check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand

Dan & Maureen

Member since: 2012
Speaks: english

Spring/Summer in the Catskills-You won't believe the shooting stars!

15 Reviews
Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms3
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the HomeAway checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview

New York House Rental Photos and Description

3 Bedroom 3.5 baths with Mountains, Water View, Sleeps 10

A Little Piece of Heaven in the Catskill Mountains of New York. Leave the noise and traffic behind as you drive approximately two and a half hours north of NYC to the Broken Arrow. Nestled on 50 acres, 1/2 mile off the main road leads you to your private getaway for relaxing and enjoying all that nature has to offer. Whether it's getting together for adventures like hiking, kayaking, skiing (located within a short drive away). Or just sitting on the 12x36 foot covered deck looking at the million dollar view of the Pepacton Reservior, there is something for everyone at the Broken Arrow. Our home is perfect for anyone wanting to relax and unwind, or using the home as a base to explore all that this area has to offer. This home is also great for several couples, family reunions, girls/guys only weekends, spiritual retreats, artists, writers, painters or anyone looking for the peace and quiet of a few days or a few weeks in the crisp mountain air.

Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Dan & Maureen (Property Manager)
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english

About Dan & Maureen

Dan, an avid outdoorsman bought this property in 2003. The area has held special meaning to Dan as he came to the Catskills with his father, uncles and cousins since the early 70's to hunt. Fulfilling his lifelong dream of having a home in the Catskills, the cabin was built and finished in November of 2004. Decorating and furnishing the cabin has been lots of fun, and keeps us busy. Dan takes great pride in his craftsmanship; his tables, hunting and fishing trophies are displayed throughout the cabin. I enjoy antiquing with my sister and our treasures can be found throughout our home as well.

Dan & Maureen purchased this house in 2004

Why Dan & Maureen chose New York

This is the quintissential family vacation home. When you leave the city and arrive here surrounded by this natural beauty, the spirit soars! Our home is nestled amongst tall pines and blue skies where eagles soar above and deer and turkey roam freely in front of us. With a six mile view of the Pepacton Reservoir, the view never gets old. Enjoy a morning cup of coffee while listening to the symphony offered by our resident songbirds and at night you can gaze into the heavens where each star seems to tell a story of it's own.

What makes this house unique

Our kitchen is fully equipped for the discerning cook, and our open floor plan is perfect so no one misses out on conversations or laughter and aromas coming from the kitchen or the sound of family gathered around the roaring fire in the living room.

Reviews

4.7
based on 15 traveler reviews

Spring/Summer in the Catskills-You won't believe the shooting stars!
average rating of 4.733333 based on 15 reviews
5

The best! Loved it.

  • 5 of 5

This is a wonderful rental. It was as quiet and peaceful as we hoped for with the town of Downsville just a short drive away. The screen porch is huge and comfortable with a beautiful view. The cabin is large and well decorated with many interesting touches. Dan, the owner, is very accommodating and really seemed to want to ensure that we had a great stay - which we did. In short, we can't wait to go back!!

  • Submitted: Jun 8, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Excellent get away off the grid...

  • 5 of 5

My family stayed for a week, the last week of July into August.. The house and property are absolutely breathtaking. The marksmanship of the way the home was built, furnished, and decorated cannot be matched... Everything you need is right there on site... My wife and I enjoyed getting away from the normal rat race... Our two teenage kids both brought a friend and they all had a blast...There was even enough room for my parents to stop up and spend two nights with us.. It turned out to be one of our best family get aways ever.. We were even fortune enough to see a bear one morning emerge from the wood line at the bottom of the property..(As for the last post complaining about the security cameras.. I too was taken back when I first arrived by them.... But then I thought logically about them and looked where they were all located.. The cameras are only located in common areas of the home, not in or near any bedrooms or bathrooms...If I owned a second property hours away from my home, I would want the ability to observe any activity going on at the home myself.. Specifically while no one was staying there for long periods at a time..) In any event, Dan, was very helpful and just a phone call away for any questions we may have had... My family is hoping to plan a trip once again next summer... I highly recommend the place if your looking for a quiet and breathtaking getaway off the grid...

  • Submitted: Oct 3, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
1

Renters beware

  • 1 of 5

We rented this property for a family getaway. Upon arriving, we noticed security cameras located all over the house. This was very unnerving. I personally felt watched all the time. Needless to say, we had limited our presence at the house, despite having paid quite a bit of money.

