check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Breathtaking Oceanview Paradise at Malulani Green Haven in Kona

18 Reviews
Bedrooms 3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 4 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more


Minimum Stay
4 - 7 nights


Kailua-Kona House Rental Photos and Description

Welcome to Malulani Green Haven! This private home is located in a gated, quiet cul de sac neighborhood right in the heart of Kailua-Kona. You will enjoy a 180 degree spectacular ocean view from the back lanai and a mountain view on the opposite side. The cool ocean breeze that comes with the elevation makes your stay comfortable. The location is a convenient 10 minutes drive from the airport, five minutes drive to the historic town and the beach, few minutes drive or walk to shopping areas with Safeway, Walmart, Lowes, Costco and numerous restaurants.

You will have the use of three bedrooms and two baths. The master bedroom has a king size bed, a dresser and a walk in closet in the bathroom area. The master bath has a huge jacuzzi and double sink. The second bedroom has a queen size bed and a walk in closet with drawers. The third bedroom has two twin beds and a mirrored closet. Next to it is the second full bath. You will be provided with bath products and linens.

The dining area is large with a glass dining table. The kitchen is fully equipped with small appliances, cooking and eating utensils. Barbeque grill is provided by the lanai next to the outdoor sink. There is a huge refrigerator, a microwave and a dishwasher. Cable TV and free wifi are also available.

The beach such as magic sands is a five minute drive. Hapuna beach, a several hundred yards of white soft sand, is about thirty minutes drive The clear water offers excellent swimming, snorkeling or boogie boarding when the surf picks up. Boogie boards, beach chairs, beach towels, umbrellas and beach toys are provided for your use.


More Details
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed

Member since: 2012
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
October 20, 2016

About Josephine

Our family loves to travel. Friends who live in Kona introduced us to this wonderful paradise. We were convinced that this will be our retiring place so we decided to find the right home. We did and this is the Malulani Green Haven.

Josephine purchased this house in 2002

Why Josephine chose Kona Coast

We fell in love with the location of this house. It is on top of rock wall overlooking the most gorgeous panoramic view of the ocean. The house was built for our retirement home in paradise. The master bath was redesigned to fit a jacuzzi. We planted our favorite dwarf mango tree in front. Our first morning was the most exciting since we did not expect to see two cruise ships docked in our view from the lanai. Our family would like to share with you the experience of living in this lovely place and hope you will agree with our choice.

What makes this house unique

Malulani Gardens is a gated neighborhood right in the heart of Kailua-Kona. The location is very convenient to go anywhere whether it is to the beach, getting a quick meal, Starbucks coffee (around the corner) or picking up forgotten items (2 min from Walmart, Safeway). The tourist area of Alii Drive is only two miles away.


based on 18 traveler reviews

Breathtaking Oceanview Paradise at Malulani Green Haven in Kona
average rating of 4.7777777 based on 18 reviews

views of Kona Town and ocean breezes!

  • 5 of 5

the house is centrally located in a nice gated community. Was well stocked and clean. Lanai offered great view of Kona and cool ocean breezes. Landlord kind enough to let us in house before formal rental period started so we could put groceries in refrigerator. Would surely rent from Josephine again. House served 5 adults well.Two of three bedrooms have an ocean view.

  • Submitted: Aug 7, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Toronto, Canada

Lovely lanai

  • 4 of 5

There were good and bad points to this property. The location was wonderful - just a short drive to the restaurants and attractions of Ali'i Drive and an invigorating walk to the Safeway store. The exterior was well kept and the lanai very comfortable. We spent a lot of time just relaxing there and enjoying the outstanding view. The interior was spacious with a good layout and well-stocked kitchen.

The basic cleanliness was fine but general maintenance was an issue. Badly stained carpets, grimy cabinets, splotchy walls and ill-fitting screens provided an air of neglect. The furniture was quite nice but a lack of decorative items did not contribute to a homey feeling.

  • Submitted: Mar 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. We are sorry that you find items not to your satisfaction. Rest assured that all items mentioned will be addressed. Thank you for staying with us!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Washington state

Great place in a gated community

  • 5 of 5

We are family of six, three generations, staying here for a week. Everything is smooth from the 1st inquiry to final security deposit refund. Owner is very responsive and pleasant to work with. The house is clean and well stocked. The view from lani is awesome! We BBQ twice there. Kitchen is great too! We cooked couple dinners and almost all breakfast there. The location is convenient, next to Walmart and Safeway. Owner also allowed us check out a few hours late without charge as the night we left was not rented out. I cannot ask for more. Love the place! Thank you!

  • Submitted: Apr 26, 2015
  • Stayed: Apr 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the wonderful review. I am so glad that you love the place like we do. Please let me know when you are planning another vacation in Kona.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
New England, USA

Centrally Located House in Gated Community

  • 5 of 5

The owners were very attentive and responsive, making our vacation logistically flawless. Everything from the check-in process, checking-out, and everything in between was near-perfect. The home was perfect for us (2 adults/ 2 kids). The master BR had a jacuzzi that we took full advantage of; the second BR had two twins for the kids; the third had a large bed that went unused. Proximity-wise, it was very close to Wal-Mart and downtown Kona. The gated nature of the neighborhood made for some very quiet evenings, where we could enjoy the stunning sunset out on the lanai. Wish we could still be there!

Outside of no propane for the grill (minor), everything was great. If we get the opportunity again, we'd jump at the chance to stay there again. Mahalo!

  • Submitted: Dec 31, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for a great review. We are sorry that the propane ran out during your stay. We will have the tanks refilled again. Please let me know when you are coming back to Kona. Mahalo!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Sacramento, CA

Great Location in Paradise

  • 5 of 5

Wonderful amenities in this clean privately gated home. The view from the lanai is just gorgeous with vistas of the ocean especially at sunset. Full modern kitchen and a gas barbaquer outside. Conveniently located near everything in Kailua-Kona. We had five adults in our party and there was plenty of room for all of us. I would highly recommend this home to my family and friends. There were small issues with the garbage disposal not working but that's very minor.

  • Submitted: Dec 9, 2014
  • Stayed: Nov 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for staying with us and the wonderful review. I wish we were informed of the issue with the garbage disposal. We are going to have it checked for any trouble. Mahalo!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Great home, beautiful neighbourhood!

  • 5 of 5

This house was perfect for us! We had 4 adults and 2 children. Location was a 5 min drive to downtown, Walmart, Safeway so it was very convenient. Pictures and description are accurate. Our only issue was the dryer broke down on our last day, but nobody could have expected that. Some minor repairs are needed but it didn't affect our comfort here. It is a beautiful neighbourhood and home. I would recommend this home.

  • Submitted: Mar 5, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for review. Be assured that the minor issues you brought up were resolved. We are glad that our guests share the enjoyment we experience staying at our vacation rental.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0


Nearest Airport
8 Miles
Kona International Airport (KOA)
Nearest Barpub
3 Miles
Nearest Motorway
0.5 Miles
Queen Kaahumanu Hwy.
Nearest Beach
5 Miles
Magic Sands
Car: necessary

Centrally loated in the heart of Kailua-Kona with breathtaking ocean view.


Rates & Availability

Kailua-Kona House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
Low season
Oct 17 2016 - Dec 15 2016
4 night minimum stay
Dec 16 2016 - Jan 15 2017
7 night minimum stay
High season
Jan 16 2017 - Apr 15 2017
7 night minimum stay
My Standard Rate
4 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $59
Cleaning fee $175
Tax Rate 13.42%

Rates are subject to change until reservation is confirmed. Negotiated rates for longer stay. Flexible payment terms upon request.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


Kailua-Kona House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • Ocean View ...
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , jetted tub
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • 2
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single , Mirrored closet, fan
    Bedroom 1 - 1 king , View, walk in closet connected to master bath, fan
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , View, walk in closet, fan.
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (2) 2 Twin size beds, Baby Cribs (1) Upon request
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Water Sports Gear
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Hot Tub ...
  • jetted tub ...
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • luaus
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing

Partner Offers