Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

Oceanfront family retreat on Vancouver Island

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Half Baths1
Space 2,000 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

3+bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, sleeps 8, ocean level with fantastic ocean views

2000 square feet, fully furnished house located just 100 steps from the beach front. It sleeps 8 with 3 full bedrooms, each with a queen bed and an alcove with two additional twin beds. The cabin has a full kitchen, stocked with all cooking, eating and drinking supplies. There are 2 full baths, laundry facilities, and large 725 sq foot outdoor partially covered deck with a full sized BBQ and patio furniture. The upstairs and downstairs levels are connected by an outside covered stairway. All dishes, towels and bedding are provided. There are a large variety of board and card games and a pool table in downstairs area. FREE WiFi & TV so you can bring your tablets or devices! There is also a large sand play area down by the beach for the children, sand toys and two shared fire pits for hotdogs & smores!


Owner
Fred Hawkshaw
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
May 22, 2017

About Fred Hawkshaw

This is our family cottage that we have owned for more than 10 years now. It is in a wonderful area with beautiful views, steps from the beach with fabulous neighbors.

Fred Hawkshaw purchased this house in 2006

Why Fred Hawkshaw chose British Columbia

We bought this house so that we could all enjoy it together. The four grandchildren enjoy playing in the sand and looking for crabs & starfish. Sitting out on the deck and beach together as a family is where memories are made!

The location of our cabin won us over as it is near the center of Vancouver Island's east coast so it allows us to enjoy all that the island has to offer. We are 45 minutes to the chair lifts at Mount Washington, there is great fresh and salt water fishing, lots of wildlife, kayaking, hiking, caving, whale watching, birding & diving to name a few. Not to mention the numerous golf courses, mini golf, bumper boats, Spas, aquariums and plenty of local wineries, galleries, studios and farmers markets!

So much to do and yet our cabin is a great spot to go for a relaxing walk on the beach, gather around the fire pits or hang out with friends on the deck!

What makes this house unique

We love watching the eagles from our deck, the cruise ships passing by and sitting at the fire pits.

Library, art gallery, grocery store, liquor store & coffee shop are all close by.

This house sleeps 8 comfortably.

Amenities

Nanaimo H House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Garage ...
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wood Fireplace ...
  • Free Wifi
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , tub , shower , stocked with towels, cloths, soaps, body wash
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , stocked with towels, cloths, soaps, body wash
  • 2
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , large closet, large dresser and two end tables
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , closet and two end tables
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , en-suite bathroom, closet, elec. fireplace, dresser& laundry
  • Queen beds 3, Single Beds 2, Child Beds 1 (Playpen). There is a pullout couch as well that we don't count as a bed.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Music Library ...
  • Pool Table
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • racquetball
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
Notes:
Pinic tables & firepits down by the ocean

Reviews

Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(9 traveler reviews)

Oceanfront family retreat on Vancouver Island
average rating of 4.3333335 based on 9 reviews
Victoria, Canada
5

Great stay, will be back!

  • 5 of 5

Great cabin! We loved the big gated deck, it was perfect for the 2 year old, he could walk around in safety and enjoy the sunshine. The cabin was clean, well equipped and in seconds we were at the beach. There is a large eagle that calls home to one of the large trees on the property and we enjoyed watching him!

  • Submitted: May 1, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Okanagan, BC
4

Lovely Escape

  • 4 of 5

Thank you so much for sharing your home away from home. This house has all the comforts of home. Very well supplied with all your needs. I wasn't expecting to see the cabins in front of the house but as it was a second story building the view was still lovely! We walked the beach every day. We enjoyed a fire in the fire pit. The seals came for a visit every day. We wandered up the hill to that lovely little Antique and Stuff Store and spent at least an hour rummaging around for treasures. Location was great. We hit both the Qualicum Beach Farmers Market and the Comox Farmers Market on the same day. It was really a wonderful and relaxing escape. Would definitely recommend this home.

  • Submitted: Apr 19, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

would not stay here again

  • 1 of 5

I was not happy with the location of the property, as it was not as the photos showed. The house is located behind 5 other cottages that are located on the ocean. There were no photos from the deck of the house which would have shown this, my fault for not requesting addition photos. The upstairs and downstairs were two separate suites, so as a family with younger kids this did not suit us. The basement had a very strong musty smell so we were unable/unwilling to use it.