To top this off, the owner claimed damage to a recliner no one had touched. Very disappointing.

  • Submitted: Jul 21, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Eliza, The security system is turned off during any rentals for privacy reasons. As for the recliner, there were 8 of you and someone broke the handle that allows the chair to recline. You had purchased Travelers Insurance just in case an incident like the recliner happened. When I put the claim in you denied having broken it and I was denied compensation. There was no deductible so all you had to do was to come clean. It was the first time I have ever had to put a claim in. Sorry you felt watched. You should have called me. Also, you wanted to give a security deposit instead of paying for the non refundable Travelers Insurance Policy. Had I taken a deposit of $500.00 I would have kept it for the broken recliner which will cost roughly $700.00 to replace. Bottom line is someone in your party broke the chair and probably did not tell you. You are the first person in three years that has given us less then a 5 Star review. I'm sorry that I did not take the cash deposit that you were insisting on. Wish you much luck in renting future houses. Dan.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

beautiful getaway with plenty of privacy

  • 5 of 5

We were looking for seclusion and we found it. At night we could not see any lights from neighboring properties. The house itself is a masterpiece in wood. Without a doubt the best place that we have stayed at in years. The decorating with "re-purposed" items was a nice touch. Though it was just the two of us, there was plenty of room for more, without losing the cozy feel. No doubt that when our traveling takes us in that direction, we will be staying again. Oh, I almost forgot. Dan was great. He made sure that we had everything we needed. If you go during winter, 4-wheel drive is an absolute must. which makes it even better.

  • Submitted: Mar 29, 2015
  • Stayed: Feb 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Brewster, MA
5

A Piece of Heaven in Downsville, NY

  • 5 of 5

Our stay in Downsville was wonderful. The home was in fabulous shape with a fully stocked kitchen. Views from the porch were spectacular. Rooms were comfortable and spacious. We enjoyed sitting outside each night looking at the stars. The property is within seven miles of Downsville and easy to get to. It is a great spot for a getaway from the stress of daily life.

  • Submitted: Sep 25, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Robert, Thank you for the review. I sent you an email with the rental agreement for next year. Did you receive it? VRBO changed their web site and I'm having trouble setting up the booking for your next stay. Please let me know if you received the rental agreement and if you are able to book it on your end. Thanks. Dan.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Warminster, PA
5

Amazing Retreat!

  • 5 of 5

I searched extensively for a vacation home for my family and kept coming back to this one. It did not disappoint. It was everything a mountain retreat should be. The decor and setting were perfect. We were 7 adults and one 4 year old. Fully stocked with spices, pots, pans and linens there was little we had to bring but ourselves and food. We had an amazing week sitting around the fire pit and my personal favorite, the screened porch. Just a few notes, the bottom of the driveway is rough so it's slow going and the internet was spotty. I actually didn't miss at all! It was a relaxing, wonderful week. Thanks Dan and Maureen!

  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2014
  • Stayed: Aug 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Barpub
7 Miles
Duke's
Nearest Restaurant
7 Miles
SchoolHouse
Nearest Ski
25 Miles
Bellayre Mountain
Car: necessary

State Hiking Trails:

Bear Spring Mountain Park Route 30 & Shinhopple

Cambell Brook Trails

Russell Brook Trails

Photos

Rates & Availability

Downsville House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$250
From
$325
Fri,Sat
$1,400
$6,000
 

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $79

HOLIDAYS require a three night minimum, please call for rates

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

New York House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • Water View ...
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
  • 3.25
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Queen size Beds (1), Double Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (2), Sleep Sofa or Futons (2) Sleep sofa in lower level w/private bath Futon in master bedroom can be shared by family w/private bath
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • jetted tub ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • skiing
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • water tubing
Notes:
Canoe/Kayak rentals @ Al's Sport Swimming @ Bear Spring Mountain State Park Downsville Town Pool on Route 30 - Free swimming 1-5pm 6-8pm Restaurants: Old School House Annual Delaware County Fair. Skiing/Snowboarding @ Bellayre Mountain (30 mins) & Hunter Mountain approx 50 mins away

Partner Offers

Travelers who viewed this property, also viewed...