Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

5 Bed, 3 Bath NEW Hot Tub,Lake View,Walk to Lake,Village,Snow Summit

Sleeps14
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms3
Space 2,600 sq ft
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Overview

About the property

Oktoberfest Sep 13 to Oct 25th!

Perfect for 5 couples and kids! Across the street from the lake on Eagle Point (with lake access for fishing / kayak /canoe launching); This large 2 story home sleeps 13. Has 5 bedrooms (4 Queens, 1 King, 1 Queen Sofa / Sleeper, 1 Futon), 3 baths; and has parking for 5 cars (1 garage + 4 driveway). Healthy walking distance to the Village, Shopping and Snow Summit shuttle parking lot. New Catalina 7 person Hot Tub / Spa, BBQ / Patio out back and wrap around front deck to watch the sunset. Kids downstairs and adults upstairs make this a perfect vacation home! Great for the Winter and Holidays!


Property Manager
Jim Ostrich (owner)
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
April 9, 2018

About Jim Ostrich (owner)

Live in San Diego, always loved coming to visit Big Bear, found this house in Eagle Point (yes there are bald eagles living her) right across the street from the lake, with lake access. Thought this was a cool home for family / friend vacations and am offering it for rent when we are not there!

Jim Ostrich (owner) purchased this house in 2012

Why Jim Ostrich (owner) chose Big Bear Lake

Nearness to the lake, with public lake access for kayak or canoe launching / fishing. Walking distance to Snow Summitt overflow / shuttle parking lot, the Village for shopping or eating, as well as nearby Meadow Park (4th of July Fireworks) swimming and playing with kids. Ideal location!

What makes this house unique

I like the Garden RR train setup myself, but its not available to the renters do the fragile / high price nature of the trains!

Amenities

Big Bear Lake House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2600 sq ft
  • 2 stories
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 14
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Lake View ...
  • Mountain View ...
General:
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Free Long Distance ...
  • Garage ...
  • Gas Fireplace ...
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Wood Fireplace ...
  • Free Wifi
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , Off Master BR
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , Upstairs Hall
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower , Downstairs Hall
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 14
  • Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen
    Den - 2 sleep sofa /futon , 1 New Queen Sofa Sleeper; 1 New Futon
    Bedroom 1 (Master) - 1 king , Master BR has private bathroom
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 5 - 1 queen , 2 double , 1 twin/ single , 1 bunk bed , Bunkbed: (2) Full Bunkbeds, (1) Twin pullout, (1) Queen
  • (1) King Bed Upstairs Master BR #1, (1) Queen Bed Upstairs BR #2, 2 Queen Beds in Downstiars BRs #3 & 4, Downstairs BR #5 has (2) Full Beds (Bunk Bed) and (1) Twin trundle pull out, + Separte Twin, + (1) Queen Sleeper Sofa and (1) Futon in Family Room downstairs Family Room
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Porch / Veranda ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
Onsite Services:
  • Staff
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • swimming
  • water skiing
Notes:
4pm check in --- 11am check out Late Check Out may be available (if home not rented back to back) $250 extra. Key is in lockbox by back door / stairs, combo available once you are fully paid.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(39 traveler reviews)

53% Complete
38% Complete
5% Complete
0% Complete
2% Complete
5 Bed, 3 Bath NEW Hot Tub,Lake View,Walk to Lake,Village,Snow Summit
average rating of 4.4102564 based on 39 reviews
3

Expected more looking at earlier reviews.

  • 3 of 5

This property is ok but not up to the Mark.

Is clean but very old and not upgraded.

None of the Bath room lock was working so embracing for a group of 10 to manage.

Could have been more fun if more Games could be there beside pool Table.

Main Door lock (Latch) does not work and only lock with a bar works.

Bathroom Faucet Leaks.

  • Submitted: Feb 25, 2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: None of these issues were reported until the review. The faucets both upstairs and downstairs have been replaced with new ones. If you want more "board games" to play you should bring your own.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Plenty of room and nicely decorated. Would recommend to anyone looking for a good location to stay.

  • 5 of 5

We had 12 people in our party and we had plenty of room. The supply of towels was great. The items in the kitchen were very adequate. Beds were comfortable. Is a corner lot and impressive. Would stay here again!!

  • Submitted: Jan 4, 2018
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Comfortable and Convenient

  • 4 of 5

This house had lots of room and is close to town. We enjoyed a family Christmas here and everyone was warm and did the near-by adventures they wanted to do. The only negatives I would mention are that one of the mattresses was hard (we switched it with another one) and the spa pool needed chlorine (was green). The pool table was lots of fun. Our granddaughters loved being able to walk down by the lake.

  • Submitted: Dec 28, 2017
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Comfortable and suitable for our needs

  • 4 of 5

The home is dated inside, but this is what cabins are supposed to be! House was fully stocked with dishes, cookware, etc. No on-street parking so make sure you have no more than 5 cars! I must have missed that part of the description, but no problem anyway. We stayed as a cycling team, so the garage was great to put our bikes in. The beds were not very comfortable, according to just about everyone...perhaps they could use a change of mattresses, or at the very least, pillow-tops for all. We brought a lot of air mattresses just in case, and those were fine. According to one of our guys, that's what you should do anyway if you rent a VRBO or AirB&B property. Linens were clean, house was comfy, and we liked the location, just across the street from the lake access. The lake was low though, and it isn't really a part of the lake you'd want to swim in. There is a park within 10 minutes of walking which is GREAT for taking the dogs to. All in all, a nice stay. We'd rent it again, and would bring all our own air mattresses if the existing mattresses were the same or no pillow-tops were added.

  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: This guest was attending the Tour De Big Bear with thier cycling team and I got the feeling had more cars and people than the house was permitted for. We discussed the max number of cars, and people over the phone, so they were clear on the numbers which are posted on the listing and on the outside of the house. Apparently they had more people than beds which caused them to sleep on air mattresses, and park the rest of the cars in the near by shopping center.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Older property but size & location are good

  • 3 of 5

Great location for enjoying the lake and the size of the cabin worked well for a large family get-away. There were a few things that needed some basic maintenance (bedroom doors that were squeaky or didn't close completely, missing window screens, bathroom door didn't lock, etc.) but didn't create any significant issues for us.

The owner did try to charge us for breaking a futon, although it was already in pretty bad shape, which was a bit of a pain to deal with. He did eventually refund our deposit after realizing that it was missing screws and not due to anything we did during our stay.

  • Submitted: Aug 7, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
United States
4

Great family vacation house

  • 4 of 5

The house was clean, cozy feeling and we loved the hot tub!

  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Walking distance to Big Bear Village shops / restaurants, Snow Summit Shuttle / Parking, as well as Meadow Park (swimming area and playground), and the lake is across the street for fishing!

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $250
Pet Fee $125
Damage Deposit $1,000

Guests must take out there own trash to the public dump or a $25 / bag of trash left will be charged. Check in time is 4pm. Check out is at 11am. Early check in / late check out available for $250. Dishes, pots, pans, must be cleaned and put away or a $75 fee will be charged by my cleaning crew. 5 cars max parking or city will fine you ($500) plus $100 per car charge.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties