check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076

Leslie Honey

Member since: 2012
Speaks: english, spanish

La Paloma, Island Living in a Tropical Garden, 2 Minute Walk to Beach

9 Reviews
Sleeps7
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

Las Terrenas House Rental Photos and Description

3 BR, 3 Baths, indoor and outdoor kitchen with bar, kiosk

Nestled under towering palms and surrounded by tropical gardens of hibiscus, ginger and heliconia, La Paloma is a great escape for a family or up to three couples who want a casual vacation that is centered around relaxation, good food and beach time. La Paloma is conveniently located only 2 minutes from the beach, 10 minutes from excellent beach restaurants, 5 minutes from a great spa and 20 minutes from town. Enjoy one of the most beautiful beaches on the island where there is the shade of palms or sun glistened sand. A casual lunch on the beach followed by a swim is always fun or you can or rent a Hobi at the Sailing Club, only a four minute walk.

Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • pets considered
  • smoking allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Leslie Honey (Owner)
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english, spanish

About Leslie Honey

We are now semi-retired and enjoying our lives between our farm in New Hampshire where we raise and sell day-lilies and our winter home in Las Terrenas. We enjoy renting and maintaining our three properties and meeting people who have chosen Las Terrenas as their vacation destination. We enjoy introducing them to different parts of the town if they wish and advising them about the best restaurants, attractions and beaches in the area.

Leslie Honey purchased this house in 2000

Why Leslie Honey chose Dominican Republic North Coast

We have enjoyed coming to Las Terrenas since 1982 when it really was an authentic fishing village. We have watched it grow over the years and become a place that we could not have imagined. It still has its magnetic attraction for us even though it is now a premier tourist destination because of its incredible natural beauty.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Leslie is more than an accommodating host, she is one of the those people you meet every so often who genuinely care about the well-being of those around her. Her beautiful villa, just off the beach, was at once a romantic getaway and peaceful refuge. The pictures in this ad do not do it justice. Each bedroom is comfortable. Aircon and overhead fans. Outdoor and indoor showers. Furnishings were tasteful. Everything worked (internet was a bit slow, but it's Las Terrenas). The open-air living room, the dining gazebo, the grill, the private garden, and direct beach access all made the experience feel like a subtle luxury without vanity. I was an expat in Asia for seven years. During that time, I experienced most of the South East Asian islands in settings ranging from 5-star Jetsetter to backpacker hostels to undercover squalor through periods of time ranging from a few days to a few months. I mention this only to stress that I am not without experience when I say that Leslie and her villa were the single most important factor in making my trip to DR a great one. Las Terrenas is an expat hub of mostly Europeans (particularly French). To go local, you'd need to venture away from the beach by a couple kilometers. However, Las Terrenas is far from the all-inclusive (read: generic and exclusive) resort thing. It is a wonderful little beach town with all the local flavor and smiles of a simple place. All sorts of food (cafes, restaurants, groceries) , good drink, water sports, and excursions are there for the pickings. Yet, it's easy to find a stretch of peaceful beach or a quiet cup of coffee. It's small enough to walk just about anywhere, but you could also rent a motorbike or flag a ride on one. While the town is easy enough to navigate on the fly, Leslie still went out of her way to provide a list of the recommended eateries, helped us secure transportation into / out of town, and provided invaluable tips on things to do. She was never more than a phone call away and very responsive to even the most mundane of requests. Honestly, she made me feel like I was her friend more than her tenant/guest. This is the first recommendation for any accommodation I have ever given and it does not begin to express how grateful I am for the experience. Thank you, Leslie.
Mar 2014
  • 1 of 3

Reviews

4.9
based on 9 traveler reviews

La Paloma, Island Living in a Tropical Garden, 2 Minute Walk to Beach
average rating of 4.888889 based on 12 reviews
5

Peaceful stay

  • 5 of 5

Leslie, we enjoyed very much our short vacation in your house. Everything was perfect, we loved the house and Marisol was great. Thank you and we will be back as soon as we can.

  • Submitted: Jun 24, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Best vacation stay, we will come back every year!

  • 5 of 5

Starting several months before our trip i was in contact with the owner Leslie, she made it so easy to make arrangements for our trip and also very helpfull suggestions. The next step was being in contact with the property managers in Las Terrenas, Noemi and Alex, both of whom were very helpfull. upon arrival Alex met us at the house and gave us a quick tour, the house and property are BEAUTIFUL, lots of open air and space, nice and clean and comfortable, we attribute this in large part to the housekeeper Marisol, who is AWESOME, so nice and friendly, she went above and beyond by helping rearrange a bed and mosquito net for one of us so that we could sleep better, totally made her trip better! thank you Marisol.. The area around the house is also spectacular, just a short walk out the front gate and you are on the beach! clear blue water, palms and white sand. most all of the good restaurants, activities, bars and shops are within walking distance, there is also a taxi stand close by if you wish. the closest restaurants to the house are the hotel Alisei, which also has spa facilities and a pool. as you walk down the beach road you get to more restaurants, we loved the one love surf shack, tres lunas, and el pescadroes, which had the best most friendly staff and yummy and inexpensive food. a short walk past this area and you are in the main town, there are many souvenier shops, art galleries and bars, there is a good sized grocery store, even a french bakery with the best croisants this side of Paris!, lots to see and do. i must add that the people of Las Terrenas are THE BEST! they are the most friendly and helpful i have met in some parts of the world. If you have extra time, i would recomend going to Samana, there is not alot to do there, but it is beautiful, only a short drive from LT. i know this is alot of info, but it truely is a magical place, and staying at La Paloma added to the joy....We will for sure be back in years to come, we are already planning next years trip.

