Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-829-7076

Lovely and Affordable Maui Vacation Rentals

Bedrooms 1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights


Minimum Stay
3 nights

About the property

Choose one of our Vacation Rentals on the North Shore of Maui

Our spacious studios and apartments are in two buildings, #48 and #52. We offer affordable lodging located in a lovely, lush, and peaceful neighborhood on the North Shore of Maui.

Our Maui vacation rentals are a perfect spot for your headquarters for surfing, kiting, or windsurfing, romantic get-aways or family adventures. After a long day of sun, surf and exploration, relax in our shaded garden or on your private lanai. Make Puu Koa Palms your home away from the crowds of the large tourist hotels and enjoy the real Hawaiian island lifestyle.

Note: Price of studios and 1-bedrooms vary.

More Details

Stefano Maffini
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english, spanish, portuguese, italian
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
February 17, 2017

About Stefano Maffini

I have been living on Maui for the past few decades and an avid windsurfer and surfer. I am happy to assist you for every step of your Maui Holiday. We speak Italian, Portuguese, Spanish, and English. We can help you to rent a car, find sport equipments, take surf or windsurf lessons and to discover Maui's beauty.

Stefano Maffini purchased this house in 2004

Why Stefano Maffini chose Maui

Puu Koa Palms is one of the few legal vacations rentals on the Maui North Shore. The property is a simple, clean, and comfortable place to make your home base while on Maui.

What makes this house unique

We are located close to many local vendors and the best surf/kite/windsurf spots on Maui. It is five minutes away from Ho'okipa Beach Park and from central Haiku.


Haiku House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Location Type:
  • Monument View ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • paragliding
  • pier fishing
  • rock climbing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Come experience the magic of aloha! We offer a laid back, quality vacation rentals. You will have a real island experience and for a price you can't beat.


2.5/5 -
(4 traveler reviews)

Lovely and Affordable Maui Vacation Rentals
average rating of 2.5 based on 4 reviews

Nice, clean, quiet, affordable, and convenient

  • 4 of 5
Verified Stay

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The property was situated in the middle of most of the areas we wanted to visit . near the beach, and didn't have the hotel/condo feel. It was nice to be in a neighborhood, and felt like home

  • Submitted: Jan 27, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

It was an ok place to crash

  • 3 of 5
Verified Stay

It could have been cleaner. The stairs leading to the suits upstairs were very duty and never cleaned in the whole 10 days we were there. The shelf in the shower was caked with old soap. Not just soap scum, but soap that was thick enough to scrape off. And a black body scrubber, I'm guessing it was, was left in the shower. The stove, microwave and coffee maker definitely need replacing! Only a couple buttons worked on the microwave. But maybe most of the people that stay there don't cook where they stay. And you may want to pack earplugs since the walls are paper thin. Other then that, the bed was very comfortable and we had a nice stay.

  • Submitted: Mar 3, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Marissa, Thank you for your review and for choosing Puukoa Palms. I am surprised about your comments. We talked on several occasions, and if you would have told me about the microwave and coffee machine or other concerns, we could have remedied the situation immediately. As far as the stove--it may not look pretty--but it is in excellent working order. Thanks again for your feedback and I will use your suggestions to make improvements. Aloha, Stefano
Did you find this review helpful?
11 0

Okay, if you don't care about cleanliness.

  • 1 of 5

We arrived pretty late on Maui last week and it was good that the owner had sent us an email with a full descrption about how to find the keys - sad though that he can't evenmake time to say Hi to his guests in person. We had the downstairs studio and were rather disappointed than happy.

1. The bathroom door locked itself a couple of times - you could then only open it with a bobby pin or a special spray (brought by the housekeeper the next morning - so we had to wait over night to be able to enter the bathroom again and then always used a hairpin. The studio is not in a good condition, the furniture is pretty old and run-down.

2. The mattress from the futon was super sagging and very uncomfortable.

3. Worst of all was the shower - neither me nor my parents had showered one time during our 3 night stay. Yes, the apartment might be a bit older and 80s style, and a shower may also be rusty, but it still can be clean - and it wasn't. There were hairs, stains and other indefineable dirt pieces in it, so we preferred to shower at the beach (no joke). We are absolutely not picky and are also okay to shower with our flip flops on when needed, but that shower was the worst of all our trips, none of us wanted to use it.

4. Some living cockroaches we found under the bed and below the kitchen sink.

5. Knifes and forks in the kitchen had stains - we used plastic cutlery from Wholefoods instead.

Over all, I can't recommend the apartment. It is a good location and okay for a night or two, but we felt like we had to wash everything before we use it and that was really sad cause it didn't make us feel home or comfortable - we spent our nights there, but that pretty much was it. If you have the budget, rather spend 20-30 bucks more on a proper vacation rental.

  • Submitted: Feb 29, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Romina, I'm sorry but after to have the report from my house keepers I also realize that you left the unit in terrible condition, a lot of towel with blood spots and plate in the kitchen with cigaret, that is terrible considering that every units at Puu Koa Palms are No smoking and there is sign in the door to remind .
Did you find this review helpful?
18 0

Hot in the suite

  • 2 of 5

It would have been a little nicer if they had a stove and fridge that didn't happen to have to go to the dump just the basics could be renewed within the suite fans in all the rooms would be good in order to be able to stay in the suite as it was upstairs and even hotter was not having the aloha feeling at all😣

  • Submitted: Sep 21, 2015
  • Stayed: Sep 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Linda, I'm sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy the time in my place, unfortunately with all these tropical storms we had an usually hot and humid week. There are fans in every unit .Stove and refrigerator are in excellent working order . Thank you for your business and I hope to see you again in my rental. Mahalo and Aloha Stefano
Did you find this review helpful?
16 1


Nearest Airport
11.9 Miles
Kahului Airport
Nearest Barpub
5.3 Miles
Nearest Golf
7.4 Miles
Maui Country Club: Spreckelsville
Nearest Motorway
0.2 Miles
Hana Hwy
Nearest Restaurant
1.6 Miles
Colleens Restaurant At the Cannery
Nearest Beach
3.6 Miles
Ho'okipa Beach Park
Car: recommended

Puu Koa Palms is located in the lush and rural North Shore community of Haiku, 20 minutes from the Kahului airport. We are only 5 minutes away from Ho'okipa beach park, the world famous windsurfing, kite surfing and surf beach. We are also conveniently close to Haiku and Paia town centers, both communities with great local restaurants, shopping boutiques, markets, and night life.


Rates & Availability

Haiku House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning fee $80
Tax Rate 13.42%

No money refund for cancellation under 30 days, only credit refund for future booking.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message

Partner Offers