  • Submitted: Apr 11, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Tammy, We have been renting out our family cabin for 10 years and have never had a negative review so we were quite surprised by your feedback. We were not aware of any of your concerns since we didn’t hear from you at all during your stay. In the past if there were any questions or issues experienced by our renters they have always contacted us immediately and we were able to solve it together with easy free flowing communication. Between text, cell phones and email we are always reachable, in fact that is one thing we are known for. We can’t fix problems we don’t know about! ☺ Even though our description of the property clearly states that it is “oceanlevel” in an “oceanfront” resort, we will be sure to take some photos from our deck so future renters will know exactly how wonderful our views are! Thanks for your feedback. The Holtum and Hawkshaw Families
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Not what we expected but still a great trip

  • 4 of 5

The beach was further away than we had thought and didn't have the beach view we were expecting, but it was still a good view. The stairs are outside and the bottom half of the home is kind of separated from the rest of the house. Wasn't really the ideal situation with younger children. Was a bit confused by what was expected of us as there were no rules or anything posted. We are used to a binder or something with information on where to take trash, how to operate the dishwasher, how to login to the WiFi, etc. There wasn't anything like that. Overall, still a great trip!

  • Submitted: Mar 27, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello Tina, Thank you for both the review and feedback! We are always looking for ways to better the experience for our guests. Your specific feedback will contribute to the following changes; - pictures being added to the listing to show the view from our cabin. - a description of the access to the upper and lower levels of the cabin as the stairs are outside (under full cover) to connect each level. - a description detailing that we are not right on the beach but are closer to 100 steps away and that there are other cabins that partially block the full ocean view. - a detailed Check In/Check out list has been created and will both be emailed to our guests prior to check n as well as having a copy posted at the cabin. We believe our cabin is well suited for larger groups and very family friendly (as our two families kids and our friends families have been enjoying it since our kids were newborns) but, I certainly understand that the two levels would be even better if we had stairs inside. Adding that information will help future families be informed prior to arriving. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay!! Your feedback is greatly appreciated and will certainly help us and future guests! Sincerely, Hawkshaw & Holtum Families
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful getaway spot!

  • 5 of 5

John and Linda met us at the cabin upon our arrival. They were both very friendly and welcoming and gave us the run down on the property and beach area. My husband, 10 month old baby and I stayed 3 nights and were able to enjoy the area very much. We were treated to a show by all the seals, sea lions and various birds at the beach. Although there was just the three of us, the cabin could sleep many more people. Would be perfect for a larger family or for multiple families. We enjoyed delicious coffee and morning treats from the coffee shop on the main road - quiche and breakfast bagels were our favourites! If you are looking for a quiet, relaxed nature filled getaway, this is the place for you!

Oh and PS. There is a great selection of games at the cabin for those rainy days!

  • Submitted: Mar 29, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Refreshing reunion

  • 5 of 5

Wonderful accommodations for a family reunion. The house was very clean. The kitchen was well stocked and the house had everything we needed for a comfortable visit. It was nice to be able to spread out. Our 2 1/2 year old grandson spent hours playing in the sand, thanks for the available buckets and shovels. We spent a lot of time on the wonderful deck. Loved the eagles. The hosts were very quick to respond to any concerns via email. A wonderfully refreshing spot.

  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Map

Nearest Barpub
7 Miles
Fanny Bay Inn
Nearest Golf
5 Miles
Mt. Arrowsmith
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Sandbar
Nearest Ski
30 Miles
Mt. Washington
Car: necessary

From our large deck one can enjoy the ocean view & watch eagles nest in the surronding tress.

Bring your boat as the Deep Bay marina is only 10 minutes away.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Nanaimo H House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
CAD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Regular Rate
Apr 1 2017 - Sep 30 2017
3 night minimum stay
$128
From
$128
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
$896
$3,293
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$128
 

Additional information about rental rates

cleaning fee $91.48
Pet Fee $36.59

Deposit is half of rental. E-mail transfer or cheque to owner. Last half of the rental is required prior to check in to have the lock box code released to you.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties