Course
Nearest Motorway
14 Miles
Nearest Ski
12 Miles
Ober Gatlinburg
Car: recommended

The Great Smoky Mountains National Park is minutes away. Hike (there are 900 miles of trails to choose from), explore Cades Cove, fly-fish, go tubing, or just take in the views. Pigeon Forge and Gatlinburg attractions include Dollywood and Splash Country, live country music shows, the Titanic museum, Ripley's Aquarium, outlet shopping and many others. Outdoor activities include hiking, zip-lining, fly fishing, whitewater rafting, tubing, golf, go-karts, miniature golf, skiing, ice skating and sledding at Ober Gatlinburg. Harrah's Cherokee Casino is only 45 miles away


Rates & Availability

Pigeon Forge Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
May 26 2016 - Sep 8 2016
3 night minimum stay
Sep 9 2016 - Nov 4 2016
3 night minimum stay
Late Fall
Nov 5 2016 - Nov 20 2016
2 night minimum stay
Nov 21 2016 - Nov 27 2016
3 night minimum stay
Winterfest 2016
Nov 28 2016 - Dec 22 2016
2 night minimum stay
Christmas 2016
Dec 23 2016 - Jan 2 2017
3 night minimum stay
Jan 3 2017 - Mar 31 2017
2 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

cleaning fee $70 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $100
Tax Rate 12.25%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Tennessee Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1400 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Gas Fireplace ...
  • Heating ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • 2.5
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
  • King size bed (1) master bedroom upstairs, Queen size Bed (1) lower level bedroom, Sleeper Sofa Queen in lower level
  • DVD Player ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Hot Tub ...
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
Starter quantities of paper towels, trash bags, dish and dishwasher detergents, shampoo, soap and conditioner are provided.

Partner Offers