  • Submitted: Jul 11, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your great review, it gave us assurance that everything is running as it should even when we are not there. I hope that the next time that you come we will be in Las Terrenas. We would love to show you some of our "secret"places to eat and some incredibly beautiful deserted beaches off the beaten path. We are glad that you loved Las Terrenas and it's people. You are right, they are the BEST. Thanks again for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted that you had a wonderful vacation and were given good service by our staff.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Excellent!!!

  • 5 of 5

Perfecto!!! Our family enjoyed every minute if our fabulous stay over Christmas vacation. The house is lovely, the hosts are wonderful and we will be back. I highly recommend a stay at La Paloma.

  • Submitted: Feb 6, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We enjoyed meeting you all and hope that you have started a family tradition. Glad the house worked for your Christmas reunion with your grown children. We have tried to created areas where people can be separate and then come together as a large group. Christmas Eve was fun at Mojitos, thanks for including us in your group.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Return to LaPaloma..!!!! for the 2nd time...establishing a tradition!

  • 5 of 5

We came back..it feels like home to us. We had so much fun again this year...there is so much exploring to do...lots of interesting history here. Bill and Leslie know the area so well, and understand the culture, and were able to make suggestions for visits, food, hikes, adventures. The pictures don't do LaPaloma justice..it is a magical place, nestled in beautiful flowers and trees with many nooks and hangout places.for reading or napping.They thought of everything....fans and mosquito nets over each bed and sitting area...It is quiet..in the morning the birds are fabulous. The beach is a 2 min. walk, and there are many beach bars and restaurants with any kind of food and drink you would want. we love it that we can brush up on our Spanish and French...and both are spoken here..This has been a perfect time of year for weather.Thanks for the wonderful time...see you in 12 months or less! Love the fact that we could do our laundry here, great line space, fresh air. M&D

  • Submitted: Jan 23, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: WE were thrilled to have you return. I know that you enjoyed the upgrades we have completed since your last stay. We especially like the new kitchen floor and counter and the master bedroom floor as well. The canopy on the master bedroom bed and new box net give an elegant and romantic air to the room. We have had fun making it "better than ever" and will continue to do so. Looking forward to your next visit already.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Toronto
5

Wonderful!!

  • 5 of 5

What a fantastic experience - we had the most wonderful time at La Paloma. We were three couples and two toddlers and La Paloma was the perfect setting. Safe, quiet and extremely close to the beach. There were great private sitting areas for all and a 'heavenly' outdoor bar/grilling area for entertaining. The house was a short walk to town and dozens of beach bars. Bill and Leslie couldn't have been more gracious hosts, and had the house provisioned wonderfully, including details such as fresh water, flashlights, beach toys for the kids etc. We feel very lucky to have found La Paloma and are looking forward to returning in the very near future.

  • Submitted: Jan 21, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We were delighted that you came to La Paloma and Las Terrenas for the holidays and hope that you will come back soon. We agree that Las Terrenas is a special place and that our location and property is one of the best for families with small children and for travelers without a car. We enjoyed meeting you all and glad that the six of you found all the many areas to find privacy and together time. We especially enjoy the bar and grill area when we are entertaining at the house and like the choice of using gas or charcoal. Glad that you enjoyed all the good restaurants and great food that Las Terrenas has to offer. You were great explorers.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Vacation house

  • 4 of 5

We had a lovely time in Las Terrenas and everything was just fine. Unfortunately, it rained (afternoon showers) and the misquitos were awful...I got eaten alive on the back patio...I guess I should be glad I was there as those poor things were starving..very strange misquitos as I never felt them bite, but then I would itch like crazy...lol. all in all we enjoyed our stay very much, the house was lovely, the beds compfy and the a/c was a life saver!! :) Great location ...nice walk to the beach, close to town, and the beach was great...found all sorts of shells, etc..Very well worth anyone wanting to stay there...only I would suggest in the "dry" season when the misquitos are not so hungry...lol :) Thanks everyone associated with this vacation...it was great..

  • Submitted: Jun 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are glad that you enjoyed the house, its location and Las Terrenas and do hope that you will come again during a drier month. We enjoy meeting our guests when we are there from November to April. We're sorry that you were there during a rainy spell. We are not there right now but understand from neighbors and friends that the rain has been excessive and the mosquitoes much thicker than usual because of it. We did have our gardener fumigate two times the week before you came but the rains can make that ineffective. Thank you for your review.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
15 Miles
El Catey (AZS)
Nearest Restaurant
0.1 Miles
3 minute walk
Nearest Beach
75 Metres
Playa Ballenas, only a two minute walk
Car: not necessary

Weeks in January and February are exciting time on the Samana Peninsula when the east coast humpback whales come to the Samana Bay to breed and bear. Whale watching is fun and exciting. Visiting the Limon Waterfall is enjoyed by most who do it. There are many tours in the area to distant beaches, coffee plantations etc. Not to be missed is the Walk the Plank Zipline in Samana, it's a real adventure.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Las Terrenas House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Low Season
Sep 1 2016 - Dec 15 2016
Changeover Day: Saturday
4 night minimum stay
$135
From
$15
Fri,Sat,Sun
$945
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest
 
Holiday 2016-2017
Dec 16 2016 - Jan 4 2017
7 night minimum stay
$200
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$165
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $200

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Las Terrenas House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Near The Ocean ...
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Internet ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
  • 3 1 of which has lovely outdoor shower area.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • Queen size Beds (1) Guest Bedroom 1., Double Beds (1) Master Bedroom, Twin or Single Beds (1) 2 twins in Buest Room 2, Child Beds (1) Trundle bed which pulls out from under Queen in Guest Room1., Baby Cribs (1) Available with notice. Porta Crib.
Outside:
  • Bicycles ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • 1 bicycles
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • pets considered
  • smoking allowed ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • sailing
